Menu
Peter Humblias Attorney

Peter Humblias Attorney review: Peter Humblias Real Estate Attorney 25

Z
Author of the review
7:05 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

Stay away run fast, broken promises and overcharges. Gives one fee but at closing SURPRISE! charges obsured junk fees no other attorney does double the amount. No communication and would rarely get on the phone. You end up doing the work yourself. Wont give you anything in writting. DO NOT PAY him upfront. its a trick! No agent, broker or bank want to deal with him. Most of his business is referred by his mother the only agent who would work with him.

Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

More Peter Humblias Attorney reviews & complaints

Peter Humblias Attorney - my son works to hard 4
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Peter Humblias Attorney - Extremely money minded and of poor moral caliber 2
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Peter Humblias Attorney - Don't work with this guy
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
25 comments
T
T
Taken advantage of.
Little Falls, US
Dec 07, 2014 6:00 pm EST
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

PETER HUMBLIAS is a scam artist. Please be careful, we were charged a very high "fixed fee" at the beginning of a transaction because according to him it was going to take a lot of work, once the back and forth between attorneys started, he DOUBLED his fee, and said that we either paid him more, or we were free to get another attorney, no refunds, of course, at that point, our only other option was to start over the entire process and would have to pay someone else, anyways, so we had to give in his demand, couple of months later he AGAIN asked for another astronomical "fixed fee" In order to continue our case. He's a thief, and shouldn't be allowed to practice.

C
C
CornerMall16
Manhasset, US
Jan 22, 2012 4:26 am EST

Peter was great in our short sale, followed up with us in timely fashion, was organized and professional. He is a bit arrogant, but that's what I want when I hire an attorney, a pitbull and advocate for me. I guess if things don't go your way in any legal matter, you feel like it someone else's fault and need to complain. Our experience and result would support reccomending him to others. We will definitely use him again.

J
J
jdaniel74
Tewksbury, US
Dec 21, 2011 6:43 pm EST

check out his website

peterhumblias.com

he's hated by so many that he's even got a fan page lol

A
A
anon512
Hoboken, US
May 17, 2011 6:59 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I used Peter for a real estate transaction as well... I found that he was responsive and knowledgeable and Tanya from his office was great to work with. After consulting with a few of my attorney friends who informed me that in a short sale the bank pays the seller's attorney fees - and told me what the average fee is for a short sale, I do believe I was overcharged. But the bottom line is that his office was able to get the transaction done for me and was MUCH more responsive than the last lawyer I had hired to get the sale done for me.

C
C
ChaChaWooo
Jersey City, US
May 09, 2011 7:11 pm EDT

Like kcjc74 above, Peter was recommened to me from my Jersey City realtor. Since, they have stopped recommending him. I guess you got lucky kcjc, but I would defiantely advice everyone else to stay away.

I agree that Peter is the worst lawyer I have ever come across. We had a horrible experience with him as well. He's rather stupid, but arrogant. Unresponsive, yet demanding.

I was curious why so many of us had negative reviews, yet there were a few glowing reviews. Indeed, his mother did post of here...which frankly, is sad. Also, anyone else with a positive review seems to have only posted one comment on this message board. It seems to me that someone with a very negative experience is a lot more likely to post about one person than someone with a positive experience. I'm suspicious that it might just be his mom, friends, or himself making up fake aliases.

C
C
ChaChaWooo
Jersey City, US
May 09, 2011 7:01 pm EDT

I agree that Peter is the worst lawyer I have ever come across. We had a horrible experience with him as well. He's rather stupid, but arrogant. Unresponsive, yet demanding. Stay away.

I was curious why so many of us had negative reviews, yet there were a few glowing reviews. Indeed, his mother did post of here...which frankly, is sad. Also, anyone else with a positive review seems to have only posted one comment on this message board. It seems to me that someone with a very negative experience is a lot more likely to post about one person than someone with a positive experience. I'm suspicious that it might just be his mom, friends, or himself making up fake aliases.

H
H
HANG THEM ALL
Morristown, US
Mar 13, 2011 5:41 pm EDT

we all agree lets get him off the street

H
H
Humblias Hater
, US
Feb 23, 2011 3:58 am EST

Peter Humblias is the most arrogant lawyer I have ever encountered. Anyone who has anything positive to say about him is a complete fool. I wouldn't even recommend him to my worst enemy! Karma is a ### and she will hunt Peter Humblias down when it's his time ... I honestly believe that!

V
V
vintageking
Morristown, US
Feb 10, 2011 4:15 pm EST

Please supply me with more details. I am in the middle of law suite and need more proof. We have to get him off the street and I need all the help I can get.

V
V
Vocal Majority
Haddonfield, US
Feb 07, 2011 4:47 am EST

I have worked with this man multiple times. It has been an aweful experience (it is utterly my fault that I trusted him for more than one case, but I am really gullible). He and his mother are both con artists and work to keep each other in business. Stay away at all cost. He will overcharge by a huge amount for barely any work done. Anyone who has questions can contact me via my profile email. I will gladly provide backup to what I've posted here.

H
H
HANG THEM ALL
Morristown, US
Feb 05, 2011 4:20 pm EST

interesting that so called attorneys back him and talk about party not giving names. Why don't these attorneys give their names. His mother better wake up and realize he is the most dishonest person alive.

B
B
badboy6
Waldwick, US
Feb 03, 2011 4:03 pm EST

Peter Humblias is the worst attorney ever experienced. Any positive reviews you read are no doubtly reviews from his mom, wife or himself. He ripped me off and many others. I should of investigated or read the bad reviews before hiring him. EVERyONe I spoke with have said nothing positive all terrible NEGATIVE experiences.. If I have my way he will be disbarred
The WORST attorney ever EVIL, LIAR and con artist!

K
K
kcjc74
New York, US
Jan 27, 2011 11:01 pm EST

Peter came highly recommended to me from my realtor in Jersey City. He just recently helped me close on a short sale. He and his staff were always upfront and honest with me. He gave me all of the options, told the the approximate costs upfront, but never made the decisions for me. He let me make my own decisions. Peter and his staff are always reachable and have excellent follow-up. They are professional, knowledgeable, and straightforward. I would highly recommend Peter Humblias to anyone.

A
A
Aszabo
Hasbrouck Heights, US
Oct 13, 2010 12:35 pm EDT

I am a local realtor and am working with Peter Humblias for a long time. I recommended him to many of my clients and he even worked and works on my personal cases as well. The main reason I am still working with him is that he is the only attorney who is always reachable and always follows up, he responds calls even after hours and he is very knowledgeable. I know I am in the best care possible. His stuff is very professional. I will always recommend him to my friends and family. I cannot believe how people can take personal issue to a level that can hurt this great attorney.

N
N
njlawyer
Fairfield, US
Sep 28, 2010 11:20 am EDT

I am a practicing litigation attorney for more than 25 years and have worked with Peter Humblias on numerous files. He has always been professional and forthright. We have been adversaries on a few cases and I can say that it was a pleasure to work with him. He is ethical and knowledgable.

T
T
titleman
Bloomfield, US
Sep 20, 2010 5:28 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

As an attorney and title officer who has worked with Mr. Humblias, I can attest to his integrity and knowledge in the area of real estate law. Like most people in their own business, he has come across an angry ex-client who is using this board to vent. There is no substance to the complaint against Mr. Humblias and any professional who has worked with him has nothing but good things to say.

N
N
njesquire
Fairfield, US
Sep 18, 2010 9:15 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I have been a real estate attorney in a high volume real estate practice for 30 years in N.J. and have had transactions with many other lawyers. Peter is one of the better attorneys practicing here. He is extemely knowledgable and professional and it is a shame that a vindictive former client can write an anonymous complaint on this website. I would recommend his services to anyone buying or selling real estate.

G
G
getjustice
, US
Aug 13, 2010 5:26 pm EDT

Incredible how this attorney could get away with the lies, deceptions and incorrect information which he provived to his clients just to get a deposit. Stay away! Stay away! He will tell you everything you want to hear but in the end no results are achieved. The only result is that your deposit will be gone.

M
M
MikeDono
hjkhh, US
Jul 16, 2010 9:40 am EDT

This attorney has done several deals from me and is great! He is honest, always available and charges reasonable fees. I recommend him to everyone I know. Anyone who says otherwise is a LIAR!

K
K
KathyQ
Montvale, US
Jun 30, 2010 2:17 pm EDT

I completely disagree with this. I am a realtor in Montvale and I have worked with him on many deals. He and is office are very professional and get the job done. I recommend him to all my clients!

K
K
KathyQ
Montvale, US
Jun 30, 2010 2:16 pm EDT

I completely disagree! He just did my closing for me and was amazing! He and his staff were great with follow up and phones calls. Very pleased and satisfied. I would recommend him.

H
H
HANG THEM ALL
Morristown, US
Jun 30, 2010 7:57 am EDT

This attorney also represents himself as partner of Rush and Humblias but Mr. Rush denies they were ever partners.

H
H
HANG THEM ALL
Morristown, US
Jun 30, 2010 7:54 am EDT

About time he is taken off the streets, Would you believe a local Judge backed him up to show how dishonest the system is.

J
J
Johnba
New York, US
Jun 24, 2010 10:57 am EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

This so called attorney listens to your case builds you up and convinces you that he can fix the problem. He barely follows up with you. Expensive but convinced me it was worth it. After 4 months of phone calls, I found out he even switched firms in the middle of my case. I got another attorney at fraction of the cost to solve the problem without aggravation OK why didn't I get that money for all of my aggravation back? Because he and his new firm kept it to prove just how slimy a ### he is and how after all his years of law school he still get away with it!
He is located in New Jersey!

C
C
Cathyre
07072, US
Jun 23, 2010 10:33 am EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I had similiar situation with this attorney. I would NOT recommended him either.