The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Southwestern EdgeUnauthorized Charge

My paypal account has been closed for almost 2 years and this "Southwestern Edge" showed up taking out $19.95 from my account. I called the number and it was PayPal. The guy I spoke with told me i had been signed up for "Gateway PayFlow" whatever that is. How could I sign up for somthing through paypal when i don't even have a paypal account anymore?

Responses

  • Jg
    JGDrop Dec 21, 2013

    I agree. I got charged the $19.99 4 times before I noticed it. I've raised a dispute. I hate this kind of predatory lending practice. I was considering "hosting" one of their students as they need accommodation for the summer while they sell their books. But I won't have anything to do with a company that plays these kinds of unethical games.

    0 Votes
  • Mo
    momofsixkids Mar 26, 2013

    I was very nice to the girl selling books at our house - she arrived at our house after dark in the summer. She looked like a mess: running shorts, sloppy tank top, messy hair. I felt sorry for her and was worried this company was taking advantage of her. I did not have a very good impression of the company or her because of this and also because she was thirsty, hungry and needed to use our bathroom. I bought a few items from her. When she returned a couple of weeks later to deliver the books I ordered, she plunked down a couple of extra lame looking books and said, "these are extra in my inventory that people ordered and then didn't want and I'll have to pay for them if they don't sell. Which would you like?" I was irritated and felt manipulated but wanted to get rid of her so I bought one more. And then the icing on the cake of the whole thing? I got charged $19.95 a month later because I didn't read the fine print on that order form! The salesgirl certainly didn't warn me that would happen even though she knew it would. It was probably one of the more sleezy things that a company has ever pulled on me and the whole experience left a bad taste in my mouth.

    0 Votes
  • Cr
    crazykitty Jan 10, 2013

    i have purchased books from these door to door sales people a couple different times. never had a problem. until this last time back in 2011. i purchased overpriced books back in may, i do tend to purchase overpriced things and donate money if i think it's for a good cause. one of my many downfalls. well, anyway i purchased books in may 2011 and the guy told me about the website too, however i didn't want anything to do with that seeing as how i don't feel 3 yr olds really need to be on a computer anyway. so time went on as usual until Nov. 2011 when i started getting automatic withdrawls for $19.95 from SWAdvantage.com i didn't even notice it right away to be honest since i do alot of online bill pay and i don't balance my checkbook on a regular basis. when i called to cancel and get a refund; Rebecca, told me they don't give refunds and you signed a contract. she even e-mailed it to me. it didn't matter that i never used the website. i didn't even sign up for it. not mention i went a whole summer never getting billed for it. she didn't care. i even asked to talk to a manager and she wouldn't do it. everyone's in meetings, she said. i had to file fraudulent papers at my bank to get some of my money back cause they only go back 60 days. i have also filed with the BBB, about them. i suggest to you all to do the same so they don't keep their A+ rating.

    0 Votes
  • Go
    gotta1450 Dec 02, 2012

    This place should be investigated by the state AG. Not only did they cash my two legitimate checks for the books, but they hit me for an extra 167.00 for something unknown. Then they began the 19.95 stuff for online services which I did not sign up for. Calling is useless and you must go through your bank to get any action.

    0 Votes
  • La
    Landismotley Nov 09, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Well my wife bought the books because she was scared of the 2 me that showed up while I was working, paid 68 and some change then a month later it looked like a check came through, check number and all that was for 60 then another a month later. Pretty pissed off, paid 188 for some books that haven't even been touched!

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    MadMama2 Jun 05, 2012

    Just checked my bank account and found out that I had been charged $19.95 a month for the past 7 months by SWADVANTAGE. Called the number to find out what it was and apparently the books I bought last summer for my son (that were overpriced and not interesting to him AT ALL), had enrolled me in their online program. The salesman had explained to me that it was only available if I chose to use it, which I DID NOT! I called the company today to have them cancel my account and they told me that I should have read the receipt because it states that they would automatically start charging! I can guarantee if it had been explained to me like that I would have NEVER bought the books! I have now learned a valuable lesson in "reading the fine print"! What a SCAM!

    0 Votes
  • Po
    Poundwack May 19, 2012

    Why do you write the check to the sales person and not the company?

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Daurene Mar 28, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Same thing happened here. I only bought the books. I never did the omline thing and now i'm paying for it. The phone # the bank gave me doesn't work. Now what do I do?

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    saxophoneplayer Jan 14, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have been fighting with them for at least 4 months. They will apologize, take the 19.95 off (credited my bank account), but then either the same day or the next week they will charge me again. I've called AT LEAST 4 times and each time this has happened. All of you need to check every day and make sure they don't charge you again. I talked to a bank supervisor about getting this stopped, and she said unfortunately the only thing we can do is get a totally different bank account number. I just added up 8 things I would need to change over, but it will probably take less time to mess with that than to call Southwestern Edge again. I'll leave them with my last 20 bucks and get out! This is so frustrating!

    0 Votes
  • Oh
    ohunhuh Dec 10, 2011

    I must say that they hit my account too. I have tried contacting them several times to stop charging my account. I paid for books not an online service. I will take this as a lesson learned and will tell the girl where she can go next time she comes knocking on my door. I too will never do business with them again.

    0 Votes
  • Aj
    AJsDaddie Nov 17, 2011

    And just to be clear, I wasn't "agreeing to" an online service, I was buying a book. The online service was some sort of add-on to an already very expensive book - a service which I never used. I didn't worry about a charge because I never gave them a credit card number - this is the first company that has EVER done a direct debit against my bank account based only on information from a check! Had I even suspected they might do something like that I would certainly have looked closer. Again, I will NEVER do business with this company again and will adamantly warn everyone I know against it.

    0 Votes
  • Aj
    AJsDaddie Nov 17, 2011

    I canceled the service. They charged me again. They are not ethical.

    0 Votes
  • Aj
    AJsDaddie Nov 17, 2011

    This "read the fine print" attitude by some posters is pretty lame. We never used the service and we never authorized them to use our bank routing number; what kind of firm does that? Reputable companies use credit cards for regular payments, they don't hit your bank account based on a check. But regardless, last month when this happened I reversed the charge through my bank and my wife went online and closed the account. What happens? We get charged again THIS month! So now I have to waste time going through the whole process again. While this may be legal, it really borders on the unethical and I certainly won't ever buy another product from this company again, and I will recommend against anyone I know using it as well.

    0 Votes
  • We
    Wendy G. Nov 11, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    What can be done about this? On my check statement summary I saw this Southwestern Edge charge for 19.95 and tried to contact them...Last night I got a answering machine, today the phone just rings...This is clearly an unauthorized charge and banks are closed today...What can be done to get this $19.95 charge removed? Does this have to go through my bank? Please advise! Thanks for any help/feedback!

    0 Votes
  • Rr
    rryandavis Nov 02, 2011

    This is a blog I found from the company that explains the charges and what to do. Seems to make sense:
    http://www.southwesterndifference.com/consumer-message-for-southwestern-advantage-online-billing/

    0 Votes
  • Bo
    boristhebad Oct 31, 2011

    Same darn thing happened here. Explicitly said we did not want anything other than the books and were assured at the point of sale that books were all we'd get. Books were pretty cruddy and overpriced, but that's a different complaint. Sure enough, just like everyone else here, checking account had new mysterious $19.95 charge that showed up unannounced (never signed up for the on-line thing, never got e-mail from them, never actually talked to their sales dude again, just had the books left at our door and that was that). While they reversed the charge (we'll see if that actually happens), this should NEVER have happened. This is a major scam!

    0 Votes
  • Je
    JennJenn23 Oct 18, 2011

    Well, shame on me I guess. I didn't read the fine print, which is not like me usually. I called the toll free number and the represenatative was very nice and told me that the company sent out e-mail alerts that the trial period was about to expire, etc. but with all the spam and security filters most people have, not a lot of clients got the e-mail (whatever). She told me my account would see the $19.95 credit within 5-7 business days and gave me a confirmation number and her name. I will be checking my account to make sure this happens...

    1 Votes
  • Ug
    UGHx2 Oct 17, 2011

    I paid by check thinking I could avoid any of these type of charges. UGH! I did just call their 800 number and got right through. She was really nice and within minutes said the charges were reversed and stopped. If it indeed happens, the customer service was good. I am mad that it happened in the first place though!

    1 Votes
  • Br
    BrianRoberts Oct 15, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Read terms & conditions?????
    I've been hit by this scam.
    "To commence service, register online at www.swadvantage.com.
    Registration & usage is FREE until 1st October.
    You may cancel this online service anytime. If you decide to keep this online service, you will be charged $19.95 per month fro 1st October billed to the account above."

    Ummm.
    Why did they hit my account.
    Maybe I read different than others...

    0 Votes
  • M0
    M'chelle Oct 15, 2011

    Wow, I should read the "fine" print more thoroughly...I had no ideas this contract came with this 19.95 online fee. Its sad I spent all this money on the CD's and he has only looked at one. Tell you the truth, I had forgotten I had them. Southwestern is supposed to be a pretty reputable company, I hope the honor the 19.95 refund.

    1 Votes
  • Ke
    KevinH6 Oct 14, 2011

    Same as everyone else above, found the $19.95 hit on the account, went to the credit union...etc. Called the number on hold for only about 3 minutes, asked if the salesperson explained about the online thing, she seemed pretty good to work with ( yet to be seen if she actually followed through) cancelled the online thing and said she would send a check with a refund of the $19.95 in 5 to 7 business days. We'll see how that works out

    2 Votes
  • Sc
    ScammedInTN Oct 14, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This is such a crock. When I called the lady on the phone had the audacity to give me a lecture about reading documents before I sign them. I was absolutely furious! I told her that she needed to refund my $19.95, cancel my account, and never come back to my house again. She complied with the first two requests, but said she couldn't guarantee the last. I will be filing a complaint with the Nashville BBB, and the Consumer Affairs division of the TN Department of Commerce and Insurance.

    0 Votes
  • Fu
    furiousmomthatwasscammed Oct 14, 2011

    Ugh!! I am so upset! I was just looking at my bank account online and found this same 19.95 charge that was taken from my account on 10/07/2011. I did indeed buy some expensive books from a college student this summer for my children. Thank you so much for posting this...I will contact my bank in the morning. I am furious!! I was of the understanding that I had to use the online promotional program and after the free trial I would start being charged. We have NEVER been online at all with this program. Wow, I thought I was helping a college student and my kids and come to find out I am being scammed!! Sad...back to trusting no one!

    0 Votes
  • Sq
    Squint Oct 13, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    To cancel monthly membership: go to www.swadvantage.com and log into your account. From home page, go to Profile > Account Settings> Membership > Cancel Account > Cancel Immediately. I printed the online confirmation.

    1 Votes
  • Sq
    Squint Oct 13, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Check your receipt/contract. I just did so, after talking with my bank about my $19.95 charge. I forgot I had to opt-out of the monthly program: On my contract, they had a paragraph under the billing info that said the order included free access to Southwestern Advantage Online through Sept. Charge then becomes $19.95/mo to be charged to same payment method as the rest of the order. It says you can cancel the monthly membership at any time. I'm doing that today and hopefully that will stop future payments.

    1 Votes
  • Ho
    holy sh** Oct 13, 2011

    I just found out today that this southwestern edge hit my account for $19.95. I was checking out what this company is for when i read the complaint above. I did buy some books from a college student this summer. I am now going to the bank to fix this problem.

    1 Votes
  • Gc
    gcole Oct 12, 2011

    Simlar just happened to me. We bought some books from the company a few months ago and paid by check. This $19.95 charge just showed up today. They used the bank routing number to access our account! We never authorized access to our account like that. Called them and was placed on hold for over 20 minutes before being hung up on. Contacted the bank and disputed the charge. I feel we may need to change our checking account now that they have access. The bank told us they could block them from taking money out in the future, but that would cost us $25. No telling if they may sell the routing and account number to someone else though...

    0 Votes
  • Bo
    Bobob Oct 07, 2011

    You didn't sign up for a PayPal account and PayPal is not the processor. The reason your bank is providing you the PAYFLOW number is because Payflow is a credit card gateway. They are not processing the payment nor are they the merchant that is charging you. From what I have found out about this company, it was supposely college students or whoever going door to door selling books and/or magazines. Southwestern Edge has a phone number [protected], that they do not answer and there is an email you can supposely contact them at [email protected]
    southwestern.com. Their address is 2451 Atrium Way Nashville, TN 37214 or PO Box 305140 Nashville, TN 37230. If you cannot get a hold of them, just dispute it with your bank or your credit card company

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.