The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
WA State UnemploymentDenial of Benefits

H Review updated:

The state of Washington being a Right To Work State makes it easy to terminate you for any reason then deny paying you unemployment benies for any reason your employer can dig up and in the mean time your loosing everything that you ever worked for.

Responses

  • Be
    Beebeeking Nov 30, 2020
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I was receiving unemployment benefits after getting laid off the end of May. I found a job that I worked at for 76 hours before it became apparent that I (58 years old female) was physically incapable of keeping up with. The physical requirements were never mentioned in the interview processes. WA State stopped paying benefits after that. 7 weeks, no pay and no response other that my claim was under review. Still not paid, but I have a full time job now that I really like. Perhaps, paying for unemployment insurance should become an option, not a requirement. Let them work for their jobs now

    0 Votes
  • Ta
    Taa Sevenites Cowboy Apr 23, 2020

    Dear sirs?
    This is randle kirk null b - day 08/25/1959, 401 s.g. street apt. 106 tacoma wa. 98405.
    I got laid off from goodwill of the olympic and rainer region 8025 s. hosmer street 98408 tacoma wa. and that last day was 3/17/2020.
    Well I apleid for unemployment on 4/5/2020. and they sent me the proper paperwork except for yesterday 4/2/2020, they denied my case for the reason they said ididn't tell them what I did at goodwill?
    Well I told them that I was a janitor their ~!~ wasn't that enough as if I remember? their wasn't even a space asking me that? but I filled out a application 4 data before that wasn't even a unemployment application?
    I typed in unemployment office in etenet explorer bar!
    I have been schizophrenia 30 years, diabetes 25 years! june 2014 heart attack with stent ejected inside coronary heart artery! eleven staples either february of 2016 or 2017? automotive accident leaving me with migraine headaches! in the shape of the biblical number 7.
    And then the biggie, open heart surgery with installation of a mechanical mitral heart valve with blood thinners keeping me alive!
    And I draw ssdi for 30 years and employed 15 of that 30 years. I have been with goodwill 7 full years in may/29/2020. you know something? it would sure has heaven - ta - betsy be better if someone such as myself could at least call on the telephone and be able to talk! thanks sirs and sincerely randy null

    0 Votes
  • 1a
    1% American Jun 26, 2019

    (I wrote to the WA States Unemployment Office after the employee nonchalant talked to me on 26 JUNE 2019)

    Sir/Ma'am:

    Please cancel all my Unemployment claims. It had been too much of a hassle just for me to ask for temporary unemployment claims. I understood the process of looking for a few jobs weekly just for your program. I filled out an online application for the unemployment claim a few weeks now. When I first started applying for this unemployment claim, I was in school and I did answer to the best of my ability. I sent my school information to include the question I had for you guys but there were no responses or feedback from you guys. The only response back I received were deny letters one after the other. I gave 110% for this country and can't get a penny from this program since applying. I see why too many Veterans rather be homeless than had to deal with your BS. We did not like the tone that you talked to us on the phone. You made us felt like a piss of [censored] and you were not trying to listen to what we had to say. We told you that I have multiple medical conditions but you continued to talk to us like we don't belong in this country. You were not user-friendly. This is the States program, but you talked to us like this is your personal program. If you cannot talk to the unemployment American people with respect, then this is not your profession. You do not know what we are going through so have some sympathy; especially, I served the army for over 20 years; I am an Honorable Retiree and so are my wife and my kids. We are not looking to fraud the government or to abuse the system; we were asking for temporary assistance until my retirement paycheck kick in. I also understood that you are just doing your job. But I am asking you to tactfully communicate to the needy citizens with more respect.

    Thank you for your service; Please CANCEL all my current unemployment claims and any future unemployment claims. You deterred me from utilizing this service.

    Very Respectfully,

    US Army, RETIRED

    1 Votes
  • Bj
    BJ#$ Apr 03, 2018

    Same thing happened to me --cost me thousands to repay "overpayments" and I submitted my job searches every week--it won't let you skip it or it won't submit your weekly claim!

    0 Votes
  • Bj
    BJ#$ Apr 03, 2018

    This happened to me too! now they want me to repay all my benefits! Their computer system is screwed up and they won't admit it!

    0 Votes
  • Bj
    BJ#$ Apr 03, 2018

    I recorded all job search logs online every week when I filed my weekly claim-- now I received a letter asking why I failed to search for work. First it was for one week, I mailed in a response and a copy of a written job search log. Now I received a letter asking why I didn't search for work dating back 6 months!
    A searches went in each week and now suddenly they don't have them at all! the system has been down several times to work on it now all my job searches are gone?!

    0 Votes
  • St
    Steve H59 Mar 22, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    ESD is doing everything it can not to pay me, I am 58 years old and I also worked a part time job to help make ends meet. I was laid off of my full time job and started getting benefits, my part time job hours went from 20 plus a week to 14 or less, I could not pay rent and eviction was getting close. I left Washington for job interviews and to help care for my disabled parents. I jobs fell through( i am sure my age played a role) and Washington said I did not have a good enough reason to quit, I am on my second appeal and close to bankruptcy now. Thanks ESD! for your help. Who can you go to for help that does not work for or paid by ESD?

    -1 Votes
  • Es
    ESDziro Feb 15, 2018

    Horrible state agency in Wa state. The Governor office do nothing about them either. They are very unprofessional, their system is terrible, their phone answering system horrible and name it...Their Commissioner do nothing and I am sorry to live in this corruption state ...If you become unemployed they are not giving you anything...

    0 Votes
  • Ha
    HaMDe Mar 16, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have been dealing with unemployment office for a couple days now and they all try to tell you they cannot help you, last I checked this was your place of employment you need to be able to help me as that is your job! I had my bank account cleared out because of another individual. They are not on my account any longer and this was MY money not the third parties. Even after submitting a letter from the bank stating they are not on the account anymore they still will not release my funds. I know I have rights too. There has to be something else I can do to get MY money back! I find this completely unacceptable and the unemployment office needs to do their job instead of saying they cannot help an individual.

    1 Votes
  • Ml
    mlb1 Dec 10, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I voluntarily quit my job for several personal reasons, however did not officially resign until I was offered a position. According to the unemployment website that is a valid reason for quitting. On my voluntary quit statement I said I decided to quit on 7/1 but I didn't officially resign until I was offered a position...I gave several reasons for my quitting, and they are speculating that those reasons are my reasons for resigning. UGH It is unfair that when they do a review, they do not contact you to go through your request for clarification. 20 years working in that state and I can't even collect unemployment for the short term!

    1 Votes
  • Ek
    Ekblunt Nov 23, 2015

    Where's the call center and all the people whom answered the phone? I know they didn't get laid off. This fcking agency is a joke. Opting out of this bowlshot should be every workers right. I can save for my own hard times. Typical Washington government fleecing its citizens. Maybe i would get better service if i spoke spanish?

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    MickeyMouse1 Feb 10, 2014

    Wow. I am 53 yrs old. Finally got three checks, now being audited. I was laid off in November 6th. Allowed unemployment in Febuary. .
    I follow the rules have done all my job searches, been doing job searches for seven years now. All I have been able to get is part time work, yet now that I have full-time work that is seasonal, they seem to be harrassing me because I complained that the agency is..top heavy... something is wrong.

    0 Votes
  • Ra
    Raymond Gray Aug 01, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    After working for a company for 14 years my domestic partner passed away, I missed work of course. I received a letter from my employer informing me that I had missed 30 days of work, and per the contract with the union I was terminated. I went straight to the union and the help I believe was there was not. I was told to deal with the "reason" on my own, the union would not have any dealings with the subject of the termination. I have tried to find help in anyway possible, I filed my appeals, both denied. I was very upset about the way my appeals were handled, it took for ever for them to work there way through system and then they were denied. I was waiting for months, not weeks, and then given the decision with the "judge" using case law as references and not even addressing the subjects I gave in my appeal that provided my employer was testifying, under oath, was not the truth and used a second attendance policy as evidence against me, is that double jeopardy, and then giving me the wrong paperwork to get signed for FLMA. The entire situation is a employers dream, I had no idea what to except with this process and the "help" you are suppose to get was not even close to what you are faced with. I have attempted to discuss this matter with the departments that this matter was involved, I can only say that I am writing this here because no one will explain there reasons for not wanting to explaining there decisions.

    0 Votes
  • Ll
    LLSS Sep 05, 2012

    I can count on one hand the number of times I have filed for Unemployment in Wa. I am over 50, I am on my 3rd appeal, After being verbally abused, called vulgaar names, being spit on, criticized regularly in front of others for almost 8 years I quit after Employer reduced my hours from full time to 7 hours every other week, Their book clearly states that is considered "good cause" just the reduction in hours seemed okay as I knew I was filing an EOCC claim that would handle the other issues. Nope! wrong!!! My employer lied through his teeth so I responded, contacted a witness, and ULO, had an admistrative Law hearing, by boss was not present, rep from employer claimed they diddn't get my response, so Judge wouldn't allow it, diddn't question my witness and ruled I should of now known it was a part time job? even though I had been working over 2 years full time. something is definitely wrong with this picture as my response should've been allowed, I diddn't receive a fair hearing.

    0 Votes
  • Ar
    Artiumus Oct 09, 2009

    I am on my first appeal now, all because a letter informing me of a mandatory, worksource meeting, somehow was hidden in the jacket of one of my junk-mail ads.

    All I can find in legal advice so far has to do with an employer disputing my claim, and how to get referees and witnesses, ect. Nothing about the course of action to appeal the kind of decision in my case.

    0 Votes
  • Bo
    bob Apr 01, 2009

    Their latest tactic is to back date claims and tie you up with legal red tape; until you finaly give up.
    Washington State resident for over 40 years and still working while paying into their system.
    I very seldom apply for unemployment and because they have made it so dificult for an honest person: I in all probability will never apply again.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.