The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Lucas Law CenterFraudulent company

R

In October 2008 I answered their advertising on KGO radio 810 (San Francisco) about Loan Modification. The ad stated that after a reasonably 'low cost forensic audit' that they would use errors, untruths, and mistakes etc. in my loan documents to negotiate with my lender and modify the loan according to my income and new lower house values. Rick Nelson sent me forms to have notarized and sent back to him. Also a list of items needed for the audit.

A couple of weeks later Valerie Sandoval called with what she called a 'grocery list' of additional items that she said were needed for completing the forensic audit. I had to get some of them from various banks and when I finlly got them all and sent them to her by Fed Ex I never did get the requested acknowledgment from her or the law firm. And I heard nothing more from Rick Nelson.

In December his personal phone number was answered by Adam Zucker, who did not know who I was, and knew nothing about my case. No one knew anything about shat had been done so far (if anything). My bank (Indymac bank) would give me no information and said they did not have to contact my attorney.

Today, Jan. 5, 2009, I received in the mail 6 copies (3 certified and 3 regular mail) of a foreclosure notice dated Dec. 10, 2008. In disgust I called Lucas Law Center and demanded to know the status of my case. A manager, Frank Sellars took my call, left me on hold for over 20 minutes and I called back and talked to Craig Williams. He said to call Adam Zucker every 15 minutes today until I would get hold of him.

Adam Zucker still did not know who I was! Then he said that Frank Sullivan was trying to call me and asked what number should he call me at. He still could not or would not tell me anything that had been done, but announced loudly for others to apparently hear: 'Send his money back to him'. And told me that I should get it in a few days. End of story???

Responses

  • Fu
    fuzucker Feb 13, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Adam zucker is a complete scam artist. He now works at a mortgage company after having scammed people out of thousands.

    0 Votes
  • Fu
    fuzucker Feb 13, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Adam Zucker is now working at a mortgage company up to the same tricks. He is an unlicensed individual as he tried to sell me a loan, and it didn't fly, because I went to the www.nmlsconsumer.org website. This scam artist knows no limits. This guy should be put in jail.

    0 Votes
  • He
    HemiVic Nov 23, 2009

    I too was scammed by The Lucas Law Center and adam Zucker of $3500.00. I hired this scam company in October 2008 and paid them up an up front fee of $3500.00. After not hearing anything for a few months, I called adam Zucker and requested that my $3500.00 fee be refunded. He was extremely apprehensiveabout issuing me a refund. A few days later I called the Lucas law Center and discovered that the FTC shut them down for fraud and appointed Robb Evans and Associates to take control of the companies assests. Hopefully we can receive our money back! www.robbevans.com

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    Shirley Rochon Aug 23, 2009

    Adam Zucker, I am so disappointed in you. Why didn't you tell me that Lucas Law Firm was a scam company. I know all of your Mother's friends. She must be rolling all over in her grave. Now I have wasted two months to recover my home and at 63 years of age with no trust in anyone.

    0 Votes
  • Al
    Alan and Julie Aug 03, 2009

    We also worked with Lucas Law (If you want to call it that) $3500 and 6 months latermy loan got modified temporarily with an arm that continues to go up 1% every 6 months and Paul Lucas says "You Should Be Greatful for what I did for you"... Well, I am so greatful to him... we are loosing our home anyway... so Thanks Lucas Law for nothing... and the 2 comments above that are positive... he is a smart man to do business with friends that will put positive comments on this page for him because he is completely dishonest... but he is a very rich dishonest man...

    0 Votes
  • Ta
    Taken for 3000 bucks Jul 29, 2009

    I was also taken. I paid Paul Lucas Law Center my $3000.00 up front to get a $500.00 dicount and I mail off everthinhg they had requested on there froms to a Julie Frisch Case manager back in June of 2009. They said it takes about 3 months from start to finish. Now this is July 29th, 2009 and the office is closed down by the FTC. No one is returning our c alls and now their voice mail box is full and no messages can be left. No one from the office either by phone or e-mail has contacted us about our loan or return of our money. We called Wachivia on July 28, 09 and they have never received anything from them. They also stated that they do not work with third party. They stated that they do not do loan reductions etc. What they will do for us is a 40 year loan, lower the interest rate (?) and put our missed payments to the end of the loan. That's it. and OH we must qualify for the loan also. Anyone who said Paul has help must work for the company. I'm sorry that I didn't google them first. Instead I listen the the radio and bought it hook, line, and sinker. I WAS TAKEN IN BE THE AD. I will be in contact with the CA Bar Assoication and the FTC filing complaints even if it is to late for me. I hope they rot in hell for taken peoples hopes away. I'm sue they will be back under a different name and address soon.

    0 Votes
  • Ho
    Honey Jul 20, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Couple things I have good info here. Contact Coleen Callahan at Robb Evans & Associates. They have been assigned by the courts to act as receiver of Lucas Law Center which has been shut down as of [protected].
    The number for Robb Evans & Asso. is [protected]. You can also visit their website at

    www.robbevans.com

    I've just been contacted by them to further the process of getting my money back!

    0 Votes
  • Iw
    I will fight back Jul 20, 2009

    I agree, we are in the clutches of trying to get our money back too. I just checked with the BBB and guess what --- yep They have a Better Business rating of an F ---- incredible they have 46 filed complaints --- 23 of which are unanswered. Unbelievable that Lucas Law Center can be allowed to operate a scam modification company in an environment like this. Cal State Bar should be ashamed not to have shut these guys down sooner.

    0 Votes
  • An
    angryinoc Jul 17, 2009

    We too have been 'working' with the Lucas Law Center. Started process in June after negotiating only a $1, 500 retainer, with the balance due 30 days later. After starting off really well and very impressive communication from Cory Munden (the main person we dealt with), we all of a sudden stopped receiving calls back about a week ago. Had a day off today and decided to drive down there, and voila! They are in this 'TechSpace' place where a bazillion other companies also work out of, and come to find out from having to call the unmanned operator phone in the lobby that they were 'out of the office'. After further simple questions like 'are they due back today?', the operator tells me that the 'FTC has temporarily shut them down and they hope to be back in the office Monday but aren't certain'. OMG, really? These people gave us hope in what has been a very dark journey and I am beside myself with anger after reading all of these postings. We are not behind in our mortgage, and they did indeed tell us that it would honestly be better if we were, as they likened the mortgage crisis to an emergency room where 'the ones that are bleeding get the most attention'. We fell for it hook line and sinker, although not enough to stop paying all together. We didn't have the retainer to give them in the first place, and now we are paralyzed with both anger and fear. Shame on them for duping us into thinking they were actually going to help us.

    0 Votes
  • Ju
    Juliet Rodriguez Jul 17, 2009

    My sister had lucas law center for her home loan modificaton. Initially, their office were very helpful, back in Nov.08. I called them for my modificatin too. Rick Caselli and Joe Sai were very helpful initially then the communications from their office was nil to none, although i called their office, fax messages, and email them, no response from them. They just got my hard earned money. How could these people do this in times like this?
    Juliet Rodriguez

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Martin Andelman Jul 16, 2009

    I'm interested in hearing from those who have bad experiences with Lucas Law. I'm the feature writer on ML-Implode. You can find my column at http://www.mandelman.ml-implode.com.

    0 Votes
  • Co
    Connie Gage Jul 15, 2009

    I am yet another that was scammed by Paul Lucas Law Firm. I wished I had a heads up on this operation before I signed up. The information was out there. I've tried for three days to call the firm and the answer machine says they are closed and the mailbox is full. I then with a sick feeling looked up on the internet and came upon a blog from an employee of Lucas Law saying that on the tenth of July the sheriff with side arms came in and shut them down. The employee said no one got paid and all accounts were closed. I am calling my bank immediately. I feel sick. I haven't made the last couple payments from the advice of the Law firm and I believe everything I've read. They may have helped some people along the way but there wrong doings have caught up with them. The money is gone. Please say a prayer that I'm able to get out of this mess...good luck to anyone else that has been scammed.
    Connie
    Santa Clarita, Ca.

    0 Votes
  • Ra
    Ramirez Jun 25, 2009

    Has anyone worked with American Home Modification located in Corona? Their address is 4740 Green RiverRoad Ste 207. We asked for a modification back in Feb 2009 and paid the $3, 000.00 - with no luck - I call and call but no one ever calls me back and when they do it's with a vague comment. We were going to contact Lucus but after reading all the comment I think it best we don't.

    Thanks

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    James Colton Jun 17, 2009

    Keep up the great work Mr. Lucas, your making a difference. 3 people on my block have been saved because of your law firm. The value of my home would of been crushed if they went to foreclosure.
    Don't let the bad articles slow you down.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    James Colton Jun 16, 2009

    NONE OF THE BAD THINGS WRITTEN ABOUT PAUL LUCAS IS TRUE...I got a loan mod and lowered my interest rate to 3% on my first and 3.5% on my second.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    James Colton Jun 16, 2009

    I have a 3 million dollar property in Palm Springs, CA. My option ARM matured and my mortgage payment went from $11, 000 to $24, 000 per month. I almost stopped breathing! I called WAMU and they wouldn’t help. My broker referred me to Paul Lucas, a Real Estate attorney. I want to thank everyone at the Lucas Law Center from the bottom of my heart. The Lucas team was with me every step of the way and saved me $8000 off my monthly mortgage payment.
    Beverly
    Palm Springs, CA

    -1 Votes
  • Ja
    James Colton Jun 16, 2009

    My mortgage broker took me out of a fixed rate loan and advised me to change to a lower payment. Great, I thought. What he didn’t tell me was that my mortgage balance would increase. I had an option ARM. When I changed jobs and took a pay cut, I could not afford to make even the lowest payment option. I was in foreclosure and my home was scheduled for auction. After I called the Lucas Law Center, I knew there was hope. The staff really cares and they know what they are doing. After extending the sale date, Paul Lucas negotiated a 20% reduction in my mortgage balance and my new payment was less than the lowest option payment. My new interest rate is 3.5%. My lender is Wachovia. I owe my home to the Lucas Law Center.
    Gerri
    Los Angeles, CA

    0 Votes
  • Da
    dambuster Jun 10, 2009

    sorry todd williams,

    lucas's firm did nothing for you that your lender would not have done anyway. i was signed up with lucas. it is a scam. and yes you can look lucas up in the state bar and see his status, it reads:

    admitted to the bar 12/92
    inactive to practice 1/1/02
    from 1/1/03 to 6/5/2008 inelgible to practice law.

    sorry his record is not stellar and encourage everyone to look up his california bar credentials and make their own decision as you have suggested. thanks for the suggestion.

    finally, he claims he is a real estate attorney, as of several months ago he did not have an active real estate license.

    oh and no, there is no free legal representation and your example is awful. please tell your friend to stop drinking and driving and he or she will not need a lawyer if they do not act stupid. but if he is guilty of dui, then he needs to go to jail, he puts all drivers especially with kids in car seats at risk.

    enjoy your house, you are lucky. hopefully you were not one of those that knew they could not afford the house you bought with or without a loan modification. have a nice day.

    0 Votes
  • Todd Williams Jun 10, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This is all a Bunch of Crap!! You can go right on the State Bar, and look up Paul Lucas yourself!

    http://members.calbar.ca.gov/search/member_detail.aspx?x=163076

    Some of you people on here never even signed up with the Law Firm, how would you know what they can do or what they can do??? Even Lawyer I ever hired as charged me money, ether $300 an hour with a minim retainer of $1, 500, or 33% of the winnings from the case. If you find a free one that will actual win my case please send them over, my friend just got a DUI, and I would love to get her out of it for free!

    They did a great job, and were able to almost split my mortgage payment in half! I even attached the Mod, which was done for me, so you have actual proof to write home about! I honestly hate how people always want to point the finger at someone else. It was Paul's fault the Bank didn't mod my loan, because I didn't have a job? How does that make any since? All I have to say is sometimes you have to take a chance, and I did! I'm very happy for myself, and my family that we did! If you guys have any questions about my process with Lucas Law Group, or want to know more about my situation, feel free to email me ([email protected]). I'm sending all my friends and family members to Mr. Lucas!!

    0 Votes
  • Da
    dambuster May 16, 2009

    lucas now has a new scam. they changed their name to homeowner services. again beware. if you have a complaint, call the ca. state bar and have lucas disbarred.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Mike Williams May 10, 2009

    HELP, We have been taken by this scam, after 4mo. nothing has happened and now we are facing foreclosure and other trouble loosing our home. They have done nothing but lie to us and take ouir money. Is their a law firm or anyone out their taking legal action against them? if so please let us know so we can join the action and help close these ### down!
    Thanks for anyones help!
    Williams family
    Ca.
    e-mail [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Be
    Bembacolora May 08, 2009

    I called the Lucas Law Group at 4:30 p.m. after listening to an ad on Radio 640 AM, Los Angeles, CA. at [protected].

    I spoke with Mike Martin.
    Direct telephone number is [protected].
    Email <[email protected]> http://www.oclawoffices.us

    Free screening
    Cost of loan modification service: $3, 500 legal retainer


    He told me that Paul Lucas, ESQ would review my information to see if I qualified for a loan modification. My mortgage is held by Wilshire Credit Corporation (WCC). I also spoke with the customer service representive at WCC about loan modification.

    The first thing I did was begin an internet search for information about this company. I also read about the advantages and disadvantages of using an attorney to obtain a loan modification> It is now 3 a.m., 5/8/09. I am ready to go to bed. I feel satisfied. I am armed with the basic information I need to attack the subject matter with renewed zeal tomorrow.

    I appreciate everyone who has taken time to share loan modification experience.

    Shame on my favorite radio station. It takes money to provide quality programming.

    Caveat emptor

    0 Votes
  • Da
    dambuster Apr 18, 2009

    The Lucas Law Center and Paul Lucas are now under investigation by the CA Sate Bar Association. If you have an issue with them, please file a complaint with the CA Sate Bar. They can be reached at 213.765.1000. The Bar has set up an investigator specific for this Law firm. Also, have your ducks in a row, if you have done business with this firm, make sure you get first and last names of all contacts as well as dates and times of contact. Be professional not emotional and you will get results. Moreover, contact your mortgage companies yourself, not through anyone else, they are mandated to talk to you and work your situation out if of course, you can make reasonable payments. Good Luck everyone.

    0 Votes
  • Di
    Disgusted Apr 17, 2009

    I am a former employee who was scammed when I got hired on into believing this was a true and legitimate law firm. It took a while to realize even the attorney is being scammed into believing this Chris Betts guy is a legitimate management company operator who hires the employees to process these modifications to realize they weren't doing much but sending the paperwork to the lenders and waiting to see if anything gets offered. They got rid of the good ethical people who were suspecting dishonesty and now our clients thing we were involved. We were scammed too. They didn't even pay us. I heard that Chris Betts is the mastermind and lives at 2 Shephard Ct. in Ladera Ranch, CA

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    Shannon Apr 14, 2009

    These people tell you that they will get you everything you are looking for. Their recrutiers tell you that they will get you a principle reduction and a fixed rate for the remainder of your loan and it's a complete lie. They sit around doing nothing for about 3 months and then after we kept calling and bugging them they told us "yeah, we need get this done". So only over the last month after constantly calling them and calling the bank to see if they've even contacted them we find out that our loan will not be fixed and we will not be getting a principle reduction and they are adding fees to the back of our loan now and we are paying for a foreclosure lawyer for the bank. Lucas Law Center/our negotiator told us something completely different. We've been lied to by these guys so much over the last 4 months but because our paperwork was submitted to the bank we are out of luck and have to sign this paperwork they negotiated with the bank that what nothing like what they told us they would be able to accomplish. If we don't sign this paperwork the bank is able expedite foreclosure. To make a long story short...DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH LUCAS LAW Center!! Our credit is totally ruinned after they advised us to stop paying our payments when we've now heard from another loan modification person all they would have had to do is put our loan into forebarence.
    These people don't care about you or saving your home!

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    joe Apr 10, 2009

    I too have done business with Lucas Law Center. They were completely fraudulent in their claims and advice. I will not bore you with the details only to say, I have filed a complaint against Paul Lucas with the CA Bar Association. The complaint has been received and escalated for investigation to the enforcement division of the BAR. Hopefully when I get done, Mr. Lucas will lose his BAR number and maybe get a real job. What I found so profound about this firm was their arrogance of saying anything and promising anything to get your money. Part of my complaint has to do with their fraudulent advice. This group would be good on a used car lot, but not so good in dealing with peoples lives, dreams and futures. Joe

    0 Votes
  • Br
    Brian Nava Mar 27, 2009

    Co-worker of mine just gave me Lucas Law Firm number that he heard on the radio. I called them up this morning and Frank Sullivan telling me the details of loan modification agreement what they can do for me. Frank told me about 2-3 times that the Bank tends to loose and misplace documents and are very slow. Everything sounds blank to me at the moment so I constantly questioned him. As I was down to my last question, he said to me that he will transfer me to Matthew. I was like, this is rude. After that phone call, I went online and took me to this website. This is extremely surprising. I am glad to see all these comments. Thanks for saving my life, I declined their application. Hopefully, I won't be charge $3500 for talking to them on the phone.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    john doe Mar 14, 2009

    Another victim,
    Frank Sullivan and his cronies have scammed me too. 4 months and nothing.

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    Rita Feb 22, 2009

    Wow! I am so glad that I googled them first! I was just about to sign the letter of authorization and working on the other documents they wanted. I will definitely not do business with them now! I've seen commercials for other law firms who are offering the same service. Are there any legit ones? What other options do I have to get my loans modified?

    0 Votes
  • Lo
    LoanFraudRecovery Feb 20, 2009

    If you need help getting your money back from a fraudulent loan modification company call [protected]

    0 Votes
  • To
    tom Feb 15, 2009

    Lucase Law Firm is a scam they've only been in business like 6 months and claim on the radio to have years of experience. I sent them money they did absolutely nothing and now we're paying for it!

    0 Votes
  • Ji
    Jim McAuley Feb 14, 2009

    I too have been taken. They did nothing. I had to resend all my paperwork to the bank. They never received it from the Lucas Law Center. Do not under any circumstances send money to these people. Find a different way.

    Jim

    0 Votes
  • Se
    SEK Feb 10, 2009

    Maria,
    DO NOT do business with these people. We have been taken by this "Law Center" and since done some very extensive research and the alleations in all of these complaints including the complaints listed with the Better Business Bureau and we found everything to be true, they are complete frauds. If you still can, ask for your money back and if they refuse contact the BBB in your area, file report with your local police department, contact the Federal Trades Commssion, and then contact the FBI. Do not fall for their fast talk when they try and talk you out of requesting your money back they are con-men and women that prey on people that are suffering from this recession.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Maria Feb 07, 2009

    Iam in the process of doing my modification, but after reading this Iam scared. The last conversation I had was with Joanne Mason, do you know anything about this woman

    0 Votes
  • So
    Southwest Florida Family Jan 27, 2009

    We also lost 3, 500 to this worthless man. We signed the 100% money back if they can't help you. We waited for about 3 months calling and asking if they have anything going on with our Morgage company their reply was always we are working on it. Then into the 4th month we recieved a call from Kristy that work s" in " litigations for Lucas Law Center. what a joke.
    Keep your money don't be thier next fool.I even requested the info she had to confirm that she indeed hade somrthing in the works. I never got a call back. Oh get this one now about 5 months later Lucas Law Center wanted to recharge us to do a quick sale another 3, 500.
    Ounce taken twice scared to death to believe in anyone else. Thier should be a class action suit on this Guy.

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    sam Jan 24, 2009

    I did some research on these guys and discovered some information on Chris Betts who actually runs the company as Paul Lucas has no clue. I use to work with these ### and I use that term loosly. Betts is a convicted felon (see below)> He brags about how he rips people off and now hides behind an attorney that NEVER practiced law until 6 months ago. I'm sure he will be out of buisness soon but not until he rips off more people trying to do loan modifications AND debt settlement. The movie "Boiler room" was made after Betts who teams up with other criminals sscamming home owners for their last $3500.00. You can find the Lucas Law Center on various radio stations in california and before you use them just google Chris Betts so you know what you are getting into. THIS GUY IS GOOD!

    more information:

    http://www.la.bbb.org/BusinessReport.aspx?CompanyID=100071916
    http://www.sec.gov/litigation/admin/34-50638.htm

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.