J2 Global CommunicationsStay away from J2!

H
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer
Review updated:

J2 Global Connect "Complaint"

6922 Hollywood Blvd. Suite 500
Hollywood, CA 90028

Primary Phone: [protected]

Complaint Description - Posted [protected]

Open original fax account (623) 321-8XXX on 10/05/06. On March 27, 2008 two new fax numbers were open by mistake. Since it is a yearly contract. J2 Connect charge twice for the March 2008 faxes. $170.53 x 2. J connect will only credit me $311.06 instead of the $341.06. It gets worse J2 decided to close the entire account. Now, my original fax number I only used it for 6 months and it is no longer active. According to Paul H (customer Service Mgr.) It is customary when a dispute it is open and a credit it is use for someone or system to close the entire account. To reactivate my account they want to charge me $10.00 to re-open my original fax number plus $15 x 2 for the use of the previous fax numbers open by mistake plus a $10 x 2 for re-activating both numbers Although we already settle the issue of both fax numbers that where open by mistake.

J2 Response

The $30 dollars not refunded from the two annual fax numbers the customer added to the account was for our Activation fees. It is a onetime $15.00 per number charge and is non-refundable except in certain circumstances. The reason it was not returned in this situation was because, while the customer indicated the numbers were added in error, they were both open for at least a month’s period of time and one of the numbers actually showed use. In these situations, as stated in our customer agreement, we do not refund the Activation Fee. All other portions of the charges related to the two erroneously added numbers was returned. If the customer wishes to reactivate his account with the original number assigned then we will make certain the $10 fee is waived. We apologize for the inconvenience.

My/Client Response

If they are willing to waive a $10 fee to reactivate the account. Why is a credit card is required for fax # 623-321-8XXX if that line it's already paid for the entire year since 11/06. That number was never disputed. It is my understading that additional fees will be charge to my credit card other than the $10.00 fee.

According to a customer Rep Pete M. j2 Customer Support [protected] If you wish to reactivate your account, please contact us and provide an alternative credit card to which we can charge: - The amount previously disputed - A $10.00 chargeback fee - All future charges incurred on your j2 account.

"Why can they just re-activate the number"

Thank you



J2 Response

No company's final response provided

Case Closed.



According to BBB Better Business Bureau

The following grid displays the number and responses to complaints over the last 36 months:

No. of Cmpl Type of Response
25 Making a full refund, as the consumer requested
0 Making a partial refund
22 Agreeing to perform according to their contract
2 Refusing to make an adjustment
3 Refuse to adjust, relying on terms of agreement
0 Unanswered
0 Unassigned

52Total

Complaint Experience according to BBB Better Business Bureau

Most complainants allege billing disputes or difficulty canceling accounts. Many customers complain of excessive hold times, anywhere between 10 minutes and up to several hours, when attempting to speak to a customer service representative. Other complainants allege the fax service does not work or fax numbers are reassigned without notice or justification. A few complaints allege the company does not disclose the fact that the number of faxes you can send is limited or that there is a per page charge for every outgoing fax.

The company responds to some complaints by canceling accounts, issuing refunds, and apologizing for the interruption of service. In a few cases, the company retrieves and reactivates fax numbers or verifies the service is operational. The company further responds by claiming customers have more than one account or that they have no evidence of cancellation.

Final

Hopefully my experience with J2 Global Connect will make you understand not doing business with this particular company. When a person has a positive experience it is mention to 3 to 5 people, but when consumer has a negative experience it is mention to 12 to 15 people. Thank God to the Internet maybe 12 to 15 Million people.

Enjoy your day!

Responses

  • Ro
    Rosesmommy Mar 19, 2014

    UGH! Just dealt with these people!! Just wanted an online fax company I didn't have to pay $10 for 100 pages.. signed up for their free trial and the signed me up for Evoice which I was told was part of the fax program.. it's not. I was told it would be easy to cancel and everything would work. I was hoping so as I had a very time sensitive document that had to be faxed last night.. I tried for 4 hours.. it NEVER made it through!!! Tried to cancel via email like I was told.. couldn't.. tried the online chat which is how I signed up.. they were rude and said I had to call.. but I'm hearing impaired and cant understand foreign voices.. that's why I MADE SURE I could cancel by Email or chat session!!.. The fax place was hesitant to let me cancel. But finally did.. wanted to know why and did I try this or that..

    Then I said again you canceled that voice thing you guys did to like I asked.. Nope separate company...?? How is it separate if you tell me it's part of the fax?? They send me over there.. LOONG wait time.. Final get a foreign man who I can barely understand who gets mad that I ask him to repeat himself over and over.. but I can't understand him because of my hearing issues!! I want it canceled ASAP.. we finally click or so I think.. he comes back on the line and tells me I owe 12.. for a free trial? and that he's lower it to 7.95 if I wanted to keep the service. I told him I wasn't paying a dime. I am not keeping this service and that he is to cancel it immediately as I wasn't told it was a separate service! Supposedly it's all taken care of.. Now to see if they charge me.. This place is horiable!!! Stay AWAY!

    -1 Votes
  • Dt
    DT11 Aug 12, 2015

    He's right. This all rings true and similar to my own experience.

    -1 Votes
  • Ke
    kevin freels May 01, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    In case you want to know where they may have got your card number.
    2 Global, Inc. provides Internet services through its two divisions: Business Cloud Services and Digital Media. Business Cloud Services brands include eFax, Onebox, eVoice, Fusemail, Campaigner, KeepITsafe, VaultLogix, Callstream, Yotta280, Mailout Interactive, GDV, BackUp Solutions, SugarSync, Nuvotera, UnityFax, Firstway Digital, Excel Micro, Web24 Group, MXSweep, City Numbers, LiveDrive, MetroFax, FoneBox, TrustFax, RapidFax, Send2Fax and Fax.com. The Digital Media division delivers various content through its digital properties, including Ziff Davis (Including PC Magazine, ComputerShopper, ExtremeTech, Toolbox.com and Geek.com) IGN Entertainment (including AskMen, 1UP.com and UGO.com), Offers.com, and NetShelter (including AndroidCentral.com, MacRumors.com, Neoseeker.com, SlashGear.com and TechSpot.com).[16] Also listed on WIkipedia are Mashable.com and HumbleBumble, Ookla.com, Speedtest.net, Offers.com, emedia, TechBargans.com, GameSpy, ExtremeTech, GearLog, GoodCleanTech, DLtv, AppScout, CrankyGeeks, Smart Device Central and TechSaver.com

    -1 Votes
  • Dd
    ddmag Feb 25, 2019

    I keep getting calls from J2 Global with no answer. The first few times I answered hello, then I tried to block them, but different numbers come up. The latest: 718-559-1063.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Charles Abrams Apr 07, 2019

    I received a fax message from J2 Global, Inc. with a letterhead " Affordable Business Loans Freeport, NY ( this is a town in Freeport, Long Island NY) .. After reading the scam alerts on the internet, it seemed obvious that using the Headlinhttps://www.complaintsboard.com/complaints/j2-global-communications-c13075.html#e above that J2 Global was using the local town names as a way to avoid using their corporate name.

    0 Votes
  • Gl
    gloria-taylor fricks Jun 17, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My PayPal account is negative $79.88 I didn't even know this was possible!
    I am a very poor person and can't pay that to get my balance out of negative. I don't know who these people are but this is not fair! Help please.

    -1 Votes
  • Bg
    bgreene28 Dec 25, 2019

    This is a jewish company that does not care about our privacy. I have a personal dispute with a doctor's office, and J2 has provide this entity my private contact information.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    In The News

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem