Menu
ADVERTISIMENT
Home Unauthorized Charges Mni*creditreport.com Checking account being charged without authorization

Mni*creditreport.com review: Checking account being charged without authorization

E
Author of the complaint
12:00 am EDT
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

On 3/11/2007 I ordered 3 different credit reports. I assumed that this was a respectable company and ordered them off of MMI*CreditReport.com Apparently I was mistaken. On 4/12/2007 I received 3 different charges to my checking account for additional charges of $29.85 (3X $9.95) which I did not approve. (I only approved one time charges) (I did not approve a monthly charge attached to my checking account)

I would appreciate if these charges and any future charges were taken of my checking account immediately before this letter is sent to The Better Business Bureau, The Consumer Protection Agency, Google, & MSN. If a person is signing up for a long term commitment these terms should be stated on the front page not in fine print.

Thank You,
EDWARD A MATAVA
661 Colony Drive
York, Pa 17404

ADVERTISIMENT

More Mni*creditreport.com complaints & reviews

Mni*creditreport.com - Scam
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
88 comments
Add a comment
C
Jun 02, 2009 3:25 pm EDT

About MNI*CreditReport.com unauthorized charge, another good way to complaint is to send email to your local congressman at here: http://www.congressmerge.com/onlinedb/index.htm
They maybe will find a way to stop them - MNI*CreditReport.com

J
Sep 11, 2009 7:43 pm EDT

I hav been charged 3 times in august for 14.95 for this. I called my credit card co. and complained, was told to call creditreports, and was held for 21 minutes on hold. Finally, they said they woud cr edit my account and gave me a confirmation no. NOW, they have charged another 14.95 to my account, 83 without crediting the account.
This card has been expired since June 2009.

M
Aug 22, 2016 1:54 am EDT

My bank account shows a charge of $29.95 for a credit report. I did order what was to be a FREE credit report. When I called the company they said I ordered 2 reports and that was what the charge was for and they absolutely could not refund the charge. I asked to speak to a supervisor and the girl asked me "what do you want to speak to a supervisor for? She finally said she would transfer me but, of course, I was cut off. I will talk to my bank about this unauthorized charge to my account. I feel their practice is totally dishonest !

M
Aug 22, 2016 1:54 am EDT

I did not know anything about this until I got my credit card statement and there was a charge for $14.95 I have never heard of this before and I don't know how they got my credit card number. I told them that I wanted this cancelled they said that they would send an e-mail to confirm my cancellation in a very short time that was 2 days ago I am still waiting. I also think that I should get that $14.95 back. I really think this is a scam and I will be reporting this to my credit card co. I would like to have you tell me how they got my credit card number so this does not happen again. Please see that this is cancelled and send me a verification that it has been done. Thank You.

K
Aug 22, 2016 1:54 am EDT

Caught by MNI "free" report offer and found ourselves with monthly billing. Read all the complaints on the web. Called the company [protected] and after a long wait a nice young man came on the line who started to inform me that I had signed up; it was in the page where we submitted our info.
I pointed out to him that a quick google search shows that many people feel their procedures are fraudulent and that I wanted it cancelled NOW. He said he'd cancel effective today but I have not gotten the promised confirmatory e-mail so we'll see.

J
Oct 17, 2010 8:17 am EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

(I did not approve a monthly charge attached to my checking account)

T
Oct 14, 2010 3:13 pm EDT

Never said anything about a charge it was free as far as I was told

S
Sep 07, 2010 9:27 pm EDT

Please stop making charges to my account.
Thank you
Sandra King

V
Dec 04, 2009 11:32 am EST

I never authorized a withdrawal of any funds from MNI*CREDITREPORT.COM

H
Sep 10, 2009 2:08 pm EDT

i have unautherized charges from this web site for at least 6 months. at $13 a month

J
Aug 11, 2009 10:08 pm EDT

Credit Card subsequently charged after receiving 'free' credit report.

J
Jul 24, 2009 5:22 pm EDT

MNI*CREDITREPORT.COM has deducted money from my checking account without my permission.

A
Jun 02, 2009 2:28 am EDT

credit reporting freud. they didn't provide me with any services.
alfred

E
Aug 17, 2008 6:47 am EDT

I've not been able to get my credit report. I can't find a way to cancel or to call them.

C
Jun 24, 2009 4:21 pm EDT

It will be more useful! Please send your complaint letter with your signature and contact information to your local congressman. Here is a link to help you to find information of your local congressman. http://www.congressmerge.com/onlinedb/index.htm or Your congress person (you will have only one for your congressional district) can be found by entering your zip code in the upper left here: http://www.house.gov/

You also can send your complaint letter to Senators:
Your Senators (each state has 2) are listed here: http://senate.gov/general/contact_information/senators_cfm.cfm

Working Together!
Cindy

W
Aug 08, 2009 6:16 pm EDT

My credit card was charged a fee of $14.95 on July 8, 2009. This charge was not authorized.

I only requested my FREE once per year credit report and nothing else.

C
Oct 07, 2010 5:36 pm EDT

I was charged an illegal charge of $14.95 to my credit card. This was supposed to be a FREE credit report and I never did get the report. I didn't finish and just exited. I am notifying my credit card.Lisa Keeney

C
Dec 09, 2010 3:54 pm EST

My credit card was charged $14.95 for no reason. I would like my money back.

D
Mar 08, 2011 1:16 am EST
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I HAVE BEEN RECEIVING UNAUTHORIZED CHARGE FOR MNI*CREDITREPORT.Com I WANT IT TO STOP.

S
Jan 29, 2011 1:41 pm EST
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I got scammed by these bloodsuckers too. It has been several months since I signed up for their free trial, then I called the number they provided to cancel it. They claimed that I wasn't even on their list of customers to begin with! Now they are charging me for services they didn't even provide? What scalawags! After all the complaints on this board, there is something going on that is more than just human error (e.g. failing to read the fine print). Hopefully the FTC will investigate this and put the [censor] in jail.

J
Jan 28, 2011 12:45 am EST

what a scam, got first scrpt of information ok, after that could not access complete info on report .called today inquired on cost increase and was told it was sent to my e-mail, no it wasnt, i argued, they said it may be spammed no it was not. called back and cancelled subscription, so end result 1 look at my report for 10 mins, cost me 60.00, why do we have to pay for something that is controlled by another company that is not helpfull

R
Jan 25, 2011 7:37 pm EST

This is differly a scamming unscrupulous company. How does one warn people to beware of CreditReport.com. They will rip you and take your money for services never requested from them. They need to be investigated by the FTC. File complaints with the FTC against everyone who has had money stolen from their bank accounts

J
Jan 04, 2011 12:22 pm EST

I have called them each month to cancel and they say that everything is taken care of then the next month I receive another charge on my account from MINI credit report.

F
Dec 17, 2010 11:36 pm EST

I was charged 14.95 on THREE OCCASIONS/the same day - I do not know HOW they got my credit card as I NEVER requested a credit report...my credit card had to be cancelled...I didn't sign up for anything...

A
Nov 25, 2010 2:39 pm EST

I went on credit report.com and started to ask for my credit rating. When I was requested to give my credit card info and accept the terms of the agreement I immediately canceled all requests for any and all credit reports. I did not receive any reports, at all, so I considered everything cancelled. Surprise, in my credit card bill there is an unacceptable charge of 14.95 dollars that was not approved by me. Do whatever it takes to remove the charge and I am notifying my credit card company to refuse any and all payments to you. Please take care of this illegal charge right away. Arthur Davis @ [email protected] Reply requested

A
Nov 22, 2010 5:01 pm EST

They scammed me too! What can we do about it?

A
Nov 22, 2010 5:00 pm EST

This is a scam!

B
Nov 04, 2010 9:33 am EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Notice the Ads by Google on this site for Lexington Law and CreditReport.com. Ohhhhh how the wheels keep on turning.

Repost:
I GOT a full refund.
DO TELL...just got an email from CreditReport.com the [protected] # after my phone call aliases credit.com, billed under mni*creditreport.com. Says no further charges will occur but did not state like they did on the phone that I was refunded and I never CHOSE them. Never asked for the service or reports. We will see if I get an actual refund to my acct. in 3-7 days. Guess u have to threaten to sue first. ISP address went to state AG.

Email from then says and I quote:

"We're sorry to lose you!

This email serves as confirmation that we have canceled your CreditWatch™ credit monitoring service with CreditReport.com.
Your cancellation confirmation number is: 7079891
The cancellation is effective immediately and no further credit monitoring fees will be charged to your credit card.
Should you change your mind and wish to reinstate your CreditWatch™ credit monitoring service at any time, simply log in to the member's area with your user name and password and choose the Activate Credit Monitoring option.
Alternatively, call us toll-free at [protected] or email us at [email protected]
Thank you for choosing CreditReport.com for your credit protection and management needs."

B
Nov 04, 2010 9:25 am EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Anyone else notice that the ADs by Google on THIS site have a Lexington Law and CreditReport.com (mni and so on) AD? YIKES!

D
Oct 13, 2010 10:48 am EDT

I too have received MULTIPLE charges for this Credit reporting service which I NEVER had any contact with. Now there is no way to stop the charges except by canceling the charge at the bank for a $25 stop payment fee.
This company is a TOTAL scam and the proprietors should be jailed and fees returned to their victims.

S
Oct 09, 2010 9:25 am EDT

Hey all, this just happened to me, charged $14.95 after a free 7 day trial period. I did not even have a desire to see my credit report. I was referenced their address for some job that was sent to my inbox. They said in order for me to work with them they need a credit check, so they linked this credit report web address. I went there and filled out the forms and completed the process to get my credit score. A few days later I get charged $14.95. I just spoke with customer service at [protected] and told them to refund the money and cancel my service. They said they can't do that, I told them I was forwarded their address for some job. They refunded the money & canceled the service. Thank God. I do not like deceptive practices...

L
Oct 05, 2010 8:50 pm EDT

i signed up a year ago and took me three times to cancel when they charged me for three months finally i cancelled and a year later which is now they charged me again

M
Sep 28, 2010 2:36 pm EDT

I HAD NEVER CONTACTED "MNI*CreditReport.com" AND THEIR NAME STARTED TO APPEAR ON MY ACCOUNT STATEMENT OUT OF BLUE.

To solve this problem, I contacted my bank, and got my credit back - but they did the same thing again the very next day. I CHANGED MY CARD# and got the credit back.

Then, about a month later, I saw "REVERSE CREDIT FOR DEBIT CARD DISPUTE" on my account. THEY PURSUE THE MONEY THEY ARE NOT ENTITLED TO! So I called my bank and requested 3-way call. Eventually, my bank associate assisted me well and solved the issue, so it's worth my 15 minutes, though it was stressful. When you call your bank and this bull-sxxt-comapny, please remember:

1)Never give your new contact information or SS# - they try to get them from you "to locate your account information".

2)The first "customer service" person will pretend that they don't have your account information - clearly state your name and city of residence and ask for his/her "supervisor". Also, tell them the fact your account is charged by them, and if you have changed your cc# (which I recommend), give them your old card #. It is helpful to talk about the situation and their notorious fraudulent practice with your bank associate before the 3-way call .

Never give up, or they'll charge your account forever while you don't know.

P
Sep 25, 2010 1:28 pm EDT

Yes, a similar thing just happened to me as well. Sad thing is, I've been down this road before, and found out the hard way that if it says "Free Report" it's actually a code phrase for "scam the public as much as possible." In response to Marcie's comment, posted on 7/31/08, I did indeed thouroughly read the terms that it was supposed to be a ONE TIME PAYMENT ONLY, ( for a supposedly "free 30 day trial, which makes no sense to me) yet I was charged a total of THREE times last month, and twice so far this month. And no, their "customer service" was definitely NOT helpful, especially when I informed them that I never actually GOT a credit report, just a bunch of e-mails leading me into a maze of webpages where I could recieve my "free report" for more additional fees. Along with everyone else, I am disputing the charges on my credit card, and reporting ALL of these "Free credit reports" as SCAMS to anyone who will listen. A friendly warning to all- DO NOT get sucked into these scams. Your credit may not be bad now, but it will soon get that way if you allow these thieves access to your credit card numbers!
-Amanda 9/25/2010

M
Sep 24, 2010 4:37 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

if it happends ill sign it and jopin

B
Sep 24, 2010 1:40 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Hi my name is Brittney Matthews and as you guessed it this company took money out of my account too. I never subscribed to anything, I don't even remember going to this site to check my credit score, ESPECIALLY SINCE I'M ONLY 20YRS OLD AND HAS NO CREDIT YET! This site is a scam and I hope that a class action suit happens against this company.

M
Sep 17, 2010 4:19 am EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

they wont give the money back, at least not for me just cal them [protected]

S

I was credited for $14.95 on my checking account on September 16, 2010 and did not authorize the creditreport.com to take the money. They also credit my account after I got online with them for $1.00. I need my money back. I am unemployed and cannot have a company taking money from my account when they said nothing will be credited for the transaction.

M
Sep 15, 2010 11:50 am EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

this is for everyone, i have contacted them and they are charging you for maintaining your card or account transactions and up dating your dredit report, here is the phone [protected] tell them you done want or ill also put the link to their site

https://secure.creditreport.com/members/editprofile.aspx

A
Sep 10, 2010 11:08 am EDT

Like the rest of the people here I made the mistake and got a free credit report from (MNI*CREDITREPORT.COM). They charged me 14.95$. This was BS but that besides the point. So after chking on several diff websites about this I did find a number to call [protected] A Lady answered the phone I explained what happened she told me that I ok the transaction by chking the box under terms and agreements. Long story short I said this was BS and to remove me from the list. She then took my info looked up my account and said, "when you signed up for this agreement it was for a trial period and once the trial was up thats when they start charging you." I said cancel and they DID! This was a hassel but atleast they stopped the payments. This whole deal works for them within the relm of deception. If anything they get 15$ bucks from anyone who signs up for this service. SCAM SCAM SCAM. People wonder why our country is so messed up. These people pray on people that dont understand (me included) how this all works. DONT let it happen to you.

ANDY B

ADVERTISIMENT
ADVERTISIMENT