Menu
ADVERTISIMENT
Home Unauthorized Charges Nashbar Credit card fraud

Nashbar  -  Credit card fraud

M
Author of the complaint
12:38 pm
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

I recently ordered a bike from Nashbar and about 3 weeks later, someone charges thousands of dollars to my credit card fraudulently. I was rang up for almost $4, 000. One item (an ID printer) was delivered to Canton Ohio which made me suspiscious it was Nashbar because their warehouse is located there. I told my friend at work about the bike I bought and she bought one, only to have her credit card number stolen!

I called the call center and they told me to email them instead of calling.

ADVERTISIMENT
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

More Nashbar complaints & reviews

Nashbar - FINANCIAL FRAUD
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
45 comments
Add a comment
B
Nov 09, 2010 3:46 pm
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

DON'T HESITATE TO CONTACT THE OHIO ATTORNEY GENERAL CONSUMER COMPLAINTS [protected]

Nashbar is a fraudulent company!

P
Aug 27, 2011 5:53 am
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Just ordered a Nashbar bike on advice of a dealer who doesn't sell them --- the equipment package was better than anything I could get for anything close to the same price from name brand dealers --- by a factor of 2:1. Received email confirmation of my order within 24 hours. Including a FEDEX ground shipping confirmation -- with tracking number (as opposed to USPS).Will let y'all know it works out. So far, so good. If the product shipped is as specified on the website, I have just picked up a well-equipped steel Cyclocross bike at well below what it would cost to build it custom. My cards are all registered with a couple of large identity theft firms. Will let everybody know what happens next. Hoping for the best.

R
Oct 26, 2009 8:56 am

Performance, who owns Nashbar, knew about this and decided to NOT go public with it. Instead they decided to contact everyone, each person, by phone. That's nice.
Except if they didn't reach you then oh well, they tried.

I had fraudulent charges over 7 months after they knew about it and had never heard a word from them on it. Not one word. Real nice of them to "try" to contact me.

Boycott them Boycott both Performance and Nashbar.

S
Aug 18, 2009 1:02 pm

Nashbar's response to this was less than helpful, especially to those of us that had to pay to get replacement cards sent to us via FedEx.

I remember when REI had a very minor screw-up earlier this year, where the dividend notices on the inside of a sale flier didn't match the name on the outside of the flier. Basically everyone in my area got someone else's dividend notice. I got my neighbor's, a friend of mine a few blocks away got mine. REI sent out a letter of apology with a $25 gift card, even though no REI member lost any money due to the screw-up. Nashbar could have at least done the same, rather than sending out a coupon code with a short expiration date.

I'd like to see a class action lawsuit against Nashbar but I doubt if there are sufficient damages to interest any lawyer.

I
Aug 15, 2009 6:29 pm

Anyone not happy with this gaff should head over to wiggle.co.uk.

They have the same selection as Performance and Nashbar and offer free shipping on almost all items to the US.

Definitely worth a try!

J
Jul 29, 2009 4:11 am

I also received charges from Red-Mill for $2.29. Mine coincides with Netflix billing. This is the second time I have had a weird charge in conjunction with my Netflix bill, the last time I had to cancel my credit card. I hope this doesn't require the same.

T
Jul 28, 2009 9:23 pm
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I haven't done business with Nashbar for two years. Starting in June, I've had four unauthorized charges (from companies that I never heard of) on a lightly used card. They are:

gglprofit
fedgrantusa
networkaenda
easysearch4cash

I emailed the credit card today.

Is it a coincident that I have used Nashbar and now have fraudulent charges from the same sleazy companies as others have? This is too unprobable to be merely coincidental.

Shame on Nashbar. And I still get Nashbar email offers. Ugh.
Boycott Nashbar.

B

A Call to Nashbar results in responses of "Sorry" and that's about it.
I asked for them to make my credit report availabile to me whenever I want it, not just the once a year credit report that NASHBAR has nothing to do with.
THEY REFUSED. THIS IS THEIR BREACH NOT MINE. NASHBAR MUST AT LEAST PAY FOR ACCESS TO CHECK MY CREDIT REPORT AT THEIR EXPENSE. I need to monitor this report because of their error!
After they let my credit information out, they are not accepting responsibility. I have had two credit cards compromised because of their inability to secure my information and they say that they are not responsible.
Please tell Everyone you know about this breach. ADVISE no one to do business with NASHBAR as they are NOT RESPONSIBLE MERCHANTS. YOUR CREDIT CARD INFO. WILL BE COMPROMISED by companies like NASHBAR because they don't care or take responsibility.
Can you tell that I'm really, really, upset?
JG BILLESBACH

B
Jul 17, 2009 3:01 pm

Well I have never bought anything from Nashbar, but ever since we signed up for that Google Profit junk we have received these 2 unauthorized transactions:
07/14 NETWORKA ENDACOM [protected] NV 9.95
07/07 WWW FEDGRANTUSA COM [protected] UT 7.95

M
Jul 10, 2009 3:21 pm

im not even a nash bar customer, never heard of them. and i got the first three charges, the first two are small so i didnt even notice. but the third for 40 i didnt expect and it put my visa over my limit which is when i noticed. something must be done about these ppl, has anyone made progress with getting your money back?

K

To our customers,

Let me show you my cup of care... c[_]

see...it is empty.

QQ Moar.

We're LOLLLLing at all of you.

Questions or Comments?
[email protected]
[protected]

Regards,

Kim

A
Jul 09, 2009 8:55 pm

I also got the four main charges listed, and also had bought something with nashbar

...but was also signed up for netflix.

This article here explains some of the random charges, I think:
http://www.databreaches.net/?p=5928

H
Jul 09, 2009 12:51 pm

same thing for me as well as everyone else who's commented on this story: http://insidetheoutsideblog.blogspot.com/2009/06/nashbar-shoppers-beware.html

strange packages showing up, phone calls, emails hacked. not good for nashbar.

J
Jul 04, 2009 11:10 am

UPDATE: After several calls to a number I found on another thread about these companies -- [protected] -- I got all of the REB-MILL, FEDGRANT, GGLPROFITS and NETWORKAGENDA charges reversed.

NOTE: The number above goes to a call center in the Philippines. Since I didn't have a customer number, I had to (reluctantly) give a bunch of ID info -- address, etc. The girl on the phone kept pitching the product to me, but I finally got through to a supervisor (in Utah).

IMPORTANT: When I first called, the supervisor I talked to could only see half of the charges on my account. But then I gave my full 16-digit bank card number (which was now safely canceled, of course), she found another account, with a different name. So then they reversed those charges too.

So make the calls, stick to your guns, and get your money back.

As for Nashbar, I haven't seen any "letter" yet. But I have warned others on local bike forums about the problem.

U
Jul 02, 2009 11:47 pm

We also got charged from 3 of these people thanks to Nashbar. fedgrantusa is on the Better Business Bureau's list. Please take the time to go to the BBB website and file complaints. These complaints will be taken more seriously if the BBB have reports of them. The BBB does not have any info on gglprofit.com.

A
Jul 02, 2009 9:48 pm

I too have been hit with these charges. I very rarely check any boxes that allow vendors to pass my information over to third parties and would definitely not do so if I knew it would lead to my being charged for something I didn't want or ask for.

I received my "letter" from Nashbar today where they seem to be blaming these fraudulent charges on a security breach. This is criminal as it appears they were fully complicit in allowing this third party access to my credit card information.

I have alerted my credit card company and emailed Nashbar support to have my account removed from their database. Fortunately it looks like the fees will be returned to my account but I am still canceling my card.

A

R
Jul 02, 2009 1:37 pm

This Nashbar fraud fiasco is just screaming CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT. Nashbar knew about the breach in February and perhaps even earlier. Spread the word - your friends will thank you. Bye bye Nashbar!

B
Jul 01, 2009 11:39 am

http://www.databreaches.net/?p=5928

Update to previous post - I contacted the above site and reported the breach, and he responded today informing me of the Citizen-Times article. I await the mail response, but still haven't heard anything from nashbar myself, despite logging complaints with "accounting".

I hope they understand the impact this will have.

R
Jun 30, 2009 4:17 pm

I, too, found the same fraudulent charges in the last two months as those listed by "BikerJ". I was successful in contacting the mysterious organization who answered the phone numbers listed with the charges and was able to get them to credit my account.

In the end, two unfortunate things have happened: I have canceled my credit card and am getting a new one, and I have lost all confidence in Nashbar's ability to keep secure the information entrusted to them. Bottom line is that I will not be ordering from them again and I am strongly encouraging my 200+ network of biking friends to look elsewhere for components, as well, based on this experience.

J
Jun 29, 2009 11:52 am

An update:

Just talked to "Bobby" at Nashbar. She said Nashbar is aware of this problem, and she took down info on all the fraudulent charges on my account, saying she would pass them on to her supervisor, who is investigating the situation.

She also said that customers would be receiving letters from Nashbar. I told her about the message above purportedly from "Kim" at Nashbar about third-party offers, and she said that nobody from Nashbar had posted anything in any forum like that.

K

Hello,

This is an update on the topic from Nashbar Customer Service. Apparently when you all ordered from us you clicked on the tab where you agree to have 3rd party offers sent to you. These are trial offers and you were responsible for cancelling the charges/offer if you did not want to continue to receive the offer. The companies listed above are partners with Nashbar and we feel that they bring substantial value to our customers. Please be advised that Nashbar works to bring quality value and will continue to bring 3rd party offers to the people that order on our website. If you have questions, our contact information is below, but we are not changing this policy. Please ask for me if you call as I am handling the credit card disputes.

Questions or Comments?
[email protected]
[protected]

Regards,

Kim

J
Jun 28, 2009 6:32 pm

Wow! I found fraudulent charges on my bank card last night after getting a fishy e-mail. I've been racking my brains how they got my info, because I've never heard of any of these companies.

Googling it today, I ran across this thread. Nashbar! Haven't bought anything from them in a year, but sure enough, it was with the card that has been compromised.

I've got charges going back 2 months -- the same REB-MILL $2.29 (x2), PROFITGGL $39.95 (x2), FEDGRANTUSA $7.95 (x3), NETWORKAGENDA $9.95 (x2), plus a couple others:

* INTERNET COACH [protected] UT -- $3.88
* CASH [protected] AKRON OH -- $49.99

That last one was the one I found in my e-mail, with the transaction processed by "Secure Pay Center" for something called "UCS Work At Home". I also got a "welcome" e-mail for an e-book from Grantsourcesolutions.com.

At least it seems I've figured out how my info got out there. I've canceled the card and am making a claim for fraudulent charges with Chase Bank.

Thanks, all, for helping clear this up!

B
Jun 21, 2009 12:33 am

I received the same 4 charges as others.

REB-MILL [protected] $2.29
- PROFITGGL8882164952 $39.95
- WWW FEDGRANTUSA COM $7.95
- NETWORKAGENDACOM [protected] $9.95

Thanks for all the advice above. I canceled my credit card and filed a fraud dispute.

I also wrote to nashbar ([email protected]) and let them know that after 20 years I will never purchase from them again. They should be more careful about how they treat the credit card info and more proactive in how they rectify this whole issue. You all should tell nashbar that you will no longer be a customer and post to the bike forums as well.

F
Jun 21, 2009 12:09 am

Same thing happened to me - I know because I assign a new email address for each product I purchase online. Suddenly I received a confirmation (At that email address) for a product I never purchased (Norton Security software, oddly enough). I called on the exact same day. Norton was kind enough to reverse the charges immediately. I told several of my friend the story (most of my friends are cyclists), and FIVE OUT OF FIVE of my friends reported having the CC number stolen around mid-May. While they are not certain where the leak came from, all five of them had ordered from Nashbar at one point. One of my friends was pretty certain because the CC number he had stolen was a card that he only uses for bike parts (to hide it from his wife).

H
Jun 20, 2009 5:36 pm

nashbar customer, I got into a fight with the FEDGRANTUSA guy (he ended up hanging up on me) I also called nashbar and told them that the few thousand (thats right, thousand) dollars that I had and would spend with them was gone. The nice lady said that they were aware of the problem, that a hacker had gotten into their system, and that letters were being sent out to customers. A little late, don't you think?

Also, I called my bank, as this was attached to a debit card, had to cancel the card and get a new one. I was told that this was the only way to not get charged anymore. I'm wary of being sent to collections down the road for fraudulent charges that were reversed due to an inactive card. I'm contacting my state attorney general's office and filing a formal complaint and would encourage you all to do the same.

D
Jun 20, 2009 1:18 pm

I just spoke with someone from Nashbar, and they said they are preparing to send out letters to customers that have been compromised, and they are aware of the problems.

I also notified them of "Kimberly" and her post and they said they would look into that as well. It seems either this Kimberly person is a fraud, or she didn't have permission to post something like that.

I didn't want to use Nashbar again, but it's reassuring that they know what is going on and it looks like they're working with the right people to resolve it.

D
Jun 20, 2009 12:49 pm

I had the same problems with fraudulent charges. I've purchased things from Nashbar over the past two years, without problems, until now.

I have the following showing up:
REB-MILL [protected]-6853011 UT
PROFITGGL8882164952 [protected] UT
WWW FEDGRANTUSA COM [protected] UT
NETWORKAGENDACOM 00 OF [protected] NV

There's definitely something strange going on, and I'm not buying anything else until it's resolved (if it ever will be).

J
Jun 19, 2009 12:32 pm

Had the same problem here. Nashbar customer on occasion (last charge was probably 8 mos. ago). Had the FEDGRANT for $7.95 and PROFITGGL for $2.29. Canceled card and filed dispute with bank. I informed Nashbar I will never do business with them again!

I'm also a nashbar customer and got the same charges as above. My credit card company cleared them. I filed a complaint with the BBB (who has them with an A+ rating even with all of these complaints!) and got this response from their Nashbar rep (with no name):

"We appreciate the information Ms. ____ has provided. An investigation is under way to verify the security of our website. When this has been completed I will be glad to provide both Ms. ____ and the BBB with the findings. I should have additional information within the next few weeks."

I'm obviously not holding my breath, but if I hear anything I will post it here.

K
Jun 17, 2009 1:15 am

Nashbar customer here, got hit with: $2.29, Profit GGL: $39.95, and FEDGRANTUSA $7.95 all within last 2 weeks. Had to cancel card and dispute charges. Highly advise to NOT do business with Nashbar online.

J
Jun 16, 2009 11:28 am

Clay D,

That post from "Kimberly" is probably a fake but there is a Kimberly or Kim at Nashbar Customer Service. I've been emailing her back and forth and getting nowhere. She said to forward my name and address and she would "research it."

Check out these links to other sites. Kim is mentioned in some. There is definitely something going on at Nashbar. This is getting interesting:

http://www.bikeforums.net/showthread.php?t=525441&highlight=platform+pedals

http://www.bikeforums.net/archive/index.php/t-537877.html

I was LOLing at this email comment from the second link after reading this board:

"Dear Mr. M,
We are unaware of any security breaches. If you would like to have your information researched, please forward the credit card # you are referring to.

Regards,
Kim
Customer Service
It makes me mad that they would tell me there is no security problem when ther clearly is!

Golden!"

C
Jun 15, 2009 9:34 pm

Dear "Kimberly from Nashbar":

Anyone in a Customer Service role, representing an organization to it's customers, should not be as callous as the tone of your posting indicates which leads me to believe that you probably are not affiliated with Bike Nashbar. But, just in case you are, here is how this is currently playing out:

Myself, and apparently others, have notified credit card providers and filed formal complaints of fraud. Background information has been documented about purchases that were not approved. In my case, there is information related only to my purchase transactions with Bike Nashbar that is uniquely linked to the unauthorized charge on my credit card account. My very large credit card provider, along with their team of lawyers and possibly IC3 in concert with the FBI, are investigating this claim and will subpoena vendors for information about these purchases. The vendor(s) will be compelled to provide information about the acquisition of personal and private information. Not willing to face the full consequence of multiple identity theft/fraud charges, they will disclose the mechanism by which they obtained their database of credit card and other personal information. Eventually this will lead to the source of this problem. If, in fact, this is a result of Nashbar's business practices and Nashbar was negligent in making this information available, I guarantee there will be substantial litigation including a class-action lawsuit. Since you are so concerned about me feeling like I am doing something, I can assure you that I am.

K

Hello, this is from Kimberly from Nashbar.

I'm sorry that many of you have had these unwanted charges. I am the customer service representative. We fully support these charges, however, and will do nothing to get your money back. Just to make you feel like you are doing something, however, please forward your full name and billing address and we will have your information researched.

Regards,

Kimberly

Customer Service

M
Jun 15, 2009 3:19 am

I've done business with Nashbar off and on for the last 3 years and the last was in January of this year ('09). My bank called this evening to notify me of some charges that had been declined and others that had gone through totaling over $300. It is a card that I rarely use and if it had not been for the rep at US Bank calling it may have gone on even longer before I noticed these charges.

06/10/09 Networkagendacom 00 Of [protected] Nv $9.95
06/09/09 Apl*mobileme Www.me.com Ca $99.00
06/08/09 Voice Plus Communicati [protected] Ga $4.82
06/01/09 Www Fedgrantusa Com [protected] Ut $7.95
05/28/09 Profitggl8882164952 [protected] Ut $39.95
05/26/09 Lego Shop At Home [protected] Ct $124.06
05/26/09 Voicenation, Llc [protected] Ga $29.95
05/18/09 Reb-mill [protected]-6853011 Ut $2.29

My bank has issued new cards and is conducting an investigation these charges and will refund all that is fraudulent. I have also filed a complaint with the BBB and I urge others to do the same.

J
Jun 12, 2009 5:12 pm

Funny I was reading this and also got hit with the charges like others:

REB-MILL [protected] $2.29
- PROFITGGL8882164952 $39.95
- WWW FEDGRANTUSA COM $7.95
- NETWORKAGENDACOM [protected] $9.95

Time to file a lawsuit?

R
Jun 11, 2009 10:25 am

I have all the charges as described by other people, and maybe some additional ones:

- REB-MILL [protected] $2.29 5/15/2009
- PROFITGGL8882164952 $39.95 5/28/2009
- WWW FEDGRANTUSA COM $7.95 5/29/2009
- NETWORKAGENDACOM [protected] $9.95 6/10/2009

It has been a long time since I ordered from Bike Nashbar, probably over a year ago.

I just filed a complaint with BOA, hopefully they will start to recognize these charges as they happen in the future.

B
Jun 09, 2009 9:01 pm

Same as the others. Glad I found this thread. I got hit with the first three but it looks like I nipped mine in the butt early because I didn't get hit by networkagendacom before cancelling. Called Nashbar and spoke to a very nice woman who claimed no clue and forwarded my info onto their accounting department. I'm not expecting much back from this.

K
Jun 06, 2009 9:34 pm

Hello, I placed one order to Nashbar about 3 years ago. Within the past two weeks have received one charge each from reb-mill: $2.29, Profit GGL: $39.95, and FEDGRANTUSA $7.95

I just noticed the charges today. I will be contacting Bank Of America to hopefully get these charges reversed. You would think the credit card companies would know about this fradulent activity, but they probably don't care. Hopefully they will at least reverse my charges. I will also cancel my card.

B
Jun 06, 2009 6:25 pm
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Two of my credit cards were stolen and it was Nasbar's fault. I'll gladly pay double for bike parts somewhere else. In fact, from now on I only do business with vendors who offer paypal. Otherwise my LBS gets my business.

C
Jun 04, 2009 3:57 am

This is a follow-up to my previous post. Three days after my posting, a small charge appeared on my credit card related to the email I referred to previously. I immediately called the 800 number that appeared on the credit card line item. It was a call center outsourced by reb-mill, the vendor who made the charge, and I spoke with a rep and a manager there. I told them that my credit card information was used without my approval to make the purchase of a "Google Money Profit CD" (which, BTW, I never saw in the mail). I was never able to get past the call center staff to get more information on the web site that I'd allegedly made the purchase from. I called my credit card company and had them issue me a new card and they're sending paperwork so I can document the information about the fraudulent activity. As I stated before, I used a unique email address when ordering from Bike Nashbar and this email address was the one used to confirm this bogus purchase so I know where my personal and credit card information originated. The email address I used is in the format: [email protected] (I get all emails sent to addresses in "mydomain.com"). Interestingly enough, the credit appeared back in my account the next day. Another interesting thing is that when I was discussing the incident with the call center rep, he asked me several times what my "real" email address is. I only repeated the email address associated with this transaction and since that time I've been flooded with spam being sent to that email address.

ADVERTISIMENT
ADVERTISIMENT