The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Kontakt Model and Talent AgencyFraudulent Claims

M Review updated:

This company hires a sub company to go around to the smaller communities promoting modeling and acting searches. They take pictures and take them back to the "agencies "they represent, they charge you $50 if you are not selected from one of these companies your money if refunded. If you are chosen then you set a meeting with the agency and instead of refunding your $50 they take that money off the cost of your photo shoot. The photo shoot costs approx $700, then they will contact you with jobs and auditions. My daughter was only ever called once for an acting job north of the city that none of the regular city people wanted to drive to. They talked us into going to a convention that cost us another $1000 and my daughter got nothing out of this seminar and "auditions" with top agencies, top agencies were there but there were only 2 people chosen out of the 100 from this agency that attended, other agencies had better luck. After the year contract was up we were contacted to participate in a Miss Teen Canada Globe Productions Pageant this to was also a rip off that the agency has a hand in they supply this company with girls to participate in the pageant. It was poorly run, organized, just about everything about it was a rip off. Attending all day training sessions every other weekend for months, they changed the date of the actual pageant by a month because they only had 20 girls for the pageant. Parent had to pay $45 each to go to the intro night on a Friday, Saturday was talent and dinner portion costing another $50 each and the finals on the Sunday were another $50 each. The dinner they didn't have enough tables set up, dinner was almost 2 hours late and we didn't get home until 2am. This whole company and anyone they are associated with are crooks they too go on elaborate vacations and cruises. Watch out for Star Search, Star Cast, Star Talent these are the companies hired by them to hunt up kids for their companies to rip off!!!

Responses

  • Br
    brisana Jan 27, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I was with this agency few years back..i totally agree it is a SCAM...I paid $750 for pictures, not very professional, and in one year period I only got few auditions (that is did not get in) and one background movie shot in Hamilton for which I got paid $80.00 for about 12 hours at the movie shot..

    AB

    0 Votes
  • Co
    Concerned 4 son Jun 24, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Please help. My son has an interview with Talent Network on Friday in Vaughan Ontario. Has anyone had any dealings with this company? I want to know if they are legitimate or a scam. I know my son has real talent and would hate for this company discourage him by ripping him off. Please let me know pros or cons. Thank you

    0 Votes
  • Cu
    Curious123456 May 31, 2013

    Yes, their number has been disconnected. They've made a run for it. Although I do know Frank Lucente has finally stuck with his day time job and is now pursuing a career as a Realtor Agent. LOL.
    As for the money they make, they've been taking extravagant vacations and going on expensive dinner parties with their friends.
    Although I want to disclose how I know this, I'm afraid they will cut off the ties when I do reveal it. For now, I hope you people just trust my word that they are scammers.

    0 Votes
  • Mo
    modelmom May 15, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Another model I work with was also signed with Kontakt and she has been trying to get her money for a while know. she's been told numerous times that it's coming in but so far nothing. I believe the last thing she told me was that their emails were bouncing back. I have a feeling that these guys have cut off all connections and made a run for it. Sorry "fed up mother". If I hear anything I will keep you posted.

    0 Votes
  • Fe
    fed up mother Apr 23, 2013

    My daughter participated in a prep day and hair show for Wella on September 22 and 23 of 2012 which was set up by Kontact. We were told that payment for each day would be $500. I have sent numerous emails, stopped by the office where they pick up their mail, and attempted to call [protected], only to find that the number has been disconnected. The last email I receive from them was in January and it indicated that "payment would be processed shortly." We have been waiting 7 months, and still nothing! Does anyone know of an alternate address or phone number?

    0 Votes
  • Mo
    modelmom Apr 18, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Kontact is a TERRIBLE agency. First off, they called me wanting to sign my son after seeing his pics posted on CuteKid.com. I went to meet them and agreed to sign him which cost $200. They said no professional pics were needed, just nice pics of him every month and new measurements at the same time. Fine. While I was meeting with the agent she tried to convince me to sign and I said I wasnt looking into getting in modelling at that point, but she said when companies see me and my son they will want to sign me. I told her lets just wait to see if that happens and if it does then I will sign as I will have ensured myself a job. My son ended up getting NO auditions but they had sent ME 4...again, I wasn't signed with them, my son was. But that's fine. I thought I would give it a shot. I went on 2 auditons and landed one recurring gig that I currently get every other month. Great news, right? Sure, except Kontact NEVER PAID ME and 6 months later after NO MONEY was sent my way they finally sent me my money, split into 4 post dated checks, and they did that only after I had contacted a lawyer and threatened to sent them to court. It was such a frustrating process!! DO NOT SIGN with Kontact. Be very careful and do a thorough background check on whatever agency you decide to sign with because it is a big investment with your time and money. I have since signed with another agency and things have been going very well.

    0 Votes
  • Tr
    truereviewer Mar 07, 2013

    IM THINKING ABOUT TAKING HOWARD AND LAURENT TO COURT FOR THE PROFILE TALENT MANAGEMENT COMPANY LOCATED IN WOODBRIDGE. THEY JUST TOOK OUR MONEY AND RAN. I CAN BE CONTACTED AT THROUGH EMAIL: [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    Jasmin12 Jan 13, 2013

    i once modeled with Kontakt, and let me tell you about my experience!
    -i didan audition with starcast, rooting me to kontakt, they told me everything any girl/ boy wanted to hear. they told me too attend classes, go to auditions, and have photo shoots. 1) the classes taught me nothing, 2) i did not land one spot, 3) photo shoots cost us way more than neccesary, also, the styling was very poor. They sent me off to CMTC ($2000).. i enjoyed it, but only got 3 callbacks, they had sent me too soon. Also, An agent from CMTC, from Cape Town talked to me and wanted to look at my portfolio, and she noticed a photo with me (age 8) with bright red lip stick, and she was totally shocked ! That was a big no-no,
    i guess yea, if you're doing great in kontakt right now, then stay, but thry are casting too many kids that their will be less and less chance for kids to land roles.
    i am now in AnitaNorrisModels Industry, treating me well, and their classes are beyond amazing!
    -If kontakt asks and asks for money, you need to leave.

    0 Votes
  • No
    notsohappymommy Nov 29, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Well I'm rather confused now. My 9 yr old daughter just had an interview tonight. They told her lots of things. About jobs she could do, even though had no photos of my daughter that i had sent to Starcast (odd). About jobs other models were doing. It all sounded so amazing. My daughter was so excited. I asked if I could pay later as i came unprepared to pay upfront. She (Tania), was so gracious about the whole thing. I came home and began to look them up. Unfortunately, all I can find is complaints. I'm lost for words and now am not to sure how to break it to my daughter. Sad. It really really is. Anyone know where else I can go to fulfill my little girls dream?

    0 Votes
  • Mw
    mwch Oct 25, 2012

    I would not comment whether it is a scam agency or not, but I will say this is an agency with NO CREDIBILITY. I am not with them but once I was contacted to have a meeting with them for a show-base representation in 2012 summer. That guy is one of the owners- Frank L.
    When I went to a studio which is in a partnering relationship with them, no one ever appears, the studio staffs tried to dial to the agency, but no one listen to the call even it is in office hour. I left a message and email but they just dissappear.
    This is my personal experience but I would say a credible agency will never do things like this. I advice ppl to think twice.

    0 Votes
  • Sc
    ScammedbyKONTAKmodels Sep 13, 2012

    My story is similar to Curious, saw an ad in the paper looking for models. The try out was at Best Western, I paid $20 to enter my 20yr old son. Then of course I got a phone call from Kontakl Models. I went to another hotel in Richmond Hill to do an interview with Kontak directly. They told me they only had one baby in their data bank and had so many baby positions to fill, needless to say I paid $200 to keep him in the databank...that was December 2011. Up until now, I still haven't heard anything or gotten any phones. When I call, I just get the run around or no one answers the phone. I want my MONEY BACK!! THIS IS A TOTAL SCAM and the people behind this should be arrested!! This is awful, and they all act very nicely to you until they get your money then they chuck you aside! I'm very upset!

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Christina-9903 Sep 02, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I hope my above post was legible. Stupid spell check! Lol my only point is to really be careful with what agency you become involved with. Because, I'm sure there are a lot more scams out there. They prey on the vulnerable, and they will get whatever they can. These are bad people, and you can feel their dark energy when your in the room with them.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Christina-9903 Sep 02, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Lol I'm glad I could help! Everyone in the industry knows who they are, and not for any good reasons. No one wants to be associated with them, bc they take full advantage of their clients, and they do a lot of things fruadulantly. I eventually had to quit like everyone else did before me. Being in a toxic environment where you constantly saw poor kids and their parents being lied to, and being treated like garbage was just too much for me. I'm surprised I lasted as long as I did!! I would have parents calling me just checking up on how I was doing because they would see how Tania treated me and everyone else. They were sweet mothers who felt bad! While I felt bad for them, bc I fully knew they were scammed. They made sure they made their $10, 000 a weekend, they turned no one way and took hundreds for baby photo shoots. No legit agency would charge for a baby Photoshoot. It's ridiculous!! I heard that police had even gotta evolved for not paying their employees from other current staff members! Just be aware of them. They will eat you up and spit you right back out. Don't let their smiley faces fool you, their fake and just trying to get into your pockets. I never saw people lie SO much about anything in my life. They would often say that they were evolved in all these amazing things that I knew were in fact untrue to their clients or just to other people to make themselves look good. It honestly is pathetic. I can not wait for their karma to come around!!! If I ever see them in public again I would really give them a piece of my mind, bc they seriously deserve a kick in the ###.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    Casey1979 Aug 28, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @Christina19902 I agree 100% and laughed when you said the testimonials are forced and obviously employees, friends or the crooks themselves! They are so very fake! Although the testimonials" are laughable, for those like myself, being scammed isn't funny. I read the "so called" testimonials on the Kontakt Models web site. They are just so fake and for anyone with a few brain cells will know upon reading them. I wish I'd read them before the fact! Do your research and you will know the scammers amongst the many agencies out there. Thank you Christina for your comments. You will help others like myself but hopefully before they give there money away. In the end the money is gone and there are better things to spend $900.00 on. I might as well have given it to charity at least it would have went to good use!

    0 Votes
  • Mo
    Momdisappointed Aug 28, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Thank you Christina19902 for sharing your info. I really hope a lot more people spread the word and get them out of business once and for all. Its not so much the money issue that they robbed from us but for how many tears my daughter has shed because of them.
    Karma is what goes around comes around ...sooner or later they will get theirs!!

    3 Votes
  • Ch
    Christina19902 Aug 27, 2012

    Lol and lastly their 'testimonials' on the website are pathetic. 'Stephanie' doesn't exist. There was no one ever by that name who worked there. Claudia is a wonderful photographer, however she's a family member who works there as well. So I wouldn't trust that testimonial either. Also, Sonia was one of the more persistent people who thougt kontakt was a joke. All of their 'testimonial' not only look forced, but you can tell their trying to over compinsate for all of the backlash. The fact that they have their employees writing pleasant things for them is sad. Do you actually think that someone who works for her is going to give them a letter that says 'kontakt is a fraud, watch out!'?? Lol of course not. This agency should be embarrassed. Their a complete joke.

    3 Votes
  • Ch
    Christina19902 Aug 27, 2012

    Btw if you read an overly happy client on this website, be suspicious. They will do whatever they can to promote themselves and make themselves look wonderful. There was nothing but problems between them and their clients while I worked there. Constant complaints and them constantly avoiding confrontation. Especially with that ### Tania. She's a poor excuse for a human being, treats everyone around her like complete ### including her family, employees and clients. I was shocked to hear the way she would talk to clients, it was disgusting. She needs to get her head out of her ### bc she's ugly inside and out. They can't hold into an employee, everyone quits on them and then they lie and turn the situation around to make it seem like that other person was the problem. I was warned to never work for them but i thought I could handle her unprofessional ways. However, after so many months you get sick of working in a toxic environment. They should be ashamed of themselves. They steal from people, would charge $500 for a Photoshoot for a 6 month old. They pay people to scout models. If you get a call from kontakt bc they were 'interested in what they saw' its complete crap. They have no idea how you look. They just get the form that you filled out faxed over to them. They pay for them do they can make thousands of dollars a weekend. The entire agency is a scam. Watch her wallets because they will try and get whatever they can out of you.

    4 Votes
  • Ch
    Christina19902 Aug 27, 2012

    As a former employee of this agency I can tell everyone that they are in fact A scam. Not only do they treat all of their employees like garbage, but they will avoid the parents at all cost when an issue arises. They are money hungry people who will say whatever they can do make a few bucks. Worst agency I ever worked for, please do your research before you go with an agency. Tania, Frank and the father Bob are all con artists. They have been black balled within the industry for fraud, I know this because of what I over heard while assisting them when employed by them. They have a lot of issues within their family and company. They put on a smiley face for all their potential clients do they can milk as much as possible. Don't trust a word that comes out of their mouth. Kontakt Models is a SCAM. I should have called the labor board when I had a chance.

    4 Votes
  • Ca
    Casey1979 Aug 16, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I too was taken by Kontakt modeling Tania and Bob the crook to be exact!!! My daughter was told all kinds of silly promises, even that Disney was looking for a girl just like my 11 year old! We paid $900 dollars just for pictures and photo shoot. How do they sleep at night is what I'd like to know!? Yes, I know it takes a lot to get somewhere in the modeling/acting profession but to lie to people and especially to a child is just plain evil! I do not recommend Kontakt to ANYONE, unless you want some pretty pictures for $900 bucks and that is it! No phone calls, no jobs, nothing! Disappointment is what you get in the end with wasted time and money. Last words to anyone pursuing this business.This agency Kontakt Modeling is all, SCAM, SCAM, SCAM!

    3 Votes
  • Un
    Unknownauthor Aug 02, 2012

    Kontac tagency sucks they are a scam. I risked myself into paying their fee for my daughter after all the ### they both said Tanya and Frank Lucente. They are ###ters liars. Aa year has passed and nothing serious. My daughter got called for hair shows but was sick and could'nt make it.
    A while later got called for an audition and guess what it was another agency that is linked with Kontact and this other agency wanted over $1000 up front are you ### me not again. Don't believe these people

    3 Votes
  • Cu
    Curious123456 May 15, 2012

    A little bit of background information on the company and how it all started:
    Our story is quite similar to "momma of 2", we found an Ad in the newspaper stating casting calls. We attended. The photographer agreed to distribute my daughter's photos to various talent agencies, in hopes that they would take an interest in her, and call us. After a couple of days, we received a call from Kontakt Model. We agreed to go into the interview.
    Aside, I found out through a little research online that Kontakt is run by Tania and Frank Lucente, whom I believe are Italians. The interviewer, Bob Spataro, is Tania's father. Now usually, I would never post information like this online. But these owners should take on the full result of what they have done, whether it does turn out to be a scam or not.
    Anyways, we went into the interview with none other than Bob Spataro as the interviewer. It all seemed kind of sketchy at first. He never once asked any question regarding my daughters abilities, or experience. From the start, he sounded like a well-practiced salesman. He told us about how much money my daughter could make. How she would go "far". Even my daughter found it a little too much. We were expecting a formal interview, not a useless sphiel. Bob then asked us to pay a large sum of money to make my daughter's portfolio, around $500. He talked about a professional photographer taking her pictures to contruct it and etc. I was stupefied. He asked for money UP FRONT. Very unprofessional. Ignorant and unaware, I agreed to at least pay some of the fee, and left a downpayment. BIG MISTAKE. Advice for others, DO NOT pay anything up front. Once they have your downpayment, you are obliged (by contract) to pay the rest of the money.
    Leaving the building, I had realized I made a big mistake. After doing a lot of research, this company does not really have a positive reputable status within its customers. All the reviews I read verified its infamousy: it's a scam.
    Weeks since the portfolio was made, I have heard NO news from them, nor even the slightest update. I kept calling the agency but got no response or if I did, it would always be ### and words trying to hush the topic.
    More links regarding the scam:
    http://www.geeksgalore.ca:8080/geeks/blog/archives/tag/kontakt-modeling-agency
    http://www.reviewstalk.com/complaints-reviews/kontakt-model-and-talent-agency-l18086.html

    1 Votes
  • Cu
    Curious123456 May 13, 2012

    Despite the negative comments, we decided to let Kontakt have a shot. My daughter recently went in for her photoshoot, which included a professional photographer and makeup artist. I'll keep up to date on what happens next.

    1 Votes
  • Mo
    Momdisappointed Apr 02, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Absolutely agree with everyone...Kontakt is 100% a scam and LIARS !!! Do not get involved with this company, you will only be disappointed. I will post this everywhere i can to warn parents cause i wish someone would have warned us.

    2 Votes
  • Pr
    proudgrandma Mar 17, 2012

    I am the grandmother of a 9 year old girl who just had her photo shoot last weekend. I was given a certain impression of what to expect when I arrived, including length of shoot. Things were much different than I expected. I shook off my negative feelings so my granddaughter could enjoy the experience. She shone! By the time she was done with the shoot, she surprised even the photographer with her natural ability. She rose to the challenge, sang and danced, posed like a seasoned model. This was the first photo shoot she has ever had in her life and what it did for her self confidence was worth $500.00. Even if she never got a call I'd have no regrets and the comp cards will still be useful.

    2 Votes
  • Ty
    Tygerbaby Mar 16, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    For the record we signed up my 4yr old son and niece and paid $500 for each of them! That included comp cards and photoshoot. He was in fact called once for a runway show and he could not make the audition. We were never contacted again.. Even after numerous messages to the managers there. My niece was never called at all. I eventually accepted defeat and gave up! I still have the owners on my Facebook. No big deal.. They will get what's coming to them.

    2 Votes
  • Bi
    Bignell Mar 16, 2012

    I so agree that Kontakt is a RIP OFF. My daughter and I did the usual Best Western model search and they told us to go to Kontakt. We did and you are right $900 later with comp cards and photo shoot. I do not regret the photo shoot but was told could have gotten it cheaper by other photographers. So I waited for a call, and waited ... after about 10 months they called and said there is a casting call in Toronto for a catalogue shoot. No other information was given and after taken subway, ttc finally found the building. Went in and my daughter was the oldest there and not dressed in Christmas wear. I talked to someone there and the photo shoot (commercial) was to be for a mother/daughter Christmas time. Talking about embarrassing, did not let on to my daughter but I just felt like leaving I was so angry. I complained and they called back and told me to email him pictures. My daughter wants to be an actress not a model. She would love to have an agent to represent her as she would like to try for an interview in one of the books she is reading ... anyone out there know of someone and not a SCAM. Thank you.

    4 Votes
  • Pr
    Profile Model Jul 02, 2011

    Dear Mommsy. As the owner of Profile Model/Talent Management, I would truly appreciate that you contact me directly at [protected] ext 4 and tell me why you think my agency is a scam so that I can help you. I have not received any recent complaints from my roster and assuming that your children are on my roster, you know that I answer all complaints personally. Without knowing who you are and without you contacting me about your dissatisfaction, I cannot possibly help you. If you are not on my on roster as I know Appearle above is not, I do not feel it's possible for you to judge the professionalism of my agency as we never had the opportunity to get work for you. As a member of Breakdown Services, we get 50~100 job and audition opportunities every month and we do our best to see that everyone on our roster has a good chance. So please call me so we can resolve this. Or if you are not on my roster but just think we are a scam, I invite you to call me as well so you'll have a much better idea of what we are about. - Doug Peng

    0 Votes
  • Mo
    mommsy Jun 28, 2011

    Profile is a sister agency to Kontakt. Just as bad and a scam also. Do not go with either one as all they want is your money. Younger children seem to get some work but not the older ones. Been their did that what a mistake.

    4 Votes
  • Ma
    mamabearme May 27, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I would be if Profile Model/Talent Management at the following address is a scam? Has any one had experience with this company?
    6175 highway 7, Unit 2C, 2nd floor
    Woodbridge, Ontario
    L4H - 0P6
    nterested in knowing if

    1 Votes
  • Ki
    kitty5 May 16, 2011

    I used to work for kontakt model and talent. They are a scam. They will take on anyone, regardless of their looks just to get their money during the interview. Their goal was to make at least $9000 a weekend from all the "models" they've scouted at malls, and local highschool fashion shows. Overall, they milk the parents, and avoid them when conflict arises. They have been blacklisted with ACTRA for fraud. They cant keep employee's because their treat horribly, and are completely unprof. I would never recommend them to anyone, just because of what iv seen and expereinced. **PLEASE do your research before signing on to any agency. This is one agency I would never suggest joining unless you plan on being ripped off and lied to by being told "your child has such a unique look and lots of potential!" and then barely hearing from them again. Their well known within the industry, and if you ask anyone, their known for all of the wrong reasons. Youve been warned.

    4 Votes
  • Co
    Connie Sainthill Feb 19, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @kitty5 I agree that this agency is a SCAM. My daughter paid the $50 and then came for the Photo shoot which we paid well over $700 for.
    We received one call that we went for an audition for and that did not amount to anything-I get it!!
    The next time I was called to take her the night before the shoot in downtown Toronto-I was a working mom and could not alter my appointments for the NEXT day.
    Never heard from this agency since.
    Nice pictures of my daughter-but not worth the money!!!
    Be aware!!!

    1 Votes
  • Ap
    Appearle May 10, 2011

    I was at another agency in Woodbridge, Profile Model & Talent, and they alsy wanted around $650 for a photoshoot. I do believe that it is a scam. They said that they would give a large portion of that money to their photographer, and that some of it would go towards 30 comp cards that we could take home... for my family...why would I want that? He definitely came across as a salesman, and not really an agent. I have a friend with a Legit agency in Toronto, and they have gotten her into 2 episodes of a popular canadian T.V. show, and the lead role in a feature film for a film festival, as well as some commercials. She didn't have to pay any sort of fees, especially not for photographs (The agent just took them herself). Also, this agency she's in either represents or represented Michael Cera...so yah... Don't pay excessive amounts of money for pointless headshots...it's a scam.

    1 Votes
  • Ja
    JanetteK Apr 08, 2011

    Very interested in how your shoot went. We just came back from our interview with Kontakt, They want 600.00 for a photo shoot(comp cards). I am a little leary as he came off as a salesman and was in a hurry to get back there in a day for the shoot. Still not sure weather to continue our booking with them.

    0 Votes
  • Mo
    moncher Apr 07, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    MY Daughter has a photo shoot on Saturday. ontact modeling found her not the other way around. This agency we had been to for my daughters friends intrview. She is interested in acting. At the time my daughter was with Sotherland Modeling In down town TORONTO. we paid 1000. for this 10 week training program. SHe learned a little but a little also goes a long way. TH photo shoot this agency was very bland. They had my daughter in wear very plain clothes. We were not Happy and did not sign on, at the completion.
    For that was going to cost us another Appr. 300 bucks. !49 for admin fees, 80 for Comp cards, and 50 for 2 photos of our choice.
    But, Last week Kontact, found her, so now for the photo shoot. I will keep posted. While browsing thru their photos I found that the neighbor down the street is with Kontakt. I spoke to her, and she still did not steer me away.

    0 Votes
  • Dr
    Drake123 Oct 14, 2010

    Im thinking about going for the interview, but how much does it cost? I got rip-off by John Robert Powers, they wanted 10 000$, then turned it down to 5000$, then to 2000$ and we took it. And the classes where CRAP! I DIDNT LEARN ANYTHING! I just hope Kontakt is way better, and gets me auditions I like. :D

    0 Votes
  • Mo
    momma of 2 Jul 11, 2010

    I made the complaint because we didn't get called for jobs or auditions or just plain called at all. I do realize that this is a challenging industry and either you got it or don't. The agency doesn't choose you for the jobs so I wouldn't say they didn't choose her for a certain job, they never called for jobs!!! They never guaranteed any jobs or work just phone calls. Trust me the true talent didn't give up and has a legit agency now. I was pointing out the fact that they scammed us for money and photo shoots thet we didn't need to spend or do. I suggest you read the whole complaint, Kontakt was not the only one I complained about. As far as blacklisted...not likely but it certainly makes people question what Kontakt tells them as I have received many an email asking for further details and saved them for falling for the same scam. Your the ignorant one, at least I have a clear conscience and know I voiced my opinion as well as saved a few other people being ripped off of their hard earned money.

    2 Votes
  • Ty
    Tygerbaby Jul 11, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This is a challenging industry to be in and there are so many angles to what you may desire. I don't think its fair to bad mouth an agency because the directors didn't choose your child for a certain job! Nothing in life is guaranteed, except death! True talent doesn't give up their dream regardless of the obstacles they face!! Sounds like you just black listed yourself by being so ignorant!

    1 Votes
  • Ma
    Mahala77 Jun 17, 2010

    one last thing to note...your agent gets you in the door f or open casting calls, it's up to your child to stand out amongst all the other talent in the room, in order to land jobs.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Mahala77 Jun 17, 2010

    to anyone who has concerns regrading kontakt model and talent agency...my daughter has gotten quite a lot of work since joining the agency in Nov 2008. since my last posting she has done jobs for the Bay, and another infomercial.

    in regards to money she makes, it all depends on the type of job she is doing. some jobs pay by the job whereas some by the hour. the agency, again depending on the job type, gets 10-15%. money is paid about 1 month after the job, which is ok with me.

    i have great communication with the agency, either by phone or email. the booking agents always answer any questions that i have.

    be prepared for spontaneous jobs...you get called the night before for a job, in most cases. if you are available that's great, if not, just let them know. however, don't be not available too frequent as no agency likes that and they won't send you for jobs. and sometimes you have to take the child outta school depending on what time the job's call time is for. but just arrange in advance with the teacher.

    -1 Votes
  • Ma
    Mahala77 Feb 17, 2010

    My daughter is represented by Kontakt Model Agency (since Nov 2008). Since being with the agency, she has down work as a body double in a made for tv movie, modeled for a catalog, 1 infomercial, and 1 television commercial.

    She has been called for about 7 auditions, and has landed 4 jobs so far. Not bad.

    Her agent is very easy to work with. If I call him, he always returns calls promptly. He answers all and any question that I ask(which is a lot).

    My only issue is that I wish they would call her for more jobs, she loves working and being on set and taking photos.

    -1 Votes
  • An
    anonydiss Jan 27, 2010

    StarCast is a legit scouting company. They go from city to city holding screen tests for people interested in modeling or acting. They then sell these "leads" to agencies, who contact applicants they are interested in. They aren't a scam, they are just making services more accessible for everyone involved.

    Before you join an agency, do your homework. Search them on Google, BBB, call casting directors and ask for references. Scams will be in and out within a few years; if an agency has been around for over ten years, it's a good bet it's legit. Don't worry about ACTRA - they are thiefs themselves. Joining ACTRA will cost you over $2500 just to become a full member, so they are the biggest scam out there.

    ANY legit agency will fill you in on ALL the details before you sign anything. Any agency who gives you attitude, or has a "don't call us, we'll call you" policy is not a company you want to hire. Yes, that's right, YOU are hiring your agent. YOU are the boss.

    Personal opinions:

    LEGIT AGENCIES
    Ford
    Elite
    Elmer Olsen
    Carolyn's
    CA Talent

    SCAM AGENCIES
    Celebrity Talents
    M Models
    Orange Models
    Silver Screen
    ^There are TONS more out there

    Source: I am a working model in Toronto.

    1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.