The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Nancy GilliganNancy Gilligan a/k/a Nancy Edwards

Nancy Gilligan calls herself a 'TV Producer' and operates in New York, New Jersey, Connecticut, and Florida. She is in her mid 40s, 5'4, red hair, and currently resides in Putnam County NY.

She hired me to work on a 'tv pilot' she was producing, and stiffed me out of my wages. She also bounced checks to numerous other crew members who worked on this project, and numerous vendors, service providers, and landlords.

Nancy Gilligan has several known aliases including Nancy Edwards, Nancy Hillis, Nancy Hill, Nancey Edward, and Nancy Chase. She sometimes identified herself as a 'Satellite Publicity Maven' or a 'Marketing Specialist' depending on the situation.

Nancy Gilligan operates under numerous company names including The Barefoot Agency, Broadcast Media Solutions, Shamrock Studios, Shamrock Pictures, and Take Two Productions. Her last known area of operation is Irvington NY with a company she calls: Barefoot TV or The Barefoot Agency.

Beware of this woman.

Nancy Gilligan a/k/a Nancy Edwards

More Nancy Gilligan Complaints & Reviews

Responses

  • Su
    Sucker Punched Oct 29, 2009

    I too was a victim of this woman’s con artistry. She is VERY convincing and appears very sincere. She is expert at playing the sympathy card and uses pity ploys to emotionally manipulate: a cancer survivor or the victim some horrible injustice inflicted upon her. She also exploits religion and charitable organizations. Don’t believe a word she says. Her game is to use the well-earned professional credentials and business reputation of legitimate people to legitimize herself and give the impression of a reputable business. She is neither reputable nor honest. Her greatest talent is in being an effective con artist. She operates what is a similar to a Ponzi scheme. She keeps people on the hook with false promises of money that is always coming (the following day or week) put never does. She does this to steal goods, services and labor. Without any conscious she employs people only to not pay them. No matter hardworking waiters on Christmas Eve. It’s too remember if “it seems to good an opportunity to be true, ” it usually is. She will generally look to “partner” with a person within a short time of meeting them. She is filled with convincing false promises for eventual high wages and compensation. But that day never comes.
    I can attest to everything in the aforementioned complaint as being entirely true. Save yourself the grief and financial loss. If you encounter this woman -- operating businesses presented as production, publicity or marketing agencies in Westchester County NY – run fast for the hills! Latest known business name is “Barefoot” in Irvington, NY. RUN FOR THE HILLS. Don’t add your name to the victim’s list.

    2 Votes
  • Ch
    checkyourself Dec 14, 2009

    And it goes on... I have witnessed the same behavior described above since summer 2009. Nancy ran away from her company Shamrock Studios after numerous financial and professional issues. She talked about "flushing" the company if need be in order not to pay the scores of crew and post production people. She said this as she started fresh again on Sept 1st with Barefoot Agency. Since August she has hired 10 people on as STAFF (plus a handful of freelancers) and was unable to pay in full every single one of these employees. I can count at least 4 of them that were not paid anything at all. She was kicked out of an entirely too expensive office after lack of payment by the second month and is now converting to another new business name "World Passport TV". She is holding on by a thread after all of her employees left and is "renting" an office in Dobbs Ferry, NY. Her most recent offense is to team up with a Wine and Food Writer in Puerto Rico who she convinced to finance her trip to London to continue seeking new business. This woman must be stopped. She has no sense of reality or consequence.

    2 Votes
  • Nj
    NJ Mac Guru Feb 18, 2010

    I strongly agree, she had me come for a 3 hour photo shoot, create a website with video playing etc. I have to this day still not been paid. She broke down in tears with me (playing me I now realize) she was out of control. She told me she has a way with men when we were talking while I was taking photos of her outside her then Barefoot studios location in .

    I have a whole website ready to be published to warn the world. I have also heard MUCH WORSE stories about blatant stealing and fraudulent activity's from past clients. She is evil I assure you. (no heart, no morals, no mercy). She owes my good friend $30, 000! an employee of barefoot that will never see his $$$$.

    I legally own all of her photos presently... I think the web needs to see some more of Nancy!

    2 Votes
  • Nj
    NJ Mac Guru Feb 18, 2010

    Here's photos of Nancy from her Barefoot Studios days from late 2009

    Comments
    Comments

    3 Votes
  • Tr
    Triggerfinger Feb 20, 2010

    Nancy and her Husband Daniel Gilligan (poor guy) have filed bankruptcy. Meeting of creditors is March 11th at 10:30am in the Office of the United States Trustee, 355 Main Street, Poughkeepsie, NY 12601. Atty for the Gilligan’s is Francis J. O'Reilly, [protected]. Trustee is Michael O’Leary, [protected]. People hit bad times and stuff happens - but this woman has deceived, manipulated, stolen and lied to a bunch of us. If she owes you money I urge you to show up at the Trustees office and make sure your voice is heard. If you can't make the meeting then call Mr. O'Leary and share your story - this woman belongs in jail.

    1 Votes
  • Ki
    KittyBabe Jun 21, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I will like to be out of this page, I am the Wine and Food writer from Puerto Rico, and she used me, as she did with everyone else. She never paid me back. Since last year, I do not have anything to do with her. So please, keep me out of this issue. She damaged my reputation as a professional. I am working very hard to gain my confidence back.

    0 Votes
  • Pv
    PVLandlord Jan 25, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Nancy Edwards is still actively ripping people off and giving them the run around. She rented a house from me in November 2012, (with grandiose confidence, stating that she wanted to buy it!), bounced her rent checks, illegally sublet a room, 'borrowed' several thousand dollars from her unsuspecting new roommate, used most of the heating oil and then finally moved out when threatened with legal action (no doubt because her history would have come to light). She owes me several hundred dollars and her ex-roommate several thousand. I'm sure we won't be seeing it.
    She is still active in the Putnam Valley area of New York, You have been warned!

    0 Votes
  • Ki
    KittyBabe Jan 25, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Call the police. Report her. She has been jailed several times. Another one will prevent her, just for a while, to rip someone else again. So sorry for you.

    0 Votes
  • Th
    the shoemaker Jun 28, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Her newest scam involves JOE THE GROWER ON ROUTE 216 IN POUGHQUAG under save the farm bs. What a power couple of scammers they have ripped off a poor old man out of 100k via fake loans that they never repay.

    0 Votes
  • Th
    the shoemaker Jun 28, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    they even have a go fund me page under joe the grower aka joseph giangrande

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.