The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Dr. Barry L EppleyIndiana's worst plastic surgeon- should have stayed in dentistry

D Review updated:

Barry L. Eppley, MD, DMD, should have stayed in dentistry, if he was ever any good in that profession. As for his upgrade to plastic surgery, his ability in the operating room makes me wonder if he paid for his MD.

Dr. Barry L Eppley performed a rhinoplasty and breast implants on my wife last year, leaving her disfigured in body and in a state of emotional hell. At first we thought he was sincere when he claimed to understand her devastation. But as time went on, he and his office staff lost their phony demeanor of concern and did everything except hang up on us outright.

Dr. Eppley's outright denial of my wife's horrible results was the last straw. We contacted a few attorneys last week and met with one we respect. We are not the type who run to lawyers without good cause, but this guy is begging to be sued.

Since this happened, I now see other patients who have had a bad deal from Eppley. My wife said she checked the Internet before going to him and even asked him about the bad reviews she found online. She said he explained that one disgruntled, crazy patient was responsible for all the bad reviews sounded convincing. I knew as soon as he opened his mouth that he was too slick to be truthful.

Let this be a warning to husbands (and others) to go with your wife to the very first meeting with any doctor and never let her keep any appointment without a relative or friend present. If they are all like this ###, the patient needs to have someone present at all times as a witness, and in Eppley's case that isn't enough.

Responses

  • Ev
    evie142945 Sep 16, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    ok and as her husband its probably your fault that your poor wife turned to plastic surgery to get these surgeries in the first place! if she would of felt loved and excepted for who she is she wouldnt of chose this! so blame your self u should of excepted her body for what it is now she spent all this money all for you.every body has different views of what beautiful is. to some people she may look beautiful for what she looks like...to others maybe not so much. remember that your own self image is different then from what others may think of you!

    -23 Votes
  • An
    *Anonymously* Jul 24, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @evie142945 your review is so utterly ridiculous that you surely must work for that monstrosity of a doctor...

    -1 Votes
  • An
    *Anonymously* Aug 28, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @*Anonymously* I agree with you Evie... or maybe it is even "Big E" himself -- that's what his wife calls him on Facebook -- writing the response above. He has no morals after all.

    -8 Votes
  • Da
    Dagmar from Aug 10, 2013

    I freak out when I see his name because years ago a poor woman had the most disastrous facelift, she could not sue him and her only recourse was to post warnings on forums.

    -5 Votes
  • An
    *Anonymously* Jul 24, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @Dagmar from Do you know that she eventually killed herself because of the torture this man put her through?

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Dan Coleman Jun 02, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Sad. I myself had a disastrous jaw surgery with a New York DDS masquerading as a plastic surgeon. He was another DDS trying to expand his practice without the required background. It cost me over 200K to repair the damage that guy did.

    Eppley has been on my NO list for years because he has dozens of websites (why?) and offers every cosmetic procedure known to man including many that are exotic and practiced by virtually no other surgeon. That should have caused some concern but I got taken in myself as I've indicated.

    You must find a surgeon whose main practice is in revision rhinoplasty and another whose main practice is in revision breast implant. Don't try killing 2 birds with 1 stone. Also go to the West coast, seriously they are the best. Lamperti in Seattle is amazing for rhinoplasty.

    -4 Votes
  • Ht
    http://remove.org/removal-requested. Jan 26, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Please Do NOT go to this joke of a Doctor!
    Unfortunately I did. I went to him for a chin reduction/ revision. He was supposed to reduce the bone and remove some soft tissue. I consulted with him, commucated through many emails. I specifically asked if there would be any changes to my lower lip or mouth. He said absolutely not. We were going to go the sub mental route.
    My results are awful!!! He didn’t reduce the bone at all, I don’t even know what he did. Went in and butchered up my chin! It looks worse than it did before. Plus he now left me with a huge sagging lower lip that should never ever should of happened. Changed my mouth completely.
    He is a horrible person!

    -1 Votes
  • Al
    alexaii May 27, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    How delightful! I was looking to possible have Dr. Epply perform my lip lift but after reading these reviews.. It's not going to happen.

    0 Votes
  • An
    *Anonymously* Aug 28, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @alexaii You dodged the bullet. I had my lip lift done with Dr. Catherine Winslow in Carmel. She is excellent. I don't have any scar even with olive skin.

    -3 Votes
  • Mm
    Mmast014 Jul 09, 2018

    Please help me. I received a Butt Augmentation from Dr. Eppley and was left with such a mess. I was also charged twice the price averaged for this procedure. I am emotionally and physically damaged but can not afford an attorney. What good would an attorney do anyways against him?

    0 Votes
  • An
    *Anonymously* Jul 24, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @Mmast014 An attorney will work on a contingency basis, meaning they won't get paid unless you win the case. Then they take a percentage of the settlement. No one should get anything done by this doctor. He has a bad reputation among the Indianapolis plastic surgery community.

    4 Votes
  • An
    *Anonymously* Aug 28, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @Mmast014 See if Dr. Medietta or Dr. Salama in FL can fix the damage. They are both renown for their butt lifts.

    1 Votes
  • Ci
    Ciaran303 Aug 28, 2018

    I am going to write this review to protect other people. I am in the Cosmetic Surgery industry myself ( I wasn’t at the time of the surgery), and I have worked with countless plastic surgeons all over the country, some of the top in the world, so I now know the clear difference between their level and quality, and that of Dr. Barry Eppley, so here are my thoughts.

    The short version: He ran out of material during my surgery and had to sow me back up without finishing the procedure! He literally RAN OUT OF MATERIAL!.

    Long Version:

    His skills as a salesman and marketer are far superior to his skillset as a surgeon, if only because he seems to have one thing on his mind “MONEY”. I went to Dr. Eppley for a forehead contouring procedure due to a congenital birth deformity ( Craniosynostosis). In summary he was to take some hydroxyapatite and use it to contour and round out the forehead bumps, crevices etc to make it more symmetrical, smooth, and fuller. I found him on the internet like many of you, and perhaps it’s my own naivety to blame, but you would think that surely Dr.s have a certain level of dignity and compassion. I was young, and desperate for someone to understand my issues pertaining to my defect. When I had my first (and only) skype call with Dr. Eppley he was so reassuring, he told me how easy it would be to reshape and contour my forehead with said material, it was standard and that there was literally nothing to worry about, I told him that I wasn’t expecting perfect results but it is reassuring to know that he understands what I was looking for.

    After the consult: He ordered a 3d imaging scan of my skull and I went and had it done, they sent it to him, surgery was scheduled.

    Then the Red Flags started to appear.

    Warning sign #1)
    I never heard of him after the first consult, we talked for 15 minutes on skype and that was it, I was flying across the country to have this procedure done, so it was kind of weird that he just dropped of the radar.

    Warning sign #r 2, )
    His office would never return my calls to follow up on cost, and insurance coverage or time of the appointment, again I was flying across the country for this, it turns out that his staff never sent the prior auth paperwork to the insurance, company, a week or so out from the surgery, . I understand insurance issues as someone that is in the medical profession, but the fact that the staff did not do something as critical as sending over the proper documents and would never follow up with my calls or emails was extremely concerning, and foreshadowed things to come.

    Warning sign #3) When I awake, he comes in briefly, he checks me out, charms my mom a bit, then leaves. When he returns he informs me that he ran out of material, there was less bone than he thought and that he had to build up more than he anticipated, he said “oh you can come back and get some fat injections” sure let me just get on my private jet with a half built forehead, and fly back out to pay thousands more to get fat injected into the area that you should have finished after you were paid over $100k, seems reasonable.

    If he had insisted that I fly in and evaluate me in person, or at the very least have a few more skype examinations, he would have known who/what he was working with, pair that with a 3d scan of my skull, but the fact is, how would you know how much material to use if you only meet with the patient on Skype for 15 minutes.?

    He never call or email to check in on my recovery. I never heard from him or his office again. I never complained, we left on good terms, I never mentioned my devastation, he couldn’t be bothered to follow up with his patient, he collected his money over i.e. 100K from the insurance company for a botched procedure.

    I’m a big tattooed, intimidating looking dude to some, and I broke down in tears, because years of surgeries. II never complained to him, I trusted him, but after years of suffering pain from this guy, I am speaking out. My forehead is more deformed than before surgery. I am traumatized because this guy peeled my face off, it wasn’t a few injections, the recovery and all of that was traumatic.

    Do not risk your life, or your mental health because this guy is a charmer, and a salesman. PERIOD.

    1 Votes
  • Bn
    BNMe May 13, 2019

    @Ciaran303 Courageous for you to speaking out...and necessary. Like you, he has left my body more disfigured than before the actual procedure. I worked soooo very hard with diet and exercise to lose weight only for him to mutalate my body🥺. I am pretty quiet and reserve, and to be honest, I would much rather quietly go to another doctor to try and fix as best it could be...’n try to cover the rest in tattoos...BUT SOMEBODY HAS TO SPEAK UP and SPEAK OUT for Justice for His past VICTIMS and PROTECTING the FUTURE PUBLIC from this MONSTER.

    1 Votes
  • An
    *Anonymously* Aug 28, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    God bless you.

    2 Votes
  • An
    *Anonymously* Aug 28, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Eppley works very hard to have negative reviews removed on the internet. I have had my reviews removed and I have seen other reviews removed. He also paid a ton of money to a marketing company to try to hide search results in Google by getting positive press outweighing the negative press. When I consulted with him he said it was NOT the BEST surgeons who had the biggest reputations but the ones who were they best at marketing themselves! He is a better marketer than he is a doctor... and as bad a doctor as he is, he is a better doctor than he is a human being.

    -1 Votes
  • Am
    Amber Talley Nov 12, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    After saving up ten years for rhinoplasty, I talked to a lot of doctors, but none seemed to care about me. Dr Eppley was charming and his office is convenient. I had a tip rhinoplasty over the summer and I hate it. It's only been a few months and they keep telling me the swelling will go down, but I can't believe my nose is three times the size it will eventually be. I can't afford to travel and don't have family who can drive me around, so I have to be local. Who do you experts recommend for revision rhino in Indianapolis?

    -1 Votes
  • An
    AnonymousPerson000000 Jan 09, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Am i the only one who had a good experience with Dr Eppley, or do only the people with bad experiences post reviews? makes sense, the NEWS doesn't report on everyone that had a good day without murder or war.
    I has a wraparound jaw angle implant and rhinoplasty. I've had bad experiences with a surgeon in the past. Dr Eppley was a god comparatively. Very happy with his work

    4 Votes
  • Gi
    girltown Apr 20, 2019

    Hi you guys, I want to say something here. Barry Eppley was always very nice to me and honest that both my jaw and cheekbones were altered during a rhinoplasty supposedly done by Andrew Frankel in California (when in fact I was used by USC who rents the space for manufacturing and other training purposes as a harvest case), but when I saw Plastic Disasters, online which discusses this case----- I think this woman was sued by Mr. Eppley and a few other surgeons as well for trying to warn the public. I realized, after all my research into what happened to me ---she looks like she had been bone harvested---- I was used as a facial donor without knowing it. And I don't know if Mr. Eppley or the other surgeon did this to her, but I do know she was not crazy, her bones were in fact missing, her Zygomatic arch gone (upper cheekbone) and her jaw shortened (to my eye after traveling the world to get repaired after a revision rhinoplasty where I and 14 others were used in an organ harvesting scheme in California) I went against my surgeon and he is now suing me for defamation---Andrew Frankel of Lasky Clinic who rents their space to other surgeons at USC and possibly UC Regents and then they come and bone harvest the victims as if you need an intervention (which I didn't) they are allowed to under a VA plan bank tissue for profit. I'm Girltown on Youtube if you want to see me or what happened to me. But, to the woman who is now dead (from suicide or other means) and to her husband, I hope she is watching, you were not crazy, they removed your bones, that is why you had a hard time eating and speaking and smiling. Just my opinion. But, not sure which doctor was responsible as I have not watched the entire story as it gets me so upset. Did she kill herself or was she killed? I honestly ask myself that question too. If all good Americans are being bone harvested and cannot find attorneys and the the surgeons sue, it just seems so oppressive and a system to hide and cover and cover the truth. So, I say this for everyone still suffering, my actual cheekbones were removed as was my upper jaw and AAFPRS has protocols to research, harvest victims and to let students train on patients and VA has protocols that allow doctors to bank tissue for money along with the Universities---and no patient knows how to research the secret agreements. And I honestly think it is government and the Universities that fight back so hard as they have more money and it is a criminal organ harvesting ring. I like Dr. Eppley for telling me the truth but at times he also contradicted himself claiming all plates had to be metal in jaw procedures, but then I found an experimental procedure that he himself conducted where the plates were actually absorbable which would never show on any scan after bone removal. I also feel that this woman who was injured is 10, 000 percent telling the truth and that Dr. Eppley works with the AAFPRS and perhaps did not do the procedure at all as there are so many secret lease agreements that the public doesn't know about. But, this is just a guess and I haven't fully researched if Mr. Eppley was a Fellowship Director and he was one of the only people telling me the truth before kind of contradicting it. I only researched my own situation and did see a FDA 483 letter about Mr. Eppley doing things without consent. So, my personal feelings are that sometimes there is a conflict of interest so great that the scientists trying to make money do not consider the ramifications and that organ harvesting of plastic surgery patients is encouraged---under a government cannibalism mandate that basically says to repurpose older "equipment". This poor woman who was hurt, might have been fixed if anyone told her her actual bones were missing, but then if they told her, those responsible would sue them perhaps. And I also believe that Lara flynn boyle, Cameron Diaz, Cher, Nicole Kidman, Meg Ryan, Mickey Rourke, and Alx Rose were all organ harvested and that is why no one knows how to fix it. Just an opinion, this does not constitute legal advice or medical advice, just what I found out from going overseas as no one would help me in America---as my rights were waived. I liked Mr. Eppley but I also am in the category of believing that there are victims telling the truth and maybe those that had a good experience are also telling the truth.

    -5 Votes
  • Gi
    girltown Apr 20, 2019

    oh, and the evie person seems crazy to dismiss these people who have the legal right to fight back under the constitution and to the husband she addressed those comments to, it is absolutely not your fault. we were performers and thought we could have safe surgery and it is not our parents fault or our boyfriend's fault either. we were not people with low self-esteem, we just wanted slight improvements and were unlawfully bone harvested.

    -2 Votes
  • Bn
    BNMe May 13, 2019

    @dmdmonte interested in where you acquired legal assistance that didn’t make you feel like you weren’t worth representing ... which is almost as frustrating as the way Dr Eppley’s Staff brushes you off like ‘We’re the Crazies Victimizing Poor Dr Eppley’ 🥺

    -2 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.