The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Smyth Irish SettersBad service

Review updated:

Advertises AKC registered Irish Setters. Provided me dogs that are physically and psychologically damaged. Has been investigated in May 2006 by police for animal abuse. Many Irish Setters that go to Save Our Setters of Wisconsin come from Smyth Irish Setters. BEWARE. Investigate first.

Responses

  • Do
    Don King Nov 06, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    It is my opinion that this guy is working for one of those puppy broker operations that disguises themselves as a "rescue" operations. These groups fool people into giving them money so they can go to dog auctions and buy dogs very cheap and resell them for big profits. Often they get dogs for nothing from people and sell them as well for big profits, calling it an adoption fee ($400 or $500 dollars is no adoption fee!) You can find these "rescue" operations on the internet whining about how they can't sell their dogs because breeders keep producing quality pets for people and most people would rather buy a healthy puppy directly from a repeatable kennel than to buy a pet from one of these puppy brokers, disguised as a "rescue" operations! They then go around the internet and post false accusations (legally know as liable or defamation or slander) in order to scare people from buying from repeatable breeders and come to them, where they will really get a puppy mill dog, since these folks buy their dogs from these type of operation in the first place. They often make false complains to police, so then they can say "the police investigated such and such a kennel" leaving out the fact that when the police investigated, they found the allegations made by these folks to be just FALSE.
    I wrote this man and asked him several questions and he never answered me. Wonder why? I asked him why would he buy another dog from a breeder if the other dog you bought from them years ago was defective??? And incidentally, here is no such "rescue" operation registered in the state that he mentions. I then contacted the breeder and asked them if they ever sold a dog to this man, who goes by the name "Walter Wood". They said they have never heard of him. They said they are required to keep records of owners of their dogs by the AKC, and that the AKC inspects their kennel regularly. Furthermore, their dogs are guaranteed to be free from any congenital, life threatening defects. This breeder requires that if a dog is found with a congenital defect that the owner send a written statement along with the veterinarian's findings to them via registered mail and that they would replace the defective pet, if after inspection by their vet the animal if found defective. This man says his dog is "psychologically" damaged, one wonders how a dog could be psychologically damaged, especially since he has owned the dogs for a long time and got them when they were just little pups. Puppies are placed when they are just a few weeks old, if they become "psychologically damaged" they would have to have become that way because of the way the new owner was treating his pets for a long period of time. It is my opinion that this man is psychologically damaged himself! (If he really exists at all!)
    Sincerely,
    Don King

    0 Votes
  • Re
    Reply Nov 08, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Simply reply to Don King's questionable support...call Irish Setter Rescue of Wisconsin or Save Our Setters to see if they recommend Smyth Irish Setters...they DON'T. Both have websites with email addresses and telephone numbers.

    0 Votes
  • Eb
    E. Bobel Nov 09, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    ou, it is my opinion also that this guy is a real nut job, perhaps off his medications! Why would he go back to the breeder and buy another dog from them if the first one was defective? Yep, this guy is not playing with a full deck! One brick shy of a full load! Incidentally, the "rescue" group he mentions sold a dog to a lady I talked to from down south and she ended up spending over $25, 000. in vet's bills only for the dog to die. She only had it for about a year and it was dead! She then went to a breeder and purchased a happy, well adjusted, healthy dog. You know these "rescue" groups don't give you a guarantee like a breeder will. At least if you get a dog with a congenital defect from a breeder, you can get a replacement. So BEWARE or "Save our Setters" and other "rescue" operations such as them! They are animal rights terrorists, real wackos.

    1 Votes
  • Jo
    Jody Myers Nov 10, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I purchased a dog from Smyth kennels in March 2006. I personally went to pick her up, wanting a young but more than puppy mature Setter. The conditions the dogs are kept in are far less than ideal- huge groups of dogs kept OUTDOORS in northern WI, with only a run-in shed for shelter. The dogs were underweight, mine by 15 pounds, and had been eating straw out of hunger (vet verified). The woman told me outright that she had sold dogs with worms because she couldn't catch them all to vaccinate them. We never received papers because she told us they were wrong- that she had to dna test some of the dogs to prove paternity AFTER registering them. It took 6 months to socialize our dog until she wouldn't hide whenever anyone other than family was around. Oh- and she only deals in cash. PLEASE BEWARE of getting dogs from Smyth. Rescue one (and I believe Save Our Setters is an OUTSTANDING rescue organization- I've seen the lengths they are willing to go to save dogs others would have put down) or get one from a REPUTABLE breeder.

    1 Votes
  • Er
    Eric Nov 10, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    It seems that you are trying to make a mountain out of a mole hill, a lot a whining about nothing.
    My dog eats grass all the time, so do most dogs. It is normal for dogs to eat grass, or in the spring about March, it would be dry grass (hay as you call it). Dogs that have a large outside place to run and play (as the kennel you describe) will eat the dry grass in it in spring and the green grass in the summer. Here is a quote from an article on the internet concerning why dogs eat grass (or hay):

    "Are you concerned when your dog or cat eats grass, then throws up afterwards? You’ll probably feel relieved to know that pets eat grass because their bodies need it.
    "Dogs and cats have been eating grass for a long time. In fact, grass is so popular among dogs that one species, dog grass, is named after them. Dog grass is also known as couch grass and quackweed, and it grows in all but the southern-most states.

    As for worms in dogs, all dogs have worms. They are born with worms. It is natural for them to have worms. It is people who don't like the worms, so in very recent years they have invent worm medicines that kill worms. All wild dogs have worms. Anyone who has a dog know that they must deworm them regularly, especially kennel owners. The fact that dogs don't like to take worm medicine is quite natural, I have a hard time getting my dog to take his worm medicine as well. And mention the word "shot" in his presence and he will run and hide. Here is an article from the internet on worms:

    "One of the issues that the majority of puppies have to deal with is worms. Most puppies are born with worms and they need to be taken to the vet for treatment (to be dewormed). [if you lack the will to deworm yourself] The vet will take a stool sample and check it for worm eggs. The most common worm found in puppies is the roundworm. These worms are caused by intestinal parasites that were transmitted from mother to puppy before birth or from mother's milk during feeding. Most vets recommend treating pregnant mothers with a deworming medication during the last weeks of pregnancy to decrease transmission. If left untreated heavy worm loads can seriously harm your puppy or dog."

    Another thing, when you buy a mature dog from anyone, especially these from RESCUE operations, the dog will shy away from you and may take some time getting used to the new owner and environment. That is why most people buy them when they are LITTLE, so that they will BOND. It is obvious you know little about dogs, but like to complain a lot. Perhaps you just need a little therapy yourself, or perhaps an adjustment in your medications. If you don't like a kennel you shouldn't buy a dog from them. ...let alone buy two and whine about it. It looks more like ax grinding to me. Yes, the people here got you peged right. You have an agenda... and it is quite obvious to everyone here exactly what it is.
    Eric

    2 Votes
  • Re
    Reply Nov 12, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Seems like this complaint may have stirred up people that may be involved with Smyth Irish Setters. Both responses have very specific information known only to the Smyth Irish Setters business owner. I have talked with Forest County Humane Society personnel, Forest County Sheriff's Dept, Irish Setter Rescue of Wisconsin, Save Our Setters, the AKC, owners of Smyth dogs and locals that are intimately familiar with the operation. The suggestion stands...investigate fully before you buy. Visit the breeder at her facility and decide yourself. If you find it acceptable, good luck. If not, post your findings like Jody Meyers did above so others can make an informed decision.

    1 Votes
  • Ch
    Charles Frisk Mar 09, 2009

    There are a number of suspicious things about the Walter Wood blog criticizing Rose Smyth's Irish setter kennel. He lists the address of the kennel as Lakewood, Washington. Rose's kennel is located outside of Armstrong Creek, Wisconsin. Fifteen years ago she lived close to Lakewood, Wisconsin. I suspect Walter Wood is tied in with one of those overzealous "rescue" operations and was merely on a fishing expedition. There is no way he could actually have been to Rose's kennel.
    I have had close contact with two setters from Rose's kennels. They have both been good hunting dogs and even better pets. One of the dogs was at our place for a week and my wife commented that it must have understood English because it seemed to understand everything we said and even better did everything we asked.
    Rose's system is a little unorthodox compared to many kennels. She kennels all the males together and all the females. However many animal behaviorists maintain that this system is psychologically better for pack animals like dogs.

    0 Votes
  • St
    Steve Wercinski Apr 15, 2009

    Iam a practicing Vet. Tech. here in Michigan and Iam the proud owner of 6, yes 6 of Ms. Smyth's Irish Setters. They range in ages of 15 months up to 10 years old. I could not have been blessed with a better group of K9's. I have had no health issues at all with my dogs.
    To top it off, Iam considering another one of Ms. Smyth's dogs in the near future. I can be contacted at [protected]@yahoo.com if any comments.
    Thank-you Steve

    1 Votes
  • Fo
    fourlocos Apr 18, 2009

    I also own a Smyth Irish Setter and he is wonderful. I would buy another one in a heartbeat. He is the best dog and gorgeous. Very healthy and just turned 2. I have no complaints what so ever.

    1 Votes
  • Rr
    R Rawlins Nov 30, 2009

    I lost my 10 yo Irish Setter "Cutter' last year and looked far and wide to find a puppy to fill the void. I worked with Rochelle at Smyth's and she gave my wife and I the opportunity to drive up to Wisconsin and choose a dog .. or more exactly let it choose us. We returned to Oak Park, with our new dog "Riley" and he is great. He is healthy, happy, smart, and loves people.. perhaps too much for his own good. He is very active and likes a daily walk with my wife and some high speed runs in the evening with me. He is great with kids. He is also an extremely handsome dog... at least based on the comments he gets every day while out meeting and greeting folks on his walk. He also likes to play with other dogs. We have had him a year now. To be honest, if I were a dog, I'd pretty much just like to stay with Rochelle at Smyths... acres of land to run about and dig holes and cavort with other dogs in the woods. A big barn with hay and heat to stay in cold weather. These are hunting dogs and they are supposed to be conditioned to handle the out of doors. I don't know why this guy is complaining about his dog from Smyth's, but based on personal experience and actually spending a day on site, I find his complaint very hard to believe. Riley is the fourth Irish Setter in our lives, spanning more than 30 years with this breed. We love Irish Setters and Riley is probably the best we've had. We are very happy to have him in our home. R.G. Rawlins Oak Park IL

    1 Votes
  • Ze
    Zen Peterson Jun 10, 2010

    I just had an experience so horrific with Smythe Kennels that I will now spend much of my summer documenting her vile establishment and maybe year(s) getting her put out of business. I'm a reporter, an investigative reporter - it'll be in a book-won't waste my words here when she and her posse are so clearly on this site disputing (with ridiculous fake charming stories) the very real claims against her. She is a puppy factory, clear as day, and a dog murderer as well. And that's just for starters.

    -3 Votes
  • Ze
    Zen Peterson Jul 09, 2010

    Smythe setters is a sickening organization with genuinely evil people running in. Never has the term Puppy Mill been more appropriate. The horrific woman Roselle who runs the joint posted nearly all of the posts above that criticize her critics. Her main MO is to accuse any critic of being a "Nut Job"--well folks, when you go to her place make sure you look in the dumpsters. She regularly kills dogs she doesn't like the looks of or that have any easily treatable conditions. She does not treat them, she's lets them suffer and die. Or she shoots them in the head. Don't take my word for it. Call every vet within a 50 mile radius of her in Laona Wis. and ask their opinion. Then call the Forest County sheriff and ask about the animal abuse charges. In fact call anybody with any authority within 50 miles and you'll get the same report back. That report is BEWARE! Smyth setters is sickening!

    0 Votes
  • Pe
    Peter Peter Pumkin Eater Aug 02, 2010

    Zen Peterson is an alias used by the owner of a blog www.peterhansen.com
    He is no more of an investigative reporter than I am the King of Chicago.
    Read it and try to figure it out yourselves.
    And if you really want to fry your brain, read his other blog http://peterhansenscam.blogspot.com/
    I guess Peter aka Zen aka Walter Wood sort of slipped up on the Washington thing, but easy to see why as he lives in Washington state.

    1 Votes
  • Ma
    maunz Aug 03, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    i live in toledo & bought a female from smyth's very sweet & very healthy puppy gets hiper @ night but my obedience trainer states this is normal. i found rose smyth very helpful in helping me pick out the puupy that best suited me.

    1 Votes
  • Ze
    Zen Peterson Aug 05, 2010

    8040 Newald Tower Road, Armstrong Creek, WI--
    This is where her horrible puppy mill is--this hideous woman is now breeding "doodles!" SETTER DOODLES!!--- ask about her "dumpster special" where the dogs she kills (deer rifle when she doesn't like the way they look) --- go there! maybe you can save one before it dies-- This place is a LIVING HELL for man and beast---- but DONT TAKE MY WORD-- don't call first--- just go--- she'll have about a hundred or more dogs in sickening conditions---
    --she tries to discredit anybody who criticizes her barbaric and evil practices--- usually by calling everyone a NUTCASE or "Off their MEDS" if they don't approve of her SICKENING pup factory---

    0 Votes
  • Ti
    Tim who's been there Aug 05, 2010

    First off, PETER, is that you screwed up. They aren't in Washington, YOU are in Washington. Oops heh?
    Second, Smyth Setters doesn't have dumpsters large enough to hold a dog. You wouldn't know that because YOU have never been there. They have regular household dumpsters, and if you knew anything about Forest County you would know that they look through contents before putting them into their garbage trucks.

    Secondly, if you were to ever looked through Forest County's police blotter, you'd would know that that there has never been an investigation, nor have they ever been called out to Smyth Setters. You can view the blotter dating back to the year 2000.

    Here is another blogsite exposing "Zen Peterson" or Peter Hansen as his real name is.

    As for anyone wondering what this "Zen Peterson" is up to, just go to www.peterhansen.com. He's a little, um, loose in the head.
    His known email screen names are
    [protected]@aol.com
    [protected]@aol.com
    [protected]@aol.com
    CoachellaLodging
    Deserthomerentals
    Eastcalifornia
    Majordogguy
    And many many others.

    Now, how many of you believe a guy that is from the state of Washington, has never set foot in Wisconsin, nor has ever been on the property of Smyth Setters?

    Oh, he also posts on http://peterhansenscam.blogspot.com/2008/05/my-story-mysterious-1100-deposit.html?commentPage=2

    As the following:
    Art4Art
    b
    Informant
    and others that he has removed.

    1 Votes
  • Ze
    Zen Peterson Aug 05, 2010

    Yeah yeah yeah loose in the head- nuts..loony---yeah whatever Roselle/Tim/Smyth------you sure spend a lot of time on websites doing damage control, calling everybody a wacko---if I posted all the screenames you use on the web I'd have to start up a whole new internet!---POINT IS Smyth setters is a puppy mill, Roselle is a hideous puppy mill operator -- these days she spends more time on the internet trying to cover her [censor]--anyway--who cares who Zen is, who Peter is, who diddlysquat is? --- what's witrh all the deflecting?--- go check it out.The puppy mill--- Like I said, nobody has to believe me, just take a drive up. Address posted above---
    ---
    I'm not clueless that you were going to do this smear campaign---I'm fully aware of what I incurred--- and now you're fighting mad because you've been exposed--- so go for it! We're meeting in court soon as you know-- I'm a worthy foe, you're old with a lot of dogs to find homes for (what do you do with the unsold ones by the way)-----BUT YOU ARE STILL A PUPPY MILL!

    -1 Votes
  • Ti
    Tim who's been there Aug 06, 2010

    I have been to Smyth Setter numerous times. As another posted, there are no dumpsters that a dog would fit into. You, however, PETER HANSEN of VASHON, WASHINGTON have never set foot there! And news flash, Puppy Mills are NOT illegal in Wisconsin. They are frowned upon but not illegal. If you really gave a rats patoot about Puppy Mills then you should check out the Wisconsin puppy mills that are owned and run by the Amish and Mennonites.

    Let's see, you spend all your waking hours posting ludicrous mentally ill ramblings on your blogger www.peterhansen.com
    You spend endless hours trying to post your smear campaigns on Craigslist, only to have them flagged
    You spend endless hours on the PETER HANSEN SCAM site under ridiculous names yet on your website, nobody is allowed to make a statement except for your made up supporters.

    Now, as far as Smyth Setters goes, WHY DON'T YOU GO THERE AND SEE IT PERSONALLY? Yep, didn't think so. Didn't think you would.

    As far as your publisher goes, does he know about all this crap you are perpetuating? Or will he know? Yes, he'll know.

    I retired in May of this year. I have the rest of my life to follow you around and make sure the world knows what you are really about.

    You, however have lost the respect of anyone that knows or knew you.
    You have lost the respect of the literary community.
    You have, or will soon, lose the respect of your employer.
    You have lost the respect of people that want to shut down the really horrendous puppy mills, i.e. the ones run by the Amish.
    Again, if you knew anything about the state of Wisconsin, it is NOT ILLEGAL to run a puppy mill there. It is FROWNED UPON but now illegal.

    If Roselle is doing anything illegal, which I doubt, all your posts have been sent to her and she is well aware of all of it. So IF there are any ill or dying dogs, and I say IF, they will not be around during any sort of investigation as Rose sends the ill ones to a foster home.

    Now take your psychotropic drugs and go to sleep.

    1 Votes
  • Da
    Dale Krautkramer Aug 06, 2010

    Here is the link to the Wisconsin Court records for ALL cases, criminal, civil, drunk driving, etc. etc. Wisconsin is an open records state. As you see, if you enter her name...nothing
    Enter SMYTH under business name and again, nothing...

    Fruitcake

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Dale Krautkramer Aug 06, 2010

    Dang, forgot the link
    http://wcca.wicourts.gov/simpleCaseSearch.xsl;jsessionid=77570189ACAFB9676B03F491FF1EB53A.render6

    Now, what were you saying about what about animal abuse charges? There never were any. What a nut.

    1 Votes
  • Ze
    Zen Peterson Aug 06, 2010

    rant on freakshow---it's-still a puppy mill! --illegal or not is not my issue--- just stating the facts. She's a puppy mill plain and simple--- and thanks for the ego boost that I am so important you'll spend THE REST OF YOUR LIFE?? Following me around--- wow? --------and you call me crazy? -- your post wins the award for BEST POSTING OUT OF AN INSANE ASYLUM! - Didn't know they had computers in there for you guys!
    How will you follow me around with a straightjacket on?

    1 Votes
  • Ze
    Zen Peterson Aug 06, 2010

    see you in court

    1 Votes
  • Sa
    San Diego Mom Aug 14, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    A quick question for - Tim who's been there - you say "Again, if you knew anything about the state of Wisconsin, it is NOT ILLEGAL to run a puppy mill there. It is FROWNED UPON but now illegal." Just because Wisconsin has not joined the 21st Century and made puppy mills illegal - you think a puppy mill is ok???

    0 Votes
  • Ba
    Baggio Aug 26, 2010

    First of all" Zen Peterson" was the false ID Peter Hansen was using when he was living here in Palm Springs. He bought those defective dogs in Ca. He moved his backyard puppy mill to Bend, Oregon when the DA was looking from him. But Oregon passed a "lemon puppy" law late in 2009. He apparently sold those defective puppies from his puppy mill to various people without disclosure of the disorder. They are carriers of a hereditary condition know as HOD. Peter sold these dogs to unsuspecting buyers without disclosing to them that the dogs were carriers. It just so happened that he sold one to the Smyth lady without telling her that the dog had HOD. He admitted that on the" Peter Hansen Scam" blogspot (the post he deleted- wonder why???) Dogs with the disease usually die before they are a year old. The ones that survive usually end up in rescue or are dumped into shelters. Then Peter was arrested in Bend Oregon.
    -----------------------------------
    carole233 said...

    Peter is still at it and was arrested today, in Bend Ore. where he us working the scam of renting property and then advertising vacation rentals on craig's list double booking and depositing checks. The police in Bend are interested in any information you might have about his fraudulent dealings in Bend ore. contact [protected]@cl.bend.or.us 1/14/10
    ----------------------------
    After his arrest in Oregon, Peter Hansen packed up his puppy mill are fled to Vashon Washington, where he was caught using the alias of "Peter Bond" and still selling defective dogs.

    One dog was reported to have had a bloody [censor] with its gut put out of its rear end. Wonder how that happened there????

    Now Peter is great at turning things around and claiming he is the victim of his own victimization. Which he has done to all his other victims as well, same MO. Peter is the not the victim of his own scam, these folks are. All the hype about AMISH puppy breading operations and trying to make the Smyth people look like they are part of the AMISH is really ridiculous! Smyth's are a small kennel when compared to these type of breading operations run by the Amish. Amish farms and other such operation can have up to 4000 dogs involved. As for Smyth's they have been around for about 40 years and have always had a good reputation. As for this site it is just a smear campaign inspired by the slander of the rescue people who are just trying to sell puppy mill dogs. Apparently they have not heard of "trade libel" if they would have they wouldn’t be slandering the reputation of reputable breeders, so they can make a sale! I noticed that Peter Hansen is apparently associated with them and other such “puppy mill outlets”. I also noticed that they were advertising a dog with HOD for sale on their site, is this Peter's new outlet for placing his HOD puppies?

    As for Wisconsin laws, there have always been laws on the books on standards for dog care in Wisconsin. Peter Hansen is in my opinion a pathological liar and he admits so in the libel he posts here and elsewhere. I have noticed that now he is attacking the Sheriff in King County Washington on his site. He's taking them to court too! LOL LOL. Seems he is in trouble everywhere he goes, I wonder WHY?

    Below are some posts from the Scam blog:

    Sunday, May 18, 2008
    Email From Peter - 5/8/08
    After my friend inquired about receiving our deposit back. Pretty good stuff. It is classic victim syndrome. He has an incredible ability to convince himself that he has been victimized and then turn it around on the people he scams. Once someone plays the victim, they can justify their fraud to themselves more easily.

    Me thinks you protest too much. Randall--- you and your posse are so full of [censor] and spend so much time trying to prove (to yourselves?) your righteousness it's laughable. Contractual breach? Let's start from POINT A then You violated it the minute you brought ten people in. I'm sick of dealing with you and your spoiled brat friends. ---
    Your memory is selective because you've programmed yourselves to thinking your getting screwed. In my experience the people causing the biggest disturbance about being screwed are the ones most likely to be screwing.
    I ate it big time with you. A thousand bucks to be exact---and nobody ever said they're keeping your [censor]ing deposit---I only said I was getting grief from Barb about how to disburse it.
    BUT! --- and I'll use this is my next book----
    I loved the part where you were being a "nice" guy about the hotel rooms.--- I had prepaid that room--- you were there when I called them---You're not nice at all. You're a typical LA whiner. A Premadonna. [censor] you and don't contact me again. I told you and Barb both what I was doing--- I sending the funds back to Barb and you two can snarl it out like the felines you are--Meowwwwww


    Thursday, July 15, 2010
    And Two Years Later...I Get Some Peace of Mind
    Hello All. It has been more than two years since I have posted on this blog. It has been almost as long since I have even looked at it. Suffice it to say, I am absolutely shocked to see that it is still active (with Peter himself posting on it) and elated to see that this blog has served its purpose. Back in April 2008 when I was scammed by Peter, I pretty much gave up all hope of ever seeing our money. We thought of going to small claims court, but that would just be another case on the docket that Peter wouldn't show for or ever pay. So the only solution seemed to be to expose the scam so that people in the future do not fall victim.

    So two years later, this blog has been an absolute success. In an age where information is king, having this blog be the first Google search result when you search "Peter Hansen Scam" is a stunning blow to Peter's exploits. It is also a top five search result for a hand full of other Peter Hansen related searches. I can't imagine a more perfect outcome from this blog. And more than 250 posts, some as recent as June 2010, is mind boggling! I only wish I had been following some of these comments over the past two years so I could get a better idea of what people are so pissed about. So many of the posts have been deleted that the actual stories are a bit disjointed. I only hope that he is not really killing dogs in his back yard.

    Two things I want to make clear are that this blog is not a conspiracy of falsehoods, and Peter Hansen is not a victim. I guess it is a conspiracy in the sense that those who have been conned by Peter are conspiring to reveal the truth. Nobody owes you anything.

    Also, I will not be removing any of anyone's comments, especially Peters. I firmly believe that in a space like this, good ideas and truth will rise to the top. Peter's (and his friends) ridiculous comments only expose them more.

    My only piece of advice to anyone who reads this is that stay as far away from him as possible. Do not do business with him, rent from him, buy a dog from him, or solicit his apparent photo services. If he owes you money, I would advise to do like I did and forget about it. Just stay away from him.

    Finally, this blog is here to stay. Even if he offered me my money back plus interest, I do not want it. I got my piece of mind, and that will suffice. I hope that people continue to use this as a clearing house for Peter Hansen scam stories.

    So here is to the freedom and impact of information!
    Posted by Baggio at 10:09 AM 139 comments

    Well, this has been my opinion on this matter.

    -1 Votes
  • Do
    Dog advocate Sep 05, 2010

    Zen Peterson AKA Peter Hansen AKA Peter Bond is writing for the LOOP newspaer on Vashon Island Washington.
    Living in Burton on Vashon Island. He was advertising rooms for let. He had a puppy Mill thing going too.

    0 Votes
  • Un
    Unxia Apr 06, 2011

    I am looking to adopt one from her soon and have done my research.
    I have called the Antigo vet clinic as well as several others in the area counties, none having anything negative to say.
    I also called the forest county sheriffs office and asked allot of questions the lady who I talked to was more then happy to help me, there was a report some time ago made against her but findings were nothing.. they are public records that you can pay $5.00 for to see for yourself the police reports about her. the lady put me on hold to read through it before giving me information she could and came back with nothing bad at all to say. you can check for your self here: Sheriff's Department: Forest County, Wisconsin
    Department, Sheriff's Department. Elected Official, John M Dennee. Address, 100 S Park Ave. Crandon, Wisconsin 54520. Phone Number, [protected]
    Never take anyones word for anything check for yourself i am very happy with the results i found and am now more excited to get my puppy soon.

    0 Votes
  • Un
    Unxia Apr 06, 2011

    sorry double post :(

    0 Votes
  • So
    Sonie Dec 10, 2011

    We have a female Irish Setter that we got from Rose. She will be two this February. We got her at eight weeks, and she is absolutely wonderful - healthy, loving, smart, beautiful, and has been so easy to train. She has a great nose, and often puts our Springers to shame. We couldn't be happier with her. Rose was very helpful in helping us pick our puppy. This is our second Irish, and we would have no qualms whatsoever in purchasing another Irish Setter from Smyth Kennels. Don't think much of the Irishdoodle idea, but each to their own.

    0 Votes
  • Kj
    KJTHe Aug 15, 2012

    Got a puppy in April 2012. He is cute as can be. Only complaint is that his dew claws were not removed properly and he had 2 parasites that needed treatment. Was told he was a mix of golden retriever and Irish setter, but appears to be all setter.

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    riley1 Oct 04, 2013

    I had an Irish Setter that a got from Rose Smyth Kennels back in 1999. He was 12 when I had to put him down. His name was Riley and you couldn't have asked for a better dog. Loved kids, listened well and only visited the vet for his yearly exams. He was a big and beautiful dog. He was very excitable with lots of energy and got into some "trouble" from time to time up until about a year and a half, then he settled down a bit... but that is the Irish Setter breed. If you don't want a high energy dog, an Irish Setter is not for you. I can't remember ever seeing him show his teeth. I took him pheasant hunting a few times just to get him out and run around. He was never trained to hunt but you could tell it was in his blood. Overall, just a great dog. I cried like a baby that last day. When/if I decide to get another dog I would definetely consider driving the 3 1/2 hours to Smyth Kennels.

    0 Votes
  • Do
    DocDee Dec 02, 2014

    We bought (with check payment) a puppy from Smyth Irish Setters in 2012 and had him shipped to us in Maryland in January 2013. All transactions were were helpful, and SIS went to great lengths to ensure that he was not stuck in a winter storm in a remote air terminal. The puppy was healthy - and two years later is a healthy dog who is energetic and intelligent and a real part of the family. He is small for a male at 56 lb, but this is exactly right for a dog bred for hunting rather than conformation. All the right instincts and temperament are in evidence. AKC registration indicates a dog with well defined characteristics. We are currently training him for obedience (companion dog) and he is doing well. See attached picture of dog at 15 months. He is the third Irish Setter we have owned, and is the best of the bunch for temperament, smarts, energy and overall good health!

    0 Votes
  • Df
    D Forcey Sep 15, 2016

    Purchased a puppy from Smyth Kennels. Told us he was a purebred golden retriever which is what she advertised him as. Insisted he had papers but couldn't produce. Met us as she wouldn't tell us where she lives. turned out to be a extremely hyper irish setter whom we have not been able to train. Bites all the times and constantly jumps on you. My granddaughter is extremely afraid of him. Refuses to tell where she lives. We suspect he is a golden retriever/irish setter as he has gold and dark red hair. Do no trust this kennel.Very deceiving.

    1 Votes
  • Dc
    Dclausen Jun 24, 2019

    @D Forcey I wish I would have run across this page before we began working with these people. So so familiar! Unbelievable.

    0 Votes
  • Mr
    Mrs. Nicks May 18, 2018

    Hi I never purchased a puppy but have called several time to set up a time or get an address or even her full name ALWAYS Given the runaround. So I had my niece call she was told by the woman at [protected] I will deliver one to Greenbay and to bring 1300.00 for a golden mini doodle, my niece asked about parents vet check shots and health quarantee that's when the lady said call someone else you want too much!

    1 Votes
  • Dc
    Dclausen Jun 24, 2019

    @Mrs. Nicks We just went through and are currently going through a very frustrating situation with Smyth. I am hoping it will be resolved in a satisfactory manner before I put the truth out for others to review. Stay tuned but a lot of what I've read rings true to our experience.

    -2 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.