Credit Protection AssociationUnable to contact the company

A
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

I recently got a copy of my credit report and to my surprise i have a collection on there for $500! For the past 5 days I have been trying to get in contact with this company, based out of TX, and all I get is a recording telling me that they are experiencing high volumes of calls and to call back later!!! What kind of crap is that. It has been 5 days and nothing! I am just a little pissed!

Responses

  • Kb
    kb50 Dec 03, 2014

    If you are contstantly getting automated calls with reference to someone elses Debt like me. Well it took a while, but do this and it should work.
    The people caling are debt collectors under PAYCPA corporation.
    They leave you with a [protected] but that number is only used to have you put on hold and attempt to get you to pay off the debt.
    Obviously their goal is to harass you, but if your not the debtor then its all just a pain in the butt.

    Call [protected] and choose option 3 to speak with an Operator. Give them your phone number and politely explain you are recieveing calls from them and need your number taken off the list. They will then remove your number from their list.

    There is NO other way to get them to go away. Worst part is they call and leave voice mail, using a robotic voice and you cannot get rid of them. They do not have a simple take me off your phone list removal tool. I understand debt collection but they just call and waste your time, and if yoru using like me a tracfone thjey are wasting all your minutes! Paycpa.com website only offers you ways to pay the debt. Whats really sick is that your seeing other peoples debt information. That seems rather illegal if you ask me.

    0 Votes
  • Li
    libby316 Dec 03, 2013

    I have a 312 dollars that showed up on my credit in Nov I have know idea what it is or where it came from but the collection company is credit protection assocs. I don't know what to do

    0 Votes
  • Li
    libby316 Dec 03, 2013

    I got 312 dollar in collections it came on report in Nov 2013 I have know idea what it is and I have not recieved any bill from anyone it just appeared on my credit report explain that

    0 Votes
  • De
    dean calkins sr Jun 13, 2011

    took all the equiment back to medican and they are still trying to get 267.00 dollars have heard they do this to lots of people they are a big rip off scheme or something

    0 Votes
  • Al
    AlpineWhite Mar 22, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I see a lot of valid complaints about this place, but I have to say my first (and hopefully last) experience with them couldn't have gone better. I was stuck with an old Comcast account in collections on my credit, and promptly following a well-worded validation letter sent (certified) to their physical address on Noel Rd, the account was simply removed from my credit history. Never an actual response from them during the process, and I never talked to anyone from the company. I had heard rumors of CPA doing this, but I was still surprised by the outcome.

    Just thought I'd share for anyone trying to figure out how to deal with them.

    1 Votes
  • Vi
    vita4801 Feb 18, 2011

    Credit Protection is a garbage company, I've never seen a company handle business the way they do. I first noticed CPA on my credit report a few months ago, I disputed it, then they said it was a valid debt and updated it on my credit report. Once I finally get to talk to someone, I find out that the ssn and name of the account does not match mine. Then they had the nerve to say I had to prove it was on my credit report. Once I faxed out my credit report (twice because they could not find the first one) no one could explain why or how this happened. I understand mistakes happen, but why continue to update my credit report saying I owe this debt which clearly wasn't mine. Still to this day, this debt is showing on my credit report. This company is just out for money, they don't care if you actually owe it or not. The very first time I called and discoved the error, the lady on the phone tired to say I was beyond my time limit to dispute the bill therefore I needed to pay it anyways???? What a great company. j/k

    0 Votes
  • Ef
    EFR2 Feb 07, 2011

    These people are [censor]. It is goddamn near impossible to get anyone on the phone. The number that some people have listed here is for their corporate office, and supposedly they will not discuss account information at this office. Instead, they direct you to the same goddamn, automated number that is only useful if you want to pay.

    I set up a payment in full with these [censor], and then weeks went by without them debiting my account. Then I received a bill from them for an amount greater than the debt which I had arranged to pay in full. I called them, and was told it was for a returned check. Not only were they charging me an NSF fee, but Comcast also tacks a percentage charge on the account. I told them that there is absolutely no record of an attempt to debit my account, that the funds were and still are available, and thay my bank would have no evidence that this had ever happened. The customer "service" rep listened to everything I had to say, then simply reitterated that the charge was for an NSF check. I pointed out that it was likely data entry, and that I would like the charges removed. The C"S"R told me that in order for them to referrence my account and find my bank information, I would need to provide the check number. Since I had done a telecheck, and I had just made up some number, I didn't have that. The C"S"R told me that the check number is how they look up the bank account information. I told her that, no, in fact, the bank routing number and account number is what they use. She told me that they would look into it, and call me within a week. Unsurprisingly, they did not call, and continued to send me this bogus bill with a renewed vigor. At least once a week, I received a bill.

    HERE IS A NUMBER THAT ACTUALLY GOES TO THEIR COLLECTION AGENTS: [protected]

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    sauge Oct 20, 2010

    I just got there other telephone number and it is [protected]

    0 Votes
  • Ha
    hamsterpowerinc May 20, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    rebecca zaldivar comcast executive cust relations [protected] fax [protected]

    acct was to be removed from experian date 1-4-10 and i was told it would tk 90 days. as of 5-20-10 not removed. i was told it is experians fault. i sent experian the deletion letter and yet they said acct is valid.

    0 Votes
  • Du
    DustysMomma May 02, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    One thing to remember is that there are so many of these companies that you can't get contact information for, to speak to a live person, and can't get off your credit even after you pay the original creditor. One of the things that they do is get these lists of written off accounts, the majority of which are beyond the legal collection period, and they start harrassing you until you pay to get them to stop. My ex-husband was supposed to have taken my name off a joint account when we got divorced, yet I get a call a few months ago that I owe like $1500 or they are going to sue me. I take the lady's information and get a fax number from her, to which I forward a copy of the divorce decree showing the debt was his and I was to be removed from the account immediately. When he had his attorney call them, the calls finally stopped...6 months later.

    0 Votes
  • Yo
    yogert909 Apr 28, 2010

    Same here. I guess this company would rather receive a certified letter from my lawyer than a check from me. How do they stay in business?

    0 Votes
  • Br
    brahmaman Apr 06, 2010

    I worked for a company who had Comcast business class. The company went out of business so I was asked to return the cable box the lady at the counter told me there was a balance of $69 or so due and I said company went out of business and I am just returning the box. So she said ok sign here for the return of the box and now this CPA LP. is sending me letters in the name of the defunked company and threatening my credit report. For $83 I don't even owe and they flat don't care it is just pay the money or else!!! The account was in the business name but htey say they will attack my personal credit if I don't pay them they got my name off the equipment return receipt WTF. Comcast is as much to blame as these low down belly crawling bottom feeding snake $hit eaters.

    0 Votes
  • Za
    zaharah Apr 03, 2010

    I owed time warner cable $340 dollers for an old account that i didnt pay. Time warner cable turned this account over to CREDIT PROTECTION ASSOCIATION which i never denied that i owed. Two months ago i payed the bill with the orginal creditors, which was time warner cable and was told my information would be updated. I just pulled my credit report and by surprise i see CREDIT PROTECTION ASSOCIATION again saying that i owe them 51 dollers and i dont have a clue for what. I never recieved a bill for a additional collection of 51 dollers from any creditor or them, but it shows up on my credit report two months after i payed my debit to time warner cable. I will make an attempt to contact the company on monday april 5 2010 and if i cant get an explanation for the charge and why i never was notified of another charge of 51 dollers im calling the BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU and have this matter investigated. I really think this is a scam and they shouldent get away with this. We as people work to hard for our money to have it taken from us in this manner, lets fight back.

    0 Votes
  • Cp
    CPA Contact Information Mar 29, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am posting on behalf of Credit Protection Association (CPA), L.P. to address many of your questions and concerns. You may contact CPA by:
    Phone: [protected]
    Fax: [protected]
    Email: [email protected]
    To access your account, visit paycpa.com. Here you can review your account, check your balance, make an online payment/dispute, and get instant confirmation for your transaction in a safe and secure manner.

    0 Votes
  • Ke
    kensgold Mar 16, 2010

    this place truly does suck! Its so hard to get in touch with them... uuggghhh so irked right now!

    0 Votes
  • Mr
    mrsbrooks37 Mar 15, 2010

    THE WEBSITE FOR CREDIT PROTECTION ASSOCIATION, L.P.
    (PAST DUE CABLE BILLS)
    https://www.paycpa.com/directpay/account.aspx
    13355 NOEL ROAD
    DALLAS, TX 75240

    TELEPHONE NUMBER [protected]

    0 Votes
  • Gu
    GUIYEUS Mar 04, 2010

    This company is what is called Junk Debt Buyers. They are complete sharks. There are ways to not only put them away to call you, without paying, and taking them off your credit report. But you need to know how to. And of course you can make some money too out of them. At least 2 k if the account is reported in 2 bureaus. For ex Experian and Transunion. So be careful of people like this or for example Asset Acceptance or all the collections like them.

    0 Votes
  • Jr
    J R Prince Feb 04, 2010

    Charter Communications claims I owe them $114 for services received yet I was not even in town that month. I returned the modem to Charter and the girl said I owed $11.63 for 3 days of service which i paid. Now they claim I owed for the month previous to that when I was not even in town! I have since disconnected my service with them but now CPA keeps sending me collection notices with threats of damaging my 800 plus credit rating. This is simply not fair and should be outlawed. They have found a way to make a profit by robbing us! CAP cannot be reached in any way, shape or manner and Charter will not give me any satisfaction at all. They insist we owe them that money and will not hear of any other solution.

    0 Votes
  • Bo
    bojiroo Jan 30, 2010

    This place sucks as far as a business is concerned. I have two bills from them, one from comcast and one from NJ Dept of MV. They absolutely refuse to accept what I can afford, they want what they want nd I flat out refuse to deal with them. They in turn had my license suspended 3 times, so I called them the last time and I told they they want to be nasty, so can I and I am pursuing a case against them throught the Attorney General's Office in Texas and, the BBB, Federal Consumer Protection Agency and the Federal Trade Commission, somewhere along the line someone will step up and stop this nonsense with the joke of a company

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Jonathan Otto Nov 10, 2009

    I have had the same problem, my account with Comcast has been paid since August 28 and I'm still receiving collection notices from Credit Protection Association, L.P. This place is a scam, my guess is an office staffed with 3-5 employees if that. If you call, it states that in order to dispute the collection notice, to fax or mail proof that the transaction was made between you and their client. I mailed and faxed the proof that my check to Comcast cleared several months ago, but no response. I just opened my mail today with a "Notice of Report to Credit Bureau."

    What I don't understand is that the payment goes directly to their client (in my case Comcast) not them. Do they just not update their accounts. Do they receive an incentive for reporting information to the Credit Bureaus? I'm in the process of buying my first vehicle as well, this will kill any chance of getting a good rate. Anyone filing a lawsuit please contact me.

    0 Votes
  • Ed
    edgarr martinez Nov 09, 2009

    I just find out tha I have a CPA collection acc on my credit report form comcast in tha amount of $90. I never had comcast. I call them and they say to disputed because is not an active acc. So I did and I waiting on a answer from credit bu. Good luck to me and all of you

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Joe the Plumber Sep 18, 2009

    Man I just had the same thing happen to me.. I have credit protection on my account and was notified yesterday that these ### had posted to my account an unpaid debt of $75.00. What the heck .. I have been talking with this organization throughout the year about not owing Charter company anything.. The installers/collectors had received the equipment and had closed the account. Charter even said that I had closed the account yet these theiving son-of-a-### are trying to ruin our credit.. Anyway I will be calling them today conveying my thoughts.. May end up going to the Fraud division in Texas. I'll post the outcome but they will not get a dime from me..

    0 Votes
  • Al
    ale369 Sep 04, 2009

    I just called C.P.A. and was trying to get their fax number from them. The person that answered her name was MARIA she would not give me their fax unless I gave her my Reference #. I would not give it to her, so this went on for about 5 mins and then I asked to speak with her boss and put me on hold for 10 sec. and told the same thing. That her boss wanted me to give them my reference # to be able to give me the fax number and I told no again and then Maria hung up on me.

    0 Votes
  • Dl
    dls7406 Jul 15, 2009

    My fiance works for the Office of the Secretay of State for the state of Washington and has done quite a bit of research into this company for me.

    I received a few letters for some equipment that was mistakenly laced with them as unretuned. That matter was resolved as soon as I sent Charter a summons.

    However, the fact remains that CPA sent me three letters that contain per se violations of the FDCPA on their envelopes. Yes, on the envlopes. Specifically 15 USC 1692 (f) (8). Which says:

    15 USC 1692(f) A debt collector may not use unfair or unconscionable means to collect or attempt to collect any debt. Without limit­ing the general application of the foregoing, the following conduct is a violation of this section:

    (8) Using any language or symbol, other than the debt col­lector’s address, on any envelope when communicating with a consumer by use of the mails or by telegram, except that a debt collector may use his business name if such name does not indicate that he is in the debt col­lection business.

    Very clearly: ADDRESS ONLY. Not even their business name UNLESS, , , , , Congress could not have been clearer. In cases like this the Supreme court has opined as to the language of how a statute is to be read:

    “Where Congress explicitly enumerates certain exceptions to a general prohibition, additional exceptions are not to be implied, in the absence of evidence of a contrary legislative intent.” Andrus v. Glover Constr. Co., 446 U.S. 608, 616—617 (1980). Congress provided in the FCRA that the two-year statute of limitations runs from “the date on which the liability arises, ” subject to a single exception for cases involving a defendant’s willful misrepresentation of material information. §1681p. The most natural reading of §1681p is that Congress implicitly excluded a general discovery rule by explicitly including a more limited one. See Leatherman v. Tarrant County Narcotics Intelligence and Coordination Unit, 507 U.S. 163, 168 (1993) (“Expressio unius est exclusio alterius.”). We would distort §1681p’s text by converting the exception into the rule. Cf. United States v. Brockamp, 519 U.S. 347, 352 (1997) (“explicit listing of exceptions” to running of limitations period considered indicative of Congress’ intent to preclude “courts [from] read[ing] other unmentioned, open-ended, ‘equitable’ exceptions into the statute”).

    I am now working with a law firm and we are preparing suit against CPA. We are seeking class certification for all consumers who have received the same envelope which I did. The firm I am working with typically receives awards in excess of several million dollars, plus costs. They are very experienced.

    If you have received correspondence from CPA that contains per se violations of 15 USC 1692 (f) (8) and live in Washington please send me a scan of the envelope via email and I will pass your email on to the firm.
    I can be reached at [email protected]

    We are also going to be having a meeting with Harumi Tucker at the Washington State Department of Liscensing regarding an action to enjoin CPA from conducting any further business in Washington as a "collection Agency".

    0 Votes
  • Ga
    gabriela 1 Jul 11, 2009

    you all guys need to call de ftc and make a complain, www.ftc.gov

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    jasonjenkins Jun 25, 2009

    DONT GET TIME WARNER OR COMCAST GET DISH

    WE WILL GET YOU


    TRUST ME

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    jasonjenkins Jun 25, 2009

    WATCH OUT DONT PAY NEONE FROM THE PAYMENT CENTER
    I KNOW MANAGERS THAT ORDER FOOD OFF CREDIT OR DEBIT CARDS

    I WORK THERE TRUST ME

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    jasonjenkins Jun 25, 2009

    READ THIS IF YOUR HAVING ISSUES EVERYONE
    ****************************************************************************************************************************************
    CALL [protected] THAT IS THE NUMBER FOR THE COLLECTION DEPARTMENT ***************************ASK FOR A SUPERVISOR ************ALL REGULAR AGENTS CAN DO IS TAKE A PAYMENT***

    EVERYONE THERE SMOKES POT DOES COCAINE *****
    I WORK THERE WERE LOCATED
    13355 Noel Rd SUITE 2100
    Dallas, TX

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    jasonjenkins Jun 25, 2009

    everyone smokes pot at etan industries they fired 200 people since may and everyone that works there smokes pot they steal your credit info and order pizzas or food for lunch and youll never know. i work there i dont like it arelie jenkins and dominica are the managers they both do drugs at work. if you get hung up on thats ok we get paid on the number of calls we take not the payments so we dont care if you pay were all smoking pot and not caring about you..we do time warner comcast insight...call [protected] thats the number and ask to speak with chris shaw or ron ainsworth they are the only non pot head managers...dont give you creidt info over the phone.. and stop complaining about 2/24hrs you aint paid you bill in 2 or 3 months your late read a book or walk out side..

    1 Votes
  • Am
    Amy Lehman Jun 22, 2009

    I hate COMCAST -- I agree with the suggestion for a class action lawsuit. They are messing with peoples lives. I returned my equipment to one of their reps and even received a receipt in the process. Comcast continued to bill me for the "unreturned" equipment and the first I knew of it was because of a notice from a collections agency. I have straightened this out 4-5 times, giving the Comcast rep the receipt/rep # each time. Today...another fricken notice from CPA. I am beyond mad. They should pay for this.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    MAC May 18, 2009

    I just spoke with some airhead at the [protected] and she said that it was not her problem that I had paid my bill and that the cable company did not send the payment to them. I do not know about the rest of the people who receive notices from this company, but I think, after reading all of the above, that is may be time for a class action lawsuit against CPA.

    0 Votes
  • Rm
    rmnhsd May 07, 2009

    Try [protected], enter random numbers when asked and keep hitting '0', eventually you will talk to a real person.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    marshallmom May 04, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I got a card from Credit Protection Association in the mail saying that I owed money to Time Warner Cable. Since the card looked a little fishy, I contacted Time Warner, who said that the balance had been paid in full almost 2 years ago! I spoke with Damian at [protected] and he cleared it up for me! Hope that number helps someone else.

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Roe Mar 24, 2009

    Thanks for the poster who posted the 1-800 number below. It's a good starting point for those of us who had no idea how to get ahold of these people. The number does give you a recording though, to hang up and call another number, which is [protected]. I figured I would post this for those of us who still need to contact CPA, just to save them a step.

    0 Votes
  • No
    no need to know Mar 07, 2009

    just a heads up for anyone who wants to know, i work for a firm in 3rd party collections. all you have to do is overnight(for tracking# to prove they received it) a cease and desist letter to them, if they contact you after wards you can sue them for harassment. yes you can for any one who thinks they know what is going on because they do call center collections first party trust me i did it too. if your balance is under 500.00, I'm sure(no guarantee) if you asked for proof of debt they will have to spend more than you owe to prove you owe it and they will most likely just drop it, now if they already have it, you are screwed. just try to settle the account for 50%, if you try often enough you will get it, it helps to have a good sob story.

    0 Votes
  • Su
    Sunny Mar 02, 2009

    I just received a letter from CPA about a Time warner bill which I know is bogus. After calling around a bit, I found a direct number to speak with someone concerning my dispute. I called 877.332.2432 and submitted my dispute over the phone with a supervisor. I had to find the inner *itch in me to actually get past the customer service guy (who by the way, knew absolutely nothing and tried to tell me that they all did the same job and no one else could help me) to a supervisor. They kept me on hold forever, but at least i was FINALLY able to speak with someone! Also trying to contact Time Warner, but so far have been told that CPA won't report to the credit agency while this is in dispute. Will also be repoting to FTC, as it seems to me that this company doesn't receive verifying info for the debts they receive which has to be some sort of violation!!

    0 Votes
  • To
    tottallytickedoff29 Feb 26, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I too agree, although it's only $68 . I have been trying to reach them for a week. 8 calls it just rang, 4 calls an automated voice telling me that i needed to enter my credit card number (kind a hard to do that when i have never in my life owned a credit card!), 10 calls were telling me this number has been disconnected. This is Bull crap.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Macie Feb 25, 2009

    I recently had my credit ran and this company had a collection on my report. I had call them to have them send me a copy of my statement but the phone just keeps ringing. How am I supposed to pay this and get it off my credit?

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Macie Feb 25, 2009

    I just recently had my credit report ran and I had a collection from this company on my report. I contacted them to have them send me a copy of the statement and they never did. I've been trying to contact them but the phone just keeps ringing. How am I supposed to pay this so it's off my credit?

    0 Votes
  • Da
    dawn Nov 25, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I keep getting calls from these people every WEEK for someone else! Here's the number I call back and ALWAYS get a live person 877.278.5106

    -1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.