The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Insight Marketing ConceptsDon't waste your time!

I applied for several jobs on Career Builder.com. I received an email from Insight Marketing Concepts for a job. The letter had an urgency feel to it to hurry up and call to schedule an interview time. I called to say I was not available until the following day. I was told that they were only seeing folks today. So I rearranged my schedule and set an appointment for later the same day to meet with a Manager.

I arrived early, the lobby had music blaring, the receptionist was making one appointment after the other. There were plaques of Disney, Dare program and NFL plaques on the wall (big deal). There were 4 others in the lobby filling out a half page brief application. I was told to bring in my resume which they never even looked at.

I was called in by Desiree. She spoke a hundred miles an hour telling me they were looking for marketing people who could sell the products of the non profit organizations such as those that were on the walls of the lobby. Pardon me, but I don't think Disney is a non profit organization. It was at that time that I realized that this is a scam company.

When I asked her what she does she said she is not a Manager, she was an assistant to Larissa Hawley, President of the company. When i asked why I was not speaking to a Manager she said they were all in a meeting or away from the office at the time. (It was 4:30 pm).

Bottom line -- waste of my time and energies. After reading some of the other [redacted]s about this company, I am surprised that they are still allowed to conduct business in the State of California. I think they should be reported to the Bureau of Labor Statistics in Sacramento.

I sent them a reply email to the email that they sent to me to come down for an interview. I told them Shame on them for misleading folks like me to come down for a job interview. Slave labor went out in the 1860's. Read some of the other [redacted]s about this company.

If they don't answer questions about themselves and are immediately on the defensive when you ask questions, that is a big red flag that something is wrong. Don't waste your time.

Responses

  • Kt
    KTGT Dec 10, 2008

    Thanks so much for taking the time to fill this in. I too was called for an interview and after the initial "chat" thought it all sounded a bit "off." So, I took some time to research them, found this blog, and decided NOT to go in for an interview. Thanks for helping me not waste MY time!

    0 Votes
  • Th
    thundercat Jan 26, 2009

    WOW that's nothing !This is what the ad.said.Capitol Imports, Inc. is a California based marketing firm looking for entry-level candidates that we can develop into managers. We are a company that performs sales and client acquisition for Fortune 500 companies, golf courses, entertainment venues, and local businesses. For over 50 years, these companies have spent millions of dollars annually on traditional advertising (Radio TV Commercials, Billboards, Telemarketers, and Direct mail) - but they are struggling in bringing enough new customer acquisition. We believe there is nothing more powerful than a friendly person LIVE that can explain choices, educate customers, and provide great services. Our goal is to expand to 6 new locations by the end of 2008. There are many opportunities for growth in our company. As promotion is a key element needed to motivate any individual, we recognize one’s growth potential immediately and work hard to move them into a management role and/or other upper level positions. As part of this training for advancement, selected candidates will be hired to learn all aspects of our company (including marketing, sales, pilot programs, administration, and team management). Once the training is complete, these select leaders will manage our new clients, staff, and offices.


    My experience takes the cake..My appt was at 10:30am I arrived early and noticed that something was wrong right from the get go.Too many people in the lobby-the lobby that looks like its a health hazard.Things are falling apart but the signs and big poster look awsome from sports to kids brands.While people are waiting and arriving at the same time as my appt.I'm thinking its a seminar.I tell the receptionist about my appt. and she hands me a clipboard with very brief Q's on it and tells me to take a seat and someone would be with me shortly.No more then 5 Q's on the app.NAME-ADRESS-PHONE-DOB-and MAKE AND MODEL OF VEHICLE "BIG flag"-Why? The lobby is only equipped with 5 chairs so why does this company have about 20 people waiting just like me.LUCKY me I got a seat.Yeah right.So I started talking and making conversation with others and many have diferent ideas about the position I had 2 for manager openings 4 for door to door sales 3 for customer service sales reps and 1 business partner."WTF" RED FLAGS all over.Then my name was called an was told to go into a small office.We talk about everything but the job.I asked him what exactly is the job that I'm here for?Again tells me the same story. That they are a marketing firm with a high profile portifolio and that they are expanding and need a selective amount of reps to handle the workload in order to succeed you will have to learn the many aspects of the job if you're interested I would bring you in ASAP and we will go over the info tomorrow.SMART guy wont tell me what I will be doing if I'm hired. So I say OK I will be back tomorrow can't hurt to see what this is.To start off they got smart because under their new name "Capitol Imports" in Chula Vista I was not able to find anything on them but when I asked the HR rep where I could find some more info on them he said" Insight Marketing Concepts.Com . What a waste of time after reading all this. Never have I been so MAD.

    Thankz fellow complainers with out you I would of punch the guy in the face if I went in the next day.What a ripppp Offf...

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Job Seeker 99999 Feb 20, 2009

    Thanks to all of you for filling in this blog!! I also was called in for an interview and when I called back to get more information all I got was a fax machine answering the main number for Capitol Imports in the middle of the day. Weird. I waited until the following day and called the office right when it opened and asked the HR person for the job description for the position I was interviewing for, and their website. I asked her where is the website with the positions posted on it so I can review them, and was told that the website was under construction and to look at their old website: insightmarketingconcepts.com. I also was rushed to come in for the interview and wanted to do some research prior to the interview. Good thing I did all this, as I found out this information. I will cancel my interview and save myself a big waste of time.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Mary Lamb Mar 06, 2009

    Thank GOD I checked this blog! I too felt the person calling me for the interview was being a bit vague even though I was supposed to be interviewing with her and a guy name Ryan. After I hung up with "Christine", I tried googling CAPITOL IMPORTS information and nothing showed up. I even tried the address of 1045 Bay Blvd. # B in Chula Vista and that too did not show up!! (odd) I tried calling Christine back and got an answering machine. I left three messages before she returned my calls. I told her that I forgot what position that I was applying for and would like to know and she said she did not have that information and only management had that information (odd) even though I was supposed to interview with her. Something didn't seem right to me so I decided to find out if there were any bad comments/blogs posted about this company and lo and behold! Thank god I did not go and waste my time!!

    0 Votes
  • Th
    That1Guy Jun 04, 2009

    Wow, a little late on my part. I was also called in for an interview. My first initial interview was on Monday. Ok, so when I got the call I was extremely excited since I have been searching for a job for at least three months. So come Monday, I show up at my "interview" at 11:15am. and just like someone posted, at least 5 people were already waiting. I take a seat and of course had to fill out the questionnaire. Sit for another 10-15 minutes and finally my name gets called. I get interviewed by I guess the top guy and goes on to tell me more about himself then the actual job. Goes into saying that they are always promoting and how it is a fun job. Ok, so I'm thinking that this job is cool since I am talking to this guy like he is my friend. Then finally he asks me to come in for my second interview, I was thinking to myself, "Dang, I might of nailed this job!" He asks me when I am next available, I told him Thursday. He wrote it down and it was locked.
    Now Thursday comes around, I show up then what do I see, another group of people. I was thinking to myself, "Man they must have a high turn around rate or they just need people." So I check in, this was a 9:30am. Signed some paperwork and started to wait. 10 minutes fly, 20 minutes fly by then 30 minutes fly, I'm thinking whats going on. Then finally the receptionist opens the window and tells everybody that they are in a meeting. Ok cool. Then i start to hear some cheer... Ok... 45 minutes fly by...Still waiting. As I wait a women that was sitting there longer than me finally gets up and leaves. So i look at my watch and see I've been sitting there for an hour! Ok, you would think that if they were somewhat professional they would want to get the interviews going. Nope what do I hear, more cheering. I also forgot to mention that while I was sitting there, I am eaves dropping into a conversation with a lady that is going in for her 3rd interview, ok 3rd interview??? She is basically mentioning that it is door to door sales position... Yes it is a job, but if I heard her correctly it is commission based pay and I personally am not the type to "hassle" people. If people know what they want, they will go to the store and buy it! They don't need someone pushing them to buy something they might not even want.
    Anyways, I sit for an hour and see that women leave, I thought to myself what an excellent idea! So I grab my stuff and tell the receptionist I'm leaving. So in the end, it was a waste of my time. So if your looking into applying for this job, expect a phone call and get ready to get fed a bunch of bull, thats if this isn't for you. But if you like this type of "sales/marketing" position, be my guess.

    Oh and if you do decide to go for it, the second interview, you will be basically driving somewhere with a representative to I'm guessing a "job site" that is why they ask you if you have a car. This job entitles you to travel even though they do not mention it. I was thinking this was an office type environment. In my eyes, this looks like a type of pyramid type of job. Where you might have to recruit people to help you sell items people probably don't want.

    0 Votes
  • Al
    alexRvA Jan 09, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    They are a scam and a worst pyramid scheme then PrimAmerica. They are now open in Riverside going by business name: Sharpline Inc. They were previously called Vision.

    DBA File info.
    SHARPLINE INSIGHT MARKETING CONCEPTS R-[protected]
    VISION INSIGHT MARKETING CONCEPTS INC R-[protected]

    They are incorporated in California under corporation code C3100761 and the owner is called JASON SCOTT MCBROOM who is also the Agent of Process. You can get more info by purchasing their records from the California State Department under the authority of Secrecraty of State website using C3100761 as their file number.

    JASON SCOTT MCBROOM is also a convict with fraud under his belt.

    0 Votes
  • An
    anon230956 Feb 20, 2014

    I was contacted by some guy named Aladdin, and. A woman claiming to be Helen Sandoval. Their site is garbage, and does not at all appear to be legitimate. I told them not to contact me agagain. Don't know what they're about, but it's a scam, do not give them any info!

    0 Votes
  • Mo
    mommyof2sm Jun 06, 2014

    I applied for a job (Michigan, I've noticed most of the replies are California based) received an email today(applied last night at 1am) asking to reply back to know if I could do a phone "introduction" between 11:30-300 today. I didn't even receive it in my inbox but in my JUNK MAIL?!?! So, me being the nosy detective (and super desperate for a job) person I am I replied. They must be catching on because "Ms. Smith" left a link to their website in the email. I tried looking through the site, but surprise surprise it made NO sense to me. Not only did that not make sense, but some of the things I mildly understood seemed a but above my pay grade. I've been a bartender, a waitress, a cashier long story short I've always worked minimum wage jobs. I applied in hopes that the training they spoke so highly of would help break me out of this less than desirable work that I'm subject to. Anyways, since I didn't understand the sight I googled insight marketing group and scam. Which lead me to all of your posts. I'm so devastated I can't even put it into words. I'm a single mother of two amazing boys. I just want them to have a life I never did. We lost their father last year. And, god rest his soul (he was the most amazing man) even when he and I both worked we struggled and he was making very decent money. So, if or when I receive a reply email from Smith I will set up a phone interview, and you better believe she will NOT be the only one being interviewed... Back to the job search I go. Thanks everyone for keep us hopefulls in check!

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.