Menu
ADVERTISIMENT
Home Digital Cameras Review of joy's electromart

joy's electromart review: dslr camera accessories

J
Author of the complaint
10:42 pm EST
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

Joy's electromartstall no 02-02A in funan digitalife singapore is overpircing tourist by the usual scheme of suggesting accessories and overpricing them to as much as 300 percent. Watch out! Especially the guy named Eric he will do some emotional gymnastics just for you

ADVERTISIMENT
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

15 comments
Add a comment
E
Jan 23, 2016 4:55 pm EST

前几个月,在福南大厦或称福南数码生活广场,我买了随身Nikon相机,没有想到才刚出半年,按钮开关没有反应,原来相机商家卖我旧货,幸好还有一年保期就马上送回去店维修,居然这店主向我要求200元维修费,怎么可能呢?不是说好免费?我本来要向CASE新加坡消费者协会投诉,还是心平气和的打电话给老板,恐吓不把事情搞定我就马上投诉!很幸运,他被我恐吓所害怕,叫我回来换个新相机,比上回旧相机功能有一点差,但毕竟我不用受骗给他200元!就是这家店Joy's ElectroMart!

K
Dec 17, 2012 7:58 am EST
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

This is the shop opposite a sports wear shop. I was introduced by some friends to this shop. But I realized that I made a big rookie mistake since I bought from them.

On 24 April 2012, I was quite fresh to DSLR, I was totally trusting them and I did not compare price quoted by them with famous shops (such as TK photo, Alan Photo, John 3:16). I wanted to buy a lens with bigger aperture to shoot portrait. However, the salesperson introduced me a non-related lens Tamron 70-300mm F/4-5.6 (quite small aperture) which I did not have any knowledge in it. I totally trusted them since I was introduced by my friend and I was a frequent customer of them. I bought the lens at S$653 (the usual price at that time is definitely < S$300).

In Nov 2012, I realized that in those Funan famous shop, such lens is sold at < S$240 which is S$400 cheaper than $653 in Joy’s ElectroMart. I tried to argue with them to refund some amount back. The person on the phone talked so rudely and ended my phone call so rudely.
I have logged a case in Consumer Association of Singapore (CASE) against their shop name. Some other bad reviews of them here:
1. nearly coned by Joy's camera shop (2nd storey)
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/digital-cameras-photography-12/nearly-coned-funan-mall-joys-camera-shop-2-storey-2711297.html
2. Review a scam from Joy’s ElectroMart
http://www.just2me.com/2011/02/review-scam-from-joys-electromart.html
3. Joy’s Electromart, Overpricing tourist by the usual scheme of suggesting accessories….
http://www.complaintsboard.com/complaints/joy039s-electromart-c304665.html
4. Joy’s Electromart in Funan
http://www.clubsnap.com/forums/consumers-corner/314177-joys-electromart-funan.html

I do not expect to refund my S$400, but just a friendly tip for all DSLR beginners, please BUY from those FAMOUS SHOPS (listed in forum, such as TK photo, Alan Photo, John 3:16). Do compare price with different shops.

View 0 more photos
S
May 12, 2015 11:01 am EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I am a student and me and my group of friends went there as frequent customers to purchase lenses and camera from them. They are willing to explain to ask the camera functions as well as letting us know the price.

As consumers, if we didn't know about what we are getting and the market price online, than don't shop. We couldn't believe people are saying such bad comments about them. We however got a good deal and will continue to shop there.

They are a good store and prices varies for all shops, so i think is right to give non-sensical comments. Mostly commented by same users or even have no knowledge about cameras. Obviously, if you ask other shops price and they know you already purchase from elsewhere they will tell you a lower rate.

P
May 09, 2015 7:37 am EDT

Most of the people on here who were ripped off don't seem to have done any research and just went in blindfolded to purchase cameras etc.

I on the other hand, did my research and got a good deal.

I checked the price of a lens in my country, asked them to beat the price, to which they did. I then also asked for a UV filter to be thrown into the price too, and they agreed.

If you know what you are buying and what the prices elsewhere are, then this is a good store and they are willing to do a deal with you.

Would you buy a car by going into the first dealership you walk into? No, you would do your research and get prices. Do the same with this too and you will be fine.

N
Dec 13, 2013 2:24 am EST

I had the pleasure to meet Mr Jack a few days ago, I bought him a screen protector for my canon 5d mark iii, for... $65. Then I wanted to know the price of a specific lens and he asked me twice the amount, arguing that the price I mentioned was in Euros and his price was in S$. Anyway, I wrote him an email regading the price of the screen protector, the lens and the comments on this forum. I also included my lawyer in CC. Then I went back to his shop, and he did refund me the money. He mentioned that the price of the lens was more expensive because it was not his price but he was selling it through another shop. This is non sense in my opinion but I got my money back for the screen protector and this is all I wanted. I was ready to go and see the shopping centre manager, then the police if needed. And my lawyer was aware of it all, so I guess my attitude convinced him that I was not willing to give up.

So, even if you've been cheated go back there, print the comments on this forum, go and see the police / customer centre, you are in your rights. If you haven't been to this shop yet, just DON'T GO!

B
Sep 15, 2013 4:38 am EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Beware of Joy's Electromart! Had a very Bad experience from this shop, specially the sales person- Jack Ng - a cheater - tried to put me into trap and harassed.1st week of August I bought D7100 from this shop as the price they quoted was cheaper compare to other shops in Funan. But that was the trap, initially he quoted S$1600, when I agreed to buy he said the price is without GST but I still agreed as it was still $100-200 cheaper compare to others. This was the starting pointing of my long suffering. wondering how those crooks are doing business in Singapore ..strange!
After he showed me a sample camera & I agreed to buy he asked me to pay 1st before he open the seal of the box. I paid by credit card & then in rocket speed he brought camera box - opened that box and placed Camera, Charger and memory in narrow front desk and threw all boxes inside into his cabin .Then he said I should buy an extra battery & lens protector also to keep the camera in well condition & before I say something & understanding what is happening - he charged additional S$200 and he put all those things in camera case. .I was not aware of the price of the battery & lens protector so I told - no I need to check what you are giving to me. He told all are genuine, no worries - if something wrong bring back I am not running any where. I believed & paid by credit card again. He put everything inside the camera bag & didn't give us the Box. Even the invoice he gave was hand written & unreadable, he even didn't mention the extra things we bought, just put the total price without any description. I had doubt in my mind & just to check I ask the next shop what's the price of lens protector they said china made one is S$10 & battery is just S$30. I was shocked & realised the one he gave us definitely China made as he didn't show us the brand, just opened the box & threw it in side the cabin & put in the camera.

Then I went back to Joy's shop and asked why he did all those nonsense? when I started asking in loud voice he started behaving rudely & asked me to return everything. I returned all those but he did not refund my money. He said I will get my money after 2 weeks by giving me a credit card manual receipt .But after several followup he simply replied he refunded my amount...where as I did not receive anything . After 1 month of follow up & I lodge dispute case with credit card bank. When bank called him (with a conference call including me) he told me that he will give me cheque. When I went there to receive my check he told me to sign in payment voucher that I have received the refund before handing over me the cheque. I had no choice than signing so I signed he gave the cheque...Again He cheated! He gave a long post dated cheque. When I asked he said you signed already you have no choice than taking this cheque. I have contacted my bank & the dispute is yet not settled...

I didn't know they are very famous in doing this kind of fraud & cheating, when I google their company name came to know they are expert in doing these kind of things...not sure where should I complain about them...

M
Aug 11, 2013 10:29 am EDT

Went to Joys Electromart on Sat Aug 10 2013. Asked for Nikon D7000 and he quoted me $1150. Everybody else asking about $1350. Cheaper by $200. Rubbed me the wrong way with the price being so cheap. Came back home to research the company and discovered what they were all about. Same thing, told me not in stock at the moment and to come back. Thanks guys for pointing these crooks out. For you guys who got burned, you have my sympathy. One day they are going to meet someone who does not take any crap and they are going to pay for it. That person was nearly me.

T
Aug 08, 2013 11:57 am EDT

we also had same experience...we bought nikonD7100 from him . While assembling the camera, he put one lance protector & said it's very necessary, & then added an other spare battery...for these two he charged 160 ( 65 for protector & 95 for battery)...he even didn't show us the brand which one he is giving, everything put inside the camera & bag & took our all the boxes...then in the bill he didn't write for those two item...later we compare with other shop it was 15 for protector & 30 for china made battery...We immediately went to tell him & we canceled the deal he agreed to refund the whole amount but since it was credit card payment...he wrote the slip there also he deducted the credit card charges but continuously saying bank will pay us full amount... Bank didn't agreed...He is a cheater...Can't we do something?

H
Feb 02, 2013 1:22 am EST
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

on 29 DEC 2012, I also got cheating by this shop. I was buying canon 600D, they selling to me S$900 only, when i saw another shop price is S$999. So i buying camera(S$900), wide angle len(Opticzeis, X 0.43wide angle, S$300), len's cover(uv protecrion, S$50) and extra battery(S$50). I though when after buying, i got so cheap price, but next day i going with my friend to another shop @ peninsula plaza. Then i know they( joy's electromart) cheated my money. Because wide angle len same brand S$120 only, len's cover( uv protection also same brand S$15 only and extra battery also same item S$30 only. So total i loss S$235. I don't want to talk to them again, if i talk also cannot get back my money. I just want to share my experience and want to warn all of my friend, please try to avoid like this shop. Please all share to know all of your friend also.

K
Dec 17, 2012 10:25 am EST

Scam Audio Clip recorded from Joy's ElectroMart
http://archive.org/details/ScamFromJoysElectromart

View 0 more photos
K
Dec 17, 2012 10:06 am EST

Scammed experience in Joy's ElectroMart, #02-02A Funan Mall

This is the shop opposite a sports wear shop. I was introduced by some friends to this shop. But I realized that I made a big rookie mistake since I bought from them.

On 24 April 2012, I was quite fresh to DSLR, I was totally trusting them and I did not compare price quoted by them with famous shops (such as TK photo, Alan Photo, John 3:16). I wanted to buy a lens with bigger aperture to shoot portrait. However, the salesperson introduced me a non-related lens Tamron 70-300mm F/4-5.6 (quite small aperture) which I did not have any knowledge in it. I totally trusted them since I was introduced by my friend and I was a frequent customer of them. I bought the lens at S$653 (the usual price at that time is definitely no more than S$300). It is also without any warranty card!

In Nov 2012, I realized that in those Funan famous shop, such lens is sold at less than S$240 which is S$400 cheaper than $653 in Joy’s ElectroMart. I tried to argue with them to refund some amount back. The person on the phone talked so rudely and ended my phone call so rudely.
I have logged a case in Consumer Association of Singapore (CASE) against their shop name. The salespersons are Jack Ng and Eric Ho. Some other scam reviews of them here:
1. Joy’s Electromart, Overpricing tourist by the usual scheme of suggesting accessories (3 actual scam cases!)….
http://www.complaintsboard.com/complaints/joy039s-electromart-c304665.html
2. nearly coned by Joy's camera shop (2nd storey)
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/digital-cameras-photography-12/nearly-coned-funan-mall-joys-camera-shop-2-storey-2711297.html
3. Review a scam from Joy’s ElectroMart
http://www.just2me.com/2011/02/review-scam-from-joys-electromart.html
4. Joy’s Electromart in Funan
http://www.clubsnap.com/forums/consumers-corner/314177-joys-electromart-funan.html

I do not expect to refund my S$400, but just a friendly tip for all DSLR beginners, please BUY from those FAMOUS SHOPS (listed in forum, such as TK photo, Alan Photo, John 3:16). Do compare price with different shops.

K
Dec 17, 2012 8:02 am EST
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I am also the victim! I bought a lens at S$653 (the usual price at that time is definitely < S$300). I realized that in other Funan shops (such as TK photo, Alan photo, John 3:16), it is only < S$240. I was overcharged for $400 more. I have logged a case in Consumer Association of Singapore (CASE) against their shop name. The salespersons are Jack Ng and Eric Ho. Some other scam reviews of them here:
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/digital-cameras-photography-12/nearly-coned-funan-mall-joys-camera-shop-2-storey-2711297.html
http://www.just2me.com/2011/02/review-scam-from-joys-electromart.html
http://www.clubsnap.com/forums/consumers-corner/314177-joys-electromart-funan.html

I do not expect to refund my S$400, but just a friendly tip for all DSLR beginners, please BUY from those FAMOUS SHOPS (listed in forum, such as TK photo, Alan Photo, John 3:16). Do compare price with different shops.

View 0 more photos
S
Dec 15, 2010 6:15 am EST

I should have looked at this website earlier. I just had the same experience with Jack Ng! I am new to Singapore. Can someone tell me what CASE is?

C
Nov 21, 2010 4:58 pm EST

Hi there, I would appreciate if you could put complaints against such cheats to CASE . I am lodging a complaint with CASE too whereby I am cheated by Joy's Electromart at in exactly the same way as detailed above by the guy called Jack Ng and have lost about S$800.

D
Jul 08, 2010 11:48 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

yes this is true and i was one of the victims! if you have your gear with you (cameras etc., ) dont let them
touch it! they will put accessories that are not necessary, but according to them you should have it
then will force you to buy them, then check them with other stores, wow! 200 to 300 percent overpriced! worst, already an absolete item! dont trust them, they're there to sell not to help or guide you on what you need. Always check several stores and be familiar with the accessories you're looking for, ..research...research. The guy was Jack Ng, as what appears in his card.

ADVERTISIMENT
ADVERTISIMENT