FunMobile.comFunmobile contact person's INFO

T
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

Hi everyone,

I too am a victim of this scam. I have found however the trail leading to the so called Pres/CEO of this scam service... His name is Christian Heileson, the address is 197 Portland Street, Boston, MA 02114. The phone number is the same that you are to call to get customer service, [protected]. I found this through the Better Business Bureau which I suggest you all file a complaint with. The BBB ID number for this company is 102515. There is also another email address listed. It is [protected]@funmobile.com . Oddly enough there is only 1 complaint in the last 36 months on this company. Somehow they have managed to hide. So go to the BBB, the company was registered in Delaware in 2006 listed under Funmobile and register your complaint. Good luck to everyone and hopefully we all can turn the tables on this scam company.

Responses

  • Vi
    Victamized by Funmobile Dec 07, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Funmobile is a total SCAM! Victamized by Funmobile!! They bill through your cell phone provider. This was also on my son’s account portion and when I phoned my cell phone provider (FIDO) they explained what the “Third Party” charges were. They were from Funmobile. They kindly removed $40 off my bill for two months of charges, ($20 for each of the months.) They also gave me Funmobile’s phone number to stop the charges. I did phone Funmobile and followed their automated process to stop/cancel subscription. FIDO was very good at handling this. One month later, unfortunately Funmobile charged me two more times in November and I had to call them directly for the refund because now FIDO was unable to help.
    My experience calling, Funmobile’s customer service agents are trained to receive upset customer phone calls (it is like they are expecting them) because they are definitely feisty and unfriendly. The agent first refuses to give you refunds but I stood my ground and eventually was able to get them too. (Mind you I just phoned today so maybe in 4 to 6 weeks I will receive the refund. We’ll see.) The customer agent insisted that my young son or someone went to their website and registered the cell phone number and then activated the activation number. The agent did not seem concerned that (very insensitive) of the fact that this was a child’s phone. It was for a Trivia game and my son is under 10. When I looked at the text messages on the phone, it looks like they are just spams and none of the messages (all un-opened I might add until I found them) did not say anything about an activation number but only if you want to stop receiving these Trivia questions to text “Stop” to the number provided. The Funmobile customer service agent insisted that we did register the phone number and that we did activate their activation number. If we didn’t register on their website then there was no way FIDO would have billed us. The FIDO agent had explained the first time that FIDO only receives a list of phone numbers from these types of companies listing the new phone numbers that have registered for their services/games and then FIDO blindly adds these charges to each person’s bill. FIDO does not check with their customers to confirm if this is correct or not.
    I don’t believe Funmobile is a truthful company and I don’t believe their customer service agents are knowledgeable because he could not even spell “Delta”. This company does not come off as being legitimate or at least not honest to their un-suspecting customers.

    0 Votes
  • Wi
    William M May 17, 2011

    SOLO and BELL should be held accountable for engaging in illegal business practices with FUNMOBILE.
    My 16 year old son entered into a contract with FUNMOBILE. It is illegal for anyone less than 18yrs of age to enter into a contract. I was billed $10 for the FUNMOBILE service and continue to be billed by SOLO. I contacted SOLO and informed them of the situation, my son being under age and could not legally enter into a contract with FUNMOBILE. They did nothing, in my opinion SOLO/BELL knowingly and willingly allow illegal contracts to be made with children less than 18yrs of age for the sole purpose of profit. SOLO and BELL should be held accountable. Perhaps a class action lawsuit...The problem isn't with FUNMOBILE; it is with the carrier service providers SOLO/BELL profiting from illegal contracts. It's ridiculous, Perhaps a 100 million dollar fine. I think that might straighten out there business modeling practices.

    0 Votes
  • Ju
    Jutinaytes Feb 13, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    These guys are supposed to receive a confirmation text from you before they send anything thru to your phone. I sent no such text! I receieved 4 txts in the space of 5 minutes. And my phone was charged at $5 per txt. They tell you to sms stop to 4414 and give you an 0800 number to ring to cancel. I sent 8 stop texts and rang the number, there was no reply the first dozen times. When I got the second lot of txts I rang the number again and got an automated machine. After being charged $40.00 all up I`m sure hoping it`s stopped. This is a horrendous scam!!

    0 Votes
  • Al
    alex245 Jan 04, 2011

    this mobile ringtone company is a stupid scam, i got about 7 messages each fortnight and when i txted stop to the number up to $10 was removed from my phones credit leaving it with NOTHING. this is ###...

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    manu ouimet Dec 22, 2010

    been credit 6 time 10$ each time that i did not take or text and stop text stop i want to be refund those 10$ wen i did not puchased for been credit for it

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Joe S Chi Nov 23, 2010

    *** PLEASE COMPLAIN TO THE Better Business Bureau ABOUT THIS COMPANY ***
    I received something on facebook to enter and win a gift card. Was told I needed to enter a pin number from my cell phone. It was not disclosed that I would be charged 9.99 to my TMobile bill for some ringtone subscription service. Tmobile gave me their number to call and cancel. They did so, but the rep was very rude and they will not refund the 9.99 i was charged. Again, these scammers need to be shut down.

    0 Votes
  • Na
    NASH JONES Oct 28, 2010

    My encounter with FUNMOBILE has resolved well, because I contacted my wireless carrier (VERIZON). They agreed to remove the charges. I never signed up for ring tones or screen savers. I'm not really sure how the got my number. I talked to their customer service dept.(info from website) in Malaysia to a Shaun. Their head quarters address is 197 PORTLAND STREET, BOSTON, MASS, 02114, 7TH FLOOR. Ask for KEVIN SPECTOR [protected]. I found this info through GOOGLE. My next move is to call the Boston BBB to discuss class action. Contact your local tv and radio station's consumer affairs reporter. They love this stuff. Good Luck

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    mastercapt Oct 22, 2010

    i too have a complaint against funmobile, i am in the process of filling out a complaint form with the fcc, hopefully I can get my money back and put a stop to these jerks.

    0 Votes
  • Ky
    kykriss Aug 19, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    The same exact thing happened to me...telling me to take the IQ quiz via my friend's MSN message...luckily I was suspicious and googled funmobile when they asked me to agree to the terms of service after completing the quiz!!!

    0 Votes
  • 19
    1997 Aug 13, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    i added the feature 2 months ago then dis-activated my phone and after re-activating me phone this site took 10 dollars from my phone and i did not give any permission to take any money from my phone.

    0 Votes
  • De
    Deborah Wolter Aug 13, 2010

    I still have not had any response after texting STOP-apparently you are supposedly to get a response that Fun Mobile will text back something so you will know you do not want to be on this any more. I have not had any response!! I am hesitate to put money on my cell for I fear they will take it out again!! This is a nightmare, to say the least!!! I have also involved help center as well. I want my at least ten dollars put back on my cell-any one know how to go about that one?? Thank you Deborah Wolter

    0 Votes
  • Qu
    Quads Aug 10, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Same thing happened to me. Apparently if you reply back to their text with the word stop. They take your name off

    1 Votes
  • Qu
    Quads Aug 10, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I too was a victim to this pathetic scam. But someone hacked into my friends MSN thats right MSN and pretended to be her and said "I'm just doing an IQ quiz" then goes on to tell me that she scored 108 and I should try and see what I get". I said what test and then thinking it was her they put a link on her MSN for it and said let me know after I have my shower what you got... I know she is working but stupid me waited till after to call her at work I thought perhaps she had gone home to do something... She had no idea what I was talking about!!! First Time and last Time I will fall for this, but also who is making conversation? They know English

    0 Votes
  • De
    Deborah Wolter Aug 04, 2010

    I was online and there was I.Q. test ad. You answer several questions and then you are asked to enter your cell phone number and you will be sent a 4 digit pin # to find out your results of this quiz. What the company doesn't make clear[or say anything] is that you have just joined and now are charged $9.99 right out of my cell phone account!! I had no clue this was not free as the company falsely tricks/scams you before you know what has happened. I am now out the money and I am trying to find out how to get the money put back on my phone. This is unacceptable and these scams seriously need to be shut down. At the very least there should be a warning in big bold print near the top of these quizzes/games letting one know what they are getting into. There is all this tiny[ok fine ] print that goes on and on and on. Shut these scams down!!!

    0 Votes
  • Mn
    Mónika Jul 22, 2010

    Not registered anywhere!
    Not accept any terms and conditions!
    Sms and it will not be disallowed.
    Money, after deduction of all SMS.
    How can this end?
    Please help me!
    Thank you!

    0 Votes
  • Da
    DAVIDSWALLACE Jun 02, 2010

    WHY DOESN'T THE SAME BODY THAT OVERSEES DANGEROUS OR ILLEGAL POSTINGS DO SOMETHING ABOUT THESE SORTS OF SCAMS?

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    CARSONHATESFUNMOBILE Oct 06, 2009

    I am 13 years old just got my new cell phone and then my bill comes in a month later and this stupid Funmobile thing is on it. i have een trying for monhs to get it off my phone but i cant so how do I GET IT OFF. PLEASE HELP ME

    0 Votes
  • Gg
    GGH Sep 29, 2009

    Last month I was able to get them to stop sending the sillydaily jokes and refund my money. They said they had cancelled "my subscription" (one I did not know I had). I received another charge on my bill this month from them. Their number is [protected]. It is called customer service, what a joke.

    0 Votes
  • Lo
    longh33 Sep 06, 2009

    2 years later...

    I recently typed in my number to pass the survey on a website to watch at UFC video... then i recieve 4 different text from 4 different companies *(which are all probably from the same scam artest in their private house) saying that I registered with all of them for 9.99$??? now i probably owe 40 dollars now. And they said they were going to refund me my money in the mail, which i highly HIGHLY doubt they will do. I AM PISSSED! these people are SCAMMMERSS. THEY DESERVE TO BE PUT IN JAIL OR DEAD for all i know. I requested to speak to their manager, who sounds like the same lady from all three companies and I can hear dogs in the back ground. it sounds like they are doing this ### from their home. WE NEED TO PRESS CHARGES. they cant get away with this. Atleast im going to ### at them about how bad their life must suck to scam innocent people for Hundreds of thousands of dollars all together. DONT be mistaken for their nice customer service attitude. they are CRIMINALS. And they get away with this because no one wants to pursue going to court over 9.99$. WHERE are the lawyers on the internet when i need them to read this... *COMPANIES include - Solow, FunMobile, Predicto.com, Ringtonetop.com** PLEASE HELP. WE NEED TO BRING THESE PEOPLE DOWN!!! this has been going on for over 2 years??? this is WAY TOO long and this criminal in charge is banking...

    0 Votes
  • Lo
    longh33 Sep 06, 2009

    its not the verizon company. its the Funmobile, Predicto.com, solow.com TEXT companies that are the criminals

    0 Votes
  • Mr
    MRDUFFER Aug 11, 2009

    Contact your cellular phone carrier and request that this "third-party" billing be BLOCKED !

    0 Votes
  • Mr
    MRDUFFER Aug 11, 2009

    My cellular service with T-Mobile began listing unauthorized charges from a company known as "Funmobile" in June. The charge was $9.99 monthly, and T-Mobile described the service as downloads and ringtones for a mobile cell phone. According to records maintained by T-Mobile, Funmobile sent me an initial text message to subscribe, and then a monthly renewal text message - and that I had approved these messages. This was patently false information. The truth is that not only did I NOT subscribe, nor authorize Funmobile charges, I did NOT even have any idea of what Funmobile was, and I had never heard of them before. Until I caught the charge on my cellular bill, this company was set to renew the $9.99 monthly charge to my cellular indefinitely. Obviously I was SCAMMED, and Funmobile perpetrated a scheme to take advantage of the fact that most customers do not check their phone bill for the detailed billing information. Upon my first contact with a T-Mobile representative, T-Mobile told me that their records indicated I had accepted the terms and charges sent from Funmobile to my cell phone via text messages. Online research brought me to this web site, and in particular to these specific complaints about Funmobile. A second communication with T-Mobile and the representative agreed to remove the present and past charges. This should be an urgent lesson to everyone to CAREFULLY scrutinize the details of your cellular phone bills, even though that is a daunting task, given the sheer volume of itemized information printed throughout the typical multiple-paged billing report.

    0 Votes
  • Do
    dominique Demetriades Jul 28, 2009

    we cannot unsubscribe to funmobile and are being charged ZAR22.00 per week for downloads that we cant gert and dont want. The sms advising us of latest downloads nevr gives a number to unsubscribe and we are being ripped off week after week! The number concerned is cell c [protected]. please assist if u can!

    0 Votes
  • Si
    sibongiseni qabisisa Jun 30, 2009

    This company has been debiting my airtime with R7.50 & other times R22.50 without me authorizing to do so. I would like for them to stop this and refund me! I am a student and am very aware of what & were i subscribe... I never gave them any authority to do this so they should refund me!

    For any inquries, contact me on :

    [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Aj
    Ajit Jun 12, 2009

    Accidently I put my cell number on this web site and they automatically enrolled my for their useless service which I did not want. I immidiatly called to cancel it but still this company charged me $10 for the service which I did not even used for a minute.

    0 Votes
  • Pn
    p-newton May 26, 2009

    I have been receiving text messages from 30033 daily and sometimes twice daily and have no idea where or how this was authorized.

    0 Votes
  • Ki
    KISHA May 18, 2009

    I HAVE A VIRGIN MOBILE PHONE AND MY PHONE IS NOT EVEN COMPATIABLE WITH THE SERVICE AND THEY STILL CHARGED ME $9.99 FOR RINGTONES I NEVER RECIEVED.

    0 Votes
  • Bl
    blank. May 14, 2009

    I never subscribed to Funmobile's services and just recieved a phone bill with a ten dollar charge. If i have never authorized them to do so, why get charged?

    0 Votes
  • Ra
    Randy Apr 30, 2009

    why can't there be a successful class action suit against these guys, i'm sure lawyers can get a huge percentage of the win. I don't even want the money if they win from the class action, i just want them to stop putting charges on my bill.

    0 Votes
  • Ba
    BAMA-BOY Feb 21, 2009

    this company is full of ###!!! scamming ppl 2 get their money, wow what ppl will do 2 get rich. i think this company should refund the money back, who wants a polytone thats so 1980, its 2009 now now we want what we pay 4 not sum stupid polytone.. anyway i fell 4 it, this company sucks and im gonna turn them into the better business bureau... ### sum TOP-LOGO-RINGTONES U SORRY ###!!!

    1 Votes
  • Go
    GO-GIRL Feb 10, 2009

    YES THEY MANAGED TO GET ME AS WELL CHARGING ME $9.99 FOR SOMETHING I DIDN'T WANT AND $2.50 FOR A POLYTONE I DIDN'T WANT AND STILL COULDN'T DOWNLOAD YES BUYER'S & SEARCHER'S BEWARE THEY WILL ATTACK YOU. MY PHONE COMPANY TOLD ME IT'S LIKE JUNK MAIL BEING TEXTED TO YOUR PHONE. WATCH OUT!!! I HATE YOU TOP-LOGO-RINGTONES.COM >>>>>>> DAMN YOU!!!

    1 Votes
  • Tu
    Tuane Ellis Jan 26, 2009

    I'm furious at this funmobile thing!!! it eats my airtime like cookies and i never even subscribed to anything!!! IF THEY DO NOT FIX IT I WILL BE GIONG TO THE PAPERS AND I WILL SUE FOR UNAUTHORIZED CHARGING!!! its theft! im very very annoyed at this and i want the unsubscription code.

    0 Votes
  • Ra
    rainbow Jan 22, 2009

    I just had the same experience with FunMobile they claim to not be able to refund the charges to the account eventhough my cellular provider assured me they could. I have been enlightened by reading these comments because the guy I talked to told me they weren't a shady little company preying on kids who don't pay enough attention to what they're doing on the cell phone, of course maybe that comment of mine is why he said he wouldn't refund the money, it's not that he couldn't. Anyway I told him I would turn them into the Better Business Bureau and our State Attorney General's office.

    1 Votes
  • De
    denise Jan 14, 2009

    Hi my name is denise darling and yesterday i put R29.00 on my cellphone for airtime and this morning the 14 Jan 09' i had R6.00 left, thats impossible!!! i can tell you now the only things i did yesterday with that airtime is send 2 messages each being R0.80c and thats it. i am terribly angry and annoyed by this and i expect to be refunded for this ordeal immediately and if i am not then i am going straight to the newspapers and other sources to complain about this because this isnt the first time its happened with you people.

    Denise Darling...

    0 Votes
  • Aj
    AJ Camus Jan 13, 2009

    I also have been fraudulently charged for this "service". Truth is, if I wanted to get screwed, I'd get a hooker! THis is ridiculous, and I got no satisfaction from the idiot on the phone. I am getting an attorney, and if anyone here is interested, I would like to start a class action lawsuit against them.

    This kind of fraud and identity theft must be stopped.

    0 Votes
  • Andrea123 Jan 08, 2009

    TEXT STOP to 26541 This is the only thing That will usually stop them, I think it prevents them from charging further, I am in the process of getting my money back from Virgin Mobile ( hopefully)... this is so insane, I was so pissed off when i learned of this...

    0 Votes
  • Andrea123 Jan 08, 2009

    This company is a suck job scam, I hope YOU and I can both get our money, it appears they are only in the business of taking ones money, not returning it ...
    try sending a Text saying STOP to 26541 this might help you from any future charges ...

    0 Votes
  • Andrea123 Jan 08, 2009

    This exact thing happened to me as well, I text them back to take me off the list, I figure my 10 bucks is gone, BUT can only hope they don't take anymore out, someone needs to do something about this, it is insane! You can't even report them to the BBB because they only handle the US and Canada Business, the fun-mobile so called "company" is located in Hong Kong ...try texting STOP to 26451.. That SHOULD keep them from taking more out of your account... Hope it helps!

    -1 Votes
  • Andrea123 Jan 08, 2009

    Its so funny to me, AS I was about to reply to your comment, I got an ad for "download ringtones" HA...
    anyway, I just had this happen to me, I guess there is NOTHING anyone can do, I see everyone is being reamed by "said" company...
    I am ready to CUSS someone out, and I don't handle things of this nature very well at all! ha
    I hope we can eventually do something to get this sort of thing banned or outlawed ... this is an OUTRAGE!

    0 Votes
  • Andrea123 Jan 08, 2009

    I Just had $9.99 stolen from my cell phone account, by the above mentioned company.
    I never agreed to, or signed up for, used a credit card or anything, They can steal money directly from your pre-paid Virgin Mobile Account.
    I Am being REAL discreet right now, AS I wish to kick someone in the TAINT for this, and its usually my style to cuss someone OUT, Esp when I am being ripped the F*ck off!!! How can I report these shady A*s-holes?... I tried BBB but they only take complaints from the US and Canada ... I guess I lost my money, And can't get it back. Please beware of this Bull Sh*t people! I never gave these [censored]-nozzles ANYTHING and they still got my money! I don't understand how they can be allowed to do this?... Has anyone else had this sh*tty occurrence happen to them?

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.