The Wonderful Wood Company LondonNon Delivery, Refusal to give refund

R
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

This company advertise wooden wine boxes for sale through their website and other online services including etsy and ebay, and have profiles on twitter. I have recently checked ebay and they are no longer registered members and the listing has been removed. I ordered 35 wine boxes to use as book cases in July 2012 and have had nothing but problems. Items were meant to be delivered within a couple of days but they didn't arrive. After making enquiries I was informed they were having issues with courier and warehouse and said they would send me more items.Was told by the company that they sent me out another consignment which again has not turned up. I have requested the order be cancelled and my money refunded but this has not occured. Company avoiding calls and trying to avoid being contacted at all. As of today 8th sept I still have not received items or refund. Will be sending letter today then referring to trading standards. Company address is Charleville Road, Kensington (details found through making register enquiries, not detailed on any of company websites or correspondence as legally obliged to)
They had some positive feedback on ebay but I would be extremely careful as it appears this company may not be very consumer friendly.

Responses

  • Pa
    Patricia Wilkinson Oct 29, 2012

    I read this before purchasing some boxes and was initially deterred. I called them and discussed this with them and they said they were aware of your post and all of your items were now delivered - although you refused to revise/remove your complaint. I bought ten boxes from them and they were extremely helpful and communicative with me. The boxes were delivered withing two days and I must say, i'm actually really happy with them. I felt compelled to write a post underneath this as my experience has been completely different and felt this was misleading. Now that you have your boxes i really do think you should remove/revise your comment as it's a bit misleading. Anyway, just my two penny's worth. Patricia - Surrey

    -1 Votes
  • Ra
    Rach C Oct 29, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Thanks for your post but i can honestly state that i have not received any of the boxes i ordered and i think i would know if 35 wine boxes had turned up. in fact the company stated they had sent me a second consignment and i have not received either, nor have the company responded to any of my emails or phone calls about my refund of almost £400.

    0 Votes
  • Hh
    HH11 Nov 13, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have also ordered boxes which have not turned up. There have been numerous false promises of delivery and I am now trying to get my money back. I'm still not sure if they are a scam company or just highly inefficient with no customer service.

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    Patricia Wilkinson Dec 08, 2012

    Patricia Wilkinson - Surrey.
    I just bought a further 5 boxes, and yet again they have been delivered on time and undamaged. I'm sorry to hear of your bad experiences but mine have been absolutely fine. I feel we should present a fair argument here as obviously they are a big company and perhaps you just had bad luck. Did you try emailing them as they are always very fast to respond to my messages.

    0 Votes
  • Ni
    Ninala Dec 11, 2012

    I bought two crates on October 16 and still have not received them. Have had the exact same issues - evasive emails, promises of delivery which were not kept, lame excuses about problems with the courier company... Am seriously angry at this point because I have no idea how to get my money back. Legal action may be the last resort.

    1 Votes
  • Ne
    Neil Wilkins Dec 11, 2012

    Came across this and was slightly deterred, however I can only echo what Patricia has said. I just bought 12 and they were delivered with no problems whatsoever in two days. I suggest that you just call them on there website number. I've actually found them to be really helpful so am somewhat surprised by the comments - whenever I called I spoke to a very helpful guy and I always got a response within an hour on my email. Not taking away from your experience but just thought i would share mine.

    -1 Votes
  • Si
    Sid K Jan 17, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    If you are considering purchasing from the Wonderful Wood Company, please be aware that I also had a very poor experience with them. I am not sure if it is a legitimate business. It felt more like a one man band blagging it.

    I ordered 5 large and 5 small boxes. The boxes were due to arrive on a Thursday evening. I waited in all evening, but the boxes didn't show up. Samuel did not answer any of his numbers. I emailed him. The next morning at 9.55 am, Sam replied to my email requesting an explanation with the following: "I'm just on my way into the office and will be there in about thirty minutes. This was due for delivery yesterday absolutely and I've no idea why it wasn't. I'm so sorry. I need to be in the office though to speak to our courier driver. Promise to look into this immediately this morning and sort out another delivery." However, by the afternoon I still hadn't heard anything further from Sam. So I called around 3.30 pm to ask him what was going on. He apologised for not getting back in touch, saying he was very busy. We re-arranged for re-delivery on Sunday evening. I impressed upon him that I did not want to be waiting around again for no reason. He guaranteed that everything would be fine, and the boxes would be delivered on Sunday evening at 7pm.

    Come Sunday evening 7pm, and no boxes. And, again, no answer from either of Sam's phones. At 9.51pm I emailed Sam to ask him to refund my money through PayPal. At this point, Sam replied to my email to say: "I have phoned our driver and no answer. I have just put ten boxes into a taxi and it is on it's way over to your right now. They should be with you in twenty minutes." So, without calling me back or checking to see that I was still at home are free to take delivery, he put all the boxes in a taxi. Of course, the taxi took much longer than 20 mins. I found myself having to carry the boxes from a minicab up to my apartment at 11pm on a Sunday evening. At no point did Sam offer a refund on the delivery charge.

    Eight of the boxes are OK, but two of them are stained with mildew. It would be cheaper to source them elsewhere (ask your local wine shop - the staff are sometimes happy to give them away or sell them). I thought that, with the Wonderful Wood Company, I was paying for the convenience. But it turned out to be anything but.

    Be warned.

    0 Votes
  • Mj
    MJJ23 Jan 24, 2013

    Extremely annoying and now worried that I have lost a considerable amount of money. Not to mention time and energy chasing this company for answers. I ordered 10 large boxes at the beginning of Jan and have been trying to find out what the situation is ever since. Several calls and emails and I have only once managed to speak to Sam (the owner and only person who answers the phone) once. He hung up as soon as I said my name. Not very encouraging. I think this is a complete and utter shambles of a company. Something should be done to stop others purchasing from this site.

    0 Votes
  • Va
    Vanessa84 Jan 30, 2013

    Wow - I must say i was very put off my this board but having bought 12 they were delivered to me in four days. I was told it would be three and when I called they tracked the items for me and informed me of the slight one-day delay. I thought I would also share my experiences as it's been okay. Sorry to hear about the people above. To Sid, I assume you knew that they items were vintage in their effect? Hope all turns out okay. Vanessa

    0 Votes
  • Vf
    VFR Jan 30, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Can only echo Rach C's comment - service is appalling. Order not received, no response to either phone calls or e-mails. Don't know how Homes & Gardens can recommend them in Jan 13 issue as it would seem they are a scam outfit. Will be informing trading standards and advise everyone to steer clear
    AH

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    Shaz Parmenter Feb 01, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Unfortunately, I too have a tale to tell in the negative for this 'company'! Just before Christmas, I ordered some boxes to be delivered to me in France (yes, I know, but it's extremely hard to get the domaines to sell their boxes!) Sam was very charming and helpful etc and I awaited their delivery with anticipation. I am still waiting after being told that Fedex had left them in a corner somewhere! I have called, I have e-mailed and now I have no recourse but to take action. I will be contacting The Trading Standards and others, I will also be contacting Homes and Gardens! I am glad that some customers have fared well, and I would be interested to know if the lucky clients live in the London area...just a thought!

    0 Votes
  • Do
    DomTomLondon Feb 10, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I live in the London area (about 20mins from where the company address is registered) and I also had a negative experience.
    I ordered 5 vintage boxes and was talked into going for next day delivery for an extra £11.50. I payed via paypal and was assured that delivery would take place next day. I waited the next day but no one showed up. I email the seller and he was apologetic. Telling me he didn't know why the delivery was not made. I wasn't happy but told him that I would be home on Saturday and would wait again for the delivery. And again no one came to deliver the boxes. I emailed again but have not received any response. I've since filed a complain with Paypal against the seller. And await their response. I would stay away from this company!!!

    0 Votes
  • He
    Helen Findlay Feb 25, 2013

    I ordered 12 boxes from this company on thursday and just after read this thread. However I am pleased to say that they have arrived this morning! Just my two cents worth but my experience has been fine. Good communication surprisingly having read the above.

    -1 Votes
  • Ro
    Rob Crawson Feb 27, 2013

    Six boxes delivered today to my delight! Was a bit nervous having seen this website but am glad to say that they were very helpful and all of them are lovely!

    0 Votes
  • Re
    Renee Farsenfeld Mar 05, 2013

    The boxes arrived all safe and sound and they look amazing. Thanks for your all help!

    0 Votes
  • Ra
    Rach C Apr 02, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Just to update I have still had no response from Sam and TWWC in relation to my refund of approximately £400. I am not entirely convinced about the origin of some of the positive comments on this board as looking at the member details some are located in the US and in my opinion seem to be a little fabricated. If this company are informing customers that they are aware of my complaint, I would like to query why the company has failed to resolve this issue despite numerous attempts by me to get in touch and despite the company having all my contact details if they felt inclined to respond. I would be interested in receiving messages from other affected parties as I am considering further action against this company.

    1 Votes
  • Hq
    HQuick Apr 16, 2013

    I too am having problems with this company. I live in te London area and ordered 2 large boxes 2 weeks ago. I paid by paypal and as yet I have not even received an order confirmation. I e-mailed last week and got a response from Sam (the owner?) who said sorry, he didn't know why I hadn't even received an order confirmation and I should have received my boxes by now. He said he would look into it right away and get back to me. I have not heard from him since, he has not responded to my e-mail and more worryingly still, the number on the website appears to be disconnected. When you phone the message is "number you have dialled is unavailable". His mobile just goes straight to voicemail. If I don't hear soon I will try and get the money back through paypal and make a complaint with trading standards.

    0 Votes
  • Ju
    julia Danson Apr 18, 2013

    Just saw this board and was more than a little concerned. @HQuick, I suggest giving them a call as I just tried the number before buying and it was fine? Not sure why you aren't getting through? Just bought ten boxes and I'll report back to let you guys know when they arrive or if I have any issues. Thanks for the info. Julia

    0 Votes
  • Ju
    julia Danson_ Apr 21, 2013

    Boxes delivered safe and sound I'm pleased to report. Hope i've been of some help to anyone who was previously unsure. All in good condition. Delivered by TNT.

    0 Votes
  • Hq
    HQuick Apr 23, 2013

    Well lucky you Julia! Unfortunately I have not experienced the same level of customer service that you appear have received. If you want an update, it has been 3 weeks now and I still don't have my boxes. A week ago I opened a dispute on paypal at which point I received an e-mail from the Wonderful Wood Co. with an Hermes tracking number and a promise that I would receive my boxes within 24hrs. One week later, still no boxes and it appears from the tracking number that the delivery company have not even received the boxes for shipping yet. I'm glad others have had a good experience, but I would never use this company again or recommend them to anyone but my worst enemies!

    0 Votes
  • Te
    tedbates May 08, 2013

    Bought 12 Boxes last week, just had them delivered. Think Sam has left the company and they have a new employee as I raised these comments with them and they were aware of it. Just wanted to say I think things are now sorted out and would recommend them. Feel free to email me directly for any queries. [protected]@me.com

    0 Votes
  • He
    Helen9 May 11, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am afraid I too fell victim to this sham of a company. I ordered £200 of stock 3 weeks ago having met the elusive Sam and seen the stock. No delivery and nothing from the owner Sam so I chased. Initially picked up the phone and made the same old excuses about courier companies and his business partner Will. I even had two texts on two different days saying he was getting into a taxi with the goods and would be with me shortly but nothing. He was clearly lying. I too can't tell if he is just plain incompetent or if it is a scam but I have lodged a complaint through PayPal to get my money back, will be informing trading standards and HMRC (to ensure he is registered properly as a business). DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY in my opinion. I regret every interaction I have had with him and the time I have wasted on it.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Josephine Williams_84 May 16, 2013

    Wow this really put me off. Helen can i have your email to speak to you about it. I bought six last week for my wedding and they've all arrived safe and sound. I'm thinking of buying more but you've put me off. To be honest though my experience was fine

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    Sam cardiff May 17, 2013

    I ordered my 8 boxes two weeks ago and they where meant to be with me withing 3 days and they haven't arrived!! Iv tried calling Sam back who answered only once to hang up as soon as he heard my name. Its a big CON there's no doubt about that so don't listen to any of the fake positive comments on this page they are obviously him using different names! I'm contacting trading standards tomorrow and registering a complaint.

    1 Votes
  • Nr
    NRehman May 25, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I too have ordered goods from "Sam". No acknowledgement of order, numerous emails, promises of delivery, avoidance of calls. I spent nearly £200 and doubt I will receive any of these. Please, please please stay clear of his company. It's a scam I think. I will be lodging a compliant with PayPal and Trading Standards. I feel very annoyed and the fact this has happened to others infuriates me. Awful, awful company!

    0 Votes
  • He
    Helen9 Jun 10, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Please be wary of the review by Helen Findlay, I am contacting the board as I think this is the owner using my maiden name to post a fake review. I will keep you up dated as to whether this is correct, seems a bit coincidental to me.

    0 Votes
  • Nr
    NRehman Jun 11, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Update: I received all my money back through PayPal. This needs to be done within 40 day ( I think) of buying goods. Little surprise then "Sam" tries to stall people by making false promises in the hope that he delays it past this time frame. Please do not buy from this company. It's fraudulent. As PayPal have recieved multiple complaints they may already have taken action to close the account. However "Sam" the owner may set up a new account.

    0 Votes
  • Je
    Jessica Hatfield Jun 12, 2013

    Given the fair few negative reviews on here i was initially very cautious about buying from here. However, I needed 150 crates and they seem to be the only supplier in the UK. I tentatively contacted them and asked Sam about the complaints. He was pretty honest about them and said, yes he was aware of the complaints but given that they have hundreds of customers some orders are always delayed and problems happen. He was regretful of them but just accepted it as part of doing business. Anyway, I ordered 150 and they were delivered in 5 working days...not the fastest but I was kept updated throughout the whole process and have actually found them fine to deal with. I guess complaints are always going to happen and so for what it's worth...I found them to be perfectly fine. I have also ordered some more boxes (another 50) and those should arrive tomorrow. I would say give them an email or telephone up directly and ask about your concerns if you're not sure about ordering. For the record I work in corporate accounting and the company is registered and above board...despite the speculations above. If anybody wants to contact me you're more than welcome to...just PM my profile. Lastly, thanks for the initial heads up but I have to disagree with the recent reviews and say my experience was great. Jessica

    0 Votes
  • Nr
    NRehman Jun 13, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I suspect "Jessica" is the owner. Trading standards are investigating this company and PayPal are taking action. Purchase from them and I can guarantee you will not receive your goods. "Sam" claimed to have legal representation at Clifford Chance. Firstly why would a legitimate company require a lawyer dealing with complaints and secondly they haven't heard of this fraudster.

    If this company is legitimate then why did they fail to respond to PayPal when they had the opportunity to do so. There are other great companies out there selling crates. Give them your business instead of these cowboys.

    0 Votes
  • Je
    Jessica Hatfield. Jun 13, 2013

    Hello @NRehman. I am not fake at all. I also paid through PayPal and my transaction was absolutely fine...I'm not sure why you think PayPal are investigating them. If they are...it certainly hasn't affected my experience with them. Feel free to send me a personal email to [protected]@me.com if you'd like to know more about my experience. As I mentioned I am just back to give the board an update. I have received my 50 crates and again, my experience has been fine. I know others seem to have had bad experiences but mine personally was great.

    0 Votes
  • Je
    Jessica Hatfield. Jun 13, 2013

    Just bought 2 Traditional Size Wooden Wine Boxes - slightly slow delivery but they're here and condition is fine. Delivery time was 4 days...was expecting two but i'm happy with 4. Helen

    0 Votes
  • Je
    Jessica Hatfield. Jun 13, 2013

    Hit submit by mistake..to continue: Helen did you receive your order in the end? I suggest giving them a call/email...I've spoken to them a few times today and all was fine. Jessica Hatfield

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Roger Paultrey Jun 13, 2013

    Great company. I think they've had a staff changeover. I also asked about this complaints board Jessica and was relieved to have the situation explained to me. Narhmeen they are still accepting PayPal and it's business as normal. I just had three of the magnum boxes delivered to me. Recommended now although if i'd had the same experiences as some above i would also probably be annoyed. For me though, all was fine.

    0 Votes
  • He
    Helen9 Jun 13, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I ordered in April and have received part of my delivery despite claims by the owner he was in a taxi with them personally and 10 minutes away on several occasions, clearly complete lies. I'm owed £100 and he has offered £40 through PayPal which I have refused. I have called, emailed, texted, even met Sam so nothing more I can do. I know he's hoping I'll give up but I won't, it's the principal of it.

    0 Votes
  • He
    Helen9 Jun 13, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I also believe the jessica reviews are fake, you've said you ordered 150, then 50 then another 2, that just seems very strange, why ordered 2 having just ordered so many. Anyone can set up an email address. There is also a review from Helen Fibdlay on here that is fake, very unimaginatively he has used my maiden name from my email address to set up and account.

    0 Votes
  • Nr
    NRehman Jun 14, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I would have to agree. The owner is clearly posting nonsence. I just hope you are closed down. P.S I have submitted your details to Watchdog and would urge others to do the same. Also if you have bought anything and are waiting for it do lodge with PayPal to protect yourself and your money.

    There are many great comanies out there such as Hen and Hammock who sell crates, they also have a concession through Liberty in London or through Not on the Highstreet. Don't be duped by these cowboys. In addition their website has stoleen images from other legitimate websites. You know who they are.

    In addition you claim to have supplied crates to the BBC. I work for them and can confirm this to be untrue.

    I will keep posting negative feedback to warn others. I do hope Watchdog investigate. Oh and "Sam" people aren't that foolish. Stop posting fake reviews, it's so obvious and more damaging towards your "business".

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Chloe Finnagen Jun 14, 2013

    Ordered 1 Traditional-Size wooden wine box on monday - just arrived. Not a lot of communication but product was fine and delivery time was three days.

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    Katie Dakin Aug 12, 2013

    Ordered 2 boxes on 28th July, still not arrived and had no communication from them whatsover. Have emailed twice, range numerous times (the london phone number now goes straight to a T-mobile answer phone which is dodgy - anyone else have a different number to that on the website?).
    Given the comments here I guess I am unlikely to get money back or ever receive the goods, will follow it up with paypal and the trading standards as a complete joke of a company.
    Really wish I had seen this before purchasing, do not use them you are only wasting your money.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    checkbeforebuying Sep 25, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Just to let you know... I ordered some crates on September 12th and have heard nothing. The phone is no longer connected, there's no response to email and no response to facebook messages. I've lodged a complaint with PayPal who have stopped the payment that was due to go out tomorrow. I wish I'd seen this board before.

    0 Votes
  • Dj
    DJW London Sep 26, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    There is clearly something wrong here! I am experiencing exactly the same problem as reported above. Non-delivery, no response. The main telephone number is apparently disconnected and there is no answer on the mobile number and no response to messages left. I am sorry I did not read these complaints before I handed over my money. I suspect I have been ripped-off.

    1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.