The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

Wells Fargo / fraud charges

1 4575 16th StMoline, IL, United States Review updated:
Contact information:
Phone: 800-8693557

I deposited a check into my account from American General Finance for 3500.04 on 8/6/08. According to my online banking the funds were to be made available to me 8/8/08. On 8/8/08 the 3500.04 showed up in my account and my direct deposit paycheck of $885. I made a few online bill pays. One for 2000.00 to credit card and 100.00 to another card and 80.00 to student loans and so on.

I logged onto my account 8/9/08 to see if my bill pays had been sent out and my account showed 2200.00 overdrawn. So on 8/8/08 my account showed 4300.00 and now I'm -2200.00. They put a hold on my check after they made the funds available to me. Now I have no money. They went ahead and used part of that money to make my bill pays and turned around and took it back. Even all of my paycheck to cover their mistake.

If they would have put a hold on my check from the beginning I still would have had my paycheck to live on. Now I have nothing. I had to borrow money from my parents to buy gas and food. What if I didn't have them to help me? I don't care that they held my check. I care that they took my paycheck to cover their mistake.

I called them 8/10/08 to complain about what they have done and no one would talk to me. They asked for a password that I apparently set up 3 years ago. If my pin number worked they would accept that, but my debit card it currently shut off for fraud. On 8/8/08 I had fraudulent activity on my account and I was told I would have a temporary credit and I haven't gotten that yet.

It's not like this check is a personal check from someone. It's a check from a financial institution that has been around a long time. HOW CAN THEY JUST TAKE ALL MY MONEY? It's sunday right now and I won't have any money until Friday. They told me over the phone that any overdraft fees I incur will be credited back to me. I have all the bill pays and a few debit card transactions totally 7 pending orders.

Gee, 35.00 x 7=245.00 in overdraft fees I have to deal with until they give me my check. I should have over a 1000.00 clear sitting in my account right now. I hate Wellsfargo. How are they going to make bill pays out of the money they cleared to me and then take it away for another week and take my paycheck with it?

Va
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Jo
      29th of Sep, 2008
    0 Votes

    Office of the Comptroller of the Currency

    If you have a problem with Wells Fargo or any other national bank, you can make a formal complaint here. They will listen to you after you do this. They do not like to get these kinds of complaints.

    http://www.occ.treas.gov/customer.htm

    1-800-613-6743
    Customer Assistance Group
    1301 McKinney Street
    Suite 3450
    Houston, TX 77010
    FAX: 713-336-4301

Post your comment