Resolved Two Of Us Dating ServicesFraud and cheating

J

I guess I fell for the trap. I am a selective person and never thought of myself as needing the services of a dating agency. I didn't realize that is what this was when I set up an appointment to come in and find out about what they could help me with. I originally responded to an online dating website called VIPsingles.com Turns out they sold my name to Two of Us.

The person I met with who is a Membership Counselor she came across pretty legit and serious. However, what I didn't realize is that I would have to sign up for their service on my initial visit. She explained they required that because this ensured all their members were serious about finding the right person for them.

I know I should have known better than falling for this but I did. The agreement I signed yesterday morning has a 3 day cooling off period clause so after reading this I will cancel and ask for a full refund. I typically do my homework before hand but I was too busy at work this week and had not time for it prior to my meeting. I figured I would have time to do it after the fact, but they are really good at getting you to sign on the spot.

Single women, please beware.

More Two Of Us Dating Services Complaints & Reviews

Responses

  • Mo
    Monica Jul 24, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I was a member and I do agree with the statements above. The dating service is just a scam. They sent me matches that were not within the criteria and they took a long time to reply or return phone calls. I decided to stop the membership payments.

    I was harassed on the phone by the customer representatives and they even threaten me to pay them back.
    I told them about the poor service, lack of professionalism and I was totally dissatisfied with the company, that in my point of view, I should not have to pay for services I did not get.

    I even went to the offices and they assured me that a representative was going to get in touch with me, I am still waiting for the phone call. I wrote them an e-mail about trying to sell the membership, I am still waiting for the forms they were going to send me.

    As you may see, I tried the best to get this solved, but it seems that they just want their money in the bank. The only time I hear from them is to collect money.
    I still owe $1, 288 of which I am not thinking of paying a single cent, even though it will hurt my credit but 7 years can go really fast.

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Ron Apr 29, 2009

    DO NOT USE TWO-OF-US DATING SERVICE!!!

    Company information:
    Two Of Us Dating Services
    Pittsburgh, PA
    United States

    I totally agree. DO NOT USE TWO-OF-US FOR A DATING SERVICE. Like the person above I normally wouldn't even have considered using a dating service. And also like that person I responded to VIPsingles.com and also just like, Two-Of-Us contacted me. They were in a big rush to get me in there and asked what my spontaeity level was. Seemingly encouraged by this they wanted me to come in THAT NIGHT.

    I declined but came in the next day, on my day off, a Saturday which I really didn't want to do.

    Again like the person above, I met with a counselor who was persuasive and serious and for the mere price of $4000, yes four thousand dollars, I could join and be matched with up to 24 single women in my age group. They make you take a personality profile and also ASK you a few questions about the person you are attracted to. Questions about physical attributes...nothing in the form written down.

    They also ask for an ADDITIONAL $500 if you want to be a "preferred member" and put you at the front of the line so to speak. NO REFUNDS AT ANY TIME!

    Keep in mind YOU SEE NO PICTURE WHATSOEVER OF THE PERSON. Once you pay your bargain $4500 they enter your data into a piece of software and every 2-6 weeks the software matches you with another person. You have no say in the matter. Each person gets a very brief email stating the other person's name, city, home phone, age, race, eye color, hair color, and a couple interests. THAT'S IT. It's up to you to call her/him (I never got called), introduce yourself, and set up a date. You may be shocked when you get to the meeting place. They may look nothing like what you asked for. Needless to say I went on a few dates, I was nice, but the chemistry wasn't there.

    Then I called a couple girls and either got no return call or they acted like it creeped them out or I was bothering them.

    Therefore I can absolutely say it was a waste of money and I feel cheated. Complete waste of money, I might as well have flushed $4500 down the toilet. I asked for a refund after 2 dates, 2 rejections, and 2 setups that I didn't persue and they said they don't give refunds and they could put me on hold until I was ready. And oh by the way, if they don't hear from you for four months your contract is DONE. It's a total SCAM.

    I CAN't STRESS ENOUGH, DO NOT USE TWO-OF-US DATING SERVICE!!! I'm going to campaign hard against them...

    3 Votes
  • Fr
    frmn88 May 09, 2009

    I too was scammed by Two of us (formerly Together) The scammer I had met with (Pam, manager in Bridgewater, NJ) actually played upon my emotions concerning a recent divorce, and I regret to say that she had me in tears. She told me that I deserved to love and be loved again and that they had a 90+ success rate among their members. I should have suspected when she said that there were 7000+ members in new jersey alone, (which sounds like alot) but I realized later that when you break it down, (by age, location, interest etc.) You wind up with very few prospective dates that are actually compatible! It is actually just as much a crapshoot as walking in to a bar scene! Contrary to some, I did not have a "cooling off" period in which to cancel, and felt "buyer's remorse" immediately afterward. I spent 3000 dollars on 5 introductions (after I had talked her down from 4000) and am now realizing it wasn't even worth 300. A fool and his money are soon parted. Better to take an ad in the paper, or deal with the internet sites bull than this.

    1 Votes
  • Ff
    ff44 May 10, 2009

    I agree this is a total scam, unfortunately I fell for it as well. It was a great sales pitch (BEWARE THE PERSON I MET WAS MYRA IN THE BRIDGEWATER OFFICE AND THE MANAGING DIRECTOR IS PAM). The sales pitch was great but they have POOR SERVICE, HORRIBLE SERVICE (CALL BACKS TAKE FOREVER), and who knows what type of logic is used to match someone. It is a crap shoot; the person i met with said she has been doing this for over 10 years, and you would think there would be better matches but definitely no!

    1 Votes
  • Mi
    Michele May 14, 2009

    ditto to all of the above. I fell for it, too. Is there any legal action being taken anywhere?

    2 Votes
  • Ro
    Ron May 14, 2009

    Correction on my earlier email. The cost was not $4000, it was $4783+500=$5283.

    I am embarrassed to admit that I blew over 5 grand on absolutely nothing.

    I am an Engineer and usually am more cautious and skeptical, but the sales pitch revolved around “you get what you pay for” and “imagine the quality of women who will pay this price for this service” and “we have a very high success rate”.

    Basically I plunked down 5 grand for filling out a form, going through an interview, getting my info entered into a program, then the program churns, puts out a match, and I get an anonymous email. The first two matches ended up being total flops. Then I have to go back and enter feedback on my own. So basically I am gathering and entering data and paying THEM for it. Think about that for a second.

    Agreed that who knows how the matching program works. I do some computer programming and I honestly feel with a little research I could develop a process that works better than this and still make a ton of money. I would also probably give a trial period where you could get a partial refund depending on how much time and effort had been spent. That way no one feels like it was a total loss.

    I think it’s unethical and bad business for them not to give at least a partial refund. I understand that they are trying to protect themselves from someone finding someone and they claiming that they did not. Then the scammer would try to get their money back, but damn.

    Honestly I HAVE done better with MySpace and FaceBook, and they are free.

    I look at the wording in the contract and it seems pretty solid.

    Currently I know of no legal action but I am thinking of contacting a lawyer. I am interested in helping to get the word out there for other people so they won’t have to go through what we did. Anyone have any ideas? Maybe a website or something?

    1 Votes
  • It
    ItWasKismet Jun 08, 2009

    Simply put, I find it rather ridiculous to have such strong opinions and to slam a company because you have "buyer's remorse." Two of us changed my life. I have been happily married for 2 years, even invited the office to my wedding and still continue a relationship with them, receiving anniversary gifts and continual contact to make sure I'm still happily married, to a wonderful man might I add. Comparing a professional dating service to the bar scene is unfathomable. Did you know 2% of married people met in bars and a tiny fraction of them stay married for more than 4 years. There is no comparison what-so-ever and continuing that pattern to find love will keep you lonely and susceptible to be scammed date after date after date with incompatible people.
    It's fine to have opinions, Jayne, but frankly, it's sad that you come here to complain about something YOU NEVER EVEN TRIED. Crying about your last divorce sounds like you aren't even ready to TRY! Or maybe it's because you can't afford it? Because it's not worth having to send in feedback? Seriously now, the feedback is to constantly improve future dates. I went through 6 dates before meeting my husband. All the men they set me up with were exactly what I was looking for, but there wasn't any chemistry. Whose fault is that? They can't control attraction. What they control is the compatibility and potential longevity of the relationship with the people they match you with. I suggest you keep looking online, keeping scrolling through endless pictures of people and never get out there at all. Just sit behind your computer with so much time on your hands that you want to create a website? You must be lonely. Or you can go to bar to meet that special someone who's likely to be an alcoholic anyway.

    0 Votes
  • In
    Ingrid Jun 16, 2009

    TWO OF US IS A COMPLETE SCAM. They took my money and did nothing for me. Sent me one loser, the complete opposite of what I told them I needed, or wanted, and I never heard from them since. exept when is time for the harrassing call from the collection agency, they sell the accounts to. (Monterey Financial Svcs) another scam.
    THIS PEOPLE MUST BE STOPPED!

    2 Votes
  • Ge
    Gene J. Jul 06, 2009

    I have the same views as most of the people who post-ed here, and have a response to the one woman who had success. I've been to more than one of these sites, and see the same thing at all of them. I found my first girlfriend through Great Expectations years ago, but they committed fraud in signing me up by making promises they could never deliver on, but it wasn't worth worrying about for the low price I paid. I final-ly realized, that if sob enough about the money, they'll buckle because they want the sale badly enough. I'm also sure that most, if not all, of this complaining is being done through this anonymous internet, so you're reading this without having the full effect of the human vocal emotions coming out. A BIG difference.
    I went to the office in Ontario, California twice, and didn't sign up because I also didn't like the idea of not being able to see a picture of the person I was be-ing matched up with. I don't like that idea. Looks, as superficial as this may seem, as a very important part of the equation and very subjective. That's just a fact of life. I also didn't like the idea of not being able to get a refund if you didn't meet anyone or didn't use your entire membership.
    They say you can transfer or sell the remainder of it. Well, I live in Southern California, and people are maybe nice and smiley on the surface, but not gen-erally sincere underneath. You have to have a circle of friends in order to be able to do that. I went home after my 2nd meeting with them, and as I was driv-ing I said to myself, "Self, I wonder what this all breaks down to per date before any actual money is spent on the date itself.
    Folks! Buckle your seatbelt for this. The lowest price came out to about $250 per date. I don't know about you, but that's expensive, and you never get to even meet the matchmaker. Now to the person who felt we were all complainers, here's my response. Whenever I look for reviews on anything now on the internet, I like to find out the ratio between the good and the bad. you have no idea who these people are and probably never will, and don't know if the god responses are shills or real people. I don't care anyhow.
    I read them all and look for the ratio. I try to egt a general idea and also look for how diverse they are as far as how much of they country they cover.

    Gene J.

    1 Votes
  • Li
    lindalimone Jul 22, 2009

    Totally agree with the above persons commet. They are a scam and do absolutely no follow up. I refuse to make the 1sr call and should have followed my 1st instincts when I went for my appointment. Aslo on a Sat. and all I saw were these glamour girls (whom I thought were a little over-dressed for the job; as if they wanted these dates for themselves. Only have had 1 contact and the 2nd never did call after over a month called to complain and that has been over two weeks and to this day have not gotten another new contact. I was under the impression you got 5 total, so far in my mind have had only 1 and the 2nd does not count, has he did not call and I will not make the 1st call. Also was told alot of men in my area available??????Where are they.

    1 Votes
  • Mi
    Michele Jul 22, 2009

    lindalimone, I have had a similar experience that some times make me wonder if the person is actually real or not. I did go in and meet my matchmaker and have gone on a very nice date since. But, most of them never call in the first place.

    I am 55 and they told me the same thing..."many men your age group." I am curious if you are in the same age group? Actually, if would good ot know what age groups any of you are in. If it is happening to the younger people I would be even more suspicious.

    1 Votes
  • Sk
    sking718 Jul 29, 2009

    I was contacted my "Two of Us" today telling me that they had my profile. I never sent my profile to them. The guy was very adamant that I make an appointment and didn't want me to get off the phone. Luckily, I was consistent and told him that I wanted to "check them out" and I would call him back. I'm glad that I did!!

    1 Votes
  • Ge
    George Washington Aug 06, 2009

    They should call this company “Let Us Screw You Two Ways for Us”
    Stay away from this false service.
    I should have known better when we started negotiating the price. They start at $4, 500.00 and they go back forth to the “manager” like your buying a car. You sign a contract with a three-day cancel clause. They send you a phone number “hand picked” buy a computer two weeks later. I here some people actually pay $4, 500.00, I am so sorry for you. I got taken for a lot less but I got taken.

    The matching is really bad. You give them your money, your wish list and you get the opposite. They tell you to add more to your wish list so they can match you closer and you get something even worse. I believe they just want you to give up and go away. They have your money, you signed a “Your Are a Real Stupid Fool!” contract, you feel taken and they are fat and happy.

    If someone finds away to stop them, let me know.

    1 Votes
  • Mi
    Michele Aug 07, 2009

    $4, 500 is nothing. They started me @ $20, 000. What a great analogy...car salesman. perfect.

    I got them down to $2, 000. But, even that is ridiculous. Oh, well. I think the only way to do anything is through the better business bureau.

    1 Votes
  • St
    Still Single & OK Aug 22, 2009

    Wow! I'm lucky I happened across this site. I was just in the process of filing a complaint with the BBB regarding Two of Us, Inc., & I wanted to verify their address (Lawrenceville, NJ), when I saw this complaint board. I'm relieved, though I felt like I was punched in the stomach by them, but I they didn't get any money from me, unlike the rest of you! I was harrassed into making a hasty appt. with them, even though I initially felt uncomfortable, & then couldn't find a babysitter. I was called by Scott @ 6:00 pm on Fri. night to verify, told him I was having trouble finding a sitter & might not be able to make it . Prior to his call I just arrived at home after a hard day of work, didn't have much to eat that day, & I needed to take my son out for a few errands, I was a little frazzled needless to say. He immediately stated that I could not cancel, as it would be impossible to fill my spot at such short notice. I stated that I could still make phone calls to arrange care for my son, but he cut me off & said that I could not cancel either way. I got mad & hung up on him. He called right back & left an unbelieveable message for me! " It was rude of me to hang up & inconsiderate of me to cancel at the last minute, and probably explains why I'm still single!! Don't submit any profiles in the future, we are taking you out of our database & good luck in the single scene!! " I saved this message, it was actually more harsh, even hurtful, but I'm glad I hesitated going further with this, & sorry so many people are losing money this way, I feel so much better getting this off my mind, good luck & success to everyone! Anne

    2 Votes
  • Su
    sucker#2 Aug 26, 2009

    I joined the two of us 3 wks ago, got 2 refferals 5 days ago and neither one of these men have called me yet, one match didn't even share the same interest as me! Wondered how they came to match us up. And yes, I too was taken for a large amount of money. They said if I wanted to meet quality men who were serious about having a relationship than I should be willing to pay this amount. They only except the "good" people who are looking for long term relationships. And ask me if I thought I was worth it. I thought the fact that they didn't put my info on the internet or put my picture out there for everyone to see, was a great selling point since I am a single mom. However, The amount took me by surprise, I drove home sick to my stomach that I had just spent this outragous amount of money trying to find a quality man for my son and myself, read the entire contract and saw there was no canceling at anytime, all terms were final. Wonder if there is any way to file a class action suit? Well another lesson in living and learning, i guess. I just feel bad that I should've put that money into my sons savings account instead. Guess single isn't so bad.

    1 Votes
  • Mi
    Michele Aug 28, 2009

    I would definitely be game for going after them.

    1 Votes
  • Ar
    Arthur M Sep 01, 2009

    I would certainly say it is a scam too. I signed up in late 2005, and they STILL owe me my 5 dates (I "got" four which were best put as learning experiences but no real matches). It was for $2500, which breaks down to $500 a date. I figuired it was worth it if things actually went anywhere. Recently, I got a letter from a bankruptcy lawyer for the Bridgewater, NJ office that I signed up with saying I'm a creditor. I'm not sure if it is for the whole organization or just that "chapter". So much for going after them.

    1 Votes
  • Li
    linda shier Sep 08, 2009

    After $3, 000 of fradulent promises I am taking them to small claims court for breach of contract! BEWARE They have excellent sales people that say they have a data base of what you are looking for. After 3 months I got no one! The one person they sent me was NOT within my requirements. This is a scam and I intend to sue.
    Linda

    1 Votes
  • Li
    linda shier Sep 08, 2009

    THIS SITE IS FRAD! DO NOT JOIN OR BE TAKEN BY THEIR FAST TALKING SALES PEOPLE WHO LIE TO YOU ABOUT EVERYTHING AND TAKE AS MUCH MONEY AS YOU HAVE. I AM TAKING THEM TO COURT. ANYONE INTERESTED IN JOINING ME, FEEL FREE!

    0 Votes
  • No
    Not Happenin Sep 13, 2009

    This all just kind of sounds like people who put too high of standards on it. Most of you say you only dated a few people then gave up on it. Maybe you should have taken more time and gone on a few more dates? Who cares if they don't have pictures, go on the date and see for yourself. If nothing else, it's a night out.

    I'm just doing research on dating sites and so far it looks like no one is ever happy with any of them. No one goes online and looks for ways to tell everyone how great a place is. It's always the negative people dogging the place out. I kind of feel bad for the company for this reason.

    I mean, was there a contract? Did it spell it out for you? Did you still give your money? So what's the issue?

    I dunno. After reading the first comment I thought maybe the place really was bad. After hearing everyone, it just sounds like a bunch of lonely people who are on the internet way too much during the day and have nothing better to do than be negative and try to take a business down for a mistake THEY made. Not a mistake because the business is bad, but a mistake because they were not ready to follow the rules of a business they spent their hard earned money on.

    1 Votes
  • Ja
    jairdye Sep 13, 2009

    Not Happenin,

    I suspect you either work for twoofus or you have some personal stake in their business. The truth is that all the complaints you've read so far are true because I can definitely attest to the ### service they provide at twoofus formerly "Together" and formerly "The Right One". I also remember what went down the first time I went to the Hackensack NJ location. I met with a lady called Suzzane Shoukeh. She started out by asking how much I made a year and all other sorts of personal information. Told me they'll be doing a background check which was okay with me since I'm clean as a whistle. Then she started hinting at the cost of the service by making statements like "It ain't cheap". I started wandering how much this thing was going to cost me. When she started at $10, 000 dollars, I smiled and said no problem but that I would like to think about it. She would not let me go! All of a sudden it became clear to me that I was at a shanty market where you could haggle the price of something you wanted to purchase. Statements like how much would you pay for the right person was thrown around. She finally got the price down to about $1500 dollars. In my mind, I was like wow!! This girl could have gotten me to shell out $10, 000 dollars. I could afford it but without knowing what I was going to get, and without any guarantees, I could not part with that much money. I'm very certain that some guys must have plucked down that amount or even more because they play with your ego. They make you feel like the ### so when they give you the price, you don't want to act like a ### and start backing away. I personally added another $500 dollars to the price I paid hoping to appease her and also hoping that she'd send me the right kind of people.
    I will not lie though... I met some nice ladies but there was either no chemistry or I'd find out one issue or another with the ladies they sent my way. I remember questioning one of the ladies trying to see what price she paid and she would not tell me. Apparently, she got a sweet ### deal from "Joyce" (another lady in the group).
    They also seem to "blacklist you" and decide all of a sudden to stop sending you matches. I've called several times to ask them what was going on and Joyce (who seems to perpetually be on the phone anytime I call) would say they've not gotten any new members. Really? So they're out of people to refer to me.
    The tactic for blacklisting you is simple. If you are matched with someone and you become an item for a couple of months but it ends up not working out, you have hell to pay. They send you two more ladies whom if you call, will not return your call. From there, you will not hear anything from twoofus. If you don't call to ask them what's going on, they don't call you back.
    Yes, I spent $2000 for the opportunity to go on blind dates. I laugh when I think about it. I wondered how many years of service that would have gotten me on chemistry, eharmony and I get to see pictures too. At least on these sites you have the ability to see who you're going to meet before hand. This is definitely one of my worst mistakes.
    I really hope someone takes them to court and that someday they'll be forced to pay restitution for deceiving people.

    ALL IN ALL... IF YOU'RE THINKING OF JOINING "TWOOFUS" (TWO OF US) OR "TOGETHER" OR "THE RIGHT ONE", YOU ARE BETTER OFF JOINING ONE OF THESE DATING SITES. YOU HAVE BETTER LUCK FINDING SOMEONE THERE. THEIR SERVICE IS ### AT BEST!!!

    1 Votes
  • Mi
    Michele Sep 14, 2009

    Hm, Dear "Not Happenin, "

    I went into this contract with a good attitude, and ready to enjoy the experience. Unfortunately, I have put in many calls and have been very proactive in trying to get them to match me. They don't respond. And, I too was given a very strong sales pitch which has turned out to have misrepresented the truth about the company. In fact, the people they have matched me with are not even close to what we had spoken about.

    I really doubt anyone would plunk down $3, 000 without being ready to make a go of it. Frankly, your posting sounds like you work for the company.

    1 Votes
  • Ha
    Hates Complaint Boards Oct 23, 2009

    I gaurantee you that no software does the matches. I have spent overtime away from my husband because I care so much about our members and I make sure every single person gets the best matches possible. Do we make mistakes sometimes? Yes... but I promise you we put everything we have into this service.

    I have found that the most difficult people to match are the people who have nothing to offer. It's blunt, but it's true. People come in here with absolutely no good qualities to offer and expect us to find a wealthy barbie doll who will love them just the way they are. It doesn't happen. Those barbie dolls are already taken by the great guys that are also members. If you are having issues finding someone, maybe you should bathe, lose a little weight, educate yourself, and lower your standards a little.

    People are so ignorant.

    -1 Votes
  • Ro
    Ron Oct 23, 2009

    Dear 'Hates Complaint Boards'

    You are a great example of an ignorant person. How ignorant is it that you are effectively insulting everyone on this board. I happen to have a Masters' degree, have excellent personal hygiene (get compliments on it daily). I am in top shape...top shape. I work out twice a day in fact.

    Just face it. YOUR SYSTEM SUCKS. Call it what it is. THE FACT THAT YOU GUYS DO NOT GIVE REFUNDS SAYS IT ALL. If you stood by your performance you wouldn't lock people into a corner and shrug your shoulders when the dates continually never get off the ground and are dismal failures. And they end up being failures not because we had nothing to say. The dates were stimulating intellectually. They had no physical chemistry. When you have no idea what the person looks like, then the physical attraction ends up being a total mystery. You have no clue what they person looks like, and you may end up having a big surprise. IT DOESNT WORK. Instead of criticizing us...you should listen and try to improve your process. THAT IS ALSO IGNORANT.

    And I won't stoop to your level to insult you personally as you did with everyone on this board. But I think you should learn how to spell.

    1 Votes
  • Au
    auntimame Dec 04, 2009

    Not happenin? Is that what it sounds like to you? "a bunch of lonely people with too much time on the internet?" Aren't you one of them then? My goodness. I, too, Have Two Of Us. I have had a few suggestions but NONE of them call me. NONE. I'm told the men should call. When I called one of them, I found him immediately on Facebook. Nothing came of it. They often set you up with whomever. I have had to call them back repeatedly to change my standards, but they insist on shoving down my throat what they "have". I thought at first I just chose the wrong place until I read everyone's complaints. Ouch. We just chose the wrong company guys.

    1 Votes
  • Sl
    SLM11004 Jan 04, 2010

    I totally agree. I've spent way more than what I really wanted to because the firm played on my emotions on how can a price be set on finding your true love and this is for life and the success rate is so high and no one wants to be alone...Need I say more...I was in the office for about 2 hours, and they advised the plan would cost x amount and I said no way, I talked them down (I should have known then) to a more agreeable amount I guess because again this would lead me to my soul mate. Well needless to say they sent me about 6 referrals, and 2 of them met my qualifications. When I advised that the others didn't meet my preset criteria they said I should have an open mind and what if my Mr. Right slipped away...They played the guilt card, and the lonely card. I have not heard anything positive from this service since I've been enrolled. The dates that I have had all complained. But I cannot do anything about that since they did provide me with referrals so I'm upholding my end of the contact and they did also. The quality of the referrals they provided me with was poor...I do not suggest this service to anyone.

    0 Votes
  • Li
    Linda - Princeton NJ area Jan 04, 2010

    Well, I have one more referral to go and I can't say it's been in any way, shape or form a successful experience. I have, like many of the others who have commented, was sucked in by the wish-list of who you want in a partner promises. My consistent experience was that I was NOT matched with men who met my basic requirements (<30 mi. away, college educated, single, and financially stable). I have not had one male call me first and when I have made contact, most were less than enthusiastic. The latest canceled our first date because his daughters decided to come over on a whim and couldn't even call because he "lost" his phone. One had his ex move back into his house, one talked incessantly about his medical condition, one was a lot older than his profile said, one after 3 weeks of talking thought he could possibly set up time to meet in another 3 weeks, several lived 40+ miles away, and the list goes on. Granted some of this was not Twoofus's fault but overall the type of men I met were apathetic, couldn't juggle work/kids/life/dating, and just blah! Men, seriously, I have 3 almost grown kids, a house, a demanding job, volunteer work, and manage to make keep dates, please don't put yourself out there if you can't do the same!
    My plan for 2010 is to go hang out in expensive hotel bars - couldn't fare any worse!!!
    Still not discouraged,
    Linda

    0 Votes
  • Gr
    greenmba Jan 10, 2010

    I feel so much better now that I have read all these other comments. I have spent a lot of money on dating sites and matchmakers and must admit Two Of Us was the last straw for me. I did get one fairly decent match out of 5 but no chemistry. They failed to meet my requirements repeatedly which they promised they could do with out a problem. I am 50 very fit and have a masters degree and hold an executive position at a Fortune 100 company. I still want the man to call me first, it's really hard when the men don't call. But I called a couple of them anyway only to find they were not good matches though they may in fact have been great men for someone.
    Overall I just don't think these expensive services do much better than cheap on line services. I'm giving up for now and just going to focus on work and other aspects of my life until I hit that point again where I regain hope and try something new but I am committed to not spending anymore serious money on dating services. After reading all these messages I know I can put this behind me and move on.
    Good luck to all and may you all find love in 2010.

    0 Votes
  • Ni
    Nikki2 Jan 13, 2010

    I also fell for the SCAM. The Two of Us (Bridgewater NJ) run by DTD Enterprises, Inc. Has filed Chapter 11. I am not sure at this time what will happen to our profiles as I have not called them yet. Good luck to all!

    0 Votes
  • LPV Mar 10, 2010

    Well, unreal!! I mean... OOOOOO-MMMMMM-GGGGGGG.
    Recently contacted by 2OU, by none other than Scott, who shows up prominantly in a review or two here. To Scott's credit, he was very professional, although I disarmed him about the fact i wouldnt tolerate any hi-pressure tactics, based on a previous conversation w/ a gal from a service in Cherry Hill (dont even remember the name) who got QUITE pissed-off when I cancelled my appoinment to see her "specialist". Clearly she gets paid to bring people in, &, she was VERY goood at it. Well Scott insisted i had filled out a questionaire (of which i didnt. I guess these free sites; Plenty-o-Fish, DateHookUp, etc. are selling this info. I imagine thats how they can get by being free, nothings ever really free is it now!). I pressed him on cost, vigorously, finally he eluded to it costing..."$thousands$"... uh... check please...

    Passing here brings new meaning to the term "Never had to pay for it in my life!" lol

    They didnt get me but i must admit, i was considering going to listen. Dead issue now after reading over 85% negative feedback here. & for the postive feedbackers (the 3-people that work there), listen, I'm quite sure you people work hard & probably try very hard to get people together. It is by no means your fault that this "system" appears not to work. But if i had seen at least 40%, 30% even 25% of the comments positive, I might give benefit of doubt. But this is overwhelming. Really, you cant justify anything w/ these demographics, it appears to be everyone; all walks, all ages.

    Soooooooo, having said that, I'm posting my photo. For all you ladies (above average attractive, slim, petite, active, smokers OK, no pleasantly plumps or curvy) who've been burnt by this... uh... Service (term used loosely), you can find me on datehookup (a free dating site) under the handle LPV. I'm 49 y/o (a young 49) above average handsome, 6' tall, 190-slim/athletic lbs. I totally enjoy listening to music, all-kinds (no rap or country), i dont move without my iPod. I'm very financially secure, 100K+ career, have my own home, love to garden-cook-golf & snow ski. Really I'm in good shape. My photo is ME, not my best friend, not my brother. If the photo I'll even take a long walk on the beach... well a short one... if i can have a beer in other hand.

    I'll save you thousands of dollars!! All will cost you, is you p/u coffee-drinks-dinner for first meet. If all goes well & we hit it off, I'll p/u the tab for the rest of your life! Good deal huh? Hey I think I may have something here...

    Thanks again all for saving me some significant coin.
    And ladies... I'm available,
    Vinny

    0 Votes
  • LPV Mar 10, 2010

    OK my photo didnt post so I'm doing this again


    Well, unreal!! I mean... OOOOOO-MMMMMM-GGGGGGG.
    Recently contacted by 2OU, by none other than Scott, who shows up prominantly in a review or two here. To Scott's credit, he was very professional, although I disarmed him about the fact i wouldnt tolerate any hi-pressure tactics, based on a previous conversation w/ a gal from a service in Cherry Hill (dont even remember the name) who got QUITE pissed-off when I cancelled my appoinment to see her "specialist". Clearly she gets paid to bring people in, &, she was VERY goood at it. Well Scott insisted i had filled out a questionaire (of which i didnt. I guess these free sites; Plenty-o-Fish, DateHookUp, etc. are selling this info. I imagine thats how they can get by being free, nothings ever really free is it now!). I pressed him on cost, vigorously, finally he eluded to it costing..."$thousands$"... uh... check please...

    Passing on this brings new meaning to the term "Never had to pay for it in my life!" lol

    They didnt get me but i must admit, i was considering going to listen. Dead issue now after reading over 85% negative feedback here. & for the postive feedbackers (the 3-people that work there), listen, I'm quite sure you people work hard & probably try very hard to get people together. It is by no means your fault that this "system" appears not to work. But if i had seen at least 40%, 30% even 25% of the comments positive, I might give benefit of doubt. But this is overwhelming. Really, you cant justify anything w/ these demographics, it appears to be everyone; all walks, all ages.

    Soooooooo, having said that, I'm posting my photo. For all you ladies in South or Central Jersey, Philly area (above average attractive, slim, petite, active, smokers OK, no pleasantly plumps or curvy) who've been burnt by this... uh... Service (term used loosely), you can find me on "Datehookup" (a free dating site) under the handle LPV. I'm 49 y/o (a young 49) above average handsome, emotionally stable, 6' tall, 190-slim/athletic lbs. I totally enjoy listening to music, all-kinds (no rap or country), i dont move without my iPod. I'm very financially secure, 100K+ career, have my own home, my own car etc. I love to garden-cook-golf & snow ski. Really I'm in good shape. The photo is ME, not an actor, not my best friend, not my brother, not 10-yrs old... Its recent.
    I'll even take a long walk on the beach... well a short one... if i can have a beer in the other hand.
    If the photo doesnt interest you... NO PROBLEM, it didnt cost you a dime.

    Better!I'll save you thousands of dollars!!
    All will cost you, is you p/u coffee-drinks or dinner for the first meet (kidding-KIDDING). If all goes well & we hit it off...I'll p/u the tab for the rest of your life! Good deal huh? Hey I think I may have something here...

    Well, thanks again all for saving me some significant coin.
    And ladies... I'm available,
    Vinny

    0 Votes
  • 2t
    2tall4u Mar 11, 2010

    I'm in Los Angeles and made the mistake of joining Two of Us, Inc. - I paid 1700 for 7 matches. First date went well but he was trying to get his $$ back from them and only wanted a booty call. Second match we met for coffee and it was ok but he wasn't my type - dude lives on a boat and I can't swim. WTH?!?

    I'm looking to file a class action suit against Two of Us, Inc. for breach of contract and fraud. Who's with me?

    1 Votes
  • Sh
    sh8ed Mar 20, 2010

    I got pushed into this thing 2 days ago and just now did my research. I feel so duped.. My contact is [email protected] place me on the list for a a class action lawsuit. It looks to be inevitable if all of these complaints are real... I've only seen 1 positive story so far. Sad...

    1 Votes
  • So
    So you're fat? Jun 12, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I read that Two Of Us has over seven thousand members. I also read that the same few people on this complaint board have posted their views over and over ad nauseam. On the scheme of odds, I would have to say that the Two of Us has performed their inscribed promises and duties, far more times that not.

    Obviously, everyone cannot be pleased all the time and every time, if that were not the case, everyone should be married to death do you part! Wake up and do the math...So, what does your lack of love and empty life cost you everyday? Stop complaining about your investment and get with the program. Your complaints only prove what brought you to the Two of Us anyway...you're unhappy with yourself. I'M HAVING A BALL...

    0 Votes
  • Nj
    njbarmaid77 Jun 22, 2010

    I joined Two Of Us in early May 2010. For physical requirements, i had just 2 specific requests: 5'8" tall and above AND slim to average build. I talked with my first referral for almost 1 month before finally meeting and what did I get? I got a man surely 5'8" but well over 300 pounds! And not 300 lbs of muscle. I mean, 11 months pregnant and round all over and wobbling when he walked. He was the nicest man, but i can't see myself with someone that big. Though we've had great conversation throughout, I could barely look at him through dinner! When I called the Bridgewater office and spoke to Myra, she tells me that size is subjective and he could be considered average. WTH?!? She was not even trying to feel my concern! No way is he average in anyone's right mind! Ever! in any country!! I'm not a skinny girl by any means and I am larger than average. But Hello! What are they doing in that office?

    And now, my 2nd referral is mildly autistic or has mild down syndrome... some sort of developmental disability! I'm sure of it! I am a fully functioning regular girl. No dysfunctions, disabilities, handicaps, etc. I am educated, well traveled... and looking for more than someone who is content just being a laborer and doesn't know how to drive farther than his comfort zone.

    Aaaahhhhh! I've been scammed so bad! Pissed they're getting my $1600. But I'm gonna get my 5 matches! And a free meal from each! lol

    0 Votes
  • 07
    07920sunshine Jun 27, 2010

    I would like to thank everyone here for being open and honest about their experience with Two Of Us. A friend gave me an article she saw in a local paper and thought it might be something I should try out. I'm a busy professional and don't have a bit interest in the Internet dating scene.

    I called the Bridgewater office and spoke with Dexter who did an initial screening but refused to tell me what the price of their services is. He scheduled an appointment for me to meet with Pam, a counselor who manages those in my age group. There are other complaints here with her name mentioned.

    After hanging up I did a bit of research (thank goodness!!). After reading everyone's posts here I have called the office and cancelled my appointment. I told them that I read numerous complaints about their office and did not want to meet with them.

    Thank you for sparing me from a similar experience that each of you had. Also, congratulations!! You just successfully convinced someone not to purchase their services.

    0 Votes
  • De
    DestinyDating&Matchmaking Jul 04, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hi to all:

    I do not work for this company, however, I have been in the dating industry for 10 years and have successfully matched many people and it has resulted in marriages that are still in tact. As a sales rep and a director I have interviewed literally thousands of people over the years and usually the ones who are complaining on sites such as these are the ones who had the most unrealistic expectations when it came to the person they thought they should have in their lives. Most people don't even know themselves at all, they just have this fantasy they have built in their minds and do not want to settle for reality.

    I believe in the matchmaking process because everyone has "bad radar" to a certian degree, a broken "picker" so to speak and also can be swayed by a person's looks prior to really knowing what things they believe, what hopes for the future they have, are they active, not active, what religion they believe in, the list goes on and on. People just see someone they think is "hot" and then attempt to either adapt to that person's needs or try and change the other person to match theirs...if you sit down with a counselor and are really honest about who you are and what you want from this life and your realistic expectations in and for a mate, then a REAL matchmaker, who truly cares about the person sitting in front of them in the interview, CAN and WILL help you. Now I must admit there are people in this business just for the money...don't go to those types of people...during your interview, ascertain the facts through your intellect, not your emotions. NO ONE holds a gun to your head and MAKES you join or give up the credit card. I am one counselor who NEVER tells a person what they want to hear to get their money, only what I perceive them to be through the things they tell me and how they come across and honestly, I have actually turned people away from my memberships because they weren't "ready", or they wanted something unrealistic.

    Listen Folks, there are some of us out here who are honest and who really want your romantic success. FIND one of us, because internet dating is nothing but a cyber-bar and people can lie to you and you will never know if they are a good person, or a serial killer. I have my master's degree in psychology and I use every one of my brain cells and intuition when interviewing a potential member to make sure they are a quality individual...so when you pay me, you are paying for my expertise and for me to make sure that you leave MY service with what you came for.

    So take heart people, there is a way to do this successfully, just make sure you trust the right people.

    0 Votes
  • Ju
    Judith Seelin Jul 31, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I too fell for the pitch...I was matched w people that were in my area with no thought as to who they were, what they looked like and their interests. I was quite specific as to what I was looking for, and they did not deliver. I have done much better on the internet where I can see pictures of the person and can read their profile. Then if I am interested I give them my cell number and we talk to see if their is any interest there. I would encourage anyone who is thinking of joining these dating services that they think very carefully and not fall for the hard sell. I work very hard for my money and I would have done better to give it to a charity and use it as a write off on my taxes. These company's should be put out of business.

    1 Votes
  • Im
    Im just saying Aug 10, 2010

    All of us have had our share of the dating scene. I find It, totally exhausting, frustrating & at times down right disappointing. At least the Two of Us takes away some of the wasted time, and stress by weeding through people that you have nothing in common with. How much is your time worth? Is it worth $4000?? Sound like only serious people would be interested in this type of dating. Do you want to just date or are you looking for a mate? So again Two of Us is weeding out the ones that do not want a serious relationship. Is that worth $4000?? and finally I thought, Well if this persons life style affords them to spend $4000 on seeking someone to date for a mate then at least I don’t have to worry about them being broke. I’m just saying. It does not sound too bad of a deal to

    0 Votes

Post your comment