The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
rolkolsenFraud

N Review updated:

Scam in Halifax. Guys pretending they are in a hurry - trying to sell off electronic stuff like surround sound, home theater systems, projectors etc...out of their trucks/vans in busy parking lots and by ATM's. This stuff looks very very legit. all the right looking boxes, packaging and a $MSRP amount painted on the box that is very high! (like $2700). However, these guys will sell for very very cheap (to good to be true prices) stating they are delivery drivers and the high end product was an extra put on their truck by an order mistake and all they want is to get rid of it. Actually, these electronics are only worth about $50 - $100 !!! They have professional looking web sights endorsing them which are fake as well http://rolkolsen.com These brands are not even avaliable in stores!

Fraud
Fraud
Fraud

Responses

  • Ni
    Nik Macintosh Jan 05, 2020
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I saw these in Kijiji (Milton, Ontario)for $40 and tbh I’m not too mad, they don’t sound great and the sub is useless but they do work. I don’t know if the guy I bought this from got scammed or something but he definitely wasn’t a scammer, it was still in box with original tape and it was posted for $40 and I went to his house So he obviously knows they aren’t good at all which is probably why he posted them cheap from the beginning and didn’t try and scam, either way they don’t sound amazing but they play sound in a 5.1 configuration so irdc. And btw he only had one other ad posted and it was furniture and I went into his garage with him to get it and it was the only audio related thing in there and he drove a normal car no white van, he probably jus got scammed and wanted to make at least something back

    0 Votes
  • Ru
    Rustynails Oct 26, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I had heard about the scam after I bought an R-10 set fortunately I was suspicious and only paid $30. The satellite speakers have what appears to be 40-50 watt universal speakers so their good as desktop speakers but keep in mind the cases are plastic and unstable by design and could vibrate at any frequency. The subwoofer is a cat litter box at best, no cross over and un-powered. if your on a budget there are lots of brand name speaker for under a $100 if you have $1-$40 burning a hole in your pocket and are desperate go for it...but you won't be happy if you spend more then $30. As the saying goes, "You get what you pay for." If you get the police involved they will in a round about way tell they can't do anything because you where asked if you wanted something at a good price and you said yes. I understand the shame people(myself included) feel when their taken advantage of but we can only take it as a lesson learned, there are honest people out there offering awesome deals on great products and objects but in this case its to good to be true. Spread the word

    1 Votes
  • Ro
    roverxd Nov 13, 2013

    They are even trying to sell them on Craigslist in Golden. Asking 1, 000! I hope people take the time and research this bogus box of crap for what it is. I'd gladly flag him if I could.

    0 Votes
  • Pr
    prodriver514 Oct 08, 2013

    Got me today in Colorado. I'm a trucker and have had other pro drivers wind up with refused shipments of electronics and they sell them off cheap. The story I got was that they were installers and didn't want to split up the booty with some other guys from another crew. They were told by their "boss" he didn't want them shipped back and have to pay for restocking. Clean cut white guys in an older ford expedition. I w as at the Walmart in Timnath, CO. North of Denver right off the I-25. Heads up, Colorado! And fellow commercial drivers.

    0 Votes
  • Bi
    Big_Al Sep 27, 2013

    I just got scammed for the R-200 and he said that his boss don't know that they are gone and had to get rid of them before he get back. He got $147.00 from me and I'm pissed. I wish I can find those guys and get my money back. In the Bronx..

    0 Votes
  • Br
    Brandon325 Jul 31, 2013

    My dad payed300. I did not like it. But he did it I was mad when we got on

    0 Votes
  • Br
    Brandon325 Jul 31, 2013

    ### my dad payed for in collingwood and did u guys at say

    0 Votes
  • St
    Steve_99 Jul 26, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Got scammed the other day for $800 for a 3D Quantum projector, screen and rolkolsen Home Theatre system. I can't F%^KEN believe this happened to me. Finished shopping at Safeway and when I got to my vehicle the FU&%en little puke hustled me for the system. He said that he was an installer and had been given an extra system and had to get rid of it. Showed me a magazine with the manufactures list price of over 10, 000 for the system. The packaging looked very convincing, everything was factory sealed so I didn't open the packages I only checked to see if the projector was in the box. When I got home I checked online for prices / reviews and quickly realized that I had been scammed. I went to open the Home Theatre box expecting to find a box of rocks. The speakers are there however I won't connect them to my system as the impedance / electronics of this piece of ### may actually damage my components. Later I had to go out on errands and made several trips to local shopping malls hoping to find the puke. After reflecting for some time I concluded that the FU^KER watched me go into the store and waited for me. Typically they're looking for single guys in parking lots / gas stations. **If it's too good to be true...it probably is**

    0 Votes
  • Wz
    wzunit30 Jul 23, 2013

    They got me in Arden Hills, MN. 2 white guys driving a rav 4. same story. I kept saying no and didnt have the money but eventually caved and paid them 120.00. Look out for them.

    0 Votes
  • Wu
    wubanga Jul 17, 2013

    Just got scammed today, I was in Coon Rapids Minnesota, a north suburb of Minneapolis. Was in my car at stoplight and two white males around Mid 20's in New Ford Focus Hatchback. Passenger guy yelled out window to get my attention and asked if I wanted to buy a surround sound system. I asked "how much", they said follow us to parking lot. All the equipment looked very legit, never heard of the company Rolkolsen before but damn, didn't wanna do it at first. Ended up giving them $240 cash. I have read the rest of people's reviews and it all sounds the same. Bogus website. Lesson learned...however If I run into some other dudes trying the same stunt I'm gonna have a nice well deserved surprise for them.

    0 Votes
  • Al
    allansplace Jul 16, 2013

    My brother gave this to me. I'm not sure, but I think he said he paid $300 for it. The MSRP was $3129.00. Wow! But I opened the box and found NO digital inputs - no optical SPDIF input, no HDMI input, not even analogue 6-port RCA-jack inputs. How could it be surround-sound? The second hint that this was crap was that the amp was so light. "What's in this thing?" I thought. Probably the same as any other $50-100 amplifier - cheap made-in-China electronics that. Well I haven't tried it out yet. I don't think I will now that I know it's not actually a nice machine. Too bad. But at least I know I don't have stolen goods in my house - just cheap crap.

    0 Votes
  • De
    Destroy Scammers Jul 16, 2013

    Marin County, Mill Valley Safeway parking lot... got me for 120$
    I knew it was to good to be true. But damn the packaging looked legit, all sealed up nice. Guys gave the same "we got an extra" story. One of them had Black ear plugs. Clean cut, friendly, and writing all sorts of bogus info down for me to warranty. I checked the "Rolkolson" website. but not close enough. and i should have googled instead of going direct to their site. I would have seen nothing but scam warnings.

    If i ever see this ### being sold again, , , , their will be an assault .First I will quietly walk up behind the person selling them, with a brick to the back of the head. Then while he bleeds out on the parking lot, , , im going to smash + destroy any partners, products and or vehicles that are associated.
    to those running this scam...consider yourself warned. I don't care about 120$, I do care about thieving worthless liars. Ive seen you before, ill see you again.

    0 Votes
  • Go
    Gotscrewed2 Jun 10, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I just got scammed too! There is a guy in a Ford Aerovan that approached me at the McDonalds in Cochrane today and with the exact same script. The stuff is all sealed, and professionally done, fooled me good! I paid $1500 for a Quantum Projector(another scam) with the projector screen, and the RolkOlsen R-15 Home theater. Watch out!

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    karmasdaddy May 15, 2013

    Rolksen r-40 ... FAIL <------- got me over the shell gas station in the carslbad mall area.. white guys one dude had tattoos of a cassette with music notes on the right arm he said he was from ny and in the marines.. pretending to be installers for a company .. the other guy was drving a turquoise hyunday.. showed me the mag and i was sold.. should of followed my instict. -200$ on my Savings not really tripping because karmas my girl...allways got my back. Those guys just hungry for trouble..

    0 Votes
  • Sc
    scammeeeeed Apr 23, 2013

    Got scammed in Ajax ontario, got the guy license BMSB 955... looks like the same game has been scamming people for months i got his cell phone too

    0 Votes
  • Si
    Singh 29 Apr 18, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Rolk Olson is Big fraud and SCAM, don't let you get into it. I wasted my hard earned 500 $ . Cannot preach this anymore. DONOT BUY ANYTHING FROM VAN/SUV. IT IS NOT WORTH ANYTHING. CONTROL YOUR EMOTIONS.

    0 Votes
  • Si
    Singh 29 Apr 18, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I paid 500 for R-40 Rol olson in Calgary, Two guys in silver dodge Carvan frauded me . I have Van plate number. System sound is horiable .Thay were asking 1000 . I paid 500 .Well I learned my lesson . Please help how can i report this to pilice and possibly return the system.

    Thanks

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    C.H Apr 14, 2013

    These ###ers are in SASKATOON, SASKATCHEWAN (CANADA)
    ###s just made away with 300$ from me.. I guess I should have followed my first instinct, call the cops and not buy.
    They r driving a DRK BL DODGE CARAVAN with Quebec plates fgx 5175
    one guy had glasses and was wearing a dkr bl jacket, grey sweats and approx 220-230 lbs
    the other one was in drk denim and red sweater and approx 210-220lbs
    both men were approx, 6 ft with dk brwn hair.

    0 Votes
  • Jf
    JfeverH1 Oct 30, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @C.H Hey there, i also got duped here in saskatoon! 51st outside of a royal bank (of course) i managed to talk them down to $80 and like someone else mentioned the one guy was angry and referred to me as the one being a crook! Bahahaha. Lesson learned i guess:)

    0 Votes
  • Pe
    Pepito69 Apr 12, 2013

    Fait fourer aujourd'hui pour le kit R10 pour 180$!!! 2 gars dans une minivan verte. Disent provenir de Gatineau et avec un kit en surplus.

    0 Votes
  • So
    soudabay Apr 12, 2013

    WHATS DUDES #??

    0 Votes
  • An
    Andrel Apr 11, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Je me suis fait prendre aussi, à Lebourgneuf (Québec). J'ai payé 260$ pour un R-90. Ça fontionne très bien mais c'est certain que ça ne vaut pas 3, 200$.

    0 Votes
  • Ya
    Yanick Guilbert Apr 11, 2013

    Je suis de Saint-Calixte, et malheureusement je me suis fait pogner avec cette anarque
    J'ai acheté un ensemble de haut-parleur R-10 pour 300$..
    Bon, j'avais déjà l'ampli et environ 30 minutes après c'était branché, ca fonctionne très bien
    Mais après avoir été avertis trop tard par mon ami de cette anarque, je suis déçu depuis
    Alors ce que je sais, VUS blanc, GM, plaque commencant par FGE immatriculé au Québec

    0 Votes
  • Li
    Liivin_liife Apr 09, 2013

    I got the guys number can I report to the police?

    0 Votes
  • Li
    Liivin_liife Apr 09, 2013

    I got the guys number can I report?

    0 Votes
  • Li
    Liivin_liife Apr 09, 2013

    I got scammed but I got the guys number. Can i report him?

    -1 Votes
  • Li
    Liivin_liife Apr 09, 2013

    So I bought one of these. And I got the guys number. Can I report?

    0 Votes
  • So
    soudabay Apr 03, 2013

    hahahha, ya i know these fools they got me for 140, and I know zeek as well; [censored] bag, want more info text me [protected]

    1 Votes
  • Ro
    Rolk Olsen Apr 01, 2013

    Oh yeah, they got me too. Never ever thought it would happen to me. In Los Angeles California, off of Fairfax and Beverly Blvd, the guys were in an SUV and they started shouting at me asking if I wanted to "have" the full speaker system initially with a 3-D Projector. They wanted $1000 but I told them I couldn't do it for more than $200. They were happy to do it, but as soon as I got home I reviewed the brand and saw Google light up with "SCAM" AND "FRAUD" all over. One guy gave me a Sob story and said his girlfriend was pregnant and all that, saying he was from Orange County, which is where I'm from. They offered the 5.1 surround sound speakers AND 3-D Projector for $1000, but the value was closer to $8, 000 on the box. When I couldn't pay $1000, they ended up dropping the price all the way down to $200. The guy I did the exchange with was named "Zeek" who had "714" on his LEFT ARM and a STAR tattoo on his RIGHT ARM. Saying he was from ORANGE, CA." Moral of the story, avoid these guys at all costs. Don't trust the brand name "Rolk Olsen."

    1 Votes
  • Ga
    Gary k. Mar 22, 2013

    I saw a news report about the same speakers being used to smuggle coke, apparently they found a large amount of them with coke in the subs

    0 Votes
  • Mo
    MommyT Mar 06, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    2 Guys in a Minivan in Ottawa, On today. Licence Plate: FGX5138

    0 Votes
  • Mo
    MommyT Mar 06, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    2 guys in a minivan today in Ottawa, On. Licence Plate# FGX5138

    0 Votes
  • Lr
    lrmin Mar 05, 2013

    paid 50$ for it today. worked them down from 800. shoulda known. it was a guy and a girl in a white suv in the union bank parking lot off of college in san diego.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    matiaserick Feb 20, 2013

    EVERY ONE IN SAN FERNANDO VALLEY818 should whatch out for two guy in a white Toyota seen them in the Northridge mall parking lot .

    0 Votes
  • Au
    austin2913 Feb 07, 2013

    for the r-40 whatever the difference is. theres a lesson to me though

    0 Votes
  • Au
    austin2913 Feb 07, 2013

    one of there #s is [protected] red explorer. just got ###ed also. damn idiot i am. gave em 240$

    0 Votes
  • An
    AngryCuban Feb 04, 2013

    Got me in Vacaville. I didn't realize that what they are doing is not illegal at all. Couple of tweekers makin a bit of money. One kid told me he was 25. dark complected dark hair and eyes about 5'6" the other a white dude with light hair and blue eyes. Watch out for the white suv Sacramento. The police can do nothing about these people.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    chaseantiscam Jan 27, 2013

    if anyone has info about these guys scamming in san diego north county hit me up [protected] I'm trying to track these f*****s down, i wrote the entry about getting scammed in oceanside ca

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    chaseantiscam Jan 27, 2013

    hey i go scammed in oceanside. What did those fools look like /what were they driving.

    0 Votes
  • Sd
    SDS2013 Jan 25, 2013

    Cont.
    value was at $3000.

    0 Votes
  • Sd
    SDS2013 Jan 25, 2013

    Got my brother in San Diego. Sold it to him for $200. It was a home theater system Rolkosen r-40. Ridiculous! The sound is horrible and I believe the value is only $100. My brother has learned his lesson.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.