Crestlynn Wesigunregistered puppies sold as registered, loans not repaid, sick and injured dogs, deaths of dogs

K
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

Crestlynn Wesig, aka Paragon Shelties, in Akron Ohio has had many mysterious deaths and injuries to animals in her custody. My own Ch. show dog, 2 years old, was loaned to her for stud for a week period. She refused to return the dog when he was done breeding, instead saying she was going to put a show groom on him. Two days later, her husband called me to say the dog was dead. Another Ch. show dog, in her custody, died mysteriously and a third had to have his toes amputated due to damages.
Also, loans made to this person (and proof of said loans) were never repaid. Had to take her to court where I won case, but so far she has not paid a dime in restitution.
Other dogs taken from the house were full of fleas, matted to extreme extent that coats had to be shaven, and others had to go to emergency vet for surgeries.
Last litter of her pups were sold as registered AKC puppies, yet the buyers never received their AKC papers, as the litter was never registered.

Responses

  • Wa
    Wayne Sandrik May 17, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hello Crestlynn,

    I have sad news, Jamin Midnight Sapphire (blue-merle sheltie) sire Ritchie's Night Shadow and dam Stardust Crystal Blue Skies passed away yesterday 5/17/13 she was only 10 years old (DOB 03/30/03). Sapphire recently came down with what two different vets thought was bronchitis, the symptoms she developed was a dry cough which occasionally she would gag with nothing excreted. The vet prescribed a steroid Prednisone, this helped somewhat but she now developed a heavily panting which the vets indicated this was a side effect of the drug. Fast forward two weeks later, the emergency vet yesterday felt this was misdiagnosis and had suffered from congestive heart failure.

    Sapphire or “Sappy” was well like by all friends, family & neighbors and my girlfriend’s two cats Fuego & Sydney. We took extremely good care of Sapphire; she ate premium organic dog food, vaccinations up to date & bathed her myself in the shower. However she didn't like getting her teeth brushed which I did anyway & made a game of it with treats and walks. I never had her sedated for teeth cleaning but rather choose the more genital approach with a professional company Gentle Dental which operates out of the pet grooming salons.

    Sapphire always greeted me when I got home by spring up & down and couldn't wait to spend time together. We all loved her so dearly, it bring tears to my eyes just writing this email. She loved to go on road trips to Vegas NV, Scottsdale AZ, and Palm Springs or up the coast, anywhere we went she wanted to go; she was a special companion and WE ALL ARE GOING TO MISS HER EMENSLY!!!

    God Bless you Sapphire, rest in peace, hopefully one day we’ll be together again, a special thanks to Crestlynn for giving me such a wonderful companion!

    I read the blogs about Crestlynn, back in 2003 I had a wonderful experience acquiring my sheltie & felt Crestlynn was a respectable breeder & responsible business person. Often times "things" happen in a persons life without reason or cause, you never know what position she was in when she "went off the deep end" or what my have trigger the odd behavior. Maybe one day we'll know what happen to Crestlynn, we shouldn't hold grudges, were all human, no one is perfect..

    Wayne Sandrik
    Carlsbad Ca

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    shelties Apr 01, 2012

    I also have had dealings with Ms Wesig, I have gotten some very nice dogs from her but all have been infected with worms which I thought was usual for dogs from Ohio. I did train one of her Ch. in obedience and sent him back only to get him back worse then the first time I had him. She was kind enough to give him to me but used the money to send him to me on something else, so Karen loaned her money to send him to me again and Ms Wesig used it on something else again. Now remember we have all been friends for years and had no reason not to trust her. I have workd very hard with Elvis to bring him out, he was so afraid he shut down and wouldn't even come out of his crate for anything. He will now take his CGC NEXT WEEK, I know this is a small step but a very inportant one for us. The puppy that came with him was so shy and didn't care for human touch, but after working with her and taking her to classes she is doing just fine. Ms Weig promised me AKC papers with Sophie and they never came, so I worked did my home work and got the AKC to send me papers. Very sad about how all this ended up but I think Karen paid the biggest price of us all, not only with losing money, dogs but a friendship she highly prized.

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    Karen Ritchie Dec 10, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    No idea how or why he died. Her husband told me he had no idea either (dog was only 2 and had had no health issues) :She wouldn't take my calls or answer my emails at the time.
    The other champion that died in her care...she was unsure how it died also but told the owner that he "might" have had a seizure...another dog that had had no health issues before spending some time at Ms. Wesig's place. Unfortunately she lived an hour from me and "not knowing how long the dog had been dead, and my being 2 hours fromOhio State for necropsy, ithe whole trip to OSU would have been another 6 hours of travel time with an unknown time of ddeath. It would have been a wasted trip. The other breeder whose dog Ch dog died there did not have necropsy done either...was not offered that as an option. Paragon Shelties previously to this last year had been a responsible breeder, but this past year she let it all go...family, health of her dogs, etc. ...a tragic situation .

    0 Votes
  • 79
    79Debbie Dec 10, 2011

    The answer to the question WHY is very noticable "NEGLECT". I think this woman should not be aloud to have a dog let alone any other animals. ASPCA needs to get involved also AKC. Crestlyn Wesig is showing at the IX Center in Cleveland and needs to be knocked out of the dog business let alone any other animals she may have.

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    Karen Ritchie Dec 09, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    ...and I and several other breeders, or more, knew about the loss of the litter at 8 weeks of age. Again, quality pups, very healthy and actively...suddenly all died.

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    Karen Ritchie Dec 09, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I had a long association with Ms. Wesig before she "went off the deep end last spring". We had often shown together, and shared stud service etc. for about 8 years with no incidents. . Last year she met a new man while in the hospital and left her family, all her friends, dogs etc. ...abandoned them all. This is not a "hate" writing. When she left, she abandoned her dogs at two of her breeder friends' places until they had to tell her to come and get them or to take care of them while residing for free at others' places. In fact, they wanted her to sign a contract while they had the dogs there. She refused. then in a huff, she started passing out her registered and show dogs...to anyone, but not offering any to people whom she had been in business with and knew would take care of them. Some of them were even co-owned (mine for one that she had there) and I was not notified of her giving the young dog away (illegal to give away or sell dog when co-owned...it is to be offered to co-owner first).
    The litter that was sold unregistered I know about, as I know the stud dog she used as it was another breeder's stud dog. The pups were never registered. I sent her 3 different buyers, who bought from her, paid full price for their "AKC" dogs, and never received papers. After checking with AKC (knowing both the damn and stud's AKC numbers and registered names), the pups had never been registered. One lady that she sold to, Eva, lives in NM. I was the shipper of the pup to her. I paid to have the pups shipped to her...she never got papers...i never got repaid...along with over $1, 000 I had loaned her for various things this past year.
    Yes, I had loaned her money different years, and was always repaid. This time, when she shucked all her dogs, friends and family...she also shucked all responsibilities. The other woman's whose Ch. dog died there is out of state (I have also sold her dogs) and she is out $1800 which she paid for her Ch. dog that was in Ms. Wesig's care

    Yes, the two dogs on the "Adults available" page are from Ms. Wesig's kennel. They are now housed with another breeder friend until we can find homes for them. What a pity. The one was an AKC Ch. male. Luckily his foot didn't have to be amputated but the toes on one foot did. They are both up for adoption to good homes, for free, if you know of anyone wanting a quality bred dog. The woman that has them now...she was one of the breeders who Ms. Wesig dumped dogs on and then refused to go out and take care of them. They no longer belong to Ms. Wesig, and we don't have the AKC papers for them, but they are registered and the one a champion (know the owner/breeder that sold these dogs to Ms. Wesig previously.

    Serious accusations...only the truth. And all can be proven and attested for..

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.