LDS Leather Complaints & Reviews

LDS LeatherTerrible experience

Having ordered successfully in the past, things have significantly changed for the worse. Invoice for the custom order was never provided as promised. The color I discussed turned out to be more "pink" than "soft brown".

The unprofessionalism and nastiness was amazing! Hung up on three times. Then was sent an email, stating if I wanted, "...Pakistani..." stuff I should've gone elsewhere! Realllly nice people, eh?

Be sure to notify Better Business Bureau in Norman, OK if you've had similar experiences.

LDS LeatherBad service

After I ordered a dog collar and leash. I gave the person (female) my credit card information. The person who took the information could not give me an order number and said it would be emailed to me later in the day. The next day I called and I spoke the same female who almost did not remember and again stated it would be emailed to me. The next day I sent an email stating I would like an order number, confirmation, or something since they had my credit card information and I had yet to recieve anything. I'm still waiting. After one more attempt, I'm calling my credit card company to make sure they do not charge anything against my account. The company website apparently portrays a better service then you actually recieve.

  • Dr
    Drago1 Aug 14, 2009

    After complaining about the initial service, I did recieve the collar and leash and was very pleased with the product and quality.

    0 Votes
  • Gw
    Gwendydd Sep 03, 2009

    I wish I'd read these prior to ordering from these folks. I have the same experience that the others had; doouble charges, lack of contact, no invoice, and I wonder if I will ever see a product. I left a voicemail with them and now discovered they've pulled their web site. And I am a person who is blind and who is on SSDI, and don't have a lot of money to throw around on fraudulant transactions! If anyone has advice as to how I can correct this, please let me know.

    The bottom line is DO NOT buy from this company!

    0 Votes
  • Gw
    Gwendydd Sep 03, 2009

    I hope I get mine as well...!

    0 Votes

LDS LeatherTerrible customer service

Huge attitude.
I ordered a service vest, medical patches and a laminated photo ID for my service dog. The items are OK except for the photo ID. The photo is the size of a postage stamp. Incomplete address, no phone number, no contact info, no dog's name, etc. Well, the customer service rep said I didn't fill in the info properly and I had to order a new one for $19.99 plus shipping. I asked for a courtesy redo (I'm not sure I was at fault, the computer formatting didn't seem to work). Well, I got an earful about how rude I was and she hung up on me! I then got an email, saying how I should behave when dealing with customer service. Google LDS Leather reviews and see what other customers are saying. I wish I had. Never buying here again.

  • Ar
    Arlene Drake Jul 21, 2009

    I agree, BIG DISAPPOINTMENT ... we ordered the ID and x-large size dog vest...we got the ID in a small package size but no vest. We paid in advanced and they said that they had sent it with the ID. I wondered WOW!! the vest must be pretty small to fit in the small package the ID came in. So we waited over 3 weeks ... emailing back and forth and still no results. We never got our dog vest. I would NEVER deal with this company again EVER!!! They wouldn't return our money either for the dog vest. They wouldn't give us the tracking # either.

    0 Votes
  • To
    toomanybadexperiences Jun 27, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I agree, unfortunately I did not check out the reviews before I purchased from them. They have horrible customer service and what's worst, not only do they not respond to emails or phone calls, they are rude when they do respond. My items were delivered late and were defective. Instead of helping me, or helping me understand if I did something that could have done harm, they reprimanded me and was rude. Don't buy from them.

    0 Votes

LDS LeatherFraud

How these guys are still around is amazing. I unfortunately did not research LDS on BBB.org before ordering. Otherwise, I could have avoided a year's worth of head aches and $200 for $40 collars.

In short, I placed an order and was told by Karen that she would call me with the price quote and shipping date. After three months and no word from Karen, I called and emailed multiple times with no response. After the fourth month, I canceled the order both in email and telephone calls.

Seven months later, a shipment from LDS arrived with a credit card receipt for $200 and a collar. Amazing. No price quote. No response. Canceled order.

I will spare you all the details of fighting with these scam artists, but in short - Karen, I truly hope someone with more time than me finally takes you to court over this.

Over 20 complaints on Better Business Bureau cannot be wrong.

  • Li
    Lisa Feb 27, 2009

    Be aware that if you purchase an assistance dog harness from LDS Leather the "generous" amount of honeycomb padding is paper thin and all of the metal hardware that holds the harness is exposed and will be againts your dogs skin. So for $390 plus. I have a harness I can't use.

    0 Votes
  • Wo
    womponu Mar 25, 2009

    How about if you refund my money??? I've asked Karen 3 times now to refund my $$$. Since then, I found out that LDS Leather has over 16 complaints filed with the Better Business Bureau.

    Bottom line don't buy anything from them!! I bought something from them that was listed on the website for $22.00 they have now charged my credit card $55.00. I've asked three times for a refund. I've since contacted my Credit Card Company and they will pursue the charges with them. In the mean time I'm now not responsible for the charges.

    LDS Leather you should be ashamed of yourselves!!!

    0 Votes
  • No
    Not Happy May 06, 2009

    Ordered a leash and harness. Was told it would be 4 weeks. 5 weeks later, no harness or leash so called them. Was told they'd call me in another 2 weeks and the merchandise would be shipped. 3 weeks, no response. Called them to cancel the order and they said no problem. When I mentioned the complaints I'd read and told them I wanted to be sure there would be no charges on my credit card, they hung up on me. If they're not crooks, at the very least they run a shady business or don't know what the hell they're doing.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Martha A T Dec 16, 2011

    If you had contacted your CC company, they would credit your account if you told them it was fraud. We filed a complaint with the Attorney General also and if enogh people file a complaint with their office, the will open a criminal investigation. I did some research on the Cleveland County Records and found that the registered agent for LDS Leather is Larry Stafford. Further search of county records find Karen and Larry Stafford – 1118 Mockingbird Ln., Norman, OK 73071. I had a friend go over there a couple months ago and actually talked with Larry and was told that they had not been in business for 2 years.

    0 Votes
  • Su
    susan lissick Mar 22, 2014

    Over 8 years ago I bought 2 capes and a harness from them. I am still using the larger cape and leather harness. I have NO complaints at all. Vest is worn out and I will buy from them again. ...

    0 Votes
  • I have ordered leashes, harnesses, Service Dog ID patches with different straps to attach them. The leather was so soft and beautiful. After 10 years I am still using them. The girl that I dealt with was blind but she made specialty items and understood items I needed. I hope people who are complaining are getting their facts right. I would still like to purchase equipment from them. Their products cost a bit more but so worth it. don't ruin someone's business without being fair. People are too quick to complain but rarely complement someone.
    Marcie - Canine Country Long Coated German Shepherds

    1 Votes
  • Je
    Jeremy Snyder Sep 23, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I Ordered a collar and still have not received it after two months. I have contacted the company numerous times without any luck. I did file a complaint with the Oklahoma Attorney General and they are investigating the company. The letter I received from the AG stated they look for patterns of complaints. Here is the link to file the complaint. https://www.oag.ok.gov/oagweb.nsf/ccomp.html it takes 2 minutes to file on-line.

    0 Votes

LDS LeatherTerrible service and attitude

Previously no problems. But on April 23, 2008, I placed a custom order and requested an Invoice for the cost. It was promised, but never sent. Weeks passed without phone calls being returned. The two times I reached them, I was told they'd taken their first vacation in years. Second time, told orders were very backed up. Third time, told products ready to be shipped.

A week later, I called. Not shipped. Attitude problem with both reps. Received goods in late June. The color was closer to "pink", than the lighter brown, I'd been promised. The cost of the multi-function lead was out-of-sight! Then the problems REALLY began. Was hung up on four times when I attempted to discuss the order and work out a resolution. After writing them, I was told to send the order back, as LDS had another buyer. One day later, they told me I owed "restocking and processing" fees!

I'm disputing the charge with VISA and hope to complain to any available Consumer Affairs office. Norman, OK doesn't have a Better Business Bureau. Fee free to email me if you've had a similar experience. Together, we can challenge their business license, if they continue to handle folks in this manner.

  • Ka
    Karen Stafford Nov 20, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    It is a very difficult thing when clients don't take responsibility for what they order. What Jody Fitzgerald did not tell you is that he ordered both a braided leash and a German working lead, both made from veg-tan leather.
    Natural veg-tan, which is what he ordered, is a natural undyed leather. People don't seem to realize that "natural undyed" leather is just that. It is a flesh color. It is not brown and I would never represent it as such. Our leather tutorial on our site is accurate and clear for anyone who wishes to read it before selecting a leather. Jody was told this at the time he ordered, of course. Further, the price he was charged, $75.00, is the exact price that is posted on our site. Jody reports himself to have anM.D. so I firmly believe he is capable of reading a web site. In fact, I know he is as he is a repeat customer. What he also did not tell you is that he returned one of the leashes and kept the other with no complaint and it was made from the same leather. In fact, it was cut from the exact same hide. The real issue is that he simply did not wish to pay for what he ordered and tried to come up with any reason he could not to. Lastly, the leash for which I had a buyer was his braided leash, which is the one he indicated he was going to return. Of course, there are always two perspectives to any issue. Most people who feel that they did not get exactly what they wanted, whether what they want is fair or reasonable, will generally blame anyone but themselves. Jody obviously appreciated our work as he ordered from us many times. People are free to complain but it certainly would be nice if they would present the entire story, including the parts that are not self-complimentary. Some day Jody will want something else and won't be able to find a craftsman to make it for him. I have a very long memory. Thanks for reading and call any time if you have questions about any complaint you read. It's very disheartening to make for someone just what they ask for and have it thrown back in your face. You can find us at http://www.ldsleather.com

    -1 Votes
  • Do
    doggone Feb 26, 2009

    Wow! I was about to call these people with a ~$250 order but luckily stumbled onto these posts. I confirmed that LDS Leather has an "F" rating with the BBB and 16 complaints in last 36 months as of 2/25/09.

    Hey Karen, I read the complaints and I read your one response. My conclusion is that you obviously suck at what you do. The BBB agrees.

    1 Votes
  • Pl
    PLANofMAN Dec 09, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    After reading the other complaints posted and confirming LDS Leather's "F" rating with BBB.org as well as Karen's comment, "...Some day Jody will want something else and won't be able to find a craftsman to make it for him. I have a very long memory." I have decided to go with another company with a proven track record of excellent customer service and a higher quality product. Tasman's Natural Pet at www.naturesbestrawhide.com. I really wanted a custom collar and leash, but I am not willing to endure rudeness and up to a year long wait for a product that disappoints.

    0 Votes

We are here to help

  • 16 years' experience in successful complaint resolution
  • Each complaint is handled individually by highly qualified experts
  • Honest and unbiased reviews
  • Last but not least, all our services are absolutely free

LDS LeatherStay as far away from this company as possible

To make a long story short, the order was placed via the phone on December 29, 2007, talked with Karen. She did not give me a delivery date but indicated that normally it is less than 30 days. When trying to find out the status of the order in late January I was told that she was braiding as fast as she could. After 70 days of waiting for 2 standard size collars and not being able to find out the status, I canceled the order on March 8, 2008. Suddenly they could find me and sent and email stating that I could not cancel the order because it had shipped on March 7th when in fact it had not.

They then overcharged me by some $25.00 from when the order was placed and when I contacted them about the price and that the has hipped after the order was canceled I received and email telling me that they are going on a much needed vacation.

Now when I phone them, they put me on hold and never pick up the phone again.

The saga continues so my advise to you is to just stay away! There are reputable companies to purchase pet products from without the hassle and attitude from this company.

In The News

Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem