The Wonderful Wood Company LondonNon Delivery, Refusal to give refund

R
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

This company advertise wooden wine boxes for sale through their website and other online services including etsy and ebay, and have profiles on twitter. I have recently checked ebay and they are no longer registered members and the listing has been removed. I ordered 35 wine boxes to use as book cases in July 2012 and have had nothing but problems. Items were meant to be delivered within a couple of days but they didn't arrive. After making enquiries I was informed they were having issues with courier and warehouse and said they would send me more items.Was told by the company that they sent me out another consignment which again has not turned up. I have requested the order be cancelled and my money refunded but this has not occured. Company avoiding calls and trying to avoid being contacted at all. As of today 8th sept I still have not received items or refund. Will be sending letter today then referring to trading standards. Company address is Charleville Road, Kensington (details found through making register enquiries, not detailed on any of company websites or correspondence as legally obliged to)
They had some positive feedback on ebay but I would be extremely careful as it appears this company may not be very consumer friendly.

Responses

  • Gi
    Gisele22 Oct 23, 2016

    I had a terrible experience with this company - I purchased boxes in 2014 and they STILL haven't arrived and I think 2 years is long enough! I would NOT sue this company and have complained MANY times and reported them

    0 Votes
  • Cr
    CraigN1 Jul 23, 2015

    I have tried without success to get goods delivered from this rogue. The "office" telephone number is disconnected and I have called his mobile number 100 times (yes 100 times) and he has not answered it once. The seller "Samuel Atiko-MacQueen" trading as The Wonderful Wood Company texts me to say he will call me or it will be delivered, every time he fails to call me and no delivery. He always says he is driving and that is the reason he can't answer.. Apparently texting whilst driving is fine... Has he not heard of hands free kits !!! More lies...Two days ago he sent me a tracking number for the consignment on Parcel 2 Go. This morning (the expected day of delivery) that tracking number is no longer found on their site, According to the courier they could not collect the parcel so the delivery was cancelled. Yet more lies and deceit.

    THERE IS NOTHING WONDERFUL ABOUT THE THE WONDERFUL WOOD COMPANY OR SAMUEL ATIKO-MACQUEEN

    I have no belief that the goods will ever be delivered all that Sam does is lie to me, he even tells me to ring "Hannah" in the office, the telephone number doesn't work - its been disconnected !!! I suspect "Hannah" doesn't even exist. -

    This guy is a complete fraudster and crook. I have reported the transaction to Paypal and American Express and so hopefully will get a refund through two sets of protection. So glad I paid by card and not by bank transfer as he was very insistent about.

    AVOID THIS COMPANY AND MAN AT ALL COSTS

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Mama V Jul 01, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This company is a scam and should be avoided. There is a company online called "winechampagnewoodenboxes.co.uk" who sell beautiful vintage wine crates at a much cheaper price with excellent customer service!

    0 Votes
  • K2
    K2C Jun 29, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Please do not deal with this company under any circumstances, I placed an order for a lot of wine crates any only a few were ever delivered and those that were, are damaged rendering them not fit for purpose. Numerous calls and emails went unanswered.

    I am currently under dispute with the wonderful Wood Company, using the purchase through funds transfer company, and credit card company used to purchase.

    Be warned this site operates fraudulently and positive posts may not be real.

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    Sam Attika is a cnut Jun 10, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Liars & Thieves - this company / Sam Attika or whatever he calls himself is a pathological liar. Do not use him. He rips off 90% of people. I called him, placed an order and sent money. He then said 4 times the boxes were sent by different couriers, HERMES, TNT UPS and Royal Mail - I said I would collect, he never responds. If I met him I would punch his face in. He is a Cucking Funt.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Chrissiewizzie Jun 05, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I`ve had a bad experience with this Company - no ordered goods have arrived and either they don`t answer their phone or I get e-mails saying its the courier`s fault (their IT wasn`t working!). The matter has been reported to Paypal and they are investigating but my payment went to a Jason McQueen? Wonder if this company is opening paypal accounts with different names to avoid detection??

    0 Votes
  • Pi
    piwo May 21, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    they owner of the company:
    Samual Atikka
    26 Charleville Road, London
    London
    W14 9JE
    United Kingdom
    Phone: +44 [protected]
    [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Pi
    piwo May 21, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    it is actually Samual Atikka and the number [protected] is working but no one picks up...i am going to report them it is a scam!
    http://www.thewonderfulwoodcompany.com - that website hasn't been updated for years...
    Sam is a person from Nigeria. he is involved in a criminal activity...beware of that company! Unfortunately i find it very hard to believe that any of the positive posts are real! not possible after what I experienced.

    0 Votes
  • Pi
    piwo May 21, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I experience the same problem as Rach...i ordered boxes nearly 4 weeks ago and never heard back! very frustrating...is there anything I can do about it?

    0 Votes
  • Jb
    Jbpboro May 18, 2015

    contacted this company to purchase some wine crates with brass castors to use as storage under a window seat. I was told that if paid the invoice that day that they would be sent out by next day courier. I paid Samual Atikka on the 7th of April. I didnt hear or receive anything for 13 days so emailed on the 20/4 to chase. I was told they would look into right away, i again didnt hear anything so chased again on the 22/4 and on the 23/4 with no response. I then called and spoke to Sam on the phone who said he had sent the order out by courier, would tfind out what was going on and would contact me with the tracking number. I had no return call. I had a similar conversation again with Sam two days later who then told me the same with the same outcome. I then sent another email through on the 8/5 and finally received a response form a Hannah to say that there had been a delay and were finally getting this sorted and Sam no longer worked at the company. The goods werent sent until i raised a complaint with Paypal who when they contacted the WWC magically sent a package the next day. 4 out of 8 arrived and one was the wrong size. When i contacted them they tried to say that the wood had warped a little (the boxes werent warped and were 4cm too large so didnt fit) I was told they were sorting out the other 4 and would arrange a refund for my hassle. No goods and no refund arrived. I chased with Paypal again and another 4 boxes arrived. 2 the wrong size and one damaged... They now say they will refund me for half the boxes. We will see. DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    johngenes Feb 22, 2015

    ordered 85 boxes - all delivered fine. Have to disagree with this unfortunately.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    MarcelloFF Jan 21, 2015

    Managed to get hold of him! [protected]

    0 Votes
  • Mo
    Morris bros Nov 30, 2014

    Sam aticco and the wonderfull wood company are scammers. Cheaters. And liars
    Promise the earth take your money deliver nothing

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    MarcelloF Nov 22, 2014

    I wish I have seen this before. I was also victim of the fraudster Samuel Atiko-MacQueen. He set up a new company at the same address of the old one, and created fake users online to give himself positive reviews (the fake user was created 1 day after his company)
    I spoke with him at his personal mobile, and he promised to deliver 2 parcels via tracked courier in 3 days. 1 month later I only been able to talk with him 2 times, he stole not only the fees but also my property.

    I wonder if a group action would have better chances to have this clown arrested, he definitely violated most rules for registering a company in the UK, and committed tax fraud. This in addition to the money he scammed and the theft of personal property he was supposed to deliver.

    Registrant Street: 32 Charleville Road
    Registrant City: London
    Registrant Postal Code: W14 9JH
    Registrant Country: United Kingdom
    Registrant Phone: +44.[protected]

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    Sandra Exeter Oct 23, 2014

    I wish I'd seen this before. I ordered 22 boxes for a customer amounting to over £300. Sam was really helpful, emailed and rang numourous times to agree the price, confirm delivery and address etc. Even sourced £900 worth of beer barrels (amazingly the barrels were delivered). But no crates. I rang and email many many times, no answer on the phone. Eventually received one email saying he was in Bordeaux and copying in 'Sarah' asking why she hadn't contacted me. I have not received any calls or emails from the imaginary 'Sarah'. I continued to chase via email, still no answer on his phone number. I then received an email from Sam saying he was on his way into the office and would call. A week later still no call. No email. No crates. It's now been 6 weeks. Now I have seen this I will be contacting Trading Standards and the police.

    0 Votes
  • Sk
    Skv123 Sep 13, 2014

    Same exact thing as many others. Ordered but of delivered. PayPal dispute is open. Sigh.

    0 Votes
  • Fe
    Fern2 Aug 19, 2014

    Am very concerned having read the above. Ordered 12 boxes several weeks ago. Initially good communication, then an email to say our payment had gone into 'an old PayPal account' so could we pay again. We said no- not until our original payment had been refunded. They did then refund our original payment and we made a new payment into their current PayPal account. That's where the communication ended. Despite initially chasing us for the second payment because they were 'shipping the boxes tonight', three weeks on we have no boxes. We have sent two emails chasing and no response at all. Wish we'd read this thread before ordering. We've now emailed to cancel our order but will have to wait and see what happens next. Feel very upset. Of course there could be a perfectly reasonable explanation for the delay but, if so, why not communicate it to us? Really hoping this is just a mix up as the boxes were for a bookcase in our first- rented- home together and without a refund we cannot afford one at all. This was a lot of money for us to lose.

    1 Votes
  • Ew
    Ewoodhall Jun 19, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I wish I had read this before handing over my money to these thieves. I placed a relatively small order of £74 for 3 boxes to make my garden look nice for my baby son's christening party. Paid by Paypal and transaction completed on day of order, 2nd June. I have not received any correspondence or any boxes from them at all despite calling and emailing. I cannot afford to lose this £74 and feel really upset. Why are magazines advertising them as if they are a decent, high quality business?? I have opened a Paypal dispute so will see what happens.

    1 Votes
  • Le
    LesN Jun 17, 2014

    I have had a similar problem with items purchased from the same guy, with a same contact and website details. Non delivery of goods.
    and zero communication from him. I have just contacted PayPal who are going to pursue him and I will get a full refund - I would recommend that anyone who has paid via paypal do the same

    0 Votes
  • Tc
    TCF Apr 28, 2014

    I have exactly the same problem as everyone else - no order confirmation, no email response and no way of contacting anyone - the phone number goes straight to a T-Mobile voice mail. I also find it hard to believe that someone who has had a great service would seek out a complaints board. I am highly sceptical of the positive reviews.

    0 Votes
  • St
    SteveLea Apr 14, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    All these people ordering large amounts of boxes and coming to a complaints page to offer positive experiences?
    Ordered 2 boxes over a month ago, sent several emails, cannot get in contact over phone and have now raised a dispute with PayPal. Really wished I had done a thorough google before ordering with these cowboys.
    How does PayPal allow these clowns to keep operating.

    1 Votes
  • Ra
    RalphSmythe Apr 04, 2014

    Was worried after reading this thread but just had all 23 of my boxes turn up in three days. Thought i'd let everyone know. No problems here

    1 Votes
  • St
    Stacie58 Apr 03, 2014

    Absolute SCAM company. I ordered a month ago, never received, dont answer their phone number, no address, do not reply to my emails. I am reporting them to the police. I also believe that "Patricia" is fictious and probably this guy trying to fool people into thinking he is legitimate. He is clearly not.

    2 Votes
  • Ka
    KateJones Mar 25, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Con Artists!!! I didnt see these reviews before i placed my order but it appears this is standard practice for these theives.
    I too paid and heard nothing, i called and spoke to "Henry" who said there must have been a mix up with the courrier company and he would send another out. That was 2 weeks ago and ive heard nothing. They do not respond to emails or calls - clearly just completely dis-honest ### stealing from people. I am now seeking legal advice.

    1 Votes
  • Jo
    Jo M M Feb 21, 2014

    Luckily I have only ordered One 12 bottle Wooden box... but after a couple of weeks nothing!
    I contacted the email addresses online several times - One of the email addresses goes to a guy who is nothing to do with the company!
    The phone number doesn't even go through...
    I am going through Paypals resolution Centre to dispute this... as they will soon shut down the account once they realise what this company is doing. I HATE companies that rip people off and take our hard earned money!

    1 Votes
  • Ju
    Julia King Jan 15, 2014

    I have had the same problem, and my order was for only 3 boxes. No delivery information, no replies to my numerous emails and no answer to customer service phone line. I have been waiting since November 16th. Their claims to deal with all enquiries within a reasonable time scale are complete BS.

    1 Votes
  • Hu
    Hush Heath Estate Dec 03, 2013

    We have had the same problem of false promises. Sam simply evades all calls and takes money and then nothing happens but excuses. I am going to take legal action .

    1 Votes
  • La
    Lawman13 Oct 30, 2013

    What is so difficult about delivering empty wooden boxes? I have been waiting far too long for 1 box and the evasive Sam Attik cannot seem to complete my order. Legal action is now the only solution!

    1 Votes
  • Ka
    Kalinki Oct 19, 2013

    Paypal has gotten wind of this scam operation I think. they refunded my money promptly within 10 days and no further questions asked. Lucie, shame your dispute was closed while you were away, you might be able to get the money back through your bank though? worth a try!

    0 Votes
  • Lu
    Lucie1 Oct 11, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am reporting the company to action fraud as we speak

    0 Votes
  • Lu
    Lucie1 Oct 11, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I agree with all the negative comments on here, ordered back in september, have had no contact from seller have tried to reing repeatedlty to no avail- got through to t-mobile answer phone today but nothing. Lodged a dispute with paypal however have been away and the dispute has been closed as no contact so i have totally failed and am completely pissed off. Not sure how to go about getting a refund if i never got an order confirmation. HATE IT, HATE IT HATE IT

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    Kalinki Oct 03, 2013

    AVOID!!!

    I had the same experience with this company. Ordered 4 boxes Christmas 2012, actually received a confirmation email, but boxes didn't turn up until I emailed "Sam" two weeks later. He did respond right away, said there had been problems with the courier and the boxes would be despatched ASAP. They did turn up a few days later and tbh I didn't think much of it.

    At the beginning of September this year I needed 2 more boxes so ordered from TWWC again. This time I didn't get a confirmation email and 3 weeks later I still haven't received the boxes. I tried to email but no response, London phone line goes straight to "not available" T-mobile message (probably disconnected).
    I have logged a claim with paypal and urge everyone who has been waiting for their delivery to do the same! This operation is a scam. And all those positive comments that pop up on here are most likely fake and courtesy of Sam himself.

    2 Votes
  • Ol
    Olly Skinner Sep 30, 2013

    Ordered a box a week ago, no confirmation, shipping notice or response from the seller (only Paypal's payment confirmation), despite enquiries by email. Phone number doesn't work. I've raised a dispute through Paypal, this company is either useless or deliberately deceitful. Avoid.

    It's a shame this sort of complaints forum will only generally be found by someone (like me) who's already ordered and is now getting the sinking feeling that they've been scammed...

    1 Votes
  • Dj
    DJW London Sep 26, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    There is clearly something wrong here! I am experiencing exactly the same problem as reported above. Non-delivery, no response. The main telephone number is apparently disconnected and there is no answer on the mobile number and no response to messages left. I am sorry I did not read these complaints before I handed over my money. I suspect I have been ripped-off.

    1 Votes
  • Ch
    checkbeforebuying Sep 25, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Just to let you know... I ordered some crates on September 12th and have heard nothing. The phone is no longer connected, there's no response to email and no response to facebook messages. I've lodged a complaint with PayPal who have stopped the payment that was due to go out tomorrow. I wish I'd seen this board before.

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    Katie Dakin Aug 12, 2013

    Ordered 2 boxes on 28th July, still not arrived and had no communication from them whatsover. Have emailed twice, range numerous times (the london phone number now goes straight to a T-mobile answer phone which is dodgy - anyone else have a different number to that on the website?).
    Given the comments here I guess I am unlikely to get money back or ever receive the goods, will follow it up with paypal and the trading standards as a complete joke of a company.
    Really wish I had seen this before purchasing, do not use them you are only wasting your money.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Chloe Finnagen Jun 14, 2013

    Ordered 1 Traditional-Size wooden wine box on monday - just arrived. Not a lot of communication but product was fine and delivery time was three days.

    0 Votes
  • Nr
    NRehman Jun 14, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I would have to agree. The owner is clearly posting nonsence. I just hope you are closed down. P.S I have submitted your details to Watchdog and would urge others to do the same. Also if you have bought anything and are waiting for it do lodge with PayPal to protect yourself and your money.

    There are many great comanies out there such as Hen and Hammock who sell crates, they also have a concession through Liberty in London or through Not on the Highstreet. Don't be duped by these cowboys. In addition their website has stoleen images from other legitimate websites. You know who they are.

    In addition you claim to have supplied crates to the BBC. I work for them and can confirm this to be untrue.

    I will keep posting negative feedback to warn others. I do hope Watchdog investigate. Oh and "Sam" people aren't that foolish. Stop posting fake reviews, it's so obvious and more damaging towards your "business".

    0 Votes
  • He
    Helen9 Jun 13, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I also believe the jessica reviews are fake, you've said you ordered 150, then 50 then another 2, that just seems very strange, why ordered 2 having just ordered so many. Anyone can set up an email address. There is also a review from Helen Fibdlay on here that is fake, very unimaginatively he has used my maiden name from my email address to set up and account.

    0 Votes
  • He
    Helen9 Jun 13, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I ordered in April and have received part of my delivery despite claims by the owner he was in a taxi with them personally and 10 minutes away on several occasions, clearly complete lies. I'm owed £100 and he has offered £40 through PayPal which I have refused. I have called, emailed, texted, even met Sam so nothing more I can do. I know he's hoping I'll give up but I won't, it's the principal of it.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    Submit

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.