The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Ninas Cakes and BakesMoney taken, no cakes delivered

I read with interest that someone else has recently been unable to obtain cakes, or a satisfactory response, from the Ninas Cakes and Bakes company website. I ordered some cakes in August (2011) and the money was duly transferred from my account, but no cakes were delivered. Despite 5 emails since I have not received any reply, nor any cakes, nor a refund of my money. There is a paragraph at the very end of their Terms and Conditions, which states that they are experiencing some difficulties with deliveries and thanks people for their patience, but this has been there since August at least, so all buyers please beware...

Responses

  • El
    ElatedB Jun 05, 2012

    This is so sad. I ordered from Nina's Cake and Bakes in 2010 and I was very happy with the cakes I received. I've been trying to find the website to order from them again but I've been directed here. This company was once a lovely company so I'm disappointed to read these comments. I hope everyone who has been left empty handed gets their money back.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    jolewlew Apr 04, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I too had the same problems - ordered from Ninas Cakes and Bakes and my daughter did not receive her Birthday cupcakes. Thank you sallycinamon for publishing the address of Maureen Milwood, 2 Caledonia Court, 165 Great North Way, Hendon, London, NW4 1PL. Telephone: [protected]. Email: [email protected], the website owner. I emailed her and said I would take her to the Small Claims Court if she did not refund my money. I received a refund through PayPal very quickly after that. I have also reported them to PayPal and filed a report on www.actionfraud.org.uk.
    I hope this helps other people get their money back when they have been scammed by this company.

    0 Votes
  • Cc
    CC1979 Feb 29, 2012

    Please anyone complain to Paypal immediately if you haven't received your goods from ninas bakes and cakes. I spoke to them yesterday and they stated that if the number of complaints get to a certain theshold then all people who have been scamed will be reimbursed their monies. This company must be making a fortune out of this looking at how far the complaints go back, I ordered my cupcakes on the 21st December 2011 and this website clearly should have been closed way before then.

    0 Votes
  • So
    SoozAld Feb 27, 2012

    I too have ordered from this company via Paypal. I too got automated response. I tried to contact them as no delivery date was quoted on my order confirmation. I tried to contact them to ensure they would be delivered on the right date. No response and no telephone number. Now their web site has been taken down "for maintenace - back soon". I have been more lucky than most as my cupcakes have been delivered for my daughters birthday only they are 2 weeks early! Obviously this is not a company you want to buy from.

    0 Votes
  • Vi
    Victoria2008 Feb 20, 2012

    I was unfortunately also scammed by this company. When I contacted Paypal to open a dispute I was told that they would not be able to refund me as the cakes were personalised and that I would need to chase this with my credit card company instead. After reading the comments above I would then recommend to not mention if your cakes were personalised to Paypal or to just contact your bank directly.
    As soon as I looked back at the website and realised they didnt have a contact number and started to receive the same automated response I suspected I had been conned. How this company is still up and running online and taking people's money worries me, sure they must be shut down somewhere along the line?!

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    CHMLondon Feb 20, 2012

    I wish I had thought to check before placing my order, however I was obviously impressed by their fairly professional website.
    I ordered cakes for my friends birthday and (luckily I guess...) they arrived. However she sent me a photo of the cakes and it was unbelievable...it looked like a two year old had made them! Icing was messy, literally slopped on and my friend thought it was a joke. Unfortunately the joke is on me...£18 cupcakes...! I have sent them an email asking for a refund or at least an apology however by the looks of the comments here I will be waiting a long time...

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    CHAD321 Feb 10, 2012

    Ignore all of the above my cakes arrived. Sorry Nina! x

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    CHAD321 Feb 10, 2012

    Hello,
    Well like most people I am in the same boat. I ordered on Tuesday with an anticipated delivery for today yet not even a crumb of a delivery. The company should have some form of damage limitation if they are aware of such problems and not take money from customers account or at least have a message on their website notifying people that they will be unable to adhere to the set delivery date (or any delivery date for that matter!). That way new customers are not disgruntled like their former ones! Very bad PR tactics!
    Did you ever receive your cupcakes or an apology?

    Clare xx

    1 Votes
  • So
    SophiePD Feb 05, 2012

    Resolved by paypal by opening a dispute and claim.

    0 Votes
  • Em
    EmmaH Jan 20, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have unfortunately just had the same experience with Nina's cakes and bakes. So gutted! it was part of a great grandmother's birthday gift. Thanks for advice will raise a dispute with Paypal to get my money back, but we have to find a way to warn people about them!

    0 Votes
  • So
    SophiePD Jan 19, 2012

    I have the same problem, i have just contacted paypal.

    0 Votes
  • Mr
    Mrs LJ Jan 18, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have ordered cakes and although I had an automated reply I recieved no cakes and my money was taken from credit card straight away. I now see that other people have complained about this site since last year but it has not been shut down. Many people must be ordering on this seemingly fake site all the time. [links from google]

    0 Votes
  • El
    ELM0812 Jan 13, 2012

    Arggh! So wish I had seen this before I placed my order. Like all of you, I placed an order which has not been fulfilled. Despite sending emails to the company I have not received a reply so have now escalated it through paypal. Fingers crossed, I'll get my money back :(

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    sallycinamon Dec 14, 2011

    Hello again. I complained to the domain privacy service that ninascakesandbakes.com appears to be a scam and they have published the owner's name and address. The website owner is registered as Maureen Milwood, 2 Caledonia Court, 165 Great North Way, Hendon, London, NW4 1PL. Telephone: [protected]. Email: [email protected] - I have now received a refund via PAYPAL so I no longer have the need to contact this woman, but for those of you that haven't, there you go. I notice the Google adwords adverts have gone too. I did complain to Google, and they replied saying they would investigate, but it's possible the website owner has stopped them herself. It's all very strange why this once legitimate shop is now operating like this. *shrugs*

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    sallycinamon Dec 09, 2011

    Forgot to say - every time you search in Google with a generic term say 'order Christmas cupcakes' or 'cupcakes delivered', and you see ninascakesandbakes.com appearing in either the orange box at the top, of among the small links to the right, it will cost 'Nina' money if you click her link. These are Google adwords links - they bring Nina's website to the top of Google artificially. They are charged on a click basis. I'm not suggesting you go out of your way to search and click as that itself would be fraud, i'm just letting you know how it works. Google tend to keep an eye on click fraud, so lots of clicks close together would be ignored. But clicks spread over the day would not.

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    sallycinamon Dec 09, 2011

    Hello - i'm the same, have ordered some cakes, tried to email them to organise a delivery date and heard nothing back...have now opened a dispute with PAYPAL after reading this page. I'm very surprised that PAYPAL have not closed their account! Some points to note: Nina's Bakes and Cakes are still advertising with Google Adwords (a paid service), meaning they are going out of their way to advertise for orders - it appears to be fraud. I recommend everyone who has ordered goods that have not arrived complains to Google so their adverts are stopped. You can do so here: http://support.google.com/adwords/bin/request.py?hl=en-GB&origin=cluster&contact_type=feedback&rd=1 (copy and paste this link into a browser window). Google will not like to be told they are profiting from fraud. Nina's Bakes and Cakes were based in a business centre until at least late 2010, possibly later. They had a unit somewhere in the Alpha Business Centre, 7/11 Minerva Road, Park Royal, London, NW10 6HJ. I rang there today and a very stroppy reception guy told me they had now left. Perhaps someone with more persuasive telephone skills can find out a forwarding address/contact details. The number for the Alpha Business Centre is [protected]. Now onto the website. Nina's Bakes and Cakes are a customer of Pappashop.com - unsurprisingly, fraud goes against their terms of service. You should complain about the shop directly, this will hopefully result in it being taken down: [email protected] . Last but not least, the domain. When you register a domain - in this case http://www.ninascakesandbakes.com/ - your name and address go onto a public, searchable register. Nina's Cakes and Bakes have gone out of their way to hide their details from the public by paying an amount for privacy. Quite why a legitimate company would bother to do this is anyone's guess: http://whois.domaintools.com/ninascakesandbakes.com . It's a shame, at one point this appears to have been a legitimate business. Now it seems they've closed down and continue to take money dishonestly. I wonder how much they make?

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    Paul79 Dec 08, 2011

    A friend that placed an order of cupcakes with this site to be delivered to us back in March 2011 was actually delivered (and they were very nice!) so we decided to place an order with them back in June. Our order was never delivered and we never received a refund! When we emailed their customer services address we got a response advising of technical difficulties. Out of curiosity we checked their website again today to see if it had been shut down. As the site was still up, another email was sent and we got back the same "technical difficulties" response back six months later! After reading this forum it appears they are still taking money from customers and not delivering or refunding. I'm not sure if this is a scam (as we did get cupcakes once upon a time) or for whatever reason they've stopped trading but the automated system for taking money and their website is still active.

    0 Votes
  • Ci
    Cilla Webb Dec 07, 2011

    Another victim, I'm afraid. I ordered cupcakes for my daughter's birthday this week and they never arrived. No response from the company, no sign of a refund. Glad to see that someone has contacted Trading Standards - these fraudsters need to be stopped. I dread to think how much money they have scammed from innocent victims. I will be doing everything I can to let people know how unscrupulous this company is.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    MissH Dec 01, 2011

    I couldn't get a refund from Nina's Cakes as it has passed the time period Pay-Pal offer refunds however I have opened a dispute with them in hopes of getting this site shut down! Please do not use this website! NINASCAKESANDBAKES = SCAM!!

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    KathTT Nov 22, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Just to let you all know that I opened a dispute with Nina's cakes and bakes through PayPal and they refunded me immediately! Still no communication which is frustrating but at least I have my money back!! I am now going to look into how in the world we let future customers of theirs know of their incompetence. Good luck with refunds!

    0 Votes
  • Li
    LisaMP Nov 16, 2011

    I had the same issue as above, I ordered cakes, paid with paypal and they never turned up, then i recieved the generic email when I queried it. I phoned paypal and they were excellent and refunded me straight away. I have contacted their host provider so hopefully they will close it down (pappashop.com)

    0 Votes
  • Do
    Donotbuyninacakesandbakes Oct 31, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Same here. DO NOT BUY FROM NINASCAKESANDBAKES.COM!!! SCAM!!!

    0 Votes
  • Na
    NatalieB280884 Oct 31, 2011

    Unfortunately i am in the same situation. No response at all from them and my money has been taken. I paid through paypal so I've logged a case and hope that i can get my money back this way. I have also contacted Trading Standards to see if there is a way to block the website so no other people get conned!

    0 Votes
  • St
    Stew999 Oct 31, 2011

    Had the same problem with Nina's Cakes and Bakes from an order placed 4 weeks ago which failed to arrive. Have e-mailed twice to enquiry about delivery or refund and on both occasions got an automatic respose which states they are having technical difficulties! No sign of a refund to my account. They are still taking order on their website and there is no mention of any difficulties when they take new orders. Incidentally, can't find a telephone number from them anywhere and they are not listed on Companies House Website.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.