Vita Clear VitaminsCharged for products - not received!

K
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

The same thing happened to me... I was getting the payments taken out of my checking account. I called proactive to cancel my subscription and they said everything was cancelled including the vitamins. However, then 3 months later I received 3 overdraft payments from my bank. Proactive didn't end up canceling the vitamins... apparently they are not even the same company... I ended up having to pay $200 in overdraft charges from my bank and still have never received the rest of the vitamins I payed for... I am disgusted with the whole situation... Something needs to be done about this...

More Vita Clear Vitamins Complaints & Reviews

Responses

  • Sh
    Sheri Ferguson Aug 21, 2014

    This company sucks...when I ordered proactive no one said anything to me about Vitamins coming ...they hit my account before my check costing me 2.99 for something I did not order or want plus I got hit with a 36.00 dollar draft fee...You call and you get some stupid person on the phone who knows nothing and they can not get you a supervisor because every single one of them are tired up...I plan to follow this up I do not like people having my credit card number and I told her so now I am calling Proactive to complain about this

    0 Votes
  • Ur
    Uri Idstrom Mar 23, 2014

    I am investigating Guthy Renker's practice of billing consumers for Vitaclear without authorization. If you are willing to discuss your experience, please feel free to contact me at [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Rosa1985 Apr 11, 2013

    Hi everyone my name is Rosa,
    It's even worse for me!!! I got the free trial. Then they charged me for the second one. I did not want it so I sent it back to them and they said they would refund my money back.well they didn't! On top...ever since then they have been charging me every month and not even sending me anything !!! Can someone please help me??????

    0 Votes
  • Am
    AM Booth Jan 08, 2013

    7 years and YES these people are still at it!! Screwed me for $70 in charges AFTER my cancellation and return... Plus got OVER DRAFT fee for my troubles! STAY AWAY FROM GRC Gunthy Renker WEN PROACTIV VITACLEAR

    0 Votes
  • Pr
    princess tiana Jul 18, 2012

    Vitaclear is fulla ###...I called and cancelled weeks before my shipment was supposed to arrive and they STILL charged my account...i am fighting them for $215 of overdraft fees and they are acting so "annoyed" by it but yet its not their account thats in overdraft. I will seek legalities against this bogus ### company their pills increase your appetite more than they work on your skin anyway. I want this company shutdown and i will be the 1 to do so

    0 Votes
  • Am
    Amanda L. Stevens Jul 17, 2012

    I have been receiving Vitaclear for months and months after agreeing to the offer through my Proactiv order.
    I cancelled my account by calling [protected]. When you get your shipment the number is located on the invoice right next to your customer account number.
    The lady I spoke to was really nice and she confirmed that I cancelled on time before the next expected charge/shipment on 7/25/12.
    When you call this number, write down who you spoke to and the time and date of when call was placed. Write this on your invoice and put it somewhere safe (just in case).
    I hope this helps anyone who is feeling pains of this awful and overpriced product.
    Vitaclear is a nightmare on a person’s bank account and I wouldn't recommend Vitaclear to anyone especially people struggling to make ends meat!
    Again, the number is [protected] and make sure you have your invoice ready with the account number.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Mad580 Nov 15, 2011

    Vita clear is nothing but iron pills. I say this because the way they smell. When I was pregnant I had to take iron pills and I'd never forget that smell... But they are taking my money to. I ordered a new card and called them yelling about the situation demanding my money over a hundred dollars back and if I don't receive it I will sue them!

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Johnsmom Oct 20, 2011

    I ordered a trial of proactive and as most of the other posters, got the vitamins also. I went online and delayed my next shipment on the proactive site. I ended up getting the vitamins at a rate of almost $40 charged to my card. I called and was told that in the 7 years the rep worked there, I was the first person to make the mistake that the vitamins and the proactive were one account, even though they have the same acct number. I refused delivery and since the box was left here, I ended up driving the box to the post office with no proof I took it back. It will take 4-6 weeks for me to get my credit. It is now over a week since I took the package back and I called to confirm that everything is canceled. The original rep tried to make me feel stupid, and also claimed they have an excellent rating with the BBB. I will never use Proactive again no matter what simply because of this scam.

    0 Votes
  • Ki
    KittenDee Sep 06, 2011

    I canceled my account 3 months ago with Proactiv and should not have been charged for it. Just last month they starting charging and sending me product again, I had to get back in touch with Proactiv again in order for the rep to re-cancel my account when it shouldn't have shipped at all and refund me the money taken out of my account. Hopefully this is the last i see from them we will see in the next couple months. Also cancelled the Vitamins they dont work at all and are way too exspensive.

    0 Votes
  • Je
    jessiemang27 Apr 16, 2011

    This same thing happened to me. I called proactive to cancel the monthly supply, then I get 33 dollars billed to my account from vitaclear and a huge box of vitamins that ID DID NOT ORDER! I did NOT give them consent to charge my card! They are stealing! This is illegal! I called to cancel and they say it has been cancelled and I have to send back the box and I will get a refund... but I have to pay shipping costs. I should not have to pay any shipping costs for a mistake THEY made. Also, when I call proactive and order from them, and they are selling vitaclear, CLEARLY that shows that they are affiliated with this company. So if they are selling their product, then proactive is also resposible for anything that has to do with vitaclear. The vitaclear supervisor also told me that theres no way for practive to be able to tell if I have a vitaclear membebrship when I call and cancel with practive, so when I cancelled proactive, they didnt cancel the vitamins. Well, then why the HELL are they selling vitaclear?! Then, I called proactive to see what they would say about this, and the woman told me that they CAN see if you have a membership with vitaclear, so obviously the vitaclear woman was LYING. These people are thieves and should be arrested for fraud!

    0 Votes
  • Ge
    George Mateescu Apr 14, 2011

    Some thing! I called four times! When i thought it was over i got charged again!

    0 Votes
  • Kr
    Kristie Hayes Mar 30, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This company owes me a refund. Customer Service sucks. Never signed up for this stuff. I most likely will never get a refund. I want to file a law suit!!

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Chelsea55 Aug 19, 2010

    Honestly, I don't think this is too big of an issue. I ordered Proactive + the advertised VitaClear trial about two weeks ago. In the text on the Proactiv website, it clearly says VitaClear is a separate subscription and will continue charging your card every month until you cancel:

    "After your introductory FREE month you’ll receive a new 90-day supply of supplements replenished every three months and you’ll pay only $29.95 plus $2.99 shipping and handling per month."

    So there is nothing to complain about for receiving "unwanted" shipments, it was clearly stated. On another note, I received my VitaClear trial today, called the number on the box and cancelled all future subscriptions. They did ask why I was cancelling.. I mentioned financial reasons. I even recorded the conversation on my phone just in case, but I asked repeatedly if my credit card would be charge for any future orders and the representative said "no, you're membership is completely cancelled." I'll keep a look out on my credit card bill for any future charges, but it seems pretty legit. They're just a company using Proactiv to get customers and make money. If you don't want it, cancel/return your products to get a refund. Simple enough.

    0 Votes
  • Ni
    NinaThompson Aug 11, 2010

    The same thing happened to me as all of you are describing! I ordered Proactiv online(as I have been for the past 5 or 6 years) and there was a "RISK FREE TRIAL" of Vita Clear, so I thought, "Why not?" I tried the vitamins for the first few days but I saw no difference between them and my normal vitamins, so I went back to the vitamins that I was originally on. A few weeks later, I received another box of those vitamins. I had no idea why I received another box of vitamins, so I called them to find out why I got a second box. They had kept my credit card number and charged me for that second box! There wasn't a single place in the Proactiv checkout online that said I would be billed for something that I only wanted a TRIAL for. I immediately cancelled my so-called "subscription" and they billed me AGAIN 3 days later. At this time I was very very angry, so I called Vita Clear again, asking why they are charging me after I had cancelled. They replied that they bill in two cycles, and ONE box of vitamins is a two month supply. I asked what I had to do to make them stop charging me, and they said to send back the box of vitamins and I would receive all of my money back within 4 weeks. It has been 5 weeks after I mailed back the stupid vitamins and I haven't seen a penny of the 60-some dollars that they pretty much stole from my bank account, since they didn't have permission from me in the first place. I am almost ready to call it quits with Proactiv for putting me through so much stress and not having a single statement about the "risk free trial of Vita Clear, " even after my 5-6 years of happiness with their product and customer help-line. Vita Clear sucks.

    0 Votes
  • Al
    Allister907 Jul 14, 2010

    flafdjkjdsfkjskldf

    0 Votes
  • Mc
    Mcorona Apr 29, 2010

    I get really sick when I take them

    0 Votes
  • Se
    senaida frometa Apr 16, 2010

    Guys go to the walmart or to the CVS and but a Prepaid card Called ( GreenDot)... you just put the money that u are gonna use and thats it... you would not need to gave ur personal information... i recive the VitaClear vitamins today but i havent recive the Proativ solution. i called but tehy said that it was gonna take a little longer to get it ... i think that they are going to do the same thing with me!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ir
    ironmangabriel Mar 12, 2010

    Today I come home to a package of two 60 day supplies of vita clear. I ordered ONLY two 30 day packs when I ordered proactive for the first time, I believe a little over a month ago. They offered it as only a trial, and that is all I wanted, that is all I ordered and made it clear I did not want to continue any more shipments unless I decided I liked it. I suppose they did not listen, because now I have two 60 days supplies, that I do not want and 63 dollars out of my checking account.

    The number on the box is based in California and they told me to send the pills back to North Carolina, and then once they get them then it will take up to 4 weeks before they put my money back into my account (something along those lines). They did cancel the account they had for me though. So hopefully no more shipments.

    I am not happy at all about this. I do not have time to deal with other peoples mistakes. If i have time, I will call tomorrow and tell them to fix it themselves, more or less, and to put back my money, immediately. Hopefully they will. Yet i doubt it.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    shqipe Feb 25, 2010

    i used vitaclear for couple of days, but i kept having this side affects...i start having breathing borblems and chest broblem, so i stop using..so my Question is didthis happend to anyone else?

    0 Votes
  • Ti
    tina presnell Nov 06, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    lost my money and not happy

    0 Votes
  • Ti
    tina presnell Nov 06, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    lost money

    0 Votes
  • Ti
    tina presnell Nov 06, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    took my msney order nothing returned

    0 Votes
  • Tb
    tbud333 Oct 24, 2009

    I recieve my proactiv order every 2 months. I get the invoice and pay it with a check when my order comes. Well, I have been having unauthorized withdrawals from my bank account by proactiv. They took 49.92 from my account twice without my permission in a period of a month. I had made an internet purchase a month ago from them for an extra bottle of cleanser. They told me that when I had put in that order and gave my bank number that I had an outstanding charge to them for 49.92 so they automaticly charged that to my card too. Then when my next order came in they just decided to charge that amount to my card. I had paid that one with a check also but they said they had no record of it. I went to my bank and they told me to make an attempt to clear it up and write down details of who I talked with and the times and what was said. Well because they took the money out without my knowledge my account was overdrawn and 2 checks bounced. The bank charged me 29.00 times 2 so my account balance was minus $88.90 I had to take money out of my savings account to pay back the bank. They said they would refund me 49.92 and if I fax them the canceled check I might get the other 49.92 back. I said I'm still out 88.90 charged by the bank. I am taking all this that I have documented back to my bank tomorrow and tell them I want to file Fraud charges against this company.

    0 Votes
  • Je
    Jennifer's Advice Sep 24, 2009

    When ever you order anything by "trial order" ALWAYS cancel within 3 to 5 days of ordering, even if you had'nt received your product yet. That way you can get the product try it and not be billed the products regular retail value and get it at the trial (usually cheap) price. If you do like the product you can just call them and order it at your convienence.

    0 Votes
  • Gl
    glit Aug 20, 2009

    You can call [protected] to cancel them

    0 Votes
  • Sf
    sfsekaran Jul 09, 2009

    Go to the BBB website and file your complaint!!!

    0 Votes
  • De
    Derrick May 26, 2009

    I ordered VitaClear as a free trial with Proactiv on November 2008 and got the vitamins along with Proactiv. Then I never got another one until today, when I received 2 packages from VitaClear, one arrived in my apt on May 15th, the other one on May 22nd. I phoned the number and they told me I can only refund the one on May 22nd because the first package was sent on March. But truly enough it only arrived on May 15th, and my apartment has the proof on this. I'm refunding the 2nd package, but I want my money back on the first package because I had no chance to do a 30 or 60 day money back refund since it was charged on March but arrived on May 15th! Give me my money back.

    0 Votes
  • Be
    bethany Apr 20, 2009

    Wow, I also wished I had seen these blogs before agreeing to my alleged $3.oo vitaclear promotion through Proactiv. I had the same problem with Proactiv continually charging me a monthly balance what I believed to be a "one-time" deal. Unfortunately, the are separate companies under Guntyh- Renker, so I had to call both costumer service lines monthly to have them cancel my policy. Also, I was denied access to proof that I had agreed to a monthly shipment and charge of each product, and neither place would offer me a confirmation of cancellation in writing. I'm glad "willie" mentioned pursuing a chargeback form. I plan on filing that, and a complaint to the better business bureau.

    0 Votes
  • Wi
    willie Apr 10, 2009

    I wish I had found this website BEFORE agreeing to a free sample of VitaClear. I wasn't told anything about "club membership" or future orders. Then, I received a box in the mail, and discovered that my bank account had been dinged for $33.94 TWO WEEKS EARLIER. I called in, and that operator tried EVERY trick in the book to keep me from canceling. When I told her that I was not informed about the membership she said, "Oops, I'm sorry." I had to tell her 5 or 6 times "NO, I DON"T WANT IT. CANCEL THE MEMBERSHIP NOW" before she agreed. And did she volunteer the information about the OTHER HALF of the charge that would be removed from my account in a few weeks? ($33.94 is only HALF the price!) No, she didn't. It was like pulling teeth to get her to give me instructions for returning the dang thing. I am now waiting for the refund. She told me it would be "a couple of days", but when I pressed her for an exact date, it turned out to be a THREE WEEK WAIT.

    FYI- People, you do not have to tolerate this. The best thing to do in situations like this is to go to your bank and ask them for a charge-back form, and file it. A lot of people don't know you can do this, but it is effective. It will get your money back, but most importantly... any company that has charge-backs gets fined, and if they get enough of them, they lose their license to accept payment electronically. Sometimes, just calling them up and telling them, "If you don't refund my money by such-and-such date, I am going to file a charge-back with my bank." They DO NOT want that, and will usually become very compliant with that threat on the table. Believe me, if VitaClear doesn't refund my money by the date that the operator told me, I AM FILING A CHARGE-BACK with my bank.

    And if you do get something you didn't order, don't open it. Write "Refused. Return to sender" on it, and then they have to pay the shipping. If you do open it (in the heat of your frustration), be sure to get delivery confirmation on the box when you ship it back to them.

    I used the [protected] number today, and it works.

    1 Votes
  • Cl
    claire blues Apr 07, 2009

    clairblues said:
    DON'T BUY VITA CLEAR it's a nightmare they say its
    free when you order it. but i guess somewhere they have a disclaimer that says that they can change the price and frequency. and after you discontinue they'll send it to you for two months. so i set up proactive to come every three months and vita clear was coming EVERY month charging me 37 dollars monthly i discontinued in January and they've been charging me since and now it's April! its a total RIPOFF. don't do it.

    i didn't even know i was being charged because they
    didn't even send it to me half the time they just charged me. so i called proactive they said they couldn't do anything because its a different company. so i called vita clear and sat on the phone listening to the charlie brown music loop for an hour. then i called Gunthey Renker the parent company so they can put an end to this. and i was telling their pr girl how unethical this is and they should do something about it. because it's happening to a lot of people and she said "well that's because people don't read what they buy".

    i think it's perfect grounds for a class action if anyone's interested. I want my money back

    0 Votes
  • An
    Andrew Apr 05, 2009

    Seriously, I'm never buying a Proactiv product again.

    Such a pain in the ### to cancel the vitamins.
    If you can't get in touch with the VitaClear company, just email your bank account to prevent any transactions with VitaPower or VitaClear.
    Worked for me.

    0 Votes
  • Ta
    tarah23 Apr 03, 2009

    wow so after reading all this, i called vita-clear at [protected] and thanks to my criminal justice degrees, i was able to dispute this to the fullest extent and got 101.82 back to my account out of the total 169.70 that i have paid so far for these things. lets hope this money does post to my account within the next 3-10 business days as "elizabeth" says. otherwise, we're going to have a problem.

    heres how it went down:

    i told her a class action suit was in progress against this company and what they are doing is fraud because i am not authorizing the $ to be taken from my account ESPECIALLY because right as I was talking to "elizabeth" i was also online-chatting with a pro-active representative named "sarah" who said that vita-clear only costs 3.99 (shipping) but the vitamins themselves are free and its for a 30-day supply only. so i told "elizabeth" this information that is being given by pro-active and she said that i was misinformed by pro-active and it's not vita-clear's responsibility. hell nah! it IS your responsibility because YOUR COMPANY is taking the money from my account.

    i win...so far.

    0 Votes
  • Cm
    CMJ Mar 31, 2009

    WOW! Sorry about the bad service. I guess I am all alone here, because I ordered my VitaClear with my ProActiv too, but just the opposite happened. I received my VitaClear within three days; maybe because I ordered on a Friday night after 9:00 p.m., but it came right away, fast! However, I am still waiting for my ProActiv kit! Where is it??

    But, I have something to share with all of you - If you are still receiving packages of VitaClear even after you cancel, when you receive the next one, just write on the box - as big as you can, REFUSED - Subscription Canceled! Then make sure that the mail carrier gives you a receipt that you refused it. If you received the package while you were not at home, then take it to the post office and make sure you get a receipt indicating that you are "REFUSING and SENDING it back! Also, record each and everytime this happens to you. The next step - get a lawyer and and make sure that you write a letter to the company along with a copy to GUTHY-RENKER NUTRITION/ProActiv. And finally, call your bank and make a report that this company refuses to stop charging your card and that they (your bank) cancel any further attempts against your card from this company, that way VitaClear will not receive funds!!

    0 Votes
  • Da
    danielswifey Mar 06, 2009

    I just got off the phone with the [protected] (number on the box) when you call they will ask why you want to cancel, I just said it wasnt working for me. They will also tell you they can delay shipments for up to 6 months so you can decide if you want it again. Just tell them no thanks to whatever they offer. I said I would like to have a future shipments cancelled. She did and I was finished and off the phone in about 3 mins. Oh, they apparently are open all night, I called at 1:30 a.m. and barely had a hold time, so if you stay up late I would recommend calling later at night. Hope this helps you all, and I hope I don't see any money taken out at a later time.

    0 Votes
  • Tr
    Trivial Feb 24, 2009

    WOW I will never use a proactive product again... I got an over charge from this product but luckily B of A knows customer service and reversed the charges... but this is just ridiculous and a scam... I called proactive where I ordered the product and canceled my order but then was still charged and come to find out I have to call another number...they try to give u all these offers... then come to find out I have to pay for the shipping


    I WILL NEVER USE ANY PROACTIVE PRODUCT OR ANYTHING LINKED TO THEM EVER AGAIN

    0 Votes
  • Rm
    rMv Jan 07, 2009

    Just contact the number on the box. I had no problems canceling it, and this girl tried to keep me on those vitamins by offering first 10% discount and then when i said no, 30 seconds later she offered me a 50% discount. I was laughing, but I just said no to everything she offered me, and canceled my subscribtion in 3 minutes. Hope you will too. Just dont go for their discounts.

    0 Votes
  • Ti
    Tiffany Anderson Dec 19, 2008

    Where do I start. At first I was like cool, vitamins that help my acne. I got them in the mail and everything was fine. Until a month later I checked my bank statement to find that they had deducted $33.47 out of my checking account. Which then made me over drawn by another $35.oo + all these god damn continuos level charges. Don't ever order vita pieces of ### vitamins!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    Katie Oct 30, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I just called the customer service given above and they sounded very reassuring that everything would be ok. Im not worried that it will give me any trouble i just need to remember to cancel in under a month.

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Ross Compton Oct 18, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    When I first ordered ProActiv I made the mistake of signing up for the trial vita clear- but only the trial. However, today I received another box along with a bill for $60. I called to cancel, and though I read that many had trouble canceling, I didn't. I just called the number on the box, said no when I was offered a discount, and I'll be on my way to the post office on Monday to send back the box. But apparently I won't be credited the money for another four to fixe weeks. Don't sign up for this. It's just a vitamin that's been marked up. Avoid the hassle!

    0 Votes
  • La
    LaToya Oct 13, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I just now payed attention to my account and have the same problem. I just called to cancel and they did but the amount was still taken out of my account. I have only recieved one shipment and that was two months ago!

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.