The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Pro Fit Iron GymInquiry regarding safety wedge replacement

F

My family and I recently moved causing the loss of our Iron Gym Safety Wedge. This is the piece that locks into the back of the door molding to stabilize the Iron Gym, so it does not fall. Trust me when I say, it will fall without it! My 2 year old was almost struck in the head by it, after I had just set it up in the door frame the other day. Today, I called the customer service number available on the Website [protected]. I was on hold for 20 min. before anyone answered the line. I'm pretty patient, so I was alright with that. Then a young sounding man got on the line and I asked him about purchasing the two safety wedges (an extra to have a back-up). At first he did not know what I was talking about, so I was put on hold while he spoke with who he later said was his supervisor. After he understood what part I was asking about, I asked him again if I may purchase only that piece. I was put on hold again, this time when he returned to the line he said that he asked booth his supervisor and his manager, and was told that I cannot buy that part through customer service. He then told me that I could go back to wear I bought my Iron gym and buy another gym, why would I do that? The pull-up bar is not the problem, the missing part is the problem. I realize the company is in the money-making business, but that is completely ridiculous. Then I told that I would like for him to note my frustration with the policy. HE then stated that I could call the "warehouse" and asked someone there, if I could buy the part. The number he gave me for the "warehouse" is [protected]. I repeated the number back to him and he that it was correct. After hanging up, notably frustrated, I called the "warehouse" number. It belongs to a magazine company. GREAT Customer Service PRO-FIT. Obviously my complaint is limited to the fact that I cannot purchase this small part, but my complaint is that their recommendation was to purchase another gym, so that I could obtain the safety wedge, and the fact that the man tried to pacify me with another number to call, that obviously was a bogus number!

Responses

  • De
    derekmski Feb 18, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I also have this issue because I have lost my safety wedge that originally came with it and I called Iron Gym for a replacement and they said they do not have them and that I should go to a local hardware store to try and find something to make it work myself.

    0 Votes
  • Em
    emerorwal Jan 19, 2012

    I received my free replacement Safety Wedge today. They didn't even charge me shipping. So, from my experience I would say they had very good service.

    3 Votes
  • Em
    emerorwal Jan 09, 2012

    The safety wedge on my son's new Iron Gym cracked. I emailed them at the address from the web site (http://www.irongym.com/Default.asp?bhcp=1) which is [email protected] They responded the next business day and said they will send me a free wedge. I just sent them my address and I'll see if they ship me one. So far it seems promising.

    2 Votes
  • An
    Another Day In Paradise Jan 02, 2012

    Two weeks ago, I walked underneath the iron gym hanging from my friend's door and the thing fell on my head. There was bleeding (a lot of it) as one of the bolt heads had dug into my scalp. I went to the emergency room. I had a pretty bad concussion and still get headaches and lower back pain. I am told it will take some time to recover. I do not recommend this product. It is dangerous and there is no assurance that it will not fall down at any random time--it does not lock into place securely. El Cerrito, California 1/2/2012.

    1 Votes
  • Ag
    Agitate Mar 18, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Try using a couple of bent nails instead.

    0 Votes
  • De
    Demomma Mar 16, 2011

    I just called needing a safety wedge and just purchased my IronGym from Walgreens. First I got put on hold and hung up on and then I called back and was told I have to take it back to Walgreen's due to not purchasing it on the phone or online. Whatever!!
    Good think I am a packrat and kept the box and the receipt.

    1 Votes
  • Jo
    jojowho? Feb 20, 2011

    I was using the iron gym. Don't allow yourself to swing. My friend came over and we were both doing ab exercises. Each of us had a little swing in our leg ups. The safety piece did not break, but did bend. He fell almost on his head and took a few minutes to regain his breath. Don't even trust this safety piece. It's flimsy and is just a mental security feature, not a functioning one.

    1 Votes
  • Ch
    Chris0024 Sep 23, 2010

    I purchased an iron gym about 6 months ago. I weigh 205 and it has a rating of 300lbs. This thing is now bent from use and will not stay up on the wall. I loved using it every day, but now it is just collecting dust. I have talked to customer service and they refuse to do anything about it. This company is so fail. Subpar product in my opinion.

    1 Votes
  • Ag
    Agitate May 05, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Sent for the ab straps and no straps came, plus no record of my order since I already sent the check I guess
    I live to learn.

    2 Votes
  • Jo
    jody48 Jan 27, 2010

    Got one last night. The iron part is fine. The safety wedge didn't slide in behind the frame. Had to *hammer* at it to get it in. Then, after it was in behind the frame, all of a sudden, it sprang off the wall! The part that was behind the frame snapped off and stayed behind the frame. The rest of it went flying. Went online to buy a replacement. No can do it seems! How silly is that????

    2 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    Submit

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.