The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Safety EnterprisesRip off company

Well i just recently moved to Ohio with my fiancee and of course i am in desperate need of a job. His mom had found the ad in the paper and said maybe i should give it a shot. So of course i did. When i called i got a answering machine...first clue...Left my name and number and asked for a return call. I got it the next day and she said that i could have an interview the following day.Though when i asked more about what the company did all she would say is that i would learn more about it in my interview. She did tell me that they were hiring for managers with NO experience and NO schooling. red flag number 2. We set up the interview and of course i was thrilled that i could be making $4, 000 a month if not more and be a manager at only 22!! So i went in and they went through this whole process of showing me how their products worked and what-not. I was impressed by one thing that i hadn't seen but otherwise not very impressed. Then the actual interview by a 'regional manager' Jay Urhick or some crap. He hardly looked over my application and asked no questions about previous employment or even ask for references. Even when i would talk about my previous employment he just kept on talking acting like he had better things to do...maybe other people to try and scam. But after he said i defiantly had the job he threw the fact that i needed $165.00 fully refundable deposit for a training kit and wouldn't even tell me what's in it!! Me being as stupid as i was tried to get together the money when i decided to actually check it out online to see if this was way too good to be true. Of course then i found all the reports on multiple sites. I even went as far as going to their site they give you...safetyenterprises.net. It's nothing more than a high schoolers project in a computer course. I can't say that haven't thought this through...they defiantly have but it's not right to prey on the young and people who are desperate for work right now because of our economy being the way it is!! So my advice is to stay FAR FAR FAR away from this company.

Responses

  • 11
    11xaaron Mar 02, 2011

    i also fell for this companies tactics to make money. i saw on the news there was a civil suit going on. if someone can get information on it and can email me about it that would be awsome. [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    palmer_ac Sep 13, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I ment franchise fee. Tip O anyone have any questions feel free to email me. I can anwer any question about this topic.

    [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    palmer_ac Sep 13, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    To all of those that work for the company good luck!!! I worked for G&M Marketing Corp. Witch I think is the same company who knows there are so many different names. I had open my own office in North Ridgville. With my own LLC AC Palmer Enterprises. Did not do very well. I did not get much support. I ran the office for several months. It is a tuff business. I have been in the car business since and am doing well now. Beware of the huge franchise few. I'm still in tryting to bounce back from the debt this caused me. Good luck to all.

    0 Votes
  • At
    atfd2818 Sep 08, 2010

    i just went for an interview and got the job. supposed to start training tomorrow. this is a little confusing on howthis all works because who charges you money to train? usually a company will pay for the training for you. i have a bad feeling about this and wont go to my training tomorrow because this doesnt seem right. true companies will do back ground checks and you will have to fill out tax forms and they dont offe any of that. the office i went into was empty. only a table and a desk with a few chairs, oh and there demonstration set. something just inst right with this.

    0 Votes
  • Aj
    ajg77 Jun 24, 2010

    To "killemall" ... I don't know exactly where you think I was going on and on bragging about material things. I talked about my cellphone. I'm pretty sure most of us have one of those by now. I talked about buying groceries and eating at Applebee's. Not something most people would constitute as bragging. But if you can't or don't have these luxuries in your life then I am sorry. Hopefully you find something soon to help get your life turned around.

    I happen to have a career that I truly enjoy. I am good at it. And I make pretty good money doing it. When those three things come together you are set. Safety Enterprises made that happen for me, just like it has for so many others that have also done the work and followed the program.

    Your responses have been interesting though. I like the part where you rant and rave about satan and hell. In my opinion that place is more reserved for people with screennames like "kill em all."

    I noticed that "jobhunter555" pretty much falls into the same category as the other few complainers on here: Someone who came in for an interview and never even started with the company but still, somehow, feels like we "fooled them."

    I know Scott Weil, he trained in the the office that I work out of. He is a perfect example of everything that is right with this company. A hard working guy, an average American, who busts his [censor] every single day. He worked construction for almost three decades and was looking for a fresh start and a new career. He saw the same ad you saw. He went in for an orientation just like you. Was interviewed like you were. Probably had some doubts - same as you. But, unlike you, he decided to find out for himself if he could do it. He didn't let faceless people on a computer screen who knew NOTHING about our company dictate what he did with his life. He came in for training and did EVERYTHING that was asked of him. Now he has his own office and a job he loves in a new career path.

    He's a great guy. He wasn't trying to scam you. He was offering you the same opportunity that he took advantage of. You said yourself that he reassured you that you could do it. He wanted to give you a shot. You decided to let it pass you by. That doesn't make Scott a bad guy. And the fact that he is creative and enjoys printing up his own business cards (as many Americans do) doesn't make him a bad guy either. What a joke.

    I've been to the Findlay office numerous times. Please tell me what makes it so "shifty." It's in a professional business building right off of the highway. It's directly across from the high school in a high traffic area that is easy to find. And his office is decorated in the same manner as 90% of all small businesses. I'm sorry if his office wasn't 4 stories high and made out of solid gold, but I think it fits a guy with a background in construction.

    Also, you casually mention how we are a "pyramid sales scam." I love how you state this as a fact after being in one of our offices for 40 minutes.

    If you had gone back in for your training Scott would've been paid off of you, as he should be. He hired you, he trained you, he worked with you every day. You can't hire anyone under you while you're training. So it ends right there. No multiple levels, no pyramid. When you become an office manager, Scott no longer gets paid off of you or ANYONE you hire in your office. Instead you get paid off of those people because you hired them, you trained them, you worked with them everyday. Every manager only gets paid off of what their office does. Period. Tell me how that makes it a pyramid.

    Also, I think in most pyramids there isn't even product involved. It's just a scheme. At Safety Enterprises we have some of the most amazing products any of us have ever seen (and I think EVERYONE on this site would agree with that). And by the way, our products save lives.

    Nine years ago I was offered a position with Safety Enterprises. I wasn't sure what to do, and I could've went either way. Who knows how my life would've worked out if I passed on this oppurtunity. I've never been the type to have regrets, so I'm glad I don't have to look back on my life and think "what if."

    "What if I would've took a chance?"

    "What if I hadn't let other people talk me out of trying something new and exciting?"

    "What if I had just been willing to do the work?"

    Even though you guys are coming on here and trashing the company I love - the company that has given me a good life - I still wish you all the best. I hope you find careers that you love. I hope you make good livings. I hope you don't end up asking yourself "what if."

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    jobhunter555 Jun 16, 2010

    In addition, the business card should've been another red flag, but I didn't notice until I got home. It had pencil lines on it from where someone cut it out. If their company was as big and successful as they say, then they could afford professional business cards at least. Not to mention the location seemed a bit shifty as well.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    jobhunter555 Jun 16, 2010

    I saw an ad in The Courier that said the following:

    GENERAL NOW HIRING
    Busy local office must fill 12
    positions by 6/18.
    NO EXPERIENCE NECESSARY.
    If you're not making $700/wk
    call [protected]

    I called and got an answering machine, and then 5 minutes later I was called back for an interview. I went the next day and it was myself and another person at the interview. The manager, one Scott Weil, showed us a demonstration of the fire safety equipment. He explained the manager position and the training we would go through, and that we'd get to meet the president of the company. My personal interview finally came up and I told the manager that I didn't feel I had the necessary skills to be a manager, as I was scared to death of speaking in front of people. After a few minutes of talking, I felt reassured and he said he'd love to give me a shot. Then came the kicker: the 165.00 for the training supplies. Fully refundable, mind you, but it was a red flag to me, but I ignored it because I was excited about getting a job. Then I went home and found this website, and I was so upset when I found out this was a pyramid sales scam. Do not trust these people and let them fool you like they fooled me.

    0 Votes
  • Ki
    killemall Jun 15, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    jeez you guys seem to go on and on about what you have it seems like material things matter to you guys, but hey i guess that's what the common thief desires most, i for one am not in a hurry to obtain materialistic things, I'm just in a hurry to be as happy as possible, so enjoy your objects that will end up being obsolete within the next 5 years.

    0 Votes
  • Kt
    kt2010 Jun 14, 2010

    I have been a manager for Safety Enterprises for the last 6 months and have just recently been promoted to Regional Manager. I am super excited to take on this new role and think that my many great ideas can really help this company to take off. But before I talk about the future let me give you a little background on myself.

    I went to Mount Union College for two years. I played volleyball for a season and a half until the coach and I no longer saw eye to eye. After I completed my sophomore year I decided to transfer schools because volleyball was my passion and I still wanted to play because I had two years of eligibility left. So I went home to Olmsted Falls and started attending Baldwin-Wallace College in Berea, Ohio. I had to sit out one year because I transferred in the same conference and became the volleyball office manager. I did all the coaches grunt work and got pushed around, not my ideal job. As I was finishing my last two years of college I also worked at a Marathon gas station as an assistant manager. There was no more room for growth working there which is why I ultimately quit right before I graduated. Graduation comes and goes and now I am ready to step into the real world and find a career not just another job. I also wanted to find a career which incorporated what I learned in school, Management and Marketing.

    So I started looking through the Plain Dealer and came across a few ads and set up some interviews for the week. I received offers from both the interviews so now had to narrow it down to the one I wanted to take. After laying out my options I finally decided on taking the job with Safety Enterprises. I have learned that in order to get to the top of a company quick you must find one that is growing. And that is exactly what we are doing, growing across the nation to ultimately reaching 800 offices. As we approach that mark I can see myself also growing with the company and reaching the role of vice president. We all must strive to be the best we can be!! You can really move up quickly with the program and opportunity if you want it, are willing to take the opportunity by the horns and run with it. I am proof of that!

    0 Votes
  • Aj
    ajg77 Jun 14, 2010

    It's been a while since my last post, and once again, it seems like the vast majority of people with something bad to say have never started with our company. I see someone calling us names because they paid a deposit and are still out of a job. Well if you paid the deposit then you had a job. You had a future, a chance to do something better than the status quo. Apparently you weren't willing to do the work and you quit. Who's fault is that? I also see someone comparing us to Satan because we have a cancellation policy on our orders. I bought a Blackberry Storm when it first came out. It cost me $500 (three days later they went on sale 2 for $50. FML lol) Can I go back to them a month later and ask them to buy the phone back from me? Not only would they not do that, but they would charge me $250 to get out of my contract early.

    Can I go back to Kroger and return the $400 worth of groceries I bought last month because I changed my mind?

    Can I return the steak dinner I ate at Applebee's last Thursday because "something else came up?"

    Who can I blame for all this? The Devil! Satan! El Diablo!! Maybe just blame Canada.

    It is posts like this that piss me off the most. I have been with Safety Enterprises for 9 years. I put my deposit down. I did the work. I followed the program. Mr. Miralia took me under his wing, helped me every step of the way, encouraged me and supported me. He has done more for me than anyone else on this planet (with the exception of my mom) and I can't even count the number of times I have seen him go out of his way to help out his employees. I consider him a friend, and I know for an absolute fact that all of my co-workers and fellow managers would say the same thing. But someone on the internet can hide behind their computer screen and huff and puff and slander his name. That's not right.

    Is it unusual to have people pay a deposit? Yes, although as referenced above it is becoming more and more common. There are many jobs that require you to purhase certain things before you can start working there. Is it illegal? No. Is it unethical? No. But you know what else? It's also unusual for a company to offer an opportunity like this. It's almost impossible to get hired anymore unless you have experience or connections. For those who don't take advantage of that opportunity here, who else is going to offer it to you? And we are a bad company because we want to give the common person a chance?? No one believes in the little guy anymore?!

    My college tuition cost me $40, 000. Guess what happened after I graduated? I was looking in the classifieds. I saw the ad in the paper. So did those of you who are reading this. I started with the company. Most of you here either didn't or are on the fence. I chose to do the work. If everyone here made that same decision then you guys wouldn't have anything to complain about.

    0 Votes
  • Ki
    killemall Jun 13, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    And just keep the money because obviously you guys need it more than I do, not to mention the fact that I don't want any dirty money. Good day.

    0 Votes
  • Ki
    killemall Jun 13, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    first of all I never threatened anyone reread what I said and see if it was a direct threat or rather a suggestion and don't pretend you would act any different if you and your family were out a lot of money, second of all, wrong I was not told of anymore sales beyond the first step until i finished it and regardless of how much more or less I have to collect it still deceives what I was told I would be doing and Ive read more than enough info on you guys that leads me to believe that you're company is full of [censor] and besides what would happen if i made that extra $750 what would I have to do more sales? You know rather than putting up false ads and deceiving people, how about you do business honestly rather than trying to rally people in with your promises of being a manager only to make them do jobs they didn't even sign up for. How about you hire people with the credentials to be a manager and just flat out say you're gonna hire salespeople, cuz there are people in this world who will do sales jobs so why not just be honest, if you did that a little more then maybe your company wouldn't have such a bad reputation and there wouldn't be so many reports on the internet about how you guys are so obviously a scam because all the pieces fit. And I'm glad you know my name so now you know I won't be doing business with you anymore. I for one am going to go make an honest living rather than deceive people who are just trying to make an extra buck and not take their money that I'm sure they need. And you know what I take back the whole satan stuff, instead I hope that you can be able to live with yourself knowing that you're just taking money from people who need work and really can't afford to give up what little they have only because they think something good is coming but it really doesn't because your just a bunch of no good liars. So rather than being pissed off I'm just gonna wish the best of luck to you and your business or scam or whatever you're running and may God be with you because you are certainly one he needs to be watching.

    0 Votes
  • Be
    beach bum Jun 12, 2010

    So let me get this straight you were told upfront when you started that you had to sell $3000 and you agreed to that, Then they lowered it to $1000 (huge break) at your initial interview it was explained that step 2 there is a sales challenge which is supposed to be $2000 i heard yours was only $750 (another huge break) so a total of $1750 which is $1250 less then you initially agreed to so what is the problem with that? #2 the pins in the map are locations we have opened and areas we would like to open no one ever said we have space already picked out, also the co finds space for you. #3 (your biggest problem with co) we have a cancellation policy just like 95% of companys and ours is explained on front and back of sales slip and should be explained to customer at time of sale. So in review you had to sell $1250 less then you initially agreed to, the co finds space for you and we have a cancellation policy and because of that we are SATAN are you kidding me? Another example of the posts on this site. By the way robert camargo 5907 w 54th street be careful who you threaten!

    0 Votes
  • Be
    beach bum Jun 12, 2010

    thesepeopleareassholes i dont believe you ever went into one of our offices, prove me wrong and tell me how we demonstrate our fire extinguisher?

    0 Votes
  • Ki
    killemall Jun 11, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I recently started at an office in Euclid Oh and I went along with it. I used the last bit of my tax refund after paying off some important expenses to pay the deposit(with the exception of gas money so at this point I am completely broke) and started selling. So after a lot of convincing to my buddies and family to help me get the $3000 ( they cut requirements to a third so it was only $1000 for me) I was told I went on to the next step of training which turned out to be more sales they wanted an extra$2000 and after telling everyone I knew about this we all came to the conclusion that this is a scam and here are my reasons. 1) they went on and on about how you gotta sell $3000 as the first step then after that they teach you how to run an office then open an office for you, never said anything about more sales until I passed the first step. 2) They had a map on the wall at their office with tacks on different cities that they claimed they were gonna open offices in but in reality you gotta find your own office space, not too bad but still deceiving nonetheless. 3) Now this is what really pisses me off to the point where I wanna go back to that office and kick the living [censor] out of Tony Maralia, the head con artist behind this scheme aka "The President". The receipts they give you only allow the customer 3 days to return a product after, that too bad. So as a result of this my family and friends cant get their money back(over $1100) which is just flat out despicable considering the hefty prices of the product plus tax and shipping. What if something comes up and someone has to return the product and get their money back to afford their expense(s). You may think that even something cheap like a can of pepper spray(another product they sell) costing only $30 may not be a lot, but it certainly means a lot to the person who needs that money back otherwise they wouldn't try and get it back. Well that's three strikes right there on my behalf not to mention what other people have said. So I hope everyone here has read this and other comments about Scamming Enterprises because all they've done for me was make me waste time and gas driving to their office and make me con those close to me out of over $1000. So now I'm back on my job search only with no money and now I have the burden of making up for the money my loved ones lost. And to all you S.E. scammers err I mean managers (I'm looking at you beach bum) I hope your all happy screwing over people in need of work but your reign of terror ain't gonna last. Word will get out about you criminals and when It does your "business" is going down and you will either end up in jail or on the streets where you belong and Tony Miralia will still have his special place in hell sitting on Satans fiery [censor] saved for him for all the [censor] hes caused innocent people. So give him my regards and go [censor] yourself beach bum.

    0 Votes
  • 48
    489785 Jun 10, 2010

    Beach Bum, your an idiot and a son of a [censor]. Not only do you sound like a stupid flunkee 3rd grader, but you obviously condone and benefit from these scams. The multiple instances that are shown as examples are all congruent with each other and are also the exact same to my personal situation. I'm out 165.00 and still jobless thanks to you and your band of crooks. Don't fall for this.

    1 Votes
  • Be
    beach bum May 31, 2010

    1st of all what is the differance between money being taken out of your check (non refundable) and a refundable deposit, i assume that if you told mcdonalds that you did not want to pay for your uniform then you would not be hired. 2nd our offices do not require computers because the main office does all data entry for every office plus payroll for all mgrs trainees and sales reps plus all tax forms are done by co and mailed to each persons home address each year and all shipping is done by company rt to customer. Each office mgr trains mgr trainees asst mgrs and sales reps, also you ans phones scedule appointments work on advertisisg do customer service call in daily reports, take inventory and bring sales reps in for help when they are having trouble, your day is very busy and very rewarding . also office mgrs do not HAVE to pay rent or furniture, and no mgr pays there emplyees.This again is a person that really knows nothing about our co exept for a 20 minute interview that comes on this site and declares us a bad co. This is typical of this site where 75% of people never even started with co just had a 20 min experience and pass judgement, i think that if everyone would have given the postion a try and worked hard you would have a very different view of how are programworks and it does work .

    -1 Votes
  • Mo
    MOMMYOF4WIFE OF1 May 25, 2010

    I waited there for 15 min before anyone showed up to open the dorrs to the blg at the least this is just unprofessional. When I got there I was supposed to be attending a group interview I was the only person who was there where I was met by a gentlemen who stated that he was waitng on his sec. who in the hr I was there never showed agagin unprofessional. and at Mcdonalds (where my sister works now) this fee is taken out of your check not asked for upfront and for there training materials at mcdonalds it's free so we cannot use that as an example. No where I have worked and been trained have I been asked for a deposit before I have actually stated the job... Also it struck me as odd that in a company where you are selling fire safety equipment I only saw the demo products, in an office that had a table that could only fit aprox. five individuals, no computers... only phones how is it that you keep up with your inventory in your company beside a phone call to the regional offices? Now with that being said I have a question why are we being trained to be managers to train managers who will in turn train managers.. exactly where is the actual business aspect coming in? I though maybe I was being a little unfair so I sent a few friends and family members who in turn asked questions that I did not.. the same reaction answered the add for the assistant position that was posted by the company and you would think that since the gentlemen was still waiting on his assistant he would of hired for that position..again no offered the managers position I was shocked at the whole process you call a number get an address fill out a paper with questions evaluating yourself along with you name and address and that was the application process.. futher more to the individual ALMOST THERE22 I was employed at the time I went to the interview and I am still employed and while i was being trained I had no out of pocket expense I was actually paid bi-weekly to be trained 800.00 a check . I am sorry if you are offended but I documented what my personal exprience was when I went. For those who had success I am happy for you..but notice that my posting was one of many not only this yr but last yr as well...and my decision to not expand my horizion with this company was the deception not being told that I had to pay for rental for the furniture for the office that I would be going to manage or the space for that matter..nor was I told that I would have to pay my own employees that I would be training to be managers.. this was supposed to be a job to make more money in while I was getting my degree for medical insurance billing.. I am glad I looked into this company by Goggling the company and I am sorry to say what popped up was all the complaints. I feel as if this was such a great company it would have thbuzz that any good company expanding gets when coming to a small area. I can say i am glad that I didn't give my 2wks notice at my job for this (just my personal opinion) cause I have a family to help support not take from of have my husbad foot the bill alone.

    0 Votes
  • Be
    beach bum May 19, 2010

    to mommy of 4 what exactly did the company do wrong? It was explained to you the 2 ways to get a refund, Just because each person likes to make there own bus cards doesnt mean we are a scam and because we require a refundable deposit doesnt mean we are either. My niece works at mcdonolds she had to buy black pants in order to start working, my cousin got a construction job and had to buy $800 worth of tools from co before he could start and it isnt refundable, i could go on and on, nothing that we do is illigal or unethecal.

    0 Votes
  • Al
    almost there 22 May 18, 2010

    In response to the posting above this, when you guess that the good reviews are people doing a "scam" it is very insulting. I am an honest person who has never tricked anyone. I am an intelligent person who is taking advantage of an excellent company and all it has to offer. So while you sit at home jobless keep this thought in the back of your mind, "What if everything they offered is real and I just blew it because I was unwilling to take a chance on something great."

    0 Votes
  • Mo
    MOMMYOF4WIFE OF1 May 15, 2010

    I JUST RECENTLY WENT TO THE OFFICE LOCATED IN NILES, OH AND MY HUSBAND ACTUALLY TOLD ME TO CHECK AND SEE WHAT TIS COMPANY WAS ABOUT. JUST LIKE THE OTHERS I WAS TOLD TO BRING IN MY 165.00 ON MONDAY MY FIRST TRANING CLASS WAS TO BE FROM 12-2PM AND THAT I WOULD BE ABLE TO HAVE DEPOSIT REFUNDED ONE OF TWO WAYS I WAS TOLD THAT AFTER COMPLETION OF THE COURSE OR AFTER THE RETAIL CHALLENGE I COULD RECEIVE A CHAECK FOR THE AMOUNT. IT STRUCK ME AS ODD THAT THE GENTLEMAN WAS STILL WAITING ON HIS ASSISTANT TO COM IN THE OFFICE. IN ADDTION TO THAT MOST COMPANIES HAVE BUSINESS CARD THAT ARE ONE N THE SAME HE AND THE YOUNG LADY THAT WAS SUPPOSED TO DO THE INTIAL INTERVIEW HAD TWO DIFFERENT BUSINESS CARDS. I WAS ALSO TOLD THAT I COULD MAKE UP TO 4, 000 MONTHLY AND IT SOUNDED GOOD TOO GOOD. THE OFFICE IS ACTUALLY LOCATED BETWEEN TWO LAYWERS OFFICES HOW IRONIC TO RUN A SCAM OUT IN THE OPEN. I AM VERY DISAPPOINTED THAT THIS COMPANY IS ABLE TO GET AWAY WITH THIS WORLD WIDE AND I A GUESSING THAT THE GOOD REVIEWS ARE COMIN FROM THE PEOPLE DOING THE SCAMMING THEMSELVES.

    0 Votes
  • Al
    almost there 22 May 13, 2010

    I have been working at Safety Enterprises since March and I love it. I was also skeptical about the deposit, but when I thought about it, it made perfect sense. If they gave a kit out to everyone for nothing the would lose a ton of money because most people think it is too hard and quit because they believe they should not have to do that much work to become a manager, but what do you expect with NO training required?? Obviously you are going to have to do some work. I myself have seen a few people quit and they flat out said it was because they did not want to do that much work. I have noticed that there are a lot of people in this country that want something for nothing, what they need to realize is that is not the way the world works. The 165 is fully refundable if you complete the first step and decide that working there is not for you. The training is tough because if it was easier there would be a lot of useless people in charge of good people. This is one of those weeding out processes that most places have... duh! When you fill out an application online for a company you have to spend about 40 minutes answering questions... this is to weed out all those lazy, dumb people that would not do anything in their working environment. Think about it...

    The company is going through a large expansion, that is why they are hiring for managers. In order to expand you need people that are capable of running offices, once again this only makes sense to me.

    I read through these comments before I went to my training because I was curious what people had to say about the company. When I was done I decided that it was still worth my time because "no pain, no gain" and you can not please everyone. Most of the comments on here are negatives about the company and that is only fair. When you go to McDonalds and your food is excellent do you call and tell them it was good?...no. If your food was bad in some way, do you call and complain?.. yes. This is the same concept. I used to work at McDonalds myself and I hated it, mainly because I had to deal with all the complainers of the city, when most orders were messed up because they did not order it correctly.

    Part of my training is learning how to answer the phone. EVERY time I answer I say, "Thank You for Calling SAFETY ENTERPRISES, how can I help you?" If when you call someone does not answer did you ever think that they are busy or on the other line and can not switch over?? The office I work in does not open until about 10:30, so if you call before that nobody is there to answer. If you call after about 4:30, nobody is there to answer because we all went home, hence no one can answer your call.

    Responding to someone asking why the name of our company is displayed... when you walk into our office, there is a huge banner hanging on the wall with our name and logo. Not every office is the same, so judging the company based on your experience at one office is unfair. The other day I scheduled a woman for an interview and she called back to cancel because of what she read online. That is unfair to her because she believed all this garbage and believed it, too bad for her.

    If you have specific questions ask me if you can, i will be happy to answer them if i know how, once again I am still training and am only a few weeks from being done.

    0 Votes
  • Sc
    ScamHunter1234 May 11, 2010

    Everyone who has been ripped off with this company needs to put down what city the office was in and where they advertised. All that needs to happen is that people need to call where that office advertised and say this company ripped them off, if this happens enough newspapers will not run them. If they don't advertise they don't make money. It is very simple and very effective.

    0 Votes
  • De
    Deanna327 May 11, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I just want to know if my fiances customers will recieve their product, because he joined this company about 3 weeks ago and I feel like it is a HUGE scam...anyone with answers please help!

    0 Votes
  • De
    Deanna327 May 11, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hey my fiance did the same thing as all of you.We made $240.00 in actual sales and the "president" of the company said that he would quadruple his sales so he would reach his $3, 000 mark faster. Also instead of $165.00 he only paid $100.00 because the "president" liked his spirits and energy. blah blah blah...I just wanted to know if anyone's customers have received their product??Please let me know because all of our customers were family and friends and I really dont want them to have wasted their money!!

    0 Votes
  • Do
    doublecrossed Apr 12, 2010

    FYI...Another name they go by is "SAFETY TECH". After waiting almost 5 months for her product to come in the mail, my Motherinlaw's package came. On the return address label it said Safety Tech. Miss Beach Bum can talk all she wants, I know who she is but the way she talks. Mr. 'M''s pyramid scam is going down. You can only take advantage of so many people before your bad acts catch up to you. The BBB is on it and they have listings for SE all over the country, all selling a different type of safety equipment of course. Good racket though, playing on people's desire to keep their families safe, and on a person's naivity when all they need is a job. How sad.

    0 Votes
  • Wi
    wishihadnotwastedmygas Apr 12, 2010

    I just went through this, and have gone to other scams of this nature. I don't care if there are people on here saying it is the best job ever, there are too many if's, and's, and but's unanswered to sign up and give money away. I have school loans, I'm unemployed as of now, and I'm just supposed to make money appear? Something is not right. I did find it funny that another gentleman at the interview was asking questions to the person in "training" and he would not answer anything, just said we had to wait until the interview. I'm well versed in psychology, and watched his and his "manager's" body language during any questions while acting super excited about the job opportunity. Every movement they made - from looking at the wall behind me to constantly moving around, reading bits of my application aloud, eyes darting off too the side - showed deception. I really wish I could believe it was all true because I am up for a challenging and rewarding job, but I am not about to go hand over money for something that just seems off. And for this group, everything seemed off. And I'm a little confused on the fact you never have to use a computer or do paperwork...yet your in charge of hiring people? That does not work. If you are reading this and skeptical about whether to go through with it, I would say do it at your own risk and have a lawyer ready if not looking into it. If I could afford it, I would be going to a lawyer but when your trying to find a job so you can help your mother with cancer treatment it is a little out of realm (plus refer to the fact I am broke with thousands of debt in school loans). For those like me, run the other way. They just want to take your money, whether it be thousands for $165 or hundreds for the more and more money, they just are a different type of robber. And they are good at their crime, I'll give them that, but sadly they have no morals or standards whatsoever and that is horrible.

    -1 Votes
  • Pr
    Precious11 Feb 25, 2010

    I too went to this company. Went through the interview with no questions of past employment or anything else. I too was showed their equipment. I have to admit the idea of making $4000 a month was impressive. Then the told me I could pick my own staff and have my own office what ever area I wanted it. Then low and behold by the way it will cost $165 deposit for the equipment and you would get it back after you see enough extinquishers. I went back to work and told one of the girls there and she said stay away I know for a fact that this compmany is a rip off.

    0 Votes
  • Co
    concernedinohio Feb 24, 2010

    It is the deceptive manner in which Safety Enterprises hires in new recruits that I have beef with. When I went to the interview, they were VERY evasive in answering such questions as "EXACTLY what will I be doing during training?" or "EXACTLY what will I be paid?". Nothing they said led me to believe that door-to-door (or otherwise) sales of their products would be part of the training process. I even told them that I had experience in consultive sales and direct sales and that I was ABSOLUTELY NOT interested direct or door-to-door sales- not my bag. EVEN after telling them this, they offered me a job to become a manager. It is also highly deceptive that they will not disclose the company's name or the nature of the work BEFORE the interview (as ALL reputable companies do this). It was after they offered me the job that they then told me I would need to bring a $165.00 "deposit" to the next meeting. Needless to say, I didn't give this company a chance to take my money. There is one thing that resonates in my mind after having interviewed with this company, something the secretary said in my personal interview. I asked her "What will I be doing once I become a manager?". To which she answered, "Doing exactly what we do here: hire new manager trainees." WHAT?!?!?! That statement right there eluded, to me, a pyramid scheme set-up. I interviewed for this position back in December of 2009. Over two months later I was browsing the job ads here in the Cleveland Plain Dealer and was surprised to find the SAME EXACT job ad as I had responded to back then. Same wording, same EVERYTHING. I had some friends call in (under the guise that they were seeking employment) to try to get the company's name and any information they could. After some wrangling, they were able to get the company name but couldn't wrestle any other info out of the well-trained rep. Ready for the good part? They represented themselves as "SPY Technology". Why are they giving out different company names? I believe this to be another bit of incite into their deceptive practices. Well guess what? Unfortunately, they messed around with the WRONG Clevelander. I'm pretty perceptive and I asked the right questions. I have forwarded my research to the proper authorities and the truth will shake down in the end :)

    Here's the questions I have for the people posting here claiming to be happy employees of SE:

    1.) Do you deny the deceptive nature in which SE acquires it's new employees?

    2.) Are you saying that if every person interviewed (assuming they were offered the same management opportunity I was) "sticks with it" and "works hard", they will attain management?

    3.) If I am to believe that the answer to question number two is yes, then how would Safety Enterprises sustain its business? How many people can be hired in, trained as managers and then hire new trainees to do the same thing before the business collapses? Doesn't make much sense to me!

    Here's some more questions:
    How many people ACTUALLY make it to manager? How long is the average person there before they become manager? Don't you think the company should disclose these numbers instead of promising grandeur to prospective employees?

    To job-seekers I would say IMHO, don't give these people the time of day. What a waste of time, money and gas. To me, they seem like a well-disguised scam (precisely the reason they have been able to stay in business for so long). If you aren't convinced by my post, ask yourself a couple of questions. Would I EVER hand $165.00 over to a stranger otherwise? Do these people make me feel comfortable (trust your gut feeling)? What does the BBB think about them? Many employees go through big businesses each year and they don't have F-ratings. Ask them at the interview what the costs for becoming a manager will be throughout the ENTIRE process. If you think $165.00 is all you'll be paying, your dead wrong. Ask them what you will be doing EXACTLY during EACH stage of the training process. And PLEASE do your research and see how many people have been in contact with this company and left dissatisfied. Why does an honest company need to be deceptive to attract new employees?????

    All statements in this post are my honest opinions I carried away from my interview with SE and from others' experiences as well. I am not proposing that this company IS a scam (although it does a good job of making it seem this way) but that it IS very deceptive when hiring in new employees. SE should be investigated for this at least!

    0 Votes
  • Be
    beach bum Feb 18, 2010

    after reading the last post i find it funny that once again someone is bad mouthing the company that never worked for the company. I dont even believe her husband ever worked for the company, the co. phone has never been disconnected all commissions are paid on time and all customers recieve there product on time except in rare instances where are suppliers backorder prioduct to us. I also find it funny that no matter how hard i search i cannot find one negative post about SE from a person that made it thru program and ran an office for us. Also only small percentage of complaints are from people who actually worked for company. The program works for those who do the work and im sick of reading these posts from people who think they know everything but really dont know anything.

    0 Votes
  • Do
    Double crossed Feb 15, 2010

    My husband worked for this same company for almost 2 months, ending just after Christmas 2009. He found their ad in a local newspaper while at the Unemployment office, he had been laid off from his job for about 6 months at that point. He was given an interview with 5 other people the very next day. After explaining to them that he had a wife, three children and a mortgage to take care of, he was hired. His regional manager promised him the world on a platter, $4, 000/month income after his so-called training period. My hardworking husband spent every single day out pushing their product, with his demo kit which cost us $165.00. Mind you, $165.00 is not chump change to a man trying to take care of his family while living on unemployment. He was promised 10% of his sales as commission. First of all, they go through their 'training process' in gradual steps, Bronze level, Silver level, and finally Gold. His first reported sales were just about $300.00. Today is February 15th, and to date he has received a check for $9.49 for his trouble. For almost 8 weeks he busted his hump for less than $10.00. And yes, even after completing the whole 'training period', you will be responsible for finding and renting your own office space, furniture, and hiring salespeople out of your own pocket. So, unless you are already independently wealthy, or can get a nice loan from Mommy and Daddy, as I am sure his regional manager did, you will get nowhere with this so-called job.

    Also, the customers who did purchase the product through my husband over 3 months ago, have still not received the products they paid for IN FULL before their orders were even placed. We just got another call from one of them today, so we called the office. Guess what? The number has been disconnected. It seems this is an ongoing issue for Safety Enterprises, just look them up on Central Ohio's Better Business Bureau's website and you will see what I mean. We live in a very small town, and all my husband's hard work was for nothing. Not to mention, it makes him look bad that this scam company is taking his customers' money and running, or so it seems. He now has a REAL JOB, and has learned a great lesson. If they make it seem too good to be true, guess what? IT IS!!!

    0 Votes
  • Aj
    ajg77 Jan 31, 2010

    I work for this company and wanted to address some of the concerns on this page. Rather than address each post individually I will just summarize what I think is a common, and obvious, fact. Unless I miscounted there are currently 16 posts on this page. Five of those are from people defending their company. That leaves 11 "negative" posts. Of those 11, 6 people never worked for the company for even one day, 3 never even went in for an interview, 1 is from a protective parent who's daughter interviewed with us, and 1 from someone who claims their friend was in our training program. That means that not even one of the posts on here is from a person who has ever worked for Safety Enterprises.

    I think it's unfortunate that those people are so fast to critcize and talk badly about something they know so little about. It blows my mind how someone can sign up for this site, and say negative things about a company when they never even went in for an interview. Sadder still, our managers and trainees who come on here to defend their company are dismissed as "delusional."

    One of our trainees said it best "This job is not for everyone. People are always looking for the easiest job out here and don't want to work hard to reap good benefits. If a job says you will be making $4, 000 a month, its not going to be easy... duh" I think that sums it up perfectly and if that doesn't make sense to you I don't know what else to say.

    If Safety Enterprises was such a horrible company as the people on here would have you believe then why is it the only ones on here trashing it are people who know nothing about it? I don't see one complaint from anyone who started with us. Maybe that's because, for those that are looking for an opportunity and are seriously willing to work for it, there's really nothing to complain about.

    -1 Votes
  • Wo
    WonderfulParson Jan 14, 2010

    I don't know. This sounds like a scam to me and all the posts supporting this site you are delusional. Unless you were bred to be a door to door sales man or blood sucking parisite off the down and out unemployed american. This company is selling a dream and makes it sound so esay, of couse anything worth having isn't going to be easy to get. These people know when they give you that 165 dollar start up fee that most of us will fail. Thats why they hire you on the spot because that start up fee I'm sure is one of thier most profitable endevors. If you don't sell what ever amount of stuff for them I think 2000 or 3000 dollars worth you never get that 165 back and most people quit before that ever happens. So if I were you I would seriously consider if it is really worth your time and what kind of person you would be by doing it.

    1 Votes
  • Sa
    Sara518 Dec 21, 2009

    I worked for this company for a few months last year. I went through the training program, though it was hard, I made it through in about 28 days. I made good friends within the company and grew very close to multiple people. I went over to the presidents house many times and spent a lot of time with people from this company. Even though everything seems like a scam, in some ways it is. But it most ways all this process is doing is seperating the strong from the weak. Most people get frustrated with selling and they give up, only to find out that if they would have just stuck it out, they could have achieved so much. Granted, I never opened my own office, I was ready and looking to open. I chose a different route and moved out the country for 8 months. I know that I can easily go back to this company and have considered it many times. The manager I worked under, his name was Sam, he is one of the best and hard-working people in this company. I suggest people in the northeast ohio area who actually want to make it in the company should go through him. He cares about the people that are going through the training and works with you to get you closer and closer to your goal. I suggest people who dont want to work hard, dont try this company and just because you gave up before you reached your goal, stop complaining about it online and cause other people to not reach their potential because all of you were lazy and didnt want to work. Things are never handed to you, and people need to start realizing it.

    1 Votes
  • Cl
    CLGTL Cleveland Dec 02, 2009

    A close friend went for this to see what they are about. Here’s an outline of what they do: You see an ad in the paper for an office manager with no company name and only a phone number. Actually you see three similar ads all with different phone numbers. Same company. You call one of them and get invited for interview. You show up at the office and get hired on the spot with not much background information needed. You wonder why this is weird. You are told to come back and start training. Training costs $165.00. When you finally find out the name of the parent company, you call the Better Business Bureau – their rating: F

    Oh well, cut them some slack. They do things unconventionally and some people might not like that. Training consists of a demo of a fire extinguisher, receiving literature of sales tips and a catalog with overpriced fire safety equipment. The literature tells you to contact everybody you know (relatives, your kid’s teachers, people you used to date, former classmates) to show them your demonstration.

    You are told that if you sell $3, 000 of it you can go to the next level. Then it’s $5, 000. Then you are told that if you invest $2, 300, you can start an office and do just what they are doing. Now comes the big money – get out your card because you pay for inventory, furniture rental, classified newspaper ads, phone service, storefront rental, staff salaries etc., etc. and this runs into big money – for you to pay out. Once this is all up and running you get profits. You start up a business by selling overpriced stuff then you hire a sales force and do the same thing to them that they did to you. They of course will feel loyal after you deceived them and then they sell lots of stuff and turn over a percentage to you and potentially they open their own office and you are the regional manager of those employees. I wonder what would happen if your sales territory gets saturated with offices opening up? Bottom line - these people are:

    1) deceiving people with the ad – it is not a job - it is a start up business
    2) subtly insulting people who want to walk away “Any idiot can sell this stuff” implies that if I fail I’m worse than an idiot – I’m a failure. People who are out of work in this market are even more vulnerable. The more time they put in the harder it is to admit they got hooked in.
    3) reaping profits from everything – even someone who bombs at this venture business sells a little bit of stuff or buys some equipment for themselves so these people win just by sitting around, chatting with people and answering real objections with platitudes.

    I wonder - are they really training people in the nitty-gritty grunt work of starting a business? What's wrong with telling the truth up front for heaven sakes? My friend asked this and they said it weeds out the under-qualified. I say avoid them. CLT Cleveland

    1 Votes
  • He
    help me please Nov 02, 2009

    i just went for the first interview and i am a little skeptical about the deposit they told me i had to pay... please help. and let me know if it is worth it !!!

    0 Votes
  • To
    Tonelli Oct 27, 2009

    These ###s tried to swindle $165.00 out of my 18yr old daughter the same way. I reminded her that when a local Walmart opened they had thousands of people lined up around the block to apply for only a couple hundred jobs, why she asked! Because those are real jobs. If these ###s were offering anything worthwhile they would'nt need to place ads in the paper and they'd have several thousand applicants.
    And as for the few success stories written above, we all know you're these mysterious office girls who are so easily and carelessly handing out management positions. You're not so cleverly on line attempting to do damage control. Try this, if you wanna up your con game ditch the $165.00 fee!

    0 Votes
  • Bb
    BB24 Oct 13, 2009

    I can say that I am very happy with what Safety Enterprises has done for me. I Started about 2 months ago and have recently opened up my office. My job is fun. I agree with people when they say they are skeptic about the deposit, Because I was. But I did it anyway. I wnet through the training program step by step and recieved my deposit back. I did'nt hit my insentive, but I kept at it and completed my whole training in 34 days and recieved my deposit back. JUST LIKE THEY TOLD ME. It does take work. But thats what makes it a JOB, WORK. You get what you put in. I'm makeing good money and love going to work.

    0 Votes
  • Bb
    BB24 Oct 13, 2009

    Wow well all I can say is that I started @ Safety Enterprises on July 10, 2009 and I'm not gonna lie and tell anybody that the training was easy, bc it wasn't a peice of cake. But it was a neccesary EVIL... It was neccesary at the time to get me to where I wanted to be.. And it was also a EVIL all at the same time... I came back for my training and paid the $165, but wait my boyfriend also wanted to do this... So instead of investing just $165 I actually invested $330... So all I can say is that I finished my training and so did my boyfriend.. We now have had a office up and running for the past month... And everything is going great.. I work hard, to play even harder... Everything that this company offered me HAPPENED... and guess what then... I GOT MY $330.00 BACK!!! So like I tell my employess, , , NO RISK NO REWARDS!!!
    So while I go to work tomorrow and enjoy doing what I love to do, and I have fun at work have fun checking out those classified adds...

    0 Votes
  • Th
    thecollegeboy Aug 11, 2009

    another post from me...

    I've decided I have enough information prior to even spending the money, I already have the money order but i can guaruntee i will not be handing it over. I was told to start 4pm eastern time on thursday... and i was HIRED. I didn't fill out any form W-4, and unless they can provide one to me they will not get a money order from me. My lawyer suggests I do not give them money but also would love to get his hands dirty with me, we will be investigating this company thouroughly from now until then. Red Flag number two, this company has been around since 1992, look at their only website, search for fire extinguishers, Halon extinguishers online as if you were trying to purchase some. There is no sign of any linked website to google, yahoo, or a few other search engines you would use. Which shows a HUGE weakness in the company and its advertising skills, 30% of business revenue today is based upon internet sales. The website they give you on their fancy 25 cent business card itself doesn't have any shopping cart or sales representative phone numbers. Do the math. If the company has been around for that long they would have a more impressive website, more links from different sites for consumers, and alot more than two postings on the company via a search app. Thank you and save your money... I'll take it from here.

    1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.