Mni*creditreport.comChecking account being charged without authorization

1

On 3/11/2007 I ordered 3 different credit reports. I assumed that this was a respectable company and ordered them off of MMI*CreditReport.com Apparently I was mistaken. On 4/12/2007 I received 3 different charges to my checking account for additional charges of $29.85 (3X $9.95) which I did not approve. (I only approved one time charges) (I did not approve a monthly charge attached to my checking account)

I would appreciate if these charges and any future charges were taken of my checking account immediately before this letter is sent to The Better Business Bureau, The Consumer Protection Agency, Google, & MSN. If a person is signing up for a long term commitment these terms should be stated on the front page not in fine print.

Thank You,
EDWARD A MATAVA
661 Colony Drive
York, Pa 17404

Responses

  • Ch
    Channon Jones Apr 15, 2007

    I ordered the service back in October 2006. I called in to cancel my service in November of 2006. I noticed that as of February 2007, the charge for this service was still hitting my checking account. I contacted my bank to request cancellation of the draft, well wouldn't you know it, my account was drafted again for the service. I called once more on yesterday, April 15, 2007, they claim that my service is once again cancelled. They also claim that there was no previous record of cancellation on record, I have proof on my cell phone bill that I called the 800 number.

    0 Votes
  • Do
    Donna Gleckler Apr 23, 2007

    I NEVER authorized any report or service[s] from MNI*CreditReport.com and they charged approx $40 on my credit card. This is FRAUD. It is a scam and I am reporting them to my credit card.

    0 Votes
  • Ke
    Kelly Jo Frederick Nov 15, 2007

    I have never heard of this company, and they somehow got a hold of my account information and charged my account for $29.95. I am completely upset. I want it corrected immediately!!! What a scam!!!

    0 Votes
  • Br
    Bryan Nov 27, 2007

    This company is a flat out scam. I signed up for the trial, cancelled... and they continued charging me.

    Their scam is, they charge you and then when (if) you call to complain, they'll remove it.. assuming you have the confirmation numbers they WON'T email to you.

    AVOID THIS at all costs and warn anyone considering this mistake.

    0 Votes
  • Ti
    Tim Rohr Dec 06, 2007

    This company lives off sneaking consumers into extra charges. I went to order my credit score for $11:95, once I put in my information next thing I know I am ordering 3 credit scores for $29.95. I called their customer service line to make sure I was not charged for the $29.95 and the support lady confirmed I would not be charged. Then 3 days later I was charged. Called back and talked to 1 tech 3 supervisors and was hung up on once. They will not reverse any charges. If anybody else has any ideas please let me know. Also here is the number for them. 800-720-4420. Angela 643 is the supervisor I talked to who was rude and her supervisor is Rapheal, who was already gone for the day.

    0 Votes
  • Ar
    Aronda Dec 17, 2007

    I have had the same thing done to me and i have called in and they said that they could only give me a 9 dollar refund because my report is incomplete so i spoke with a manager and i told them to cancel the services and they said that they did and now i check my account a month later and i am STILL being charged for the services i am highly upset and I am calling them againt o see if i can get my FULL refund for EVERYTHING if anyone could provided any numbes to have this fixed i would apperciate it i feel really stupid now to say the least.

    0 Votes
  • Dg
    D Greener Jan 09, 2008

    I am right there with you. Do not order from this company!!! I ordered a 'one-time credit report' for $24.95 for both myself and husband. Then before I was aware of what they were doing several months went by and they were charging my credit card for ongoing monthly service (this is an email you get once a month that says how many people have accessed your credit report during that month) for $9.95 X 2 each month. When I called to tell them that I did not authorize such charges, they insisted it was there on the screen.

    What can be done about this, and is there a reputable company where one can order credit reports without hidden/deceptive fees?

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Chris Jan 10, 2008

    I was scammed by creditreport.com as well. Just nervous now that a crooked company has
    all of my personal information. Especially with identity theft on the rise. If anyone knows who to call to protect ourselves please send information.

    0 Votes
  • Li
    Lindsey Mar 06, 2008

    I've never heard of this company and never had any credit reports of any kind but I've found money is being taken from my account! I have no idea where they got my information but I want it to stop!!! My husband and I have never used this company!!!

    0 Votes
  • Do
    Douglas Reid Apr 21, 2008

    I recently whent to your e-mail address. I did not complete the information. I then called one of your reps and asked him to cancel the $29.95 charge to my MBNA Visa card, lasst four 0321. Today, I have a pending charge of $29.95. Please remove this charge. Thanks, Douglas Reid

    0 Votes
  • Gl
    Glenna Mahoney Jul 01, 2008

    I just realized I was getting charged from my checking account as well. I never authorized this. I want these charges removed from my account immediately. I also want to be reimbursed for these charges. I got overdraft charges on my account due to this. Who is going to reimburse me for that?

    0 Votes
  • Ji
    Jill Burnett Jul 02, 2008

    I also ordered a one time credit report and I am seeing monthly charges on my checking account. I need to know how to stop this. I didn't sign up for any monthly service and I am being charged a fee. I expect to be reimbursed for this. Jill

    0 Votes
  • Al
    Alverdean Jul 20, 2008

    This company is a flat out scam. This company told me that I would recieve a free annual credit report but I still got charged the fee of 24.95. you could image me going off when I saw this price on my bank statement especailly when I told it was free. I feel like if it wasnt free then it should ran across the page saying this credit report is not free. but instead the company say it was free till 30 day. But I was charged the next day after. Something really need to be done about this Cant we flag there site so they don't pull anymore scam on anybody. cause this is redicilous.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Marcie Jul 31, 2008

    I want everyone on this site that read this remark to go to the first page of the website and read what it says in the large blue box on the left hand side of the page carefully...There will be a monitoring service along with the credit repot. There will be a 30 day free trial. It will cost said amount. You must call to cancel. Also you MUST agree to the terms and conditions in the disclaimer before you can even SEE your credit report. So, by agreeing to the terms and conditions you also agree to what is on the first page of the website. In response to the credit reports that are purchasable: you are forewarned in the top corner of the page when you are about to order the credit report in the shopping cart what the price is and how long it is good for. They only offer 1 free credit report per year. If you try to get a new credit report within that years' time, you will have to pay for that credit report. Good rule of thumb to follow: if you have to put your credit card # in anywhere on any website, chances are you will have to cancel something before you get charged.

    0 Votes
  • Vi
    Vinnie Aug 05, 2008

    I call on everyone here to call the Federal Trade Commision at 1-877-FTC-HELP (1-877-382-4357) to file a complaint against creditreport.com's fraudulent activities.

    I cancelled my subscription with creditreport.com a month ago, and today they charged my debit card again. I called them and, after a long run-around, a supervisor told me that it was a "system error". After reading a lot of similar reports on consumer protection websites, I was convinced that this was not a coincidence and that this website is actively engaging in large scale fraud, by continuing to charge customers who have not signed up, who have cancelled subscriptions, and by all sorts of charges unauthorized by customers. I called the Federal Trade Commision and they filed my complaint. They are more likely to take action if they receive a large number of complaints against this website. So, please, help stop these scam artists by calling that number.

    0 Votes
  • Em
    Emma Hicks Aug 17, 2008

    I've not been able to get my credit report. I can't find a way to cancel or to call them.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Maryse Sep 18, 2008

    A fee of $12.95 appeared out of nowhere on our credit card statement for four months. It is removed each time since we dispute the charge but how many people dont even notice??
    I made the mistake of calling them and tried to cancel that fee and in order to do that gave them my credit card number... Unfortunately, I read all of those messages afterwards. Too late. Anyway, definitely, there are scam artists. How came the FTC is not going after them??

    0 Votes
  • Je
    Jennifer Anderson Sep 29, 2008

    I ordered my credit report in May and now on September 29th I looked at my bank account and there was a charge for this credit report again. I didn't authorize any charges except for theinital charge back in May.

    Jennifer

    0 Votes
  • Ha
    HANS TAMBERG Oct 13, 2008

    WHY AM I BEING CHARGED FOR A CREDIT REPORT? MY, ONCE A YEAR, CREDIT REPORT WAS SUPPOSED TO BE FREE. I DO NOT WISH TO CONTINUE OR BE PART OF THE "MNI*CREDIT REPORT". - HANS T.

    0 Votes
  • Lu
    Lukas Oct 13, 2008

    The same happened to me. Charges are appearing out of the blue on my bank statement. To cancel the so called “monitoring service” it is a nightmare to get hold of somebody with the power to cancel the charges . Their website site says that these charges will occur on a monthly basis and if you request a credit report you would have to cancel within 7 days. Call them, cancel the account with them and the charges, take the loss but make the effort to contact the Trade Commission.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Mary Eldridge Oct 20, 2008

    I have never at anytime ordered a credit report from MNIcredit report either singly of monthly and yesterday a $12.95 withdrawal came out of my checking account. At one point I used another company and immediately cancelled the order and had their withdrawal restored to my account. Their must be a connection between these two companies. But I want this withdrawal credited and have them to keep OUT of my checking account.

    0 Votes
  • Ra
    Rachel Oct 24, 2008

    Similar thing JUST happened to me. I just dealt with it today. I have no recollection of doing anything with this company. Somehow they knew all my information.. ? They caused my account to be overdrawn... When i explained all of it to the less than helpful "customer service" they did nothing. They kept talking in circles, saying the same things over and over. Telling me that i DID authorize it and that my "legal signature" was given online for it. I was like "what legal signature would that be?" They were NOT helping or even willing to. They wouldnt send me a refund, not even a percentage of what they took because she said "it clearly states when you sign up for the 30 day trial that we give no refunds" thats when i told her once again, i didnt know what she was talking about, i didnt even know anything about this company. I got no where with them and didnt know what else to do. I canceled it. But got nothing back from them. Those are some crooked slimes trying (and succeeding) to screw people out of their own money! I dont know what else to do... why hasnt anything been done about it yet?

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    john Oct 30, 2008

    This company is deceptive! They advertise “free credit report and score” but in your application process they quietly make you sign up for a monthly monitoring service ($12.95) that you can cancel any time but it is refundable only if you call within 7 days. A respectable company gives the option to check off a box or features the option on a separate page. MNI* CreditReport.com purposely hides this information hoping that you do not catch it, which you will not.

    0 Votes
  • Ju
    Jumpa Oct 31, 2008

    Check this out, I never ordered anything from this company and there are TWO (2) False bills taking money from my account. Why would someone order 2 identical credit reports back to back? Explain that one! Where do these people come from? Better yet where did they my information?
    I'm going to file suit against these people' if any one would like to join & sign my complaint so we can raise the grand total and try and get our money back, please feel free to email me at [email protected] .
    Lets nail these scoundrels.
    P.S. I think if we get the total to over $1, 500 it's considered Gran larceny? I may be wrong not sure'.

    0 Votes
  • Ir
    Irene Lohmna Nov 05, 2008

    Cancel membership

    0 Votes
  • La
    Lawrence Glaze Nov 21, 2008

    this organisation has charged my account money and I have not
    subscribed too or for these services

    0 Votes
  • Ke
    Kevin Feb 16, 2009

    MNI*CREDITREPORT.COM for 14.95? What the ###!!! Freecreditreport.com is a ripped OFF! they will auto in roll in a program and charge you money. I had no idea about this. After I got my report. I couldn't log in and there was no record of me! I will never do business with THEM!


    A RIPPED OFF!


    Sincerely,

    Kevin Eary

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    johnny richey Apr 11, 2009

    mni*creditreport charged my prepaid debit card a $1.00 for not even getting to see my credit report i want to cancel my membership plus i would like for them to put my $1.00 back on my card thank you johnny richey

    0 Votes
  • Ph
    Phillip Edge Apr 16, 2009

    I wish to cancel my membership. I was charged 1.00 then 14.95. I wish to cancel this at this time.

    Phillip Edge

    0 Votes
  • Ne
    Nealiericky May 26, 2009

    I had the same problem with this company...I got there # from my bank...it is 1-866-883-3309...you must call them to try and cancel they will try and make you stay with them...DO NOT RECOMEND IT !!!

    0 Votes
  • Al
    alfredl1958 Jun 02, 2009

    credit reporting freud. they didn't provide me with any services.
    alfred

    0 Votes
  • Ci
    Cindy Jun 02, 2009

    About MNI*CreditReport.com unauthorized charge, another good way to complaint is to send email to your local congressman at here: http://www.congressmerge.com/onlinedb/index.htm
    They maybe will find a way to stop them - MNI*CreditReport.com

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Marcus Webster Jun 06, 2009

    Dear Fellow Victims,
    I have undergone a similar experience. The "free credit report'' cost me $14.69, billed to my Discover Card account. Discover provided me with MNI*CreditReport's phone number (1-877-584-1345) and told me that, if I called and told these people to cancel the monitoring service, they must do so in 15 days of my call. After that, they are liable to legal action. Hope this is some help. Let's shut these thieves down. Good Hunting!
    Sincerely,
    [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Marcus Webster Jun 06, 2009

    Dear Fellow Victims,
    I have had a similar experience. The bill was tagged onto my Discover Card, so my "free credit report" cost me $14.69. Discover told me that if I called the phone number for MNI*CreditReport and told them to discontinue the monitoring service, they must do so within 15 days of my call. After that, they are liable to legal action. Here is their phone number: 1-877-584-1345. Let's see if we can't shut these thieves down. Good hunting!
    Sincerely,
    [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Th
    Thomazina Jun 08, 2009

    I totally i just spoke with them. The website says for all 3 credit scores 9.95, and i was charged 9.95 twice. Then they hung up on me 3 times. They also said the 9.95 may have been a promotional code when i advised them i was looking directly at the website that said 9.95.I dont recommend this company to anyone.

    0 Votes
  • Ci
    Cindy Jun 24, 2009

    It will be more useful!! Please send your complaint letter with your signature and contact information to your local congressman. Here is a link to help you to find information of your local congressman. http://www.congressmerge.com/onlinedb/index.htm or Your congress person (you will have only one for your congressional district) can be found by entering your zip code in the upper left here: http://www.house.gov/

    You also can send your complaint letter to Senators:
    Your Senators (each state has 2) are listed here: http://senate.gov/general/contact_information/senators_cfm.cfm

    Working Together!
    Cindy

    0 Votes
  • Ni
    Nicolas11 Jun 30, 2009

    I canceled my service 3 months ago and just found out they have continued charging my account ever since. Anyway, personal credit reports should be free to access anytime and not just once a year!

    0 Votes
  • every one should read terms and conditons espeacially when asking for some kinda of credit card number or bank account

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    John S. Kernan Jul 24, 2009

    MNI*CREDITREPORT.COM has deducted money from my checking account without my permission.

    0 Votes
  • Du
    dutter68 Aug 03, 2009

    i signed up for trial, they charged my ccard the next day with 14.95 it was just a trial offer . i stopped payment on my account.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    In The News

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem