eMachines Complaints & Reviews

eMachinesScam

You were reading a complaint about Emachines.

Filing a new complaint about
2 years ago I purchased an Emachines computer for my son. Overall it has worked well for him and done the job. The OS crashed here not to long ago.

If you look on the side of the computer there is a long number on a certification decal issued by Microsoft. It proves without doubt that I own and have the right to use use a copy of MS Vista Home.

Microsoft sells licenses to computer manufactures in large blocks and gives them the right to resale as installed software on a new machine. When you purchase a new computer that license is contained in the key on the decal. You own that Key # copy of that OS.

Emachines is refusing to supply me the software I already own. They are insisting I pay them money to get the software I already own. I told the nice gentleman at the other side of the on-line chat to have a Merry Christmas and that I was going to have roast beef for dinner.

You shouldn't have to pay to get something you already own.

  • Jo
    joan Nov 18, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Java has been loaded but I can't get into vaults of atlantis slots

    0 Votes
  • Gl
    glenh2nd Jan 06, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I agree with you but this is a common practice for most computer vendors, not just e-machine.

    0 Votes
  • Gl
    glenh2nd Jan 06, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Most computers don't even come with back up CD's, only a small partition on the hard drive with files to do a restore. This does not help when your hard drive crashes.

    0 Votes
  • Cj
    CJI24 Feb 16, 2011

    Civil Justice Initiative is researching a class action suit against eMachines, a Gateway Inc. product. In the circumstance at issue a consumer purchased an eMachine EL1352G-01w for $298 which crashed in just 17 days. Acer support (included with the warranty) repeatedly lied to and deceived the purchaser as well as failed to live up to their 7 day return policy when the product had to be sent in to their repair center in Texas. This is alleged to be in violation of their warranty and service agreement. Civil Justice Initiative is seeking statements from individuals with similar experiences to help establish the fact that these "cheaper" model computers are composed of substandard components and designed to break down. These substandard products are generally sold to the lower income class who is less likely to be able to pursue legal action so we'd like to do something about that. If you've had a similar experience with an eMachine, Acer, or Gateway PC please visit our site at www.civiljusticeinitiative.org for more information or to provide a statement. The article on this matter is to the immediate right at our Home Page. -Thank You

    0 Votes
  • Gl
    glenh2nd Mar 01, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Come on, you get what you pay for. It only makes sense that cheaper computers use cheaper parts! If you buy a KIA do you think the parts are going to be as good as a Mercedes?

    0 Votes
  • Vi
    ViolaH Apr 21, 2014

    No matter the price the manufacturer or mother company should stand behind their products. A lesser product has fewer choices as most higher brands have. The lower class, regular class people should NOT become a mark to make money on, these are the harder working class trying to give their family the tools we need in this age. This would make our forefathers that worked for the people grimace, and should make you ashamed if you think this is ok..

    0 Votes

eMachinesPoor technical support

I purchased a new emachines at the beginning of the year. I had been very happy with their computers and service before they were purchased now the service is unbelievably bad.

After three months the unit could not be turned on when the button was pushed. They refused to provide a shipping label saying I had to pay to return the unit--they have no local repair. To top it off the unit did not work when it was returned. They claimed they replaced the mother board, most likely a good tech would check the switch and the power supply.

When I called to have it repair again they again insisted on prepayment of shipping. Its a cheap machine and isn't worth two shipping charges to have a small item fixed. The foreign customer service staff is total useless will not discuss any alternates they just say no to everything. I will never buy another, eMachines, Gateway or Asus --all the save company.

  • Fr
    FROGZLEG Feb 05, 2010

    There is a definite communications problem with India. These guys and gals do not really care and do not have much experience. They are not qualified for support but guess the low price emachines pays over there saves them a lot of money.
    I changed my phone service to local Time Warner because most customer service of other phone service was India. T.W. is local and I can understand them. They are here the next day if the problem requires they be here.
    The guy in India said he was sending disks. What disks is he sending, he danced around that one. I have pre-installed Windows 7. Tried to create 3 disks which would back up or return the machine O.S. to new install. The second disk had a bad crc and I could not do anything to fix.
    When I did a search for support the scam artists linked in to sell their super fix all disk. No fix all disk exists! Good American support cost $129 an hour which is more than I can afford for a low end machine. Emachines put trial software on the machine and programs other than needed but for sales which they are paid for. To sum it up support from India sucks!

    0 Votes

eMachinesShould not be allowed to operate

We are being fleeced by this "computer" company and it is time someone goes in and exposes them for the frauds they are. junk is going out the door packaged to resemble computers but unfortunately for the unresearched buyer they do not perform!! i bought an emachines desktop model t5082 less than 2 yrs ago and it is horridly slow and sounds like a jet engine on takeoff. there are 6 usb ports, they do me no good bc only 1 of them work. and the one that does work has my internet service plugged in to it which means i can not plug in my printer, scanner, fax, camera, etc. i wish i had looked at all of the complaints online before buying and i would have saved all this frustration and WASTED MONEY. money is too hard to come by these days to be buying junk that literally falls apart from the day you open the box and only gets worse. DO NOT BUY EMACHINES

  • Cj
    CJI24 Feb 16, 2011

    Civil Justice Initiative is researching a class action suit against eMachines, a Gateway Inc. product. In the circumstance at issue a consumer purchased an eMachine EL1352G-01w for $298 which crashed in just 17 days. Acer support (included with the warranty) repeatedly lied to and deceived the purchaser as well as failed to live up to their 7 day return policy when the product had to be sent in to their repair center in Texas. This is alleged to be in violation of their warranty and service agreement. Civil Justice Initiative is seeking statements from individuals with similar experiences to help establish the fact that these "cheaper" model computers are composed of substandard components and designed to break down. These substandard products are generally sold to the lower income class who is less likely to be able to pursue legal action so we'd like to do something about that. If you've had a similar experience with an eMachine, Acer, or Gateway PC please visit our site at www.civiljusticeinitiative.org for more information or to provide a statement. The article on this matter is to the immediate right at our Home Page. -Thank You

    0 Votes

eMachinesjunk computers

i purchased an emachines desktop model t5082 less than 2 years ago. from the beginning it was horridly slow and so loud it sounded like a jet engine. there are 6 usb ports on the computer and guess how many are working, one. this computer is not even 2 yrs old and i have to replace all of my usb ports. the one that is working (for now) has my internet service plugged in to it, so that means i have no place to plug in my printer, scanner, fax, camera, etc. i work from home for the same company for the last 4 yrs and they require my system to meet certain standards. when i purchased the computer it met them all, now less than 2 yrs have passed and it does not meet them. these computers are junk and i am warning everyone out there no matter how tight your budget is, now matter how desperate you may be to get a cheaper system, DO NOT PURCHASE EMACHINE PRODUCTS WHATEVER YOU DO!!! you will see from the other complaints how horrible these things are, please spare yourself the nightmare!!

  • Ch
    Chained Jan 11, 2011

    you but 1 computer and have a bad experience and you think they emachines are junk based on this ? you are tarded !

    0 Votes
  • Cj
    CJI24 Feb 16, 2011

    Civil Justice Initiative is researching a class action suit against eMachines, a Gateway Inc. product. In the circumstance at issue a consumer purchased an eMachine EL1352G-01w for $298 which crashed in just 17 days. Acer support (included with the warranty) repeatedly lied to and deceived the purchaser as well as failed to live up to their 7 day return policy when the product had to be sent in to their repair center in Texas. This is alleged to be in violation of their warranty and service agreement. Civil Justice Initiative is seeking statements from individuals with similar experiences to help establish the fact that these "cheaper" model computers are composed of substandard components and designed to break down. These substandard products are generally sold to the lower income class who is less likely to be able to pursue legal action so we'd like to do something about that. If you've had a similar experience with an eMachine, Acer, or Gateway PC please visit our site at www.civiljusticeinitiative.org for more information or to provide a statement. The article on this matter is to the immediate right at our Home Page. -Thank You

    0 Votes

eMachinesBad service

Biggest piece of crap Ive ever used...Ive had mine a week and the onboard ethernet connection has failed...as Im running an alternative OS (Dual boot Ubuntu Linux and Vista Beta 2) and joined with the fact that ive broken the seal and opened the case...(to add a WORKING ethernet card) Im sure that the company will weasel their way out of honoring their 1 yr warranty, as their warranty explicitly states that you may only use software officaly approved for use with emachines. After reading the rest of these posts, I can see It would be a waste of my time to even try. I wish I would have looked up some customer reviews before it was too late...TOTAL CRAP!!

  • Valerie Aug 27, 2008

    I bought this August 3, 2007. Then in December is when my trouble started. It just would not load, so I called tech line. I tried everything, still would not work. He said he was sending a box to send it in for repair. Got it back and hooked it up and turned on. Some kind of message came up and I did not want to press the wrong button (I am not real smart with computers) so I called the tech to find out which one to press. In otherwords, it STILL was not fixed. They sent another box. I sent it back. Next time, the quality control guy left his CD in the computer. Would not load again. I have shortened this down from all the cell phone calls (using minutes because they say try this or that, now restart the computer. This could go on for 50 or 60 minutes. I kept asking for another computer or refund. One tech told me only after 3 times repairing do they give a new one. Well, it did it again (3rd time). I finally talked to a corporate tech and he was requesting that I get another computer. He said it would be equivalent or better to mine. Had to send mine in again before I could receive my "new" computer. I did not get a "new" computer but a refurbished one (at least so far it is working), with new keyboard, mouse, speakers all cheaper than my original ones, which thankfully I still had and just used them. Altogether, my computer was out 5 months!! I asked if I would be getting a year's warranty and was told no, only 90 days!! In all, I spoke with 16 different people over this time. No more with Gateway or Emachines. Also, I will not buy at Wal-Mart's again. I will buy from a store that works on the computer (if I can find one like that).

    0 Votes
  • Gi
    Gina Jan 12, 2009

    Biggest piece of crap Ive ever used...Ive had mine a week and the onboard ethernet connection has failed...as Im running an alternative OS (Dual boot Ubuntu Linux and Vista Beta 2) and joined with the fact that ive broken the seal and opened the case...(to add a WORKING ethernet card) Im sure that the company will weasel their way out of honoring their 1 yr warranty, as their warranty explicitly states that you may only use software officaly approved for use with emachines. After reading the rest of these posts, I can see It would be a waste of my time to even try. I wish I would have looked up some customer reviews before it was too late...TOTAL CRAP!!

    0 Votes
  • Cj
    CJI24 Feb 16, 2011

    Civil Justice Initiative is researching a class action suit against eMachines, a Gateway Inc. product. In the circumstance at issue a consumer purchased an eMachine EL1352G-01w for $298 which crashed in just 17 days. Acer support (included with the warranty) repeatedly lied to and deceived the purchaser as well as failed to live up to their 7 day return policy when the product had to be sent in to their repair center in Texas. This is alleged to be in violation of their warranty and service agreement. Civil Justice Initiative is seeking statements from individuals with similar experiences to help establish the fact that these "cheaper" model computers are composed of substandard components and designed to break down. These substandard products are generally sold to the lower income class who is less likely to be able to pursue legal action so we'd like to do something about that. If you've had a similar experience with an eMachine, Acer, or Gateway PC please visit our site at www.civiljusticeinitiative.org for more information or to provide a statement. The article on this matter is to the immediate right at our Home Page. -Thank You

    0 Votes

We are here to help

  • 16 years' experience in successful complaint resolution
  • Each complaint is handled individually by highly qualified experts
  • Honest and unbiased reviews
  • Last but not least, all our services are absolutely free

eMachinesWhich is worst... eMachines Support or eMachines products?

The following is my complaining about eMachines.

I am not sure what all information is required...so I am sending everything I have about one encounter that lasted nearly 90 minutes, and resolved nothing.

I cannot determine which is worst... eMachines Support or eMachines products. I have had an amazing amount of problems with my eMachines laptop. Just six months after purchasing it for nearly $1500.00, it started breaking.

A few things that have had to be fixed:
The screen
Speakers
'Y' key
Touchpad
Screen hinge
Power Cord
Power socket (exterior)
Power socket (interior)
Battery
Some of these issues are quite serious and have persisted even though they have been fixed three times. The power cord sparks when plug in to the computer. There are wires sticking out of the power cord, which is only a few months old. The interior power socket has been replaced because it previously burned, as did the previous power cord. They would no longer work because of melting that occurred because of the burning. I, thankfully, purchased a three year service agreement with Best Buy, whom I purchased the laptop from. They have fixed everything at no charge. The bad thing is, everything ends up breaking again because of the inferior product(s) made by eMachines. And once my warranty is up, I will not have a computer...just a time bomb ticking away.

The following is the first chat long I had with eMachines to try and see if they could help me in any way whatsoever.

Auto-refresh Live Log Save Log To Disk

Live Automation
Time Item
19 Mar 2007 09:01:42 PM "Deeply dissatisfied with my emachine laptop. Was there a recall? Are there any trade in options for a 'lemon'?" was submitted by Katie Collins to the problem analysis engine.
19 Mar 2007 09:01:42 PM Model Name set to M2352.
19 Mar 2007 09:01:42 PM Case Number set to .
19 Mar 2007 09:01:43 PM Katie Collins logged in.
19 Mar 2007 09:01:45 PM Connected to the server via Web Chat
19 Mar 2007 09:01:45 PM Katie Collins has been assigned to the eMachines Support queue.
19 Mar 2007 09:11:17 PM Katie Collins was added to the incident named Katie Collins by Sam_GWER8817
19 Mar 2007 09:11:17 PM Sam_GWER8817 created an incident named Katie Collins.
19 Mar 2007 09:11:26 PM Sam_GWER8817 says: Thank you for contacting technical support. My name and badge number are Sam_GWER8817. Please hold while I review your issue.
19 Mar 2007 09:13:02 PM Sam_GWER8817 says: Hello Katie.
19 Mar 2007 09:13:05 PM Sam_GWER8817 says: How are you?
19 Mar 2007 09:13:07 PM Katie Collins says: Hi there.
19 Mar 2007 09:13:10 PM Katie Collins says: Fine, thanks.
19 Mar 2007 09:13:25 PM Sam_GWER8817 says: According to your submission and my data, the serial number for your system is N404710013830 and its an eMachines M2352 (notebook) with 512 MB of RAM. Is this correct?
19 Mar 2007 09:13:39 PM Katie Collins says: correct
19 Mar 2007 09:14:05 PM Sam_GWER8817 says: Thank you for verifying your information. I see some opportunity here to enhance your computer experience. Let’s resolve the issue first and then discuss these options.
19 Mar 2007 09:14:31 PM Sam_GWER8817 says: How may I help you, Katie?
19 Mar 2007 09:15:42 PM Katie Collins says: I've been having serious issue with my computer since I bought it in August, 2004. Thankfully I purchased the three year warranty through the retail store, and they have fixed it several times. It seems to me, however, that this computer has had so many problems that perhaps it is a 'lemon' or maybe there is a recall of some sort?
19 Mar 2007 09:16:21 PM Sam_GWER8817 says: Okay Katie, I apologize for the invonvenience that you're having.
19 Mar 2007 09:16:34 PM Sam_GWER8817 says: Please hold while I check my resources.
19 Mar 2007 09:16:44 PM Katie Collins says: okay, thank you.
19 Mar 2007 09:21:12 PM Sam_GWER8817 says: Thank you for waiting, Katie.
19 Mar 2007 09:21:21 PM Katie Collins says: Sure, thank you
19 Mar 2007 09:21:26 PM Sam_GWER8817 says: I apologize but that isn't possible.
19 Mar 2007 09:21:40 PM Katie Collins says: Which?
19 Mar 2007 09:22:20 PM Sam_GWER8817 says: There's no trade possible for the system.
19 Mar 2007 09:22:38 PM Katie Collins says: Were there not any problems with this system?
19 Mar 2007 09:23:11 PM Katie Collins says: I mean, I literally cannot think of one part of the computer that hasn't failed in the past two years. This doesn't seem right for a machine that cost over $1,000.
19 Mar 2007 09:23:28 PM Sam_GWER8817 says: No Katie, but there is no policy regarding that. I apologize for this inconvenience.
19 Mar 2007 09:23:52 PM Katie Collins says: It is obvious that this computer is defective though. Or is this just how eMachines are?
19 Mar 2007 09:26:49 PM Sam_GWER8817 says: For your issue to be properly addressed, you can contact our customer service.
19 Mar 2007 09:27:14 PM Katie Collins says: aren't you customer service??
19 Mar 2007 09:27:57 PM Sam_GWER8817 says: No Katie, this is technical support.
19 Mar 2007 09:28:57 PM Katie Collins says: Okay, I went to the emachines homepage, chose Customer Care and then Contact Support. So how do I contact customer service?
19 Mar 2007 09:30:10 PM Sam_GWER8817 says: Okay Katie. let me give you the contact information.
19 Mar 2007 09:32:29 PM Katie Collins says: okay...a bit frustrating that it is taking over twenty minutes just to find out that you aren't who I need to talk to.
19 Mar 2007 09:33:24 PM Sam_GWER8817 says: I apologze for the inconvenience, Katie.
19 Mar 2007 09:34:00 PM Katie Collins says: Okay, any chance I could get the contact information for customer service??
19 Mar 2007 09:34:21 PM Katie Collins says: I don't mean to be rude, it just seems a bit ridiculous.
19 Mar 2007 09:34:33 PM Sam_GWER8817 says: Yes Katie, let me check my resources so that you will know the exact number for customer service.
19 Mar 2007 09:40:12 PM Katie Collins says: Seriously? It's been almost ten minutes since you told me that you would give me the contact information for customer service. Do I need to look somewhere else? I know I'm being impatient, but this seems completely uncalled for.
19 Mar 2007 09:40:48 PM Sam_GWER8817 says: I apologize for the wait, Katie.
19 Mar 2007 09:41:20 PM Sam_GWER8817 says: I am searching also for the contact information. Let me review my resources so that I can give you the correct contact information.
19 Mar 2007 09:42:06 PM Sam_GWER8817 says: Our customer service number is [protected]
19 Mar 2007 09:42:18 PM Sam_GWER8817 says: Hours: 7am-10pm CST Seven days a week
19 Mar 2007 09:43:08 PM Katie Collins says: They are closed. Who else can I contact?
19 Mar 2007 09:43:29 PM Sam_GWER8817 says: I apologze but that's the only number I can give you.
19 Mar 2007 09:43:50 PM Katie Collins says: that took a half hour? So, from what I understand from you, eMachines, and other eMachines customers...the products produced by eMachines are not a high quality. They are not even a marginal quality. And eMachines is aware of this, but does not care, and does not want to make an attemp to rectify the situation. This doesn't seem like a great way to maintain customers.
19 Mar 2007 09:44:51 PM Sam_GWER8817 says: I apologize for the inconvenience, Katie.
19 Mar 2007 09:46:14 PM Sam_GWER8817 says: Would there be anything else I can help you with, Katie?
19 Mar 2007 09:46:48 PM Katie Collins says: Okay, perhaps try and shorten the length of time you force a customer to wait. I know you are probably paid by the hour, so it's not big thing to you, but it only makes my relationship with eMachines that much worse. 35 minutes for you to tell me that you cannot help me and I have to talk to someone else. Seriously, perhaps talk to your supervisor about what the Customer Care people can do to expedite this service. Nothing personal, but this is a service that is not working appropriately.
19 Mar 2007 09:46:52 PM Execution of Chat complete.
19 Mar 2007 09:46:52 PM Katie Collins left the incident named Katie Collins.
19 Mar 2007 09:46:52 PM Katie Collins logged out.
This is the number Sam, from online support, told me to call. [protected]
Tashonda answers and I tell her that I am wondering about recalls for eMachines and other service options. She tells me to hold.
She then reroutes me to a second queue. I am told by an automated voice that my wait time will be longer than ten minutes. Boy were they right.
I was on the phone with this customer service queue for over 20 minutes.
Finally Lisa answers my call.
She asked for two things:
1. the serial number of my device
2. where did I purchase the device?
I gave her the serial number and told her I purchased it in Pensacola, Florida.
She told me to call the following (long-distance) phone number.
[protected]
While on hold I started a second chat session with eMachines. It is as follows:

Live Automation
Time Item
19 Mar 2007 09:53:57 PM "Many problems with computer hardware. " was submitted by Katie Collins to the problem analysis engine.
19 Mar 2007 09:53:57 PM Model Name set to M2352.
19 Mar 2007 09:53:57 PM Case Number set to .
19 Mar 2007 09:53:57 PM Katie Collins logged in.
19 Mar 2007 09:54:03 PM Connected to the server via Web Chat
19 Mar 2007 09:54:03 PM Katie Collins has been assigned to the eMachines Support queue.
19 Mar 2007 09:59:58 PM Katie Collins was added to the incident named Katie Collins by Russel_GWER6891
19 Mar 2007 09:59:58 PM Russel_GWER6891 created an incident named Katie Collins.
19 Mar 2007 10:00:17 PM Russel_GWER6891 says: Thank you for contacting technical support. My name and badge number are Russel_GWER6891. Please hold while I review your issue.
19 Mar 2007 10:02:04 PM Katie Collins says: Hi there. I was on this chat line just a few minutes ago. I was on here from 9:01 until 9:46. The only thing accomplished was that the technical support person told me he could not help me and that I must call customer service. I am currently on hold for customer service. I called immediately after getting the number from the tech support guy online. I have talked to one customer service person on the phone, but she simply rerouted me to another queue and I am being told that my wait time is more than ten minutes. My concern now is that it is 10:02 and I was told that the customer service line closes at 10:00. Can you please try to help me?
19 Mar 2007 10:04:09 PM Katie Collins says: ?
19 Mar 2007 10:06:01 PM Katie Collins says: I'm sorry, are you there?
19 Mar 2007 10:08:11 PM Katie Collins says: Hello?
19 Mar 2007 10:09:40 PM Katie Collins says: Can you at least let me know if I am wasting my time (and cell phone minutes) by being on hold with customer service past 10:00?
19 Mar 2007 10:11:30 PM Katie Collins says: Russel, do I need to end this session and try to start a new session?
Finally a customer service rep. answers my call.
Daniel - 701227
I go through everything with him. I explain that the machine started falling apart after owning it for six months.
I tell him that there must be something eMachines can do. Surely they do not sell machines that fall apart like this.
He reads straight from his script and repeatedly tells me, "Your warranty ended and we therefore cannot help you."
I told him that my computer clearly has some serious defects. (We're talking sparking, burning on the interior and exterior, etc.)
He isn't the least bit concerned that my computer is a clear fire hazard. He says, "You suggest that your computer may be a 'lemon', but because it is out of warranty, we cannot help you."
I explained to Daniel that I was shocked when my laptop (which I paid over $1100.00) for, started falling apart after 6 months of use.
I also explained to Daniel that I had purchased a three year warranty through the retail company that I purchased this machine from. Since I had this three year warranty through them, they have fixed my computer every time there has been a problem.
I did not think that my computer would have continued to have such problems. Had I known then that this machine was a marginal excuse for a computer, I would have certainly sent it in to eMachines and asked for a refund or an exchange.
Daniel simply told me that he could not help me because my computer is out of warranty.
I expressed to him that it in no way satisifes me as an eMachine customer, for him to tell me that I have zero options.
I asked him to please express my frustrations to his supervisor, since that is the one thing I can do.
He told me he would make a note on my account.
I ended the call.
It is 10:26pm. I have been trying to get help from eMachines since 9:01pm.
After nearly one and a half hours, eMachines told me they cannot help me in anyway. The expressed to me, through their actions, that they could not care less about their inferior product which I purchased. They also clearly do not care about customer satisfaction. If you care anything about what you're spending your money on, or about your own personal sanity when dealing with customer service reps, please do not purchase an eMachine.


Thank you so much for sharing with others.

Katie Collins

  • Ma
    Matthew55904 Aug 17, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have been using eMachines since 2002 the 1st desktop was a lemon and replaced the replacement one is 7 years old and still working like new I have upgraded it to mak eit Vista compatiable and a better gaming computer we never had problems with emachines tech support but problems with the best buy geek squad. I just think the problem you are having is simply a defective laptop which DOES happen do not blame eMachines you get another one im am sure you will never have the problem again we have wanted but never able to find a eMachines laptop eMachines is the brand we trust and only brand we use a year ago we built a new computer (a second one) and only reason for that is because Vista is ### ans the worst OS to come out next to Windows ME

    -1 Votes
  • Wb
    WBS Nov 15, 2009

    I agree with Katie's opinion. I've had my own experience over arestoration cd. I tried to break it down in simple terms. If I boot from aretail XP, Vista or even a Dell restoration cd why can't I boot from your restoration cd? They didn't get it whatsoever. They sent me links to perform diagnostics on my hard drive and then another to format it. They bumped me around from chat support to email support both being virtually useless. To the person who has a working 7 year old machine...that's great. Certainly with that machine's performance you wouldn't require tech support. But on the other hand if it was 7 months old your expectations would be that you receive competant support for your product that you paid for. Yes there will be good products and bad and I can understand that but I will not condone and pacify merchants who subject consumers to something they call "tech support" ! I can only hope that during these recession laden days that eMachines is its next victim and the charade that they call a business is ended quickly and swiftly. Cheer up Katie!...At least you're not alone!

    0 Votes
  • Cj
    CJI24 Feb 16, 2011

    Civil Justice Initiative is researching a class action suit against eMachines, a Gateway Inc. product. In the circumstance at issue a consumer purchased an eMachine EL1352G-01w for $298 which crashed in just 17 days. Acer support (included with the warranty) repeatedly lied to and deceived the purchaser as well as failed to live up to their 7 day return policy when the product had to be sent in to their repair center in Texas. This is alleged to be in violation of their warranty and service agreement. Civil Justice Initiative is seeking statements from individuals with similar experiences to help establish the fact that these "cheaper" model computers are composed of substandard components and designed to break down. These substandard products are generally sold to the lower income class who is less likely to be able to pursue legal action so we'd like to do something about that. If you've had a similar experience with an eMachine, Acer, or Gateway PC please visit our site at www.civiljusticeinitiative.org for more information or to provide a statement. The article on this matter is to the immediate right at our Home Page. -Thank You

    0 Votes
  • Pr
    pricetech Mar 27, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I've been in IT for over 13 years and I've never seen an emachine that was reliable. Fortunately, I've only had to deal with their abysmal customer service a time or two.
    You have my sympathy.

    0 Votes
  • Ke
    Ken R Jul 12, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I receaved this laptop for christmas and was very happy with it. However I noticed almost immediatly the battery was getting very very hot, to the point that I developed a embarrasing rash on my crotch area. After avisit to the docs, I found out it was what he described as "crotch itch" a fungal infection created by having high tempatures on ur crotch area, this was very embarasing and worrying too.

    Whats more, the battery in these I belive is unstable, I got my laptop in december last 2009 and by march 2010 the battery completly stopped working. To add insult the charger itself has no become faulty so if the charger is moved slightly the laptop powers down completly and has to be rebooted. The constant rebooting when the laptops power lead is moved even slightly has now corrupted my hard drive and made the pc unusable without a reformat.

    Another problem with this laptop is the very very faulty dvdRw drive it runs extremly noisy and takes along time when installing anything from a cd to a point that it has to be a fault in the cd drive, dvds playing from the drive are slow and performing any copying directly from disk to hard drive takes alot of time.

    I got my laptop from littlewoods catalogue, who I phoned about my issues and they have been very kind and sent me £100 compensation + a brand new Dell laptop worth almost double what I paid for the Emachines laptop. They was very willing to compensate me as soon as I mentioned the laptops model and the problem with battery tempatures. They also no longer stock / sell this model either wich leads me to belive there are problems with this line.

    0 Votes
  • Cj
    CJI24 Jul 12, 2016

    Civil Justice Initiative is researching a class action suit against eMachines, a Gateway Inc. product. In the circumstance at issue a consumer purchased an eMachine EL1352G-01w for $298 which crashed in just 17 days. Acer support (included with the warranty) repeatedly lied to and deceived the purchaser as well as failed to live up to their 7 day return policy when the product had to be sent in to their repair center in Texas. This is alleged to be in violation of their warranty and service agreement. Civil Justice Initiative is seeking statements from individuals with similar experiences to help establish the fact that these "cheaper" model computers are composed of substandard components and designed to break down. These substandard products are generally sold to the lower income class who is less likely to be able to pursue legal action so we'd like to do something about that. If you've had a similar experience with an eMachine, Acer, or Gateway PC please visit our site at www.civiljusticeinitiative.org for more information or to provide a statement. The article on this matter is to the immediate right at our Home Page. -Thank You

    0 Votes
  • Cj
    CJI24 Jul 12, 2016

    Civil Justice Initiative is researching a class action suit against eMachines, a Gateway Inc. product. In the circumstance at issue a consumer purchased an eMachine EL1352G-01w for $298 which crashed in just 17 days. Acer support (included with the warranty) repeatedly lied to and deceived the purchaser as well as failed to live up to their 7 day return policy when the product had to be sent in to their repair center in Texas. This is alleged to be in violation of their warranty and service agreement. Civil Justice Initiative is seeking statements from individuals with similar experiences to help establish the fact that these "cheaper" model computers are composed of substandard components and designed to break down. These substandard products are generally sold to the lower income class who is less likely to be able to pursue legal action so we'd like to do something about that. If you've had a similar experience with an eMachine, Acer, or Gateway PC please visit our site at www.civiljusticeinitiative.org for more information or to provide a statement. The article on this matter is to the immediate right at our Home Page. -Thank You

    0 Votes
  • Gr
    Grandpa1 Jul 12, 2016

    On 10/12/2009 I purchased an emachines from Wal-mart model #EL1300G-02W which is still under warrenty. On 02/08/2010 the cpu fan motor started making a loud noise which has not stopped. Rather than be without my computer for 30 days or more I went online to emachines.com and asked them if i could buy the cpu fan, willing to spend up to 20 dollars for this fan plus shipping. You can buy fans for dell, compact ect. for 10 dollars but they will not work on my emachines. There answer was sending me to another site and I did, I got 4 long distance phone numbers from Texas to NewYork a couple other places and then to India. No one has helped me there seems to not be a fan in the Unitied States or India. What should I do now?????? Carry complete computor back to Wal-Mart and say i can't get a fan for it. I want my money back!!! I Could have bought a top of the line pc but tried to save money all I wanted to do was get on-line nothing fancy, It is a sight went a 70 year old man can't even purchuse a 10 dollar fan. Have been round the world ...nothing...no one's got it not even the repair center in Texas or the company that made the computor.

    0 Votes

In The News

Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem