Menu
Register
Write a review File a complaint
FreeDownloadZone.com

FreeDownloadZone.com review: Monthly Charges to my account 41

L
Author of the review
12:22 pm EST
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

I went to FreeDownload.com to install some computer protection programs to my husbands computer. They not only charged me considerably at the time of installation, I am also getting monthly charges taken from my debit card. The bank says I have to call them, the number on the debit charge does not work and can not get their web site to log in or even open up for that mater. I don't know how to stop this charge and I'm getting really frustrated. I've been taken to the cleaners on this one. Should have known better when they charged me for the program to begin with. If anyone has any idea how to make this go away, please share the info on a blod. I just want the monthly charges STOPPED

Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

41 comments
Add a comment
G
G
glennafrisbee
Anderson, US
Oct 01, 2011 7:20 pm EDT

I have pending charges to my credit card from this site. I have never heard of them much less how di they GET MY INFORMATION!

C
C
Corey hendricks
Lawrenceville, US
Apr 24, 2011 5:33 am EDT

I do not know why this company took money from my account. I have never heard of this company nor ever been on the website. Please contact me asap [protected]. Thank u for your time.

Corey hendricks

W
W
william
,
Sep 09, 2008 7:33 am EDT

After downloading avg virus protection my laptop will only work in the safe mode. When I called they had me remove it and download PANDA. When I tried to register with Panda it required an activation code. When I called the tech support, (which I paid 3 years for) they told me to contact PANDA for it. And I have been unable to get anything from PANDA. What have I paid for? If the company cannot assist me I want a full refund. I need 24/7 tech support from the company I paid. I do not want to be told to go somewhere else for help, and then not be able to get it.

J
J
John Irwin
,
Jun 05, 2008 8:05 am EDT

I attempted to download what I thought was a FREE virus protection program but was charged. The point is that the program would not install, something about "corrupt files" and something about trying again, which I foolishly did. This time the same results--no installation. Nevertheless, I was charged twice for a program that would not install. At present I have no program at all but have been billed twice. I would like to unauthorize this charge.

C
C
chance9297
Kuna, US
Aug 12, 2011 10:04 pm EDT

These people keep pulling money out of my account. Of course I try to go to their website and it conveniently will not open up. My bank tells me that I cannot stop payment on them. I do not even know what this is for! I have come close to bouncing my bank account and have had to borrow money from others to cover the unexpected withdrawal from them.

L
L
lukemelville
Mukinbudin, AU
Feb 19, 2012 2:34 pm EST
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

FREEDOWNLOADZONE.COM took out 9.97AUD from my account. I did not tell them to, or do i know who they are. It has now happened 4 times. And before this its happened 3 times before I contacted my bank.

H
H
hercycamalig43
Sacramento, US
Jul 29, 2011 11:35 pm EDT

July 27th, I got a call from my bank that there was unusual activity on my debit card. So, I personally hurried to my bank. It seemed freedownloadzone.com [protected]) took $9.97 from my account. When I called the number, I was referred to their customer service [protected]), wherein a woman with a thick Russian accent tried to help me. She asked for my zip code, then my address, but found nothing in her system. Of course, you will not find me in your system because I did not order anything from your company, which I have not heard of. Then she asked me for my debit card number. I told her I'm not dumb and stupid to just tell anyone my credit card number, and hang up. My card was just issued in June, I haven't ordered anything in the internet, nor will use it again this way. There ought to be a law and penalizing them, and taking away their license to flinch people of their money.

R
R
Rita L. Bednar
Stuart, US
Aug 23, 2011 5:28 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

On August 6, I was charged $30.22 for a service I had not requested. I'd like the charges removed frommy credit card.

S
S
Spsafety
Penascola, US
Mar 17, 2011 6:28 pm EDT

I was doing a transaction through a state agency, and they hacked the system and put charges on my card. which I have never down business with this company.

R
R
ronald atkinson
,
Jul 29, 2008 3:03 am EDT

I purchased the "free downloads program" on line and had confidence with the https//cardtransaction.com/freedownloadzone/welcome.asp then when i attempted to open the download it would not recognize my Email adress i attempted to contact them on their button but it did not recognize my address. Can you help
Ronny
Order No [protected]
Email adress atkinson@activ8.net.au
Date 7/28/2017 5.01:14am

R
R
roger & shirley mercer
,
Jan 23, 2008 12:00 am EST

On the 31st. december 2017 we went to the freedownloadzone and we have received multiple charges for no reason totaling $94.99 australia. We have emailed before, but have received no response.

A
A
aira22
, PH
Sep 12, 2012 2:26 am EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

let me tell you what helpmedownload or freedownloadzone is, it is a company based in the philippines owned by Dan Peña Sr. and ran by Robert Smith. Basically what they do is put up numerous websites and all are directed to freedownloadzone where you download free software. YES! FREE SOFTWARE! and then charge you for it. if you are not very particular on checking your credit card statement you might miss it as sometimes it can be a small amount but is recurring monthly charge. but if you call them and ask why you are being charged for a trial software or free software, they'd tell you that it's not for the software but for the technical support they provide as software companies would not provide you with support for free software. this is also what they make their employees believe so they wont think they are doing something illegal. they train employees that if a caller is really pissed or says that they will call their credit card company the employee can revert the charges to prevent a charge back. i hope someone from the government look into this. they are FRAUDULENT AND SCAM AND HAVE NO RESPECT FOR INTELLECTUAL PROPERTY.

S
S
SamanthaB55
Newport News, US
Aug 09, 2012 5:10 am EDT

True that.. These people have been taken my money for a year now never thought anything of it untill now.. I dont know how they got my stuff, Ive never tryed to get my birthc online with these people whjy would I I still have mine..they will be hearing from me later today this is fraudulent and theyll be hearing from BANKOFAMERICA if i dont get every cent back!

H
H
help_me_download
, PH
Feb 29, 2012 8:24 pm EST

Hi Lukemelville,

I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience regarding this charges. I know unknown charge might be confusing. I am a customer support associate from FreeDownloadZone.com and I will be more than willing to help you with this issue. Please send us an email regarding this incident. You may also call or chat our live support. Thank you so much.

Sincerely,
Support Team
Support@support@official-birthcertificate.com
Toll Free: [protected]
Web-chat is now available!
http://onlinechat.helpmedownload.com/SightMaxAgentInterface/PreChatSurvey.aspx?accountID=6&siteID=11&queueID=19

Our Operations is available between: 08:00 to 17:00 Australian Standard Time

H
H
help_me_download
, PH
Feb 09, 2012 7:56 pm EST

Hi Mr. Peter Nowell,

I do apologize for the inconvenience on our website. I am a customer service representative from FreeDownloadZone.Com and we are more thank willing to help you resolving this issue. Please send us an email containing the details of this charge and we will sort this out for you. You may also contact us through our chat link. Thank you so much.

Sincerely,
Support Team
Support@HelpMeDownload.Com
Toll Free: [protected]
Web-chat is now available!
http://onlinechat.helpmedownload.com/SightMaxAgentInterface/PreChatSurvey.aspx?accountID=6&siteID=11&queueID=19

Our Operations is available between 8AM to 8PM EST

P
P
Peter Nowell
Leopold, AU
Jan 27, 2012 8:18 pm EST

i have never used freedownloadzone.com GBR [protected] and are getting debits taken out of my mastercard the comany is a scam BE VERY CAREFUL

H
H
help_me_download
, PH
Oct 03, 2011 11:04 pm EDT

Hi Glennafrisbee,

I am a customer service representative from FreeDownloadZone.com. I do apologize for the inconvenience. Rest assure that I will assist you getting your money back. Please contact us on our toll free number so we can assist you further with your request for cancellation.

Thank you for your time,
suppport@freedownloadzone.com
[protected]

Web-chat is now available!
http://onlinechat.helpmedownload.com/SightMaxAgentInterface/PreChatSurvey.aspx?accountID=6&siteID=11&queueID=19

Our Operations is available between 8AM to 8PM EST

G
G
gringe
, US
Oct 01, 2011 7:23 pm EDT

It wouldn't make any sense to contact them and ask, because all they would do is give you the answer. DON"T DRINK THE DUMB!

G
G
glennafrisbee
Anderson, US
Oct 01, 2011 7:22 pm EDT

I just want my money back and told how they got my information to be able to do this!

H
H
help_me_download
, PH
Aug 31, 2011 9:31 pm EDT

Hi Corey,

I am a customer service representative from FreeDownloadZone.com. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience about this negative experience on our website. We tried to call you but we reached your voicemail. If this issue hasn't been resolved. We are more than happy to help you. Please contact us through our toll free number, chat or email us. Thanks.

Warm regards,
www.freedownloadzone.com
[protected]

Web-chat is now available!
http://onlinechat.helpmedownload.com/SightMaxAgentInterface/PreChatSurvey.aspx?accountID=6&siteID=11&queueID=19

H
H
help_me_download
, PH
Aug 31, 2011 8:59 pm EDT

Hi Rita,

I do apologize for the inconvenience about this. I am a customer service representative from FreeDownloadZone.com. I would just like to inform you that we already reversed the total amount of charge from our company. You will receive an email confirmation regarding it and your bank might take 15 to 30 days to post it back on your statement depending on their refund policy.

I hope I was able to assist you with your concern. If you have further questions, please contact us from 8:00AM to 8:00PM EST. Thanks.

Regards,
www.freedownloadzone.com
[protected]

Web-chat is now available!
http://onlinechat.helpmedownload.com/SightMaxAgentInterface/PreChatSurvey.aspx?accountID=6&siteID=11&queueID=19

H
H
help_me_download
, PH
Aug 31, 2011 2:24 pm EDT

Good Day!

I am a customer service representative of HelpMeDownload.Com. We would like to know if your issue has been resolved. Have you successfully called our toll free numbers? If so, Kindly delete the post for us

Thank you for your time,
Support Helpmedownload
US Phone Support [protected]
US Phone Support [protected]
UK Phone Support [protected]
UK Phone Support [protected]
AU Phone Support [protected]
AU Phone Support [protected]
AU Phone Support [protected]
Canada Phone Support [protected]
Other Phone Support [protected]

Web-chat is now available!
http://onlinechat.helpmedownload.com/SightMaxAgentInterface/PreChatSurvey.aspx?accountID=6&siteID=11&queueID=19

Our Operations is available between 8AM to 8PM EST

H
H
help_me_download
, PH
Aug 31, 2011 2:19 pm EDT

Hello,

I am a customer service representative of Freedownloadzone.com. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. Regarding the charges that you got, we will be more than happy to resolve the issue either via web chat below, or email, or calling our toll free number.

Thank you for your time,
www.freedownloadzone.com
[protected]

Web-chat is now available!
http://onlinechat.helpmedownload.com/SightMaxAgentInterface/PreChatSurvey.aspx?accountID=6&siteID=11&queueID=19

Our Operations is available between 8AM to 8PM EST

R
R
Rita L. Bednar
Stuart, US
Aug 23, 2011 5:29 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

from my...correction

T
T
Thievesuck
Perth Amboy, US
Apr 02, 2011 4:58 pm EDT

I just received a call from Chase Fraud asking if I charged something to Freedownloadzone.com as well (this morning). I did not so new cards will be sent. Chase advised the company is in Great Britian further proof that this is being done illegally.

H
H
help_me_download
, PH
Feb 17, 2010 4:30 pm EST

Hello,
I am a customer service representative of HelpMeDownload.Com. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and for your negative experience. Regarding the charges that you got, we will be more than happy to resolve the issue either via web chat below, or email, or calling our toll free number.
Thank you for your time,
HELPMEDOWNLOAD.COM
US Phone Support [protected]
UK Phone Support [protected]
AU Phone Support [protected]

Web-chat is now available! You can visit the website: www.mp3helpdesk.com for online chat support.
Our Operations is available 24/7.

R
R
roy savage
fort saskatchewan, CA
Sep 10, 2009 4:04 am EDT

i purchased avg and never received the product and am getting billed monthly for updates..avg says my email is not showing up

H
H
helpmedownload.com
London, GB
Jul 13, 2009 12:41 pm EDT

Hello,

I am a customer service representative of helpmedownload.com. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and for your negative experience. Regarding this, we are more than happy to resolve your issue either via web chat below, or email, or calling our toll free number.

Thank you for your time,

HELPMEDOWNLOAD.COM
US Phone Support [protected]
UK Phone Support [protected]
AU Phone Support [protected]

Web-chat is now available! You can visit the website: www.onlinechat.helpmedownload.com for online chat support. Or you can send an email to support@helpmedownload.com

Our Operations is available 24/7.

H
H
helpmedownload.com
London, GB
Jun 29, 2009 2:34 pm EDT

Hi Ronny,

I am a customer service representative of Helpmedownload. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. I've checked your information on our database and I've found your record. Can you please call us, for us to assist you regarding the program that you want.

I have provided toll free numbers below. You can call us anytime since we are open 24 /7.

YOu may contact us either via web chat below, or email, or calling our toll free number.

Thank you for your time,

HELPMEDOWNLOAD.COM
US Phone Support [protected]
UK Phone Support [protected]
AU Phone Support [protected]

Web-chat is now available! You can visit the website: www.onlinechat.helpmedownload.com for online chat support. Or you can send an email to support@helpmedownload.com

Our Operations is available 24/7.

H
H
helpmedownload.com
London, GB
Jun 24, 2009 3:52 pm EDT

Hello John,

I am a customer service representative of helpmedownload.com. I read this complaint about the program that you were trying to download. I want to inform you that using your complete name and your billing address I was able to locate your record.

We are happy to assist you with this concern. Please contact us anytime to settle this issue. You can reach us either via web chat below, or email, or calling our toll free number.

Thank you for your time,

HELPMEDOWNLOAD.COM
US Phone Support [protected]
UK Phone Support [protected]
AU Phone Support [protected]

Web-chat is now available! You can visit the website: www.onlinechat.helpmedownload.com for online chat support. Or you can send an email to support@helpmedownload.com

Our Operations is available 24/7.

H
H
helpmedownload.com
york , GB
May 28, 2009 2:59 pm EDT

Dear customers,

I am a customer service rep of helpmedownload.com.. I apologize for your negative experience. We will be more than happy to resolve your issue either via web chat below, or email, or calling our toll free number.

US Phone Support [protected]
UK Phone Support [protected]
AU Phone Support [protected]
Web-chat is now available!
http://onlinechat.izonetech-ph.com/SightMaxAgentInterface/PreChatSurvey.aspx?accountID=1&siteID=2&queueID=5

Our Operations is available 24/7.

Thank you for your time,

H
H
Hezakiah
, US
Jan 11, 2009 12:54 pm EST

Most "free" stuff has a catch.If you pay for it, it isn't free. There are some sites that have software that is shareware and freeware that don't charge to use thier sites.Try Filehippo.com. No sign up, no charge, no nothing except free software like antivirus programs, CD and DVD programs and lots more.

B
B
b
,
Sep 12, 2008 12:55 pm EDT

We ended up with the virus "AntivirusXP" on a computer. The virus actually took over the browser and would not allow you to go anywhere other than to "freedownloadzone.com" and made it look initially as if it were a cnet.com site.

To get out of the freedownloadzone.com site, I agreed to pay $11 US and must to my shock got an $84 charge on my credit card. The supposed service that I paid for does not exist and I spent over 1/2 hour on phone on hold to the company that made the charge against a credit card - helpmedownload.com.

My credit card company is now going back against them. Guess they have a lot of people who just pay and don't bother about it.

So stay clear of both sites - and watch out for that virus - took me 16 hours and a registry cleaner to get all traces of it off the computer. (Symantec had removal instructions.)

J
J
John Greenwood
,
Sep 05, 2008 9:29 am EDT

AVG Please do not charge my credit card account for AVG due to the fact that having recently purchasing a new computer, I also bought the Norton's 360 Antivirus protection so I will not be needing the AVG's Anti virus protection...Thank you John W. Greenwoood Pls reply to this message.

V
V
vanessa zrinski
,
Aug 17, 2008 5:35 pm EDT

can not access any download sites. Wish to have my money back

K
K
kathy reigler
,
Aug 16, 2008 1:55 pm EDT

I too cannot get the down load or take if off of my credit cardI pissed off!

K
K
kathy reigler
,
Aug 16, 2008 1:53 pm EDT

I orderd it and I also too cant get the down load forit.And they wont take it off my credit card either that sucks!

C
C
C RODRIGUES
,
Jul 30, 2008 5:06 pm EDT

NO PRODUCT, UNAUTHORISED CHARGES ON MY CARD

E
E
edgar filletti
,
Jun 13, 2008 8:30 pm EDT

How can I Download the programe

E
E
edgar filletti
,
Jun 13, 2008 8:27 pm EDT

Clame no 401891

Order ID [protected]

I Could not Download the Programe

Trending companies