The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Saker Shopritethreats to employees

The HR (Human Resources), which is not Human by any means, continues to threaten jobs in that store. Several employees have been written up on nonsense accusations by a troubled employee. Fact finding is not a strong suit for this store. They have violated some of the Amendment that people are entitled to, which is not a concern of theirs. Several of us employees are thinking about a lawsuit against this store & the HR. According to the local Unemployment office, 2/3's of 1 case-worker is former employees of this store. It does NOT say alot for the mannerism of this company. Employees are afraid to talk to each other fearing that they will be next on the s store's hit-list.

Responses

  • Re
    rensaler Mar 12, 2016

    If the employees really want to burn shoprite managers — afterall they are the responsible people then call osha:concerning the # on top of the aisles in this store — looks like the "height" stacked boxes is well above the limit. also shoprite of hamilton had a pharmacy technician working there with-out a license and this store seems to not want to "display" the pharmacy workers state licenses in plain view. call the board of pharmacy!
    Hamilton store continues to have their "bakery" worker decorate cakes with "bare hands" this is a serious health issue. also watch for workers in the bread aisle putting goods on the "floor" before stocking them on shelves! I dont know about you but I would prefer not to have the germs on peoples shoes contaminating my goods — even if they are wrapped it still gets on the wrapper!!!

    -1 Votes
  • So
    So annoying!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Dec 02, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    The hr in the east brunswick shoprite is unprofessional and picks on employees. she rolls her eyes when employees speak to her about their schedule concerns or pay, and is unwilling to make adjustments. she calls out employees in front of customers like telling them to stand up straight and stares at them long enough so they can "fix" whatever it is they are doing wrong she even yelled at a kid that had a black northface with red lettering! just the words northface. and she had a list of people she wants to fire in her office. we have a small number of employees already because she loves to fire people. especially for paying after they eat their bag of chips. no one wants to work in the east brunswick shoprite because of her and she's unwilling to become flexible with schedules so what does she expect?! get rid of jean bartels!

    2 Votes
  • Ha
    Haydee Cardona Jul 31, 2014

    I was fired when I got injured at work. I was put on light duty by Workers Compensation doctor and when reported to work on same day I was told that in my dept there was no light duty. I was sent home and the following day I received a call saying I was a no call no show. When I call to question the Freehold ShopRite store manager Mr.Hobbs started yelling at me at the top of his lungs I asked him to lower his voice and stop being disrespectful to me. I asked why I had received a no call no show phone call when he had sent me home because I couldn't perform my work duties due to my injury. He again started yelling said he never did that and told me I was fired and good-bye. I am being denied unemployment benefits because of this lie. I'm in appeals and fighting, but from all my research this is how they do business.

    0 Votes
  • Bu
    Butterballpissed Jan 12, 2014

    Wall township saker shoprite; now I understand if I am by fda forced to wear a beard guard however I do not see how one specific day/night manager only targets me and only me when the rest of the store who have beards and handle food he never tells anyone of them to put it on. he has like a personal vendetta out for me and being super discriminative just because I question him and stated I will not put it on if no one else has to. his response was oh well I am just going to bring you up to the store manager then!! wtf.
    I work in the appy and I am getting sick of mr. b and since I know shoprite's policy is if you can pull your hair if its that long you must wear and mine is trimmed up where you can't, then why do I have to and the other guys who have longs beards or goatees don't.!!!
    Huge #ing complaint.

    1 Votes
  • Ou
    OutRagedEmployee Nov 11, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I work in the East Brunswick shop rite and let me tell you it is hell !!! Not only does the HR not care about the employees but she makes up lies and makes employees out to be the ones who do wrong. I could go on for hours listing things this store has done wrong including threatening the loss of benefits if you do not work 20 hours. First, of all we are union as long as we pay our dues and work the hours we contracted they cannot take away our benefits. And dont even get me started on the store and department managers, issues of bad produtct being sold, the lack of communication and soo many other things. Oh and my favorit complaint about the cut in hours and over or under hiring issues. Lets hire 7 or 8 people for a department that only need 5 and only has payroll for 5. Or lets only have 6 people in a department that needs 8-10. Then there is the scheduling. Do any of the managers have training in this?? I do and im parttime. Lets have 3 people work in the morning and 1 at night for 6 hours running 2 departments for 2-3 of those hours. This company needs to look at their managers, HR, and store managers and say hey if we make our part-timers happy maybe we will get better customer service out of them and maybe if we stop worrying about money and focus on quality maybe we will have better customer reviews and less complaintes. Hell, I had a customer complaine yesterday to me and point out that there was out of date product in the case. This was only a few minutes after I started my shift at night. Something needs to be done. This company needs some sort of restructuring.

    5 Votes
  • Re
    reduceuse Oct 12, 2011

    since were on the subject of shop rite I would like to say a few things about the saker shop rite in Woodbridge. The deli dept has a section called "grab and go" so you can just grab your cold cuts without waiting in line but be careful its suppost to have a sell by date of 2 or 3 days. What the manager has the employees do is first thing in the morning is take all the leftovers from the grab and go section and make the sell by date current. I also know that if they are all out of a certain product they will replace it with a cheaper brand and sell it to you for the higher price. For example if you ordered world class ham for $5.49 they will give you the cheaper one that sells for $3.99 and charge the higher price.

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    Sakerstinks Aug 18, 2011

    I can agree with the original post Saker Shoprite is horrible, I worked there for a year before I was terminated unjustly, They do write people up for nonsense, They once wrote me up for calling out because another family member of mine was in a serious car accident and I was in the hospital all day, They seemed caring over the phone but when I came in my next scheduled day I got a write up for it I could not believe it. Previous to that I only had one other call out and that was due to the blizzard we got here in south jersey where everyone called out because it was impossible to drive on roads that weren't plowed for 3 days thanks to NJ being unprepared as usual.

    Finally one day I hurt myself pretty bad torn my rotator cuff, next day I find out they suspended me pending termination and I had to have a union meeting in Freehold, I was never allowed to have a meeting nor was I ever informed they terminated me because they have a communication problem in this company they don't return calls, So for 2 months I tried to talk to these fools to no avail then finally I had to file for unemployment which they tried to block stating they fired me cause I did a no call no show well being in the technology age which most those corporate boobs no nothing about I was able to obtain my cell phone records from my provider and appeal unemployment I got my payments the very next day after I submitted those as my proof that I followed company policy and called out way ahead of my shift 6 1/2 hours to be exact though the incompetent night manager there never bothered to tell anyone I called out, I plan on suing them and the union soon for violating my rights, AFAIK it's my right to have a meeting with the vp of hr with my union rep present something they denied me, Morale of the story is before you think of working at any Saker Shoprite your best bet is find an alternative way of employment cause they are bad news.

    -1 Votes
  • Hi
    Hitlisted Jun 02, 2011

    Ha, you thought I was gone. 1 female left on the nite crew. beware taija morrow you are next. I got rid of the last 1, you need to watch what you do. unless you are having a sex change. donna is getting her wish. now on to new business. since when can they change when overtime starts. they inform employees that since it is summer, they have to work up to 40 hours before they get paid ot. any other time it is 35 hours. is that legal? good job don & kiryl for stepping up on nite shift. kiryl, you earned the employee of the month. funny that they had no choice to give it to you, even tho donna doesnt think any person in that dept deserves it. laurie, congradulations n getting shifts in deli. glad I could help you there. to other employees, will see you all @ jacks. we can always have a drink, who cares if you are working. I know who you all are... 2 from deli, 1 from seafood, 1 from meat... working with alcohol in your system is a no-no, but shoprite doesnt care, just dont get hurt. I guess drinking is better than being high.. or is it?
    As for det41, your mom # if they dont call her, so to complain that she cant have a day off is bull... she is uptight & paraniod. she complains that they call, but god forbid they dont when something happens, she get snotty cuz they didnt call her. but yet, she cant answer her phone when they call when it is serious. she knows who calls her all the time, (hint dayshift)... I am back & still typing away... ewing shoprite is going down the drain.

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    Riddle May 23, 2011

    Just so you know hitlistd, you are not able to access my wife's computer. I diabled the teamviewer that you linked into. my wife will also be shutting the system down everytime she leaves her computer. it took me awhile to figure it out but that is the only way you could have accessed it. so, michele r. aka hitlistd, you are done. also her verizon account has be deleted so you wont have access through that either. see when we couldnt access the email account we called verizon. with you changing the security answers, along with the password, verizon now knows that account has been compromised. it is not longer a valid account. you are the only person that would have known her prior password to be able to change it. since you knew she no longer used that account, it made it a little easier on you. you were a trusted friend once, but that is over. so apologies to all that this woman has made nasty comments to. hope everyone understands that my wife didn't write this. michele, get a life because we are done.

    1 Votes
  • Hi
    Hitlisted May 23, 2011

    Awww the man sticking up for his wife. Isnt that the sweetest thing. Good she was a bad worker anyways., I knew your wife, she needed to go, nobody liked her anyhow. I did her a favor and she can sit on her fat ### and eat like a cow. Maybe you should leave her and get a real wife. She thought she was all that, but she wasnt. Mike was a better at the job than she ever could hope to b. Speaking of Mike, I saw him recently. He is so much better since he doesnt have shoprite in his life. So any1 who gets canned or leaves that place is better off. I just move the line along. Every1 in there will blame her and I dont care. She got what she deserved. Good riddance to her. As for being her husband, seriously think about leaving she probably cant keep you happy.

    -1 Votes
  • Ri
    Riddle May 23, 2011

    Since I will be fired anyways, cuz I cant prove that I am not hitlistd. I am gonna do this. donna I am sorry for this person. I am not the one that did it. I cannot even get into that email account. havent been able to for almost 1 yr. my password has not worked when I try to access the account. verizon is looking into it, but thats all I can do. thanks to my husband for finding out about this. I am not puter savvy, he bought a new security progrm for my computer. thnks for over 5 yrs of work.

    2 Votes
  • Ri
    Riddle May 23, 2011

    My name is jim. I am the husband of cathy. she is not this nasty person. her computer has been hacked & her firewalls have been disabled. I hope this person is happy cuz you just cost my wife her job. whatever you reasons are I hope you get whats coming to you. my wife has worked under donna for many years and has never said anything like what you have. I found the site as someone told my wife. I made a comment and it came under that name. if she loses her job, which she will cuz she signed an agreement, you just broke that since you hacked. I have tried to locate the source of the where it could have came in. my house computers have also been disabled. I have called verizon with hopes of finding the source. but you, hitlistd, I hope my wife does not find you. she did like her job.

    1 Votes
  • Hi
    Hitlisted May 23, 2011

    I am NOT an employee of ShopRite, but my wife is. Yes she signed an agreement, But I did not. My wife has worked for ShopRite and under Donna Tobers deli dept, for almost 6 years now. Donna has been good to my wife and other employees. She goes out of her way to make a fair schedule & give people their days off as they request. There have been nights when my wife was in tears either cuz she was in pain from her arm or co=workers have called out or left early. That is not Donna fault, that employees call out whenever it suits them. They dont realize the headache it causes. Sure, employees & their bosses have ups & downs, but Donna is a good person. I know my wife used to work early mornings on weekends. She would get there @ 5:30am, & Donna would already be there working. Being a manager isnt easy, long hours, no sanity. But we all do what we have to. I have seen Donna in the store, she is always on the move. She works on her lunch, doing whatever needs to be done. My kids love going into the store to see her. They know her by sight & will go right to her. So before you critize an boss, look what they have under them & walk in their shoes for 1 day. Bet you wouldnt complain again...

    1 Votes
  • Hi
    Hitlisted May 21, 2011

    . Donna Tober is as 2 sided as a coin. She is a backstabbing, 2 faced manager who cant live without her alocohol. They talk about childish behavior, look to that manager for being the example on that. Follow the leader... I will admit this was NOT a fair statement. Since it will not let me remove it from the context. I will apologize to Donna Tober. Is that fair det41?

    0 Votes
  • Hi
    Hitlisted May 21, 2011

    I do not work for ShopRite anymore. I dont know about any agreement on communications. I quit several months ago. I still shop at that store only because of convenience. I am friends with many that still do work there. People talk openly in there, especially when they are upset and/or angry. It seems that it is a daily happening in there. Yes, I shouldnt have said Donnas name since I dont know her beyond seeing her & a few words of talking. But, as for the HR, I have had several encounters with her. I will apologize for that on Donna. I also know that being a manager is more stressful than any other position. I dont know about calling their boss 50 times, but isnt that part of the job? I know when I managed, my phone always rang.. Yes, on most part it was over stupid stuff, but again that was the job. Unfotunately, if they are calling more times than not, apparently they shouldnt be in that position. But again, who put them there? It is sad that you try to do what is necessary, and get hell for it. I will in fairness, go back and edit the part on your mother. Since I dont know her on that level. I hear stuff & should have checked on accuracy.

    0 Votes
  • De
    det41 May 21, 2011

    i used to work for shoprite too and you have to really suck to get fired since its a union job. i was terrible and kept my job until i quit. if you work there you are violating the agreement you signed by posting internal communications on this site. if you are just a customer then you have no right to complain about anything because you couldnt possibly know what really goes on internally. people get let go all the time get over it. btw you dont have first amendment protection when it comes to your employer, especially when you sign something saying you wont bad mouth them, secondly if your dumb enough to talking openly to each other about people the hr lady has every right to listen to what you say on company property. thirdly i am a manager myself and no one is aloud to have someone else call them out unless they are in a coma or cant talk for some other reason. i would have fired the individual personally. a migraine come on boo hoo. last but not least my mother is donna tober and i dont give a ### what she may have done or said to you. i most certainly will not sit back and see someone say those things about her. she may have a drink when she gets home but she has been workin insane hours for over 25 years to make sure we are fed and clothed and have a roof over our head. she also hardly ever misses work despite things like a headache. how dare you. i would drink too if i had to deal with the stupid poeple she has to deal with. people without the common sense to see a problem and deal with it without having to call their boss 50 times when she is off. thats why these people work for shoprite to begin with, content to slice deli meat because they dont have the mental apptitude to work anywhere else. i am a manager at 24 and i wouldnt be if i had to call my boss constantly because i dont want to take responibility and actually find a solution to problems. you may be entitled to your own opinion but how dare you talk about my mother like that for shame!!! at least have the courage to say it openly and not hide behind an alias.

    1 Votes
  • Hi
    Hitlisted May 21, 2011

    HA det41 good reply. I dont cut deli meat. Some of the employees I have referred to do, some dont. I am in that store on a daily basis, and see the way the employees are treated. Some managers are very decent people. I have had a confrontation once with a dept manager in that store. She was rude and loud for no good reason. Yes, the saying is "The customer is always right", but it isnt always true. I have seen dept managers stick up for their employees, & I have seen them not.. I understand that the Ewing store is in an area that isnt most desirable, and the customers can be very nasty. I have seen alot in my shopping experiences. Most part the store is good, but it is a shame that you can go and get accustom to some employees and a few weeks later, those employees are gone. They have a horrible turnover rate. Example, I was in the parking lot, on my way into the store. I saw an employee, which I have seen before & she has served me, going into the liqour store, Jacks. I didnt think anything about it, until I saw her while I was shopping back at work. I, also, saw another female outside and found out he no longer worked there. Many of them will give you the time of day, and will say Hi to you. Some will make your shopping pleasant, & some will make you sorry you even went into that store.

    0 Votes
  • De
    det41 May 20, 2011

    i would be mad too if the only thing i was qualified to do is cut deli meat

    2 Votes
  • Hi
    Hitlisted May 19, 2011

    Well it seems the Deli dept isnt the only dept under siege.. Laurie in Seafood is a good person. She spends her paycheck weekly in that store, but due to her color, the LP decided that he needs to constantly watch her. Laurie has NEVER stolen from the store, she shops everyday she works. She helps other depts and does her job. She has never given them any reason for the wannabe cop to harrass her the way he does. Guess since he cant catch the real stealers he will target a hard-working employee just cuz of the color of her skin. Yet, he misses the drug dealing that goes on right under his nose. Another reason some employees are thinking lawsuit.. Oh update on the sexual harrassment complains, the offender is no longer employed with ShopRite, but not due to the complains. He was dismissed on other charges not related to ShopRite. But Mrs Rose Shaw still has her job for some unknown reason. Now, a former employee tried to col;ect her unemployment benefits, but while on phone with Saker ShopRite, they lied and said she no called no showed.. Funny, but all her absences were medical & she had Dr notes to back her up. Another example of Being Screwed by ShopRite...

    0 Votes
  • Hi
    Hitlisted May 14, 2011

    Well another former employee made anUnemployment worker busy.. Another got written up for having her husband call her out for a migraine, but less than 20 months prior another husband did it, and NO write up... Guess it is who you piss-off in the store to get the write up. I know that person is going to the Shop Steward today, and also is thinking about a grievance. Why do they go after the ones that actually work. Jealousy is a big factor on that since that person gets more respect from her co-workers than the department manager does. If you give respect, you get it back. Maybe the HR and Donna Tober need to take some classes on that. The worker they wrote up is a good worker. She busts her butt for them & they treat her like crap. Hope she gives it back to them. As for Upper Management, Joe S's doesnt even bother to show up. He calls Donna and asks whats going on. Only time he comes is when the store is underfire with a Saker visit. Maybe he should trade in his 6 figure salary and start looking at the store that is in a hole. But, to give Joe S the benefit, things arent what the seem when you are there. Donna Tober is as 2 sided as a coin. She is a backstabbing, 2 faced manager who cant live without her alocohol. They talk about childish behavior, look to that manager for being the example on that. Follow the leader...

    0 Votes
  • Hi
    Hitlisted Apr 20, 2011

    I found out that the HR, Mrs. Shaw, has been talking about people in a certain dept. She actually told another employee that this person was a ""cancer" & is spreading. That is very unprofessional to say the least. Yet, they ask you to sign a paper that you cant say anything negative about the store or employees on any social sites, but it is ok for HR to talk about them in store to other employees. We have a Union shop steward . He is a good guy, but doesnt do any fact finding either. He listens to management, but doesnt want to hear what the employees say. Hell, we have a dept manager that has been written up for sexual harrassment, but still has his job, even tho 2 females have complained. Wonder if she will be terminated for that??? DOUBTFUL!!! So much for fairness.. We know who is coddled & pampered...

    1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.