MJ Hecker and AssociatesHarrasment

T
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

This collection agency pretends to be a lawfirm, but the only want your money. The have big named clients like Exempla. If any Exempla hospital or establishment really looks into how this agency treats people, they would never use them. When MJ Hecker is trying to get a client they tell their employees that there is a client coming in today and to be on the phones smiling and dialing, and PLEASE DO NOT BE MEAN ON THE PHONE.You can only be mean once they are gone.I was employed there and they wanted me to have the patients ask for money from friends and relatives if they didnt have the money. The agency uses a system called Acxiom that can locate any person in the USA. This system is a great system to locate people but it gives information out about if you own your home and how much you paid, your ssn#, relatives and possible phone numbers, it even can tell someone you bank accounts and what type of car you drive. So this is how they find you. I am sure many collection agencies use this system, so this is how you are found. If the patient you are trying to reach is deceased, MJ Hecker will ask the relative that answers the phone, to pay the debt. This agency has no morals AT ALL. Jacqueline Morales is one of the agencies "supervisors" but she is as flaky as they come with her fat belly and alcoholic breathe. And Devon Valverde the other "supervisor" is her drinking buddy, but he does his tabacco chewing on the job so he doest have to drink and chew. Steve Blair is the collections Manager, but is screwing Jessica the bookkeeper, who is now pregnanat, but I guess she fell for his flirting, because the whole time I was employed there Steve could help himself to look at my body.I you are 16 and need a job for a quick 2weeks, this is the place to be.But if you are serious and need a job that will last for a long time, dont fall for this job.
They dont do a drug screening either "weed smokers" so this might be the job for you too.EXEMPLA...PLEASE PAY ATTENTION TO THE PATIENTS THAT YOU SEND OVER TO THIS AGENCY.CALL THE PATIENS UP AND ASK THEM HOW THEY WERE TREATED.MJ HECKER AND ASSOCIATES (THE ASSOCIATES ARE THE DRUNKS THEY HAVE CALLING PATIENTS) ALWAYS
TOLD THEIR EMPLOYEES THAT THERE BIGGEST CLIENT IS EXEMPLA, THEY DONT WONT TO LOSE THAT BUISNESS, BUT EXEMPLA, Pretend to call in as a patient, and say that you received a call from them, give them a name that is common and once they pull a name up, act as if you are that patient. Say that you have no money and cant pay right now.Watch how they start to treat you and what their suggestions are on how you should get the money.If they say it will go to legal, that just means on the other side of the wall of cubicles.They have accounts that are so old that they will never get paid, but they keep harrassing Exempla patients.So as a former employee, I seen how patients were being harrassed and didnt agree with it at all.Another thing before I go, half of the staff smokes weeds on breaks, so Exempla, come in and do a drug screen on the WHOLE ENTIRE MJ HECKER STAFF, before you decide to bring them more buisness.

Responses

  • Ma
    Martin J. Hecker Dec 03, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am the owner of MJ Hecker & Associates, PC. I am an attorney and have been licensed in Colorado since 1987. My attorney registration number is 16628. We are a full service collection law firm. I am a member of the the Colorado Bar Asociation, the American Collectors Association, the ACA Member's Attorney Program amoung other trade organizations.

    If anyone has a problem or issue dealing with anyone from my office, you can call me directly to try to resolve the matter. My direct line is [protected] and it rings right to my desk. If I am not available, please leave your full name, a phone number where I can reach you at and your account number, if you have it, and I will call you back. It is our intent to resolve matters rather than to make things worse.

    Martin J. Hecker
    Attorney at Law

    -1 Votes
  • Ev
    evetsrialb Dec 04, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Only anonymous cowards post things like this...This person obviously lacks the courage of their convictions or they would stand behind what they say by putting a name behind this mindless drivel...
    Obviously this coward was not equipped to perform the duties of the job they applied for, nor even able to arrive to work as they stated they could and committed to doing when interviewed...
    This person couldnt even grasp the concept of how commissions are paid at MJ Hecker & Associates...Any experienced collector knows that 19% of 6000.00 is not a feasible commission rate...
    Perhaps accepting responsibilty for their actions(or lack there of) and addressing ones own inadequacies would be a good place for this anonymous coward to start, instaead of the pathetic cop out they have obviously decided to embrace...

    -3 Votes
  • Ex
    Excellent Dec 18, 2008

    Thank you for posting this. I received an automated call from them and this is all very enlightening.

    1 Votes
  • Fa
    fair Dec 20, 2008

    I have worked for Mr Hecker for over 4 yrs and I never thought I would feel so secure and so cared for by a company. I had never done collections when I first started and it does take a month or so to build a file and become successful, but I learned and became one of the top collectors there. I did this by working hard for the patients who needed help with payment arrangments and time to do so. Sure it can be frustrating because you come across people who are unwilling to pay and are abusive, but with the help of my managers I was able to keep my calm and help only the ones who wanted it.
    The training course at the company is mandatory to teach even the most talented of collectors the FDCPA (fair collection laws) and how to work with patients on arrangements.
    As far as the hiring goes, I have seen so many people come in and lie about their background and tell the managers that they have yrs of experience and would love to be on the team. Everyone is given a probabtionary period (what company in this industry wouldn't). I don't understand why ex-employees are so discruntled when they are let go because the called in sick or with a flat tire or every other lame excuse in the book during their first WEEK! This happens all the time.
    You can't find good help these days!
    This is a real law firm and yes Mr Hecker is the only attorney. If you knew him, you would believe that an attorney could be that understanding of peoples problems and so caring about his staff.
    Our floor managers Devon and Jaqualine are a great team and do everything they can to make us more successful. They do on-going training with new hires months after they have started. Mr Blair and Mr Randle, the collection directors are the best in the business, I have learned so much from working with them and know for a fact that when they hire anyone it is based on skill and work ethic alone.
    The one's who write these horrible comments on these sites are frustrated, because they lied in the interview and then couldn't perform the job. As a happy employee I feel sorry for them to feel they have to stoop to this level and hope that they have learned that they should apply for jobs that they actually know how to do. Collections isn't for everyone, so go find a job that suits you and stop slandering a good and reputable company.

    0 Votes
  • Rr
    rreltb Feb 11, 2009

    As a person who tried to make arrangements with this office, i'll just say they can contact the billing department of Exempla Lutheran for a copy of the email i've just sent outlining the attempt I made to make payment arrangements only to be refused unless I paid them 50% of the balance Today. It seems apparent they would prefer to have judgements placed against people so they can garnish paychecks which is ridiculous since that will not get them a lump sum up front either. If the people they harrass had thousands of dollars to "pay today" it's not likely they would be needing to deal with MJ Hecker and Associates.

    2 Votes
  • To
    todaysdate Mar 04, 2009

    I have had some interactions with the Hecker law firm and for the most part have felt comfortable with my dealings. I have dealt with one individual that I feel should be removed from employment, but I ended up with her supervisor who has helped me.

    The bad employee wanted me to pay another $50 on top of what I was already paying. I couldn't do it. Believe me I would if I could. She Of course, got mad at this and the phone call went downhill. I was told by the employee (bad individual) that it is people like me that give her a job. I had asked her to transfer me and she started raising her voice and telling me that she will do what I called in about.

    At this point, I didn't trust her and I told her so. Who knows, she could take my checking information and run with it. So, to make matters worse she hung up on me. I was mad at this point and I went and tried to call a different number. I got her on the phone again. All I wanted to do was to talk to someone else. She asked me if I had anything better to do with my time. I just kindly asked her to transfer me. She hung up again. I called back and then she said " OH my gawd, what is wrong with you". I then got a different number and talked to a professional at the Hecker office. This new lady was a supervisor and after I explained what had transpired, she put me on hold and spoke to the director. The new lady said that they were going to pull the tapes and review what had happened between the bad employee and me.

    I called today to give the information that was requested of me and to follow up with what the firm decided on the bad employee. My guess is that the bad employee is going to continue to be employed, but I am hoping that I do not have to deal with her.

    I know that there is protection from the abuse that transpired between the bad employee and me, but as I was informed today; this is a law firm and the next step is garnishment. I know that I would be in more trouble if a garnishment were to happen, so I guess there is no other way, but to be treated horribly by some individual that has all my information.

    I would give Hecker a 7 on a 10 score. 10 of course is the best.

    0 Votes
  • Ti
    tired Mar 18, 2009

    This place is unbelievable. They are NOT a lawfirm! If you owe them money do not pay without making them settle. I owed them almost a thousand dollars and finally after arguing and telling them I saw all of the complaints about them and that I was going to add to those complaints they really sucked up to me and dropped it by $500 dollars. One person named Lavon who will ALWAYS answer the phone is the most disrespectful unprofessional person I have ever come across. She hung up on me several times and all I wanted was a bill showing me what I was paying for. She said they don't provide that. Obviously some sort of rip off scam. I finally found away around her and spoke directly to MJ Hecker (after she had told me he was in court all day, all week, all month...)and surprise he answered at his desk! He spoke with me briefly and told me he would get back to me about the issue, and he had someone else call me back...what a coward! This place is horrible! If you have to deal with them and they will not settle or make payment arrangements, then let them take you to court. Trust me it's worth the time. Do not trust these people! They are theives!!!

    1 Votes
  • Tx
    TxAg Mar 25, 2009

    I have dealt with MJ Hecker; my experiences were horrible. ALthough I have reached a settlement with them, I believe that someone whether it is FDCPA or Exempla should look into their practices. I will not make accusations about Mr. Hecker because I have never dealt with him. But I have dealt with two very rude people there. The only reason I settled with them is to never have to deal with their harassment techniques.

    First off, Mr. Hecker (if it is really you posting on here) I admire your tenacity for being able to speak up and defend your business. But as a business owner, you should be aware of what type of people you hire and what they are taught to say. I would gladly pay my debt with someone who is respectful and does not threaten to take me to court. With all due respect, if you were going to take me to court for $1600 it would cost you more in court fees than it would have to settle, so I doubt you would have done so. The threats only made me want to delay my payments further. Also, a ridiculous a concept of your employees to ask if I had the whole balance to pay... Seriously, if i had that kind of money I would have health insurance, and would not be in this current situation.

    All we ask Mr. Hecker is for a little respect, one excuse your employee gave me for not respecting me is because "well maam, if you would have paid your bill then you would deserve respect"! It is outright wrong of your employees to give their biased opinions when they know nothing of the situation. If you want your company to remain a good reputable company I suggest that you take a deeper look and start micro-managing the people who use your name MJ Hecker.

    2 Votes
  • Tg
    T Gun Apr 13, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Tell me people????? if someone owed you money and they refused to pay you how would you handle it? Am i to understand if you were just treated with respect you would start paying? Why wouldnt you just pay the hospital? why to you wait until it goes to collections before you start thinking about paying your bill? why is the collector now the bad guy.. are you not the one who ignored the letters and the calls? Why do bills go to collection agencies????????it has always ( amused me mostly ) how everyone complains about bill collectors. do you really think other Americans who take responsibilty for themselves and make every effort to pay there bills prior to going to a collection agency believe all of your horror stories of being a victim. Again... how should you be asked to pay your bill when its one or two years old? should you be asked nicely and told go ahead and pay when you can? MAYBE YOU SHOULD JUST BE HONEST WHEN WALKING INTO A HOSPITAL FOR MEDICAL CARE OR WRITING A CHECK TO A GROCERY STORE AND JUST SAY UP FRONT... I WOULD LIKE YOUR SERVICES BUT WONT BE ABLE TO PAY YOU FOR A YEAR OR TWO... AND SEE WHAT THE RESPONSE IS. Everyone is a victim...PATHETIC!!!

    -2 Votes
  • Mo
    momsaun Apr 22, 2009

    I have gotten many phone calls for a person who does not live at this phone number. I told the representative this only to recieve more phone calls to my home. They clearly don't care about LAWS of the land when asked not to call again if asked. This is a horrible company.

    1 Votes
  • Wo
    wooda Apr 29, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Mj Hecker&Associates, from my brief talk with a person at his office the person threatened me, I will say the person I dealt with was very unprofessional, I will make sure I follow the law, in my opinion they use the threat of a lawsuit to intimidate you, if you feel that Mr Hecker or his company violated your rights, that they are using sleazy tactics file a complaint againt him with the Colorado Supreme Court Attention John Gleason Colorado Supreme Court Attorney Regulation Counsel, http://www.coloradosupremecourt.com/Regulation/Regulation.asp

    DO NOT BE PUSHED AROUND IF THEY ARE INCORRECT OR DISCOURTEOUS TO YOU !

    3 Votes
  • Us
    userA May 28, 2009

    My hecker and associates sent me a letter saying I owe money to a hospital, i called and told them I was a child at the time and never used an ambulance. they asked where i was from i said OK. and later in the conversation i said i have never been to the state where they are from and they said, "oh, it was done in oklahoma. I told them i wasnt living in oklahoma at the time. they said they talked to the hospital and the hospital said i was 18 years old, and i was born in 81...NOT CORRECT! He asked for my social i said, i will not give that out, and he raised his tone of hise voice and said, "I need your social to do my own investigating!" I said i will not give it out. and he said well why did you callme? i told the man because u say i owe money and i dont you have the wrong person. and he was very rude becuase i wouldnt give him my social, i said well ill let my lawyer take care of this situation, he said well i will be cheaper. i said no. he said well on the report i will say u refused to pay. They should not be rude to people. I do not owe any money and i told them im the wrong person, and yet they say well theres nothing to do. it just seems really fraudulant to me. A law firm in maryland a year ago called a friend of mine saying the same thing. they asked for their social and they said well, what do u have on file and they said a differnt social and they said thats not mine, then they said ok bye! so, im going to say this~~~

    NEVER GIVE ANYONE YOUR SOCIAL!!!

    1 Votes
  • Tp
    TPdx Jun 06, 2009

    I received a letter from them saying I owed a creditor G Smiths Investments 896.49 but they will settle for 358.59. First of all I have never heard of G Smiths Investments. So I called up and spoke with a Steve who wouldn't tell me who this company was. I asked for documentation to be sent showing I had done business with company and what dates for what amounts and he told me that information wasn't available for me to see. How did I want to go ahead and settle on the account. I asked him if he received a very vague stating he owed money would that he didn't know the reason or what it was for would he just go ahead and say "Geez, if this letter says I owe money then I best go ahead and pay!" He became rude and started yelling and threatening me. I told him to go ahead do what he feels he must do and I will do the same. He hung up on me. I do hope that companies like this really take a deep hit in this economy!

    1 Votes
  • Te
    tet69 Jun 23, 2009

    This is for TPdx. If they can't prove you owe the debt then they can not collect on the debt. You have a right to copies of the proof they say they have. Watch them, because some of these credit collection businesses have even change dates on old debts that are passed the statute of limitations. These companies are called "Scavenger Collection Agency". These are companies that buy up older and mostly uncollectable debts for a fraction of there cost and are notorious for using illegal and unethical methods to collect a"time barred" Debt.

    Everybody has finacial problems at one time or another. You as a consumer have legal rights to protect you from illegal and unethical methods used by
    some of these debt collection agencies. There is a lot of info. on line about about debt collection. Learn your rights!!

    1 Votes
  • In
    in_denver Aug 12, 2009

    MJ Hecker sent us a letter stating that we owed $80.57 for a supposed $70 owed to a plumber (who had declared bankruptcy).

    The plumber did in fact come to our house for an "evaluation" that cost $125...don't get me started. In any case we paid with a check for $55, and he billed our house warranty company (First American) for $70. 2 weeks later, First American paid him $70.

    But somehow, MJ Hecker and Associates think that we owe them $80.57 ($70 + interest and fee).

    We tried to call and resolve this issue, but
    1) They would hang up on us.
    2) They refused to talk to the First American claims resolution people (who called MJ Hecker in an attempt to communicate about the $70 that had in fact been paid).

    Overall it appears that MJ Hecker and Associates are no different than school-yard bullies. They say "You owe us money. Give us your money" without any justification. Then when one attempts to resolve the situation, they just try to strong arm you, hoping that you think it will be cheaper to pay them than to get to the bottom of things.

    2 Votes
  • Ev
    evetsrialb Aug 21, 2009

    Most of you people as as dishonest with yourselves as you are the people you owe money to...These sob stories are a joke and you know what youre writing is so slanted its absurd...If MJ Hecker and Associates were as illegal as you losers like to present, theyd have been shut down and Mr Hecker disbarred long ago...Be honest, get jobs, pay your bills and quit actling like a bunch of victims...The victims are the bussiness you ripped off...

    -4 Votes
  • Mj
    MJ Heckler Aug 21, 2009

    evetsrialb, you look like the loser here, I have a good case against MJ Hecker and thanks to you I will be pursuing a civil case against them for money damages and will also be filing a FTC complaint along with it, they claimed I owed money I did not owe I was correct and the staff at MJ Hecker was wrong, see idiots like you who believe that when a ### debt collector says you owe money, you must, well I did not. So smoke that in your debt collector loser pipe.

    3 Votes
  • Tg
    T Gun Sep 04, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    wow !!! that last comment was filled with all kinds of substanial facts. Now I clearly see why your running out to file a lawsuit. I think I will run out and file a frivolous law suit against you for being a ###! You have to love the anonymous postings of losers!!! It gives all the other losers hope that their not alone.

    -2 Votes
  • Tg
    TGuninsane Sep 04, 2009

    Its Ok Tgun, I already have everything I need to file a suit, I have a year from the infractions per FDCPA, so keep talking and spewing your ### debt collector garbage, seems to me that you might work for the debt collector in question, MJ Hecker did in fact claim I owed money I did not owe. Its loser like yourself that think because debt collectors make false allegations, that automatically you must owe the money, I also like how you post here anonymously and talk crap. I think you're the true loser on this forum and in real life.

    3 Votes
  • Tg
    T Gun Sep 18, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I guess I'd better graciously bow out of this little on-line forum for victims. I have clearly met my match and have been called out for what I truly am. I wish all of you well in your dealings with collection agencies and collection law firms.

    -2 Votes
  • Mj
    MJ Heckler Sep 19, 2009

    Remember people if MJ Hecker has violated your rights.
    Congress passed a law called the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act ("FDCPA") in 1977 to protect consumers from abusive collectors. The FDCPA says, in effect, that consumer debt collectors must follow some basic guidelines when dealing with consumers. The following types of behavior by a debt collector toward a consumer over the telephone, in writing, or in person will likely be a violation of the FDCPA:

    Disrespectful
    Undignified
    Unfair, or
    Untrue

    If you feel that you have been treated in such a manner, you may have a right to sue the debt collector and get money back from THEM for their misconduct.

    If a debt collector has left a voice mail for you or discussed your matter with co-workers or other family members they may have violated the FDCPA.

    We are happy to review your situation and let you know if you have a case. There is no cost to you.

    If you are successful in an FDCPA claim, you can get up to $1, 000.00 for the violation plus any actual damages you may have suffered. The best part is the collector will have to pay your attorney fees.

    To file a complaint against MJ Hecker in Colorado http://www.ago.state.co.us/CADC/CADCmain.cfm.html
    http://www.ago.state.co.us/CADC/PDF/cabcmplform.pdf
    Collection Agency Consumer Complaints & Information [protected]
    Also to File a complaint about Attorney MJ HECKER
    The Court has also established procedures regarding the investigation of alleged unethical conduct. The procedures are designed to provide a thorough and objective review of the attorney's conduct, and to resolve the matter in a way that is fair to the complainant and to the attorney.

    To file a complaint, you may contact the Office of Attorney Regulation Counsel by calling [protected]

    Do not let any attorney bully you if MJ Heckler has wronged you fight back.
    TGun just because a collection agency claims someone owes money does not make it true and no coollection agency has the right to treat people like trash, you need to learn that the hard way.

    If you need a Colorado Lawyer referral to see if you have a case against MJ Hecker go here http://www.fairdebtlawyers.com/?gclid=CNS65PqG_pwCFSC7sgodGCqYbA

    0 Votes
  • Ev
    evetsrialb Sep 22, 2009

    I love it when people that dont pay their bills and delude themselves into beleiving their own lies use words like "Scammer" or "###" or "Debt Collector Garbage"...Remeber folks when youre pointing that finger at others there are 3 more pointing right back at you...The pot calling the kettle black...People in glass houses should not throw stones...Thou shalt not steal...etc...

    -2 Votes
  • Wo
    wooda Sep 22, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I love it when people that work for collection agencies try and paint innocent people as bad. Hey Mr Debt collector stop violating peoples rights and be fair then people will not have issues with you.

    Remember if MJ Hecker has violated your rights under the CFDCPA or FDCPA fight back do not be intimidated.

    The Fair Debt Collection Practices Act, FDCPA, dictates how debt collectors can act when collecting a debt from you. These are things a debt collector can't do. If you need to reference the law, citations have been provided.

    1. Ask you to pay more than you owe
    The collector cannot misrepresent the amount you owe. [15 USC 1692e] § 807(2)(a)2. Ask you to pay interest, fees, or expenses that are not allowed by law
    The collector can't add on any extra fees that your original credit or loan agreement doesn't allow. [15 USC 1692f] § 808(1)3. Call repeatedly or continuously
    The FDCPA considers repeat calls as harassment. [15 USC 1692d] § 806(5)4. Use obscene, profane, or abusive language
    Using this kind of language is considered harassment. [15 USC 1692d] § 806(2)5. Call before 8:00 am or after 9:00 pm
    Calls during these times are considered harassment. [15 USC 1692c] § 805(a)(1)6. Call at times the collector knew or should know are inconvenient
    Calls at these times are considered harassment. [15 USC 1692c] § 805(a)(1)7. Use or threaten to use violence if you don't pay the debt
    Collectors can't threaten violence against you. [15 USC 1692d] § 806(1)8. Threaten action they cannot or will not take
    Collectors can't threaten to sue or file charges against you, garnish wages, take property, cause job loss, or ruin your credit when the collector cannot or does not intend to take the action. [15 USC 1692e] § 807(5)9. Illegally inform a third party about your alleged debt
    Unless you have expressly given permision, collectors are not allowed to inform anyone about your debt except:
    your attorney
    the creditor
    the creditor's attorney
    a credit reporting agency
    your spouse
    your parent (if you are a minor)
    [15 USC 1692c] § 805(b)10. Repeatedly call a third party to get your location information
    The collector can only contact a third party once unless it has reason to believe the information previously provided is false. [15 USC 1692b] § 804(1)
    Contact you at work knowing your employer doesn't approve
    A collector is not allowed to contact you at work if you’ve let them know your employer doesn’t approve of these calls. [15 USC 1692c] § 805(a)(3)
    12. Fail to send a written debt validation notice
    Within five days of the collector's initial communication, it must send you a notice include the amount of the debt, name of the creditor, and notice of your right to dispute the debt within 30 days. [15 USC 1692g] § 809(a)13. Ignore your written request to verify the debt and continue to collect
    A collector can't continue to collect on a debt after you've made a written request to verify the debt as long as the request was made within 30 days of the collector's written notice. [15 USC 1692g] § 809(b)14. Continue to collect on the debt before providing verification
    After receiving your written dispute, the collector must stop collecting on the debt until you have receieved verification. [15 USC 1692g] § 809(b)15. Continue collection attempts after receiving a cease communication notice
    If you make a written request for the collector to cease communication, it can only contact you one more time, via mail to let you know one of the following: that further efforts to collect the debt are terminated, that certain actions may be taken by the collector, or that the collector is definitely going to take certain actions. [15 USC 1692c] § 805(c)

    Do not let MJ Hecker scare you into paying a debt you do not owe
    To file a complaint, you may contact the Office of Attorney Regulation Counsel by calling [protected], or toll free [protected]. Attention John Gleason

    0 Votes
  • Tg
    T Gun Sep 23, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I agree !!! Do not let M.J. Hecker or any Law Firm or Collection agency scare or bully you into paying a DEBT YOU DO NOT OWE!!! But lets not broaden the scope of whats owed and whats not. I Believe what the diligent individual posting lately is talking about is actually debt collectors speaking with people ( who I hope were helpful in determining this ) that are not the debtor in question. There is a big difference between people who dont feel like they owe the bill because of a contractual dispute or dispute with services provided and talking to the wrong person all together. So if its not you DONT PAY!!! If you dispute the debt do follow the steps outlined for you in the F.D.C.P.A. above. However the creditors do have rights as well... and if you refuse to discuss your dispute or be an active member of working it out then you will more than likely find your self dealing not only with the bill it self but the cost of attorney fees and court cost if its ruled in the creditors favor. It has been my experience working in the civil area of this business that what most think are legitimate reason not to pay end up costing them more than it would have to just work out the dispute or make payments. Again I strongly urge you to discuss your dispute with someone qualified to help you... listening to friends, family or anyone for that matter that is not qualified to counsel you is never smart when dealing with anything!
    M.J. Hecker has been a collection attorney in CO. for 20 years. I believe if he was engaging in shady practices he would have had his license revoked by now. To believe otherwise mocks the very laws and legal system allowing you your rights to be protected. He also has left his personel office line on this forum for anyone to discuss any issues they may have with him or his employees. If you truly have a complaint try giving him the courtesy of a phone call and giving him a chance to resolve it.

    -1 Votes
  • Wo
    wooda Sep 23, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    TGun Google search MJ Hecker You will see he has been sued in federal court for FDCPA violations, also look at all the complaints he has all over the web. Where there is smoke there is fire.

    If you have had have been wronged by MJ Hecker
    Step 1: Know Your Rights

    • Constantly calling you at work when you have asked/told them not to.

    • Revealing your debt to third parties.

    • Leaving messages and not revealing they are a debt collector.

    • Threatening a lawsuit when they do not intend on bringing one.

    • Claiming that you can or will be arrested if you do not pay the debt.

    • Claiming that a judgment will occur immediately if you do not pay.

    • Claiming that they can garnish your wages if you do not pay.

    • Claiming that they will put a lien on your house if you do not pay.


    Write out a detailed summary of all violations including the date of the calls, the collection agency, the name of the person calling and the phone numbers they called from.

    Save copies of all letters and notices from collection agencies.

    Save all phone messages and voice mails.

    Make note of your conversations with these bill collectors .

    The FDCPA allows you to collect (if successful):

    $1, 000 of Statutory Damages .

    Actual damages (you lose your job, or sustain some physical or mental injuries as a result of the unlawful collection practices) .

    Attorneys fees and Costs .

    Here is a link to the FDCPA http://www.ftc.gov/bcp/edu/pubs/consumer/credit/cre27.pdf

    Do not allow a debt collector to violate your rights.

    1 Votes
  • Tg
    T Gun Sep 23, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Is this a personnel issue wooda or a monetary one for you. What is your benefit for being so extreme?
    Again I would urge anyone with an issue with any agency or law firm that isn't erroneous to do what they feel necessary to protect their rights. Be informed and then be an active member towards resolving your debt!
    Wooda do you have an issue with M.J. Hecker & Associates, P.C. ? I would be happy to resolve it with you. We record all of our calls here and I would be willing to review any dealings with us you've had where you feel we have violated the law:)

    -2 Votes
  • Wo
    wooda Sep 23, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    T Gun. You do not like people posting consumer rights ? I want to make sure if anyone has issues with collection agencies that they know what rights they have. collection agencies need to make sure they hold themselves to The law.
    Remember folks if a collection agency violates your rights, fight back hold them to the letter of the law.
    The FDCPA and the CFDCPA is there for a reason, whether collection agencies like it or not.

    Remember If you have had an issue with an Attorney/debt collector and you believe he/she has violated the CFDCPA or The FDCPA or the CFCRA or FCRA.

    Complain to the Colorado Supreme Court
    Office of Attorney Regulation1560 Broadway, Suite 1800, Denver, Colorado 80202.
    phone number is [protected], or toll free [protected].

    Collection Agency Consumer Complaints & Information [protected]
    Consumer Complaint Line - in Denver and Out of State - [protected] Outside of Denver but in Colorado - [protected]
    Also the FTC
    http://www.ftc.gov/bcp/edu/pubs/consumer/credit/cre18.shtm
    What practices are off limits for debt collectors?
    Harassment. Debt collectors may not harass, oppress, or abuse you or any third parties they contact. For example, they may not:

    use threats of violence or harm;
    publish a list of names of people who refuse to pay their debts (but they can give this information to the credit reporting companies);
    use obscene or profane language; or
    repeatedly use the phone to annoy someone.
    False statements. Debt collectors may not lie when they are trying to collect a debt. For example, they may not:

    falsely claim that they are attorneys or government representatives;
    falsely claim that you have committed a crime;
    falsely represent that they operate or work for a credit reporting company;
    misrepresent the amount you owe;
    indicate that papers they send you are legal forms if they aren’t; or
    indicate that papers they send to you aren’t legal forms if they are.
    Debt collectors also are prohibited from saying that:

    you will be arrested if you don’t pay your debt;
    they’ll seize, garnish, attach, or sell your property or wages unless they are permitted by law to take the action and intend to do so; or
    legal action will be taken against you, if doing so would be illegal or if they don’t intend to take the action.
    Debt collectors may not:

    give false credit information about you to anyone, including a credit reporting company;
    send you anything that looks like an official document from a court or government agency if it isn’t; or
    use a false company name.
    Unfair practices. Debt collectors may not engage in unfair practices when they try to collect a debt. For example, they may not:

    try to collect any interest, fee, or other charge on top of the amount you owe unless the contract that created your debt – or your state law – allows the charge;
    deposit a post-dated check early;
    take or threaten to take your property unless it can be done legally; or
    contact you by postcard.

    To file a complaint or to get free information on consumer issues, visit ftc.gov or call toll-free, 1-877-FTC-HELP [protected]); TTY: [protected]. The FTC enters consumer complaints into the Consumer Sentinel Network, a secure online database and investigative tool used by hundreds of civil and criminal law enforcement agencies in the U.S. and abroad.

    Do not be a victim of over aggressive abusive debt collectors.

    1 Votes
  • Lo
    lollipop1972 Oct 01, 2009

    haha TGun you seemed to be such a smart a** at first knowing you was working for the company in question which every one knew that and i bet how you responded at first is the same way you respond to someone on the phone. Now that they are putting up all the legal stuff and what people can do to stop you harassing them all of a sudden you want to be helpful something else you probably do on the phone. I love it when you have a debt collector on the phone, and you tell them you are recording them, and if they keep talking you will have to assume that they are giving you permission to record them, they hang up or they try to say i don't give you permission to record me, but if you say it over and over " if you stay on the phone you are giving me the permission to record you if not please hang up" ...hahaha and they will hang up every time...because they know how they talk and they know they are breaking the laws...what a bunch of dirt bags...


    and momsaun and evetsrialb you both are just total idiots and I'm sure you two work for the company as well, you sure wouldn't be getting so worked up if you didn't...but you two are the losers here. And one day lets hope all your luck runs out, and you have to go through something such as other people on here, and lets hope that your family and friends are not around to bale you out. The way you talk we would have to assume you have never fallen on hard times, but I'm pretty sure most of us would also have to assume that mommy or daddy is there if you have. But lets hope you have a injury that prevents you from working like you did or not being able to work ever again, lets hope maybe you come down with a disease such as cancer or congestive heart failure, or have a stroke that prevents you from working, or how about losing a limb or two, and you are not able to pick up that phone no more to harass people any more, lets hope that maybe a hurricane wipes out your house and you are expected to pay some debt for a cell phone or credit card instead of feeding your kids or putting a roof back over their heads. Lets hope that your car catches fire and you have to spend a year or so in the hospital and then the hospital bill comes. Lets hope you bend over one day and your back gives out and you lose your job from missing work from going to the doctors all the time, or are in pain, and then you eventually have to have surgery, lets hope when you are starving and only have 5.00 that you pay your late bill with it.
    Lets hope that your husbands, wife's, boyfriends or girlfriends are cheating on you and leave you for someone else and take everything you own while you are at work and you don't even have a phone when you get home or no money in the bank. Lets hope that one day you will understand how some things happen to people that just can't be helped.

    1 Votes
  • Tg
    T Gun Oct 01, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    lmao.. LET HOPE!

    -1 Votes
  • To
    Toddm Oct 21, 2009

    Lmao!! People would you pay out money to simply anyone that calls you randomly and spews forth that you owe them money for some mysterious debt? The so called "law offices" of MJ Hecker is but merely a scam and the most simple remedy for dealing with these losers is to either let their lame calls go to voice mail and then delete or to answer without ever clarifying your name and laugh at them and hang up... This piss poor predatorial collection agency has zero power over your life and in no way whatsoever can affect your life other than phone calls to you bearing impotent threats so laugh at them.. You owe these losers nothing since they are third party that purchased a debt for pennies on the dollar from your original creditor and now that the original creditor has charged off the debt it is no longer valid and the damage is done to your credit already. These scammy ### are trying to get you to pay them monies that you simply do not owe period. Its a scam and nothing less!!! Todd

    2 Votes
  • I think that LaDonna Lewis is the best collector at this Law Firm...To all who disagree kick rocks...if you ever need payments call LaDonna Lewis is the BEST!!!

    -1 Votes
  • Ho
    hoekenga Apr 13, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Martin Hecker is a parasite who feeds off anyone he can. I suppose it is because he is running these schemes across state lines and that most people don't take the time to look up his background. A quick google search (complaints against Martin Hecker) shows over 60, 000 hits for this individual. I could not find any information validating his claim to be an attorney here in Florida. The Colorado AG's office shows him as suspended since 2007. I would suggest you contact your state's AG office if you are contacted by this character. He goes by a number of aliases including "Dan", online as "MJ HECKER" or "evetsrialb". One quick look at his writing skills and you can tell he's no lawyer. His office is located in Colorado at 4704 Harlan St., Denver, Colorado 80212. He lists this as his residence but it is not. He and the people that work for him keep their real identities and information hidden. If anyone knows where he resides, employee names and addresses, pending law suits against him, states where he has been suspended, or other interesting information, please let us know. As soon as we have this information we will be sharing it. I know there are a lot of individuals looking for restitution so "good luck".

    1 Votes
  • Ma
    Matt from Cleveland Jun 03, 2010

    I came across this site and I am appalled that they treat people this way. I doubt any person on here didnt pay a bill because they didnt want to. Things come up. The responses from this so called law firm (nine times out of ten, they have one bottom feeder with a minor law degree and a fancy name to scare people) certainly are not professional. My advice to everyone is to look up the Fair Debt Collection Act and read it. Know your rights, they must show you proof they have rights to collect the debt, they must be professional, they CAN NOT threaten you in anyway, they also may not call you at work or twenty times a day. I showed a few friends with REAL law degrees (one of which graduated with honors from Harvard Law) this and they just were in awe and slightly upset that this person calls himself a lawyer. What a shame

    1 Votes
  • Ni
    NikkiLee80 Jun 04, 2010

    Here's what I have learned after dealing with MJ Hecker and Associates. Mr. Hecker IS a licensed attorney, however their Colorado firm cannot sue unless they retain an attorney of their own in order to take you to court. The man I talked to was extremely rude to me, though I did not try to argue with him, I only tried to have him explain the costs to me. Turns out, we found the receipt from when the debt was paid anyhow, so I doubt there is much they can do from here on out. I have had my fair share of money troubles over the years, and have always been willing to admit to my wrongs and make them right by paying my debts. There are times when honest people make stupid choices or over look things that they should not have. Companies suffer for this all the time so it is reasonable that they should try to rectify their damages... however... I can say from personal experience you can get alot farther with people who owe you money when you are willing to work with them. People have needs like food and housing that need to be met and they will address these things first before giving any thought to demand for payment they cannot make. There are also times when no matter how patient you are, people will take advantage and screw you over- THIS is the time to stop talking and take drastic action- NOT the very first time you contact a person about their debt. My advice to anyone is KEEP CAREFUL RECORDS of your debt and your bank accounts. KEEP RECEIPTS- even if the debt has been payed for years... and before paying any debt, do research... MAKE SURE THE DEBT IS VALID. If it is, take care of it ASAP. and KNOW YOUR RIGHTS, AS WELL AS THE RIGHTS OF THE PERSON TO WHOM THE DEBT IS OWED. Just google it. Read up. Be honest and realistic, and don't take abuse from someone who does not even know you. 99% of decent collection agencies will make an effort to make arrangements with you if you are up front and do not avoid them.. I hope this helps.

    0 Votes
  • Wo
    wooda Jun 04, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Too bad only 1% collection agencies are decent.

    Notification
    Within five working days after you are first contacted, the debt collector must send you a written notification of the
    amount of debt and the name of the creditor who referred the debt to the collector. This notice should inform you of
    your right to dispute the debt within 30 days after you receive the notice.
    A debt collector must disclose in the first communication with you that he or she is attempting to collect a debt and
    that any information obtained will be used for that purpose. If the debt collector’s first communication with you is
    by phone, the debt collector must also include the above disclosure in its first written communication with you as
    well. In all subsequent communication with you, the debt collector must identify himself or herself.
    Collection Practices
    A debt collector may:
    • Only use business-like language. This prohibits threats of violence or profane, obscene or abusive language.
    • Only report your account to a qualified credit-reporting agency.
    • Deposit a check on or after the date on the check. If a check is post-dated by more than five days, the debt
    collector must notify you in writing three to 10 days before depositing the post-dated check.
    • Add charges that are provided for by law or by your original agreement with the creditor.
    A debt collector may not:
    • Make repetitive or excessively frequent phone calls to annoy or harass you.
    • Misrepresent his or her identity.
    • Misrepresent the legal status of your debt, falsely accuse you of criminal activity, or indicate that any document
    is in legal process if it is not.
    • Threaten to take any action that is illegal or that the debt collector does not actually intend to take.
    Collectors’ Rights
    • Contact you by phone only between 8 a.m. and 9 p.m., unless you give the debt collector permission to call at
    other times.
    • Call you at work, unless you inform the debt collector that your employer prohibits it.
    • Contact you by mail so long as there is no reference to the debt on the envelope.
    • Contact people who aren’t directly involved in your debt to get information on where you live and work, as long
    as there is no communication about the debt. Collectors must state their name and must give the name of their
    employer if the person specifically asks. A debt collector may contact each person once, unless it is believed
    that the person gave the debt collector incorrect or incomplete information at the time, but now has complete or
    updated information.
    • Contact you directly unless the debt collector has been informed that an attorney regarding the debt represents
    you. (You should tell the agency how to reach your attorney).
    • Ask for post-dated checks if permitted by state law. If state law permits a collector to ask for a post-dated
    check, the debt collector must adhere to all state and federal laws when depositing the post-dated checks.
    • Accept only payment in full. Most collectors will, however, accept reasonable plans for payment.
    Your Rights
    Within 30 days of being contacted by a debt collector, you may notify the agency in writing that you dispute the
    debt or any part of the debt. The debt collector must then obtain proof of the debt and stop all collection efforts until
    the proof is mailed to you.
    You may send a written request that the collector stop all contact with you. The debt collector may then contact you
    only once more, to advise you as to what legal or other action the collector or creditor intends to take, or to inform
    you that you will no longer be contacted. Be aware, however, of the possible consequences of invoking this
    provision. Once you have stopped communication with a debt collector, the collector may initiate legal action,
    depending on the type, circumstances and amount of the debt, the policies of the creditor and the laws in your state.
    If a court enters a judgment against you, the creditor may pursue remedies such as repossession, liens or wage
    garnishments.
    The cease communication provisions can protect you from an abusive debt collector. It won’t, however, resolve the
    problem of the unpaid debt.

    1 Votes
  • Kb
    KB1985 Jun 25, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hello. For the past 2 months i have been dealing with this place. Legal or not, they are still a collection agency/attorney office and have us by the you know whats. we owe money. period. so whether its fair or not fair or whatever, point is, they're doing their job. The first person i spoke to was nasty and agressive and was even cruel at times and threatened me right off the bat. which i agree, is poor business dealings. but theres always a rotten apple everwhere you call. since then i have been dealing with a man named Cody. He is extremely polite and professional. He explains things and allows you to still keep your dignity and feel like a human being which is hard to find when times are tough and your bills go into collections. So i overall have to disagree, if you talk to the right person there, you get the right answers :)

    0 Votes
  • Wo
    wooda Jun 25, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    KB1985

    Mj Hecker had you by the what ???

    Why would you have to put up with rude and nasty ???

    KB1985 Are you and Cody dating now ???

    0 Votes
  • Kb
    KB1985 Jun 26, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    no no im just saying that there was an actual nice person there that helped me. you dont have to get mean. jeez im sorry i said anything. grow up.

    -2 Votes
  • Wo
    wooda Jun 26, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Know your rights

    A federal statute known as the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act (often called the "FDCPA"), 15 USC 1692, gives you specific legal rights to sue debt collectors who unlawfully threaten, berate, intimidate or harass you; call you during odd hours, make false representations about the debt or their intentions, or otherwise act in ways proscribed by the act (and their are many). False statements may include (and this list is just a small example) threats to:

    * Attach your wages when unlawful or not intended-this includes threats to take more wages that is permitted by the federal limitation (wage attachment for a credit card debt, a non-student loan or for an obligation that is not support is generally illegal in Pennsylvania, however, now that law has been expanded to rent and lease damages in some cases-you should check the statute to be sure);
    * Contact your employer about the debt;
    * Call you "everyday until the debt is paid;"
    * Sell the debt to another company for the purposes of continuing collection on a time-barred debt;
    * Contact neighbors about the debt;
    * Contact the Department of Homeland Security about your alien status;
    * Threaten imprisonment or criminal punishment;
    * Report a financed vehicle as "stolen" because you missed one or more vehicle payments;
    * File or threaten to file criminal bad check charges on a post dated check that the collector solicited from you;
    * Immediately evict (by an agent for a landlord); lockout, or seize personal property where such relief is limited by state law;
    * Sue, where no suit is intended, e.g. a collector requested "settlement prior to possible legal action" where the collection agency had no authority to sue, or to retain counsel. This action was held to be deceptive and violative of the FDCPA by a federal court in Connecticut.
    * Or, a threat implying that the collection agency has multiple employees or investigators working to collect the debt, where only one or two people work for the agency.
    * Collect or sue for "collection costs, " "attorney's fees, " (see also below) interest not pre-agreed to in excess of that allowed by statute, "fines, " or any other fee in excess of the actual amount due, unless the original agreement provides for the amount the collector threatens to collect. For instance, the collector cannot threaten to add attorney's fees or his fees where the agreement you signed does not specifically provide for them. Let's say you went to the dentist and just signed consent form and a medical history. You agreed to pay for all charges if your insurance did not. Nothing is mentioned about anything else. The collector cannot add any other fees or even and especially, his costs, late fees or other charges.
    * Add "collection costs, attorney's fees" and similar additional charges have also been held to be deceptive and misleading, because they do not state exactly what debt is being sought.
    * Sue or bring any kind of legal action where the threat is not followed through (i.e. a scare tactic), or any number or other threats designed to demoralize, humiliate, degrade; embarrass or intimidate a debtor into payment.
    * Or any threat where the collector says he is legal counsel or an attorney/lawyer when he is not;
    * Or a threat or attempt to mislead a debtor that a claim will be transferred to an attorney or separate department of a collector (e.g. "This will be transferred to our legal department for further action"). Letters misrepresenting that the account has been transferred to an attorney may include an attorney's letterhead with threats of legal action. Have you ever received a letter from a lawyer who purportedly collects for a major creditor? Has the lawyer been out-of-state? Has the lawyer threatened to sue if payment was not made.

    Contact John Gleason
    Colorado Supreme Court -Office of Attorney Regulation

    The address is 1560 Broadway, Suite 1800, Denver, Colorado 80202. They are located in the Denver Post Building on the corner of 16th and Broadway in downtown Denver. Office hours are Monday through Friday, 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.

    The phone number is [protected], or toll free [protected].

    1 Votes
  • Su
    sueyourass Sep 20, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    On March 3, 2008, the Administrator of the Colorado Collection Agency Board issued a Stipulated Order denying M.J. Hecker & Associates, LLC's application for a Colorado collection agency license. The Administrator and Applicant agree to entry of this Stipulated Order Denying Application for a Colorado Collection Agency License. The application was denied for the reasons stated below:

    The applicant was previously licensed as a Colorado collection agency on February 7, 2006. The license automatically expired on July 2, 2007 for failure to renew the license. On August 27, 2007, according to the records of the Colorado Secretary of State, the applicant converted from a professional corporation to a limited liability company. During the fifteen (15) months that the applicant was licensed as a collection agency, eighteen (18) complaints were received alleging violations of the Colorado Fair Debt Collection Practices Act (CFDCPA). After the applicant's collection agency license expired, six (6) additional complaints were received alleging violations occurring during the licensure period. From these twenty-four (24) complaints, disciplinary action for CFDCPA violations were taken five (5) times:

    1. January 29, 2007 - Letter of Admonition for violation of [protected]) & (1)(i), C.R.S. (demanding treble damages and attorneys fees on returned checks prior to entry of judgment and that were beyond the statute of limitations).

    2. March 5, 2007 - Letter of Admonition for violation of [protected])(a), C.R.S. (failure to cease communications after receipt of consumer's written notice of refusal to pay).

    3. April 12, 2007 - Letter of Admonition for violation of [protected])(a) & 2, and [protected]), C.R.S. (failure to cease collection activities after receipt of consumer's written dispute and prior to verification of the debt, and continued written communications after receipt of consumer's letter to cease correspondence).

    4. April 13, 2007 - Letter of Admonition for violation of [protected])(b)(I), [protected])(a) & (i), and [protected]), C.R.S. (demanding treble damages and attorney's fees on a returned check prior to entry of judgment and for failure to validate debt after initial communication with the consumer).

    5. February 25, 2008 - Letter of Admonition for violation of [protected])(a), C.R.S. (failure to cease communications after receipt of consumer's written notice of refusal to pay). Although the complaint was received and the admonishment issued after the applicant's license expired, the violative actions occurred during the period of licensure.

    The applicant's current collection agency license application was signed by Martin J. Hecker on January 21, 2008. Pursuant to [protected])(d)(III), C.R.S., question #13 of the license application asks if the applicant or any of its principals was subject to any legal, administrative, or disciplinary action by Colorado or any other state. Prior to the signature line is the following warning in bold-face type: "Statements made herein are made under oath. False statements may be punishable as second-degree perjury." Despite the four letters of admonition issued to the applicant prior to the date of the application, the applicant answered question #13 in the negative.

    In addition, question #10 of the applicant's current collection agency license application asks the applicant to list, and submit personal affidavits for its executive officers. Question #6 on the personal affidavit and question #10 of the collections manager application ask if the individual has been or is presently an employee, officer or owner of any collection agency whose license was subject to any disciplinary or adverse action in Colorado or any other state. Prior to the signature line is the following warning in bold-face type: "Statements made herein are made under oath. False statements may be punishable as second-degree perjury." Despite the four letters of admonition issued to the applicant prior to the date of the application and during their tenure as officers, Mr. Hecker, Mr. Jeffery L. Valverde answered question #6 in the negative, and Mr. Glenn Randle answered question #10 in the negative.

    The applicant states that neither it nor its officers or collections manager intended to provide false or misleading information but that the failure to disclose prior discipline was a mistake and oversight.

    The Administrator is authorized to deny a license application if grounds exist that would justify disciplinary action under [protected], C.R.S., for failure to meet the requirements of [protected], C.R.S., or if the applicants or its principals have fraudulently attempted to obtain a collection agency license.

    The applicants disciplinary record of five letters of admonition for activities that occurred during the fifteen (15) months it was licensed as a Colorado collection agency demonstrates that the applicant is unable or unwilling to comply with the consumer protection provisions and regulatory requirements of the Colorado Fair Debt Collection Practices Act. For these reasons, and pursuant to the Administrator's authority the application is denied.


    I have filed suit against this d-bag and will win damages. They are now bieng investigated by the Colorado attorney regulations commision activly and in 3 weeks have not responded to their inquirys, nor have they responded to my complaint to the BBB. Help stop this kind of quackery by gathering a class action against Marty Hecker and his firm.

    1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions