Menu
ADVERTISIMENT
Home Online Scams Dri*element5.com Fraudulant Charge

Dri*element5.com review: Fraudulant Charge

D
Author of the complaint
8:33 am EDT
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

When i checked my bank statement online last night, i noticed a charge from dri*element5.com for $39. 95 to be submitted on 7 / 25 / 08. I tried to pull up the website and got nothing. I called my bank this morning and had the charge stopped and reversed. I have no idea who this company is or what they are selling, but i know i didn't authorize this charge, nor did my husband.

ADVERTISIMENT
Update by debisue
Dec 23, 2008 8:03 am EST

Hi everyone. I am Debisue. I am a consumer that had the same problem that you had with dri*element. When I logged in to air my complaint, I couldn't get through the login process without giving my phone number. I am in NO WAY affiliated with the company. The phone number that you are calling is my personal phone number. I can tell you that my bank gave me an 800 number for this company to call when it happened to me and I was able to get my charges reversed from the company itself.

Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

More Dri*element5.com complaints & reviews

Dri*element5.com - charges not authorized--found on credit card
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Dri*element5.com - Unauthorized charges
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Dri*element5.com - charge on credit card
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Dri*element5.com - unauthorized withdrawl on my checking account
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Dri*element5.com - Fraudulent Charges
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
57 comments
Add a comment
R
Oct 09, 2008 3:49 pm EDT

found charges on 10/08/08 on my bank account of $29.95 that was not authorized please advise
Thank you rick

V
Feb 17, 2010 8:36 am EST

what is this charge on my american express card?

A
Jun 21, 2010 4:18 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Found unauthorized charge on my account and I can't even dispute it without closing my account. There is no information for the bank or myself to even contact this scam. Very frustrating.

S

DRI*ELEMENT5.COM charged my bank checking account $39.95. We made no purchase to cause this charge.

S
Nov 26, 2008 10:09 am EST

Unknown fraudulent charge to my credit card

W
Jul 17, 2008 10:09 pm EDT

I want my money back.

F
Dec 16, 2013 1:07 pm EST

Jetbrains. It's an IDE..whatever that means.
I had this charge and my husband said "that is my IDE"
"Jetbrains released an update"
"They changed the model with this one so that any updates in the next year are free"

P
Nov 06, 2008 7:28 pm EST

My credit card was legitimately charged to update PC Tools Spyware Doctor by this company 10 days ago. Then today there was ANOTHER and TOTALLY FRAUDULENT charge for the same amount ($24.95) on my bank statement, but this time they did not reference PC Tools, only the co. name DRI*ELEMENT5.COM . Had to cancel my credit card, and will have to work with bank to reverse the charge. This co. handles the billing for PC Tools, but is stealing all the credit card info and using it for themselves. FRAUD! THEFT! There is no phone number, and the website is bogus...

E
Dec 12, 2012 2:57 pm EST

I did check out the website www.element5info.com and it told me I had bought DriverMax. I had forgotten about it. Check out www.element5info.com if you don't remember buying anything.

B
Feb 10, 2012 5:10 pm EST

I purchased a software from a legitimate company in Germany. They processed my credit card charges thru www.element5.info. A few days afterwards, I am seeing a lot of fraudulent charges. All of the fraudulent charges were from Germany also. According to my credit card company, they also tried to use it in California but the charges were denied.

I
Aug 18, 2011 11:58 pm EDT

Element5.com is a sales site backlinked as an update for Dell Systems. Specifically, it is covered as Dell DataSafe Backup and Restore. It is a bogus program, just a scam to get your 411. Always read the full link before clicking and never give your info.
The site is hosted by Digital River GmbH (element 5). I suggest we get together and sue them for ID theft...

K
Oct 29, 2010 10:04 pm EDT

I am so angry and disgusted that there are slimy companies like this, making a killing off of fraudulent charges! The charge showed up today, and is not even similar to anything I would purchase. After cancelling my card and getting cash from the bank to carry me through to a replacement, I Googled until I came up with their phone # [protected] ); called and demanded that this charge be rescinded, so that I don't have to go through any more paper work than is necessary to obviate these creeps and their thievery. They not only have tomes of complaints here, they actually filed my bogus charge as 'fraudulent'. They should be fined by the Supreme Court, and pay punitive fines to all of their victims!

C
Sep 07, 2010 2:20 pm EDT

Same thing just happened to me, 3 charges totalling $224. Says the are part of Digital River, just trying contacting them also. Big scam.

P
Jun 16, 2010 10:26 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I too saw the random charge from DRI*ELEMENT5.COM. I had no idea what it was, but I had bought some software through Digital River. A lot of you seem to have been in the same boat, and just forgot and were confused by the weird billing name like me. Before you start flipping out, verify you didn't order software or something else only that might have gone through them (It seems the site mention above might be a good way). IF you didn't, stop/reverse the payment with the bank, but don't blame the company, they are definitely legit. They do e-commerce for software companies. They even handle some of Microsoft's business (student deals for MS products). IF you check out their corperate clients page: http://corporate.digitalriver.com/store/driv/Corp/sectionName.company/subSectionName.testimonials/page.testimonials you might see some other names you recognize that have nothing to do with software (like the clothing store JoS. A. Banks)

L
May 05, 2010 10:12 pm EDT

I had a charge of $239.00 on my American Express bill. I have no idea who or what this www.element5info.com might be. I have disputed the charge once and they sent me a fax of my bill from a company in Cologne, Germany. I 'm not paying $239.00 for something I have never heard of, let alone authorized a charge from. Those of you that were charged $2995 or $39.95 were lucky. I must have received something magnificent for the amount I was charged!

C
Feb 18, 2010 2:07 pm EST

It looks like they are at it again! BEWARE! Check not only your checking accounts but your credit cards as well. I just received my credit card statement with a DRI.WWW.ELEMENT5 charge of $ 521.00 made on January 29th, 2010 and posted on February February 1st. In no way did I or my husband have any thing to do with this company or authorize the charge. I am currently disputing it and cancelled this particular card.

T
Jan 14, 2010 6:29 pm EST

It's a software retail company. I got a charge form them for $39.00 for software I purchased, which was a php form builder.

S
Dec 02, 2009 10:31 pm EST

Three charges were posted to my bank account in one day. Two for $32.70 and one for $57.28. It was billed as an online game. I am not aware of purchasing any kind of online software.

D
Nov 25, 2009 1:33 pm EST

Yes they do the charges but do not suppy any thing. THey sell Antivirus software but process is very complicated. The consumer get nothing except troubles.
A consumer who has been chared twice for nothing

J
Aug 27, 2009 9:40 pm EDT

HERE IS THE ANSWER:

If you go to the website www.element5info.com and put in your email address and the last 5 numbers of the credit card number it was charged to, you should then get information on the product/software you supposedly purchased.

This doesn't mean that the purchase is legitimate, it only states where the charge went. However, be aware that if the charge is only POSTING, then it hasn't been actually charged yet.

My charge for $49.90 was for Symantec Norton Antivirus I ordered last January 2009. I was billed by Symantec directly. In August, I'm getting a new billing for the same product, but still need to wait to see if its posts...its still pending.

Hope this helps.

M
Jul 16, 2009 3:08 pm EDT

DRI*ELEMENT5.COM this morning I woke up to find this charge on my checking account. I think this is ridiculous that the law is not filing charges against this frudulent company. I will be contacting the FCC.

A
Jul 13, 2009 3:28 pm EDT

I also thought i was a fraud victim when i saw the element5 charge on my statement. But I forgot i had recently bought an online application for reformatting pictures into different files, and i believe the ELEMENT5 people are the ones who handle the situation. I've seen people at [redacted] complaining as well but other similar stories about programs bought online being run through this site. Obviously you should double check, but that could be an explanation. If you look into digital river they appear to be a legitimate company with SEC filed earnings as they are listed on the NASDAQ... http://www.bloggingstocks.com/2009/02/18/cry-me-a-digital-river/

G
Jul 13, 2009 10:11 am EDT

Have you ever heard of PC Tools? The billing company is DRI*ELEMENT5.CO

Gary

Call the number [protected]

G
Jul 12, 2009 2:59 am EDT

HI FOLKS,
I have been trying to contact this mob on
all the HTTP.//********** internet sites 6 in all as I was
billed for $65.52 on my credit card for a product of theirs I have never heard of as well as DIGITAL RIVER
or ELEMENT 5. This mob has an address in Germany.

DIGITAL RIVER
VOGELSANGER Str. 78
50823 COLOGNE
GERMANY.
Geoffrey Sydney Australia.

F
Jun 19, 2009 7:31 pm EDT

I called PC Tools today to find out what charge for $91.04 is on my card, and I found out that Element5 works for many companies to put charges on accounts. I could not find a number to directly contact Element 5, but the lady at PC Tools provided me with [protected] as a contact #, and they can look up the transaction by your card number. I was able to get a refund on my charge, but i am suspecting fraud, so I have to cancel my card and get a new one.

F
May 27, 2009 3:29 pm EDT

The charges could possibly have come from a company called Mionet. They use this company for their charges.

G
May 13, 2009 10:25 am EDT

IDri*element5.com charged my card 5/12/2009. I immediately called my bank and got the telephone number to the company since it was not listed on line. I called and discussed the matter with the representative...PC TOOLs is the culprit. My card will be credited in approximately 3 days.

E
Mar 09, 2009 4:15 pm EDT

I see on my Bank register that you evidently charged me twice on the same day (03/02/09)for $65.94 if you could refund one of those purchases I would very much appreciate it.
Eddie MacCausland

D
Jan 06, 2009 4:55 pm EST

I also found a $29.95 charge from this company and when I did a google search found this site. Looks like they are still at it.

M
Dec 18, 2008 6:07 pm EST

I just came home and checked may online bank statement and noticed 3 charges in a row for $29.55 from DRI*ELEMENT5.COM also. I have no idea who they are but went straight to the bank. They canceled my card and issued me a temporary til my new one comes. They could not credit my account as they are still pending, they have to post first. This is very frustrating, especially this close to Christmas.

A
Nov 18, 2008 5:50 pm EST

I too renewed my PCTools Registry Mechanic and was billed correctly for that renewal, then about 10 days later the DRI*ELEMENT5.COM charged my bank account $29.95.

E
Nov 04, 2008 8:49 pm EST

I got charged too. What the hell. what is this company? I made out a fraud report!

J
Oct 30, 2008 6:27 pm EDT

I have the same charge on my account for $29.95. I talked to my bank and opened a "unotherized complaint form." I hope my bank can stop/refund the payment... im sure plenty of people have had their accounts charged and have gone unoticed :(

J
Oct 30, 2008 6:25 pm EDT

10-28-08
I have the same charge on my account for $29.95. I talked to my bank and opened a "unotherized complaint form." I hope my bank can stop/refund the payment... im sure plenty of people have had their accounts charged and have gone unoticed :(

M
Oct 15, 2008 10:21 am EDT

I bought a download from DRI in Sept. of 2008. I tried to download it but I have problems with that. Who do I call? All email addresses get you no where and there isn't a telephone number to be found. Looks like I'll have to say goodbye to my $90.94. Does anyone have any answers on what to do about this?

C
Oct 10, 2008 9:51 am EDT

MB XL entertainment billed me $39.95. It has posted to my account. I went through my phone company who connected me to market billing. They verified I had not charged some adult entertainment fee online and then reversed the charge. But they informed me someone has not just my name and bank account info but also the routing number etc. However the address on the online check I viewed was one I lived at 1 yr ago. I need to also call my bank to tell them what is happening, maybe change my account #.

J
Oct 04, 2008 2:48 pm EDT

I also had a $29.95 charge from this company. I figured out that it was an automated renewal for PC Tools antivirus. I called PC Tools and they said they would reverse the charge.

J
Oct 04, 2008 2:47 pm EDT

I just had the same thing happen. It was a $29.95 charge. I figured out that it was an automated renewal for PC Tools antivirus. I called PC Tools and they said they would reverse the charge and cancel my subscription. Very easy company to work with!

J
Oct 03, 2008 7:21 pm EDT

Same thing here. (10/3/08) 3 charges in a row. All one or two seconds apart the first two for $49.90 and the last for $64.90. guess I'm running to the bank in the morning.

S
Oct 01, 2008 8:53 am EDT

I purchased my security software program from AVG. It came across my bank statement as DRI*ELEMENT5.COM. The amount of $20.95 looked familiar but I had no idea. I searched the name and came across this site. Fortunately for me, this purchase was a software upgrade for a new laptop but I had bought the software on my desktop. I tend to leave lots of tabs and windows open on my computers and since I have the laptop, I've hardly used my old one and the information was still up. It shows that the billing will say DRI*AVG. I will look out for reoccurring charges though.

ADVERTISIMENT
ADVERTISIMENT