GoldRocks Golden RetrieversKimberly Schulz

1
J Review updated:

This woman has more lawsuits against her that can be counted. Recently, Judge Yuille in Genesee Count ordered canctions of over $19, 000.00 be paid to myself and my attorney in a case that dragged on for over 3 years with this woman. In the meantime, her Township sucessfully sued her, and the judge in THAT case ordered her to pay their legal fees. Puppy buyers who have sued her to get her to hone her guarantee (they have puppies who are dysplastic and have cost thousands in vet bills, and she will not return their calls, emails, letters, or even show up in court) AND because she was suspended by the AKC for 10 years they cannot get registration papers as she promised, are also owed thousands of dollars. She has left the Gordon Road property, leaving horses and many cats there, and take her dogs to an undiclosed property in either Gladwin, the Saginaw area, or Harrison. She claims to be raising and training "service dogs". She produced hundreds of puppies a year, has failed to pay income taxes since 1992 (the IRS has now got a lien on her Fenton property which is in foreclosure), and always seems to be able to get away with these things. There is a bench warrant for her arrest for failure to make a scheduled payment to one of the puppy buyers who successfully sued her.
My attorney worked hard for 3.5 years and deserves to be paid the remainder of his legal fees, and I want what was awarded to me (although it doesn't come close to what I've already paid.)

Responses

  • Me
    Melanie Trendelman Feb 06, 2009

    I agree with this statement. She sold 2 golden puppies to me for 1200.00 each. The dogs are going to be 2 years old soon but I am already experiencing problems with their hips. Their semi aggressive behaviors have been difficult to minimize. I wish their was something I could do to help prevent anyone else from being taken from this lady. I should also add that I have never received papers for either dog. I wrote a check but she really only wanted a money order... hmmm, really disappointed to hear how many people she has caused trouble for... I hope you eventually get what is rightfully yours. Good luck!

    Indiana resident

    2 Votes
  • Po
    pockets Apr 08, 2009

    Well guess what, , Kimberly is in Harrison area & has had all animals taken away & goes to court Monday the 13th of April in Clare county, , If she shows but she was offered a deal but rejected it so now she will be arrigned in court monday, , They took 23 adult dogs & 9 horse's.. Guess she took off with all the puppies before they got there, at 1905 coolidge harrison, , , , How sad the horses was, , NO FOOD for them & was kept in very small areas couldn't even run, , I hope she someday gets what coming to her, ,

    1 Votes
  • Ju
    Justice Apr 10, 2009

    There will be justice. She and her boyfriend were arraigned on felony animal abuse/neglect charges. There are now enough people who she has harmed who will testify against her.
    All of those poor animals...

    1 Votes
  • Ju
    Justice Apr 11, 2009

    She actually was in court in Clare County on Thursday the 9th for arraignment on the felony animal abuse and neglect charges. The court date on the 13th is sentencing on a misdemeanor in Livingston County, and then she is back again on the 23rd for a small claims hearing that she has been ordered to pay on. Then she is back in Clare County on the felony charges.

    1 Votes
  • Ju
    Justice Apr 17, 2009

    Schulz received 15 days in the Livingston County Jail on 4/13 for "animal at large" charges. Usually not a charge to be incarcerated for, but since she has many more of the same, they jailed her.

    1 Votes
  • Po
    pockets Apr 17, 2009

    I heard she got probation & No animals for 2 years?? Do you know anything about that?? I hope she gets more when she gets to Clare County?? Do you know anything about that one? Thank you for keeping me up to date, I am housing some of her horses, She does not ever deserve a animal of any kind, ,

    1 Votes
  • Po
    pockets Apr 17, 2009

    I hope all of these horses get good loving homes as they are such good animals, ,

    1 Votes
  • Ju
    Justice Apr 19, 2009

    Because the charges in Livingston County were misdemeanor charges, and the ones in Clare COunty are felony charges, it would make sense that sentencing would be more severe.

    1 Votes
  • Ja
    Janet Kos Apr 28, 2009

    Probation and no animals for two years is not enough!! After years of volunteering and seeing puppy mills, abuse, sickness and death- this is disgusting! Is there no judge out there brave enough to break the mold and hand out a deserving sentence?!
    This woman will continue to do business as usual and clone this good looking goldens with hidden defects and illness and sell them to unsuspecting dog lovers that will go into debt to save them.
    She should be locked in a cage for two years -and NEVER own another animal as long as she lives!

    1 Votes
  • Co
    Concerned in Harrison May 11, 2009

    May 11, 2009
    All of the dogs were rescued by a Golden Retriever organization, about three weeks ago. The horses were staying at a nice farm in Harrison. I hope the courts put her out of business for good.
    The Golden Retriever organization has done a wonderful job with the dogs. They have all been to the vet and have received their shots. The dogs are in such a better place!

    1 Votes
  • Ju
    Justice May 13, 2009

    Kimberly Schulz was arrested this morning in Harrison, MI. Word is that she was in violation of the terms of her probation - not being allowed to be around animals - and will be in jail for two years.

    1 Votes
  • Po
    pockets May 15, 2009

    I sure hope she does some time!! She is suppose to go to court the 22 of this month in Harrison mi also barry laubscher goes the same day, , It was his place where the animals were. I wonder if he has been apart of this all this time?? Please keep me up on everything thank you

    1 Votes
  • Ju
    Justice May 15, 2009

    She is in jail right now in Livingston County, apparently to serve two years. She'll get an additional 2 on the Harrison charges probably.

    1 Votes
  • Lo
    lovemygolden May 19, 2009

    Does anyone know the name and info for the rescue org?

    1 Votes
  • Po
    pockets May 19, 2009

    you can call Clare county shelter & maybe they can tell you, , 989-539-3221, ,

    1 Votes
  • Ju
    Justice May 19, 2009

    She is out of jail. For now.

    1 Votes
  • Po
    pockets May 19, 2009

    what????????????what do ya mean for now? This is so crazy, , How does she get so lucky? Well she is suppose to be in court this friday at 10 am in clare county, , I will be there!!

    1 Votes
  • Ju
    Justice May 19, 2009

    I don't know why they don't hol her over. She's proven to be unreliable for appearing in court. She doesn't pay fines and court ordered restitutions. Probabtion rules mean nothing to her. Taxes, mortgage payments, dog licenses - those are for OTHER people, not HER. It is amazing.

    1 Votes
  • Ju
    Justice May 19, 2009

    I just corresponded with Livingston County. A payment plan was set up and Schulz was released. That's funny - she's never adhered to any payment plan before.

    1 Votes
  • Ja
    Janet Kos May 20, 2009

    Kim Schulz hs been selling these dogs to a church group based in Ill. The dogs did not go to a Mi Rescue like they should have. They are being kept at a kennel temporarily until further placement.
    Clare Co. gave them to a Ohio BASED rescue and Kim CONTINUES to get dogs for this church group that is bilking church members and others out of thousands.

    1 Votes
  • Ja
    Janet Kos May 20, 2009

    Please email me at [email protected] if you would like to participate in a demonstration at the court-house on friday, tomorrow
    I will have signs, and will notify the local media-I need your presence and input-this woman has not been stopped- The judges, animal control and innocent adopters have no idea what she is doing.

    2 Votes
  • Co
    Concerned in Harrison May 20, 2009

    May 20, 2009
    If you are interested in the dogs rescued from Harrion - go to www.gr-rescue.org and fill out an application.

    1 Votes
  • Co
    Concerned in Harrison May 20, 2009

    May 20, 2009
    Janet, are you talking about the dogs from Fenton? The ones that you say are being kept at a kennel temporarily?

    1 Votes
  • Ja
    Janet Kos May 20, 2009

    Concerned- PLEASE email me privately [email protected] thanks-Janet

    1 Votes
  • She's been getting away with this crap for years. Sadly, most of us don't find out until we've already been taken by her, or whoever she's associated with. She always plays the victim. Nothing is ever due to anything she's done. After awhile we started to catch on to her and began to search for the supposed people that were abusing her. What we found confirmed our suspicions...she's the abuser!! Many of the stories as the same. How or why it's been allowed to go on for so long amazes me. After we confronted her on everything she turned it around once again to be the victim. I was abusing her and taking advantage of her. The woman is nuts. We sadly got involved with the charity she works with in trying to get a service dog for our disabled little girl. While I think that the majority of the charity work they do is legit, the "comfort dog" program is a scam. They were able to obtain 6 of the goldens seized by Clare County and have actually put on their website that the dogs are being "trained from a service dog to a parish comfort dog." There is nothing ever mentioned about how they got the dogs or the background of the breeder they use. They know about Kim and her background and continue to work with her even though they state they don't. Why is that? Why don't they get their dogs from a reputable organization if they're legit themselves? It got to the point where Kim actually dropped two dogs off at our house for what she said would only be a couple hours. Said 1 was a service dog for our daughter to try and the other she thought would be great for our other 3 kids to have as "she knew they were feeling left out." She stated she'd be back to take them to the groomers for us as they were stinky. She didn't show up for 2 WEEKS!!! Then when we told her we only wanted to keep the 1 dog, she told us we couldn't have her unless we were willing to breed her for her! She literally had to pull the dog away from our disabled child. It's just been a nightmare! All we wanted was a dog for our little girl and this is the mess we got into.

    2 Votes
  • Ju
    Justice May 21, 2009

    It would appear that the church "charity" intends to breed their own "comfort dogs". They know nothing about what that entails, or else they would not be using GoldRocks dogs as their foundation. Those dogs have been in a closed colony for so long that the inbreeding is frightening - fathers to daughters, mothers to sons, brothers to sisters. No reputable breeders wanted to sell dogs to her, or allow her to breed to their dogs, so she was stuck with her own. And genetic health issues are rampant in these dogs - ie hip dysplasia and eye problems - and using these dogs for breeding will only perpetuate them. It is my understanding that there have been issues with aggression among these animals, as well - which may be environmental to some extent, but the shyness and timidity seen in youngsters is incorrect temperament for Golden Retrievers, and also should not be reproduced.

    2 Votes
  • Po
    pockets May 21, 2009

    Well I will be in Clare county Fri for the court, , I wish everyone would come together so the public would see what a awful thing these people have done!! I wonder if the court knows what she is up to again!!! This is so BAD!!! I hope she does time & I hope the public can see who she is, , as NO ONe has even seen a picture up here, , ,

    2 Votes
  • Okay - I just typed a long response and my computer froze...

    The golden we had wanted to keep was very skiddish. We felt so sorry for her and knew we'd give her a much better home. Plus we knew she'd be bred to death. The older dog she had left as our service dog was too old to be bred any longer. We also had found out our "service dog" was MUCH older then what Kim had stated. We also noticed that she seemed to have hip problems. When we asked about her hips being checked and also where her paperwork was, Kim became very defensive and took the dog from us. She was pretty smooth though. She had agreed to watch the dog for us while we went on our Make-A-Wish trip and have her hips looked at. Upon our return I called and asked about the dog and received a nasty email back from her stating she would not be returning the dog to us, would not be working with us any longer, and that I was an awful mother as she was only trying to help our daughter in what proved to be an abusive situation from me. Have I said, the woman is nuts? I mean it's scary because she 100% does NOT see what she is doing.

    2 Votes
  • Ja
    Janet Kos May 21, 2009

    It's appaling that she could do that to anyone with a disabled child or anyone else. The stupidity of leaving an animal that has never been exposed to small children and could display agression in insane. The best thing that could happen would be for her to be committed to a facility that would treat her for all her issues and not release her until she demonstrates some kind of normal behavior. Kim had over 50-60 dogs in fenton- where are the others? The dogs should never have been released to anyone until after the court proceedings- this is highly unusal.Except for temporary rescue., foster homes, I doubt any court system or judge would condone that action.

    2 Votes
  • Ju
    Justice May 21, 2009

    She has always done this - when the "heat" is on, she moves and hides dogs. She used to take them somewhere in the Cleveland area, but I believe that she burned that bridge a long time ago. Prior to the seizure in Clare, it is believed that she moved the younger, more "valuable" (read that "breedable") dogs back to the Fenton property (her husband was in that home). She may have someone in Midland, and maybe still someone in Gladwin. Or, people from the Church "Charity" could have taken some. It never ceases to amaze me how much she is able to get away with. I understand that authorities have to follow the letter of the law, and that the wheels of justice move slowly (if at all, and in Schulz's case, they seem to move in reverse.) Her actions are unconscionable, and the fact that she feels no remorse, would certainly fit the definition of sociopath.

    2 Votes
  • Ja
    Janet Kos May 21, 2009

    Very true, sociopath among other things- the only way to cut her access off to dogs is to cut her funds- This LCC seems to be bringing in alot of money through her sales of "COMFORT DOGS"-According to one article I read written by this church- it cost 7, 000.00 to feed train and maintain a comfort dog. If memory serves me right that is the amount solicited from a senior citizens home. Gee if that's true, we have 21, 000.00 lying on the couch right now.

    2 Votes
  • Mi
    Mike May 21, 2009

    I'm so glad to hear all of this. My wife and I sued her in May of 2006 for a dog we purchased. We took her to court in Brighton and she was a disgrace. We won the case and she had to pay. Our dog is a member of our family but has been diagnosed with bilateral hip dysplasia, Pannus and left medial patella luxation. This women shouldn't be allowed to have a stuffed animal, let alone real ones. I would show up to any upcoming court cases to show support in a attempt to see to it that she goes to jail and is not allowed to have any animals ever again.

    2 Votes
  • Po
    pockets May 21, 2009

    come on everyone, , I have listened to your stories & they are so sad so come on to Harrison Mi fri at 10 am as she has to be in court!!! I will be there how about some of you, , The more the better, , maybe the court will see what all is being done see someone there fri????

    2 Votes
  • Ju
    Justice May 21, 2009

    Where is the hearing? Clare County or Gladwin? And is it definately at 10:00am?

    1 Votes
  • Po
    pockets May 21, 2009

    Its in Clare county & Yes it is 10 & I have to be there at 9:30, , I called today & It is still on, , Her & Barry Laubscher

    1 Votes
  • Ju
    Justice May 22, 2009

    Any news from Clare County yet?

    1 Votes
  • Lo
    lovemygolden May 24, 2009

    What is the actual reason they took her goldens and where are things now with Kimberly?

    1 Votes
  • Ru
    ruby55 May 25, 2009

    The rescues were taken to a shelter in Ohio. Look here: http://www.gr-rescue.org

    1 Votes
  • Ju
    Justice May 26, 2009

    Does anyone know what happened on Friday in Clare County court? I think that it was a pre-trial hearing.

    1 Votes
  • Po
    pockets May 26, 2009

    new court dates, , in June, ,

    1 Votes

Post your comment

    In The News

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem