SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Time Warner Cable Company / awful company

3140 W. Arrowood Rd., Charlotte, NC, United States Review updated:
Contact information:

I called Time Warner on May 14th, 2008 to find out how much of a difference it would be to upgrade to HD cable. I just purchased an HD television, my service before was just the very basic cable. I travel for a living so I preferred not to spend an enormous amount on television.

The customer sales representative was very helpful and explained it would only be a $12.00 difference. My basic was only about $12.00 and the internet was $45.00, my bill would go from about $54.00 to about $64.00. I was very excited and we set up an appointment the very next day, May 15th, 2008, for a technician to come out to my home and install the cable box.

On July 24th, 2008 I called Time Warner to speak to someone about not being able to get the Bravo channel. For some reason USA and Bravo were not coming in. The representative I spoke to kept asking me if I would like to sign up for Road Runner? I was confused because I already had Road Runner. After talking to her for 45 minutes I was told my internet service was dropped when I made the upgrade and the $67.00 I was paying for was just for my cable television.

Needless to say, I was very irate because Time Warner has messed up my service so many times that this was just the final straw! I told the representative, it was NEVER dropped and I still have the internet! She kept asking me if I could get the internet as we spoke. Of course, I could because I NEVER disconnected it and I still had the modem!

She then explained to me my internet was not showing on my account, I then told her, it shows up on my bills every time on my bills how can it just all of a sudden disappear?! I was only calling to find out why my Bravo channel was not working? I was then placed on hold for several minutes, when she returned, she said she had to transfer me because she was unable to figure out what had happened with my account.

I was quite frustrated! I waited another 35 minutes before speaking to a customer service representative. After speaking to Julie for another 40 minutes, she explained to me the original representative that upgraded my cable to HD dropped my internet service so I could obtain the price quoted to me. I was furious because on my bill it shows internet and I NEVER canceled my internet.

She then explained the following month my internet would have stopped because I paid a month in advance. To sum up the account, she added internet to my bill bringing it up to $73.00 an month. Then she asked if I received a DVR box, I said I received the box they brought to my home, yes it was a DVR HD box. She then stated I was supposed to receive a HD converter box not a DVR box so they need to add another $9.99 to my bill. ARE YOU KIDDING ME!! Because of the incompetence of Time Warner my bill jumped up from $64to $83.00 and I still do not have BRAVO. They need to send out a technician to fix the problem.

I originally moved here from WI and have had other cable companies before and never experienced such a un-appreciation for customer service before! I expected a much higher level of service from your company, and I am quite disappointed. If this company cannot resolve the mistakes they have made and stop trying to put their mistakes into the pockets of a consumer like me, I've never sued anyone, but I would like to file a class action suit against them for all the times they have mishandled my account. There are several other people that would like to as well, if anyone is feeling frustrated as well with this horrible company, leave a comment.

Da
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Wi
      Jul 09, 2009

    I would like to join u in any attempt to file such lawsuit. we should talk

    0 Votes
  • Tm
      Sep 09, 2009

    Time Warner is horrible. I have had so many problems since I bundled my services, its unreal. What money I saved by bundling, I lost in cell phone minute overages and work time, repeating myself to everybody in customer service. I am with out standard cable as I write because for some reason they say I have had basic cable for the past 5 months, which is incorrect. I have a contract that states I have basic plus standard cable, but they do not want me to fax or e-mail a copy of the so called contract. The thing is though, the work order I signed when they did my installation said arbitration could be sought, but trial by jury would be given up. I actually thought it was a work order, not a contract when I signed it. Did anyone sign anything similar? They messed up my billing for 4 months, and customer retention finally fixed my bill for a few months, but whatever they did is mysteriouly undone now, which is I why have about 10 channels now, and even though, as usual it's their error, I have to wait until Friday before they turn back on the additional channels. I was also supposed to recieve a 125.00 credit to my bill because that was the offer they were running at the time I bundled my service togther. However after two months of not recieving the credit, I complained. They tried to tell me that I didn't qualify for the credit, then that I had to mail a rebate back that came to me in the mail, which never came, that's when I ended up with customer retention that fixed the bill for those few months. They also tried to bill me for long distance calls within the US when my plan was supposed be nationwide. Finally, they billed me for months, for a cable box that I did not have. I am about to file a complaint with the FCC, everyone with problems like this should, but I am not sure what good it will do. If somebody gets a lawsuit together please let me know about it, I would be interested to see if I want to join in.

    +1 Votes
  • Be
      Sep 18, 2009
    Time Warner Cable Company - DID NOT CREDIT MY ACCOUNT USING THEIR AUTOMATED SYSTEM
    LAUREL NOVAK
    Ohio
    United States

    I did not receive my Time Warner statement for month of August..hence I called them to let them know, why I hadn't made that month's payment. She offered me to pay over phone to her with my debit card for an extra $5.00 or use their Automated System for free, which I opted for on 8/25/09. Per their system I owed $100.53 which I paid using their automated system. The system gave me a confirmation number of 100321. I received my September statement and their is NO credit that I paid by debit in the amount of $100.53. I called TWC that evening spoke to multiple so called customer service personnel, they all stated the confirmation I had was no use to them and that I would have to call my bank to verify that the money was taken out my account and paid to TWC. The next day I called TWC again and requested a supervisor call me back, to date I have not received no return call. I did call NCB they stated yes that transaction was completed and sent to TWC, they faxed me a photo copy. I was advised to fax a letter, copy of transaction and all data to TWC ..one CS person gave me one number another one gave me another fax# and one gave me a physical location. It is not my fault their system is inadequate and they put the burden of rectifying the issue on me...I am furious over this issue. I called CS today 8/18/09 CS stated they do not show the credit to date, did verify receipt of fax however only 2 pages came thru...Why didn't they call me? I put both phone# on the letter I typed to them...I have never, as a consumer, been treated so poorly...they must remember not only am I customer I also pay their salaries. Per the advice of Jose this AM, I must now drive to TWC office and show them my bank statement and photo copy of my transaction. Again TWC stated this was my issue and I am responsible to resolve it...This is utter crap!!!

    0 Votes
  • Fi
      Nov 24, 2009

    Lately, Time Warner cable has taken to altering the digital channel signal during any contract disputes with local channels. The latest is NBC in Raleigh. If you do not own a cable box, you should be able to see NBC in high def on 17.1 only lately Time Warner Cable has decided not to send that signal unscrambled. Each night they vary the signal so that, unless you own a box, you loose the signal. I've called and called and each time I call they say no such channel exists and they do not broadcast it. "We only broadcast 2, 3, 4, 6, and so on..." It's funny because my television picks up 4.2, 5.1, 11.1, etc. which are PBS, CBS, and ABC respectively. They're such liars.

    0 Votes
  • Ro
      Feb 18, 2010

    I have been a Time Warner Cable customer for over 16 years, occasionally they would screw up my billing, and I would have to spend hours talking with customer support to get it straightened out. Well this is the last straw. Because I travel a lot, I put my monthly bill on bank draft, I am single and the only one that has access to my account, and I look for overages just like everybody else, what I don't look for are debts that should be there. T.W Cable billed me this month for over $1400.00, I have a business internet account with them that has been paid monthly on my business credit card, it has been drafted monthly like it should be, but they have continued to give me cable service even though they haven't collected for that account in a years time, that's right, 12 months. So now, instead of paying my monthly fee I have a wopping $1400.00 bill due asap. After calling customer support, they explained to me that they changed thier payment processing system, and my old bank draft didn't not carry over for what ever reason. So instead of having my service interupted, and finding there was a problem many, many months ago, they just now send me this back breaking bill. I just don't know where to turn to. I don't mind paying for my service monthly, but where am I supposed to come up with a years worth of payments? There billing dept was not open when I called tonight, that horrible conversation will happen tomorrow. Does our federal goverment own T.W Cable? They sure do business like them. I have a coffee mug that states, "If we don't take care of our customers, then somebody else sure will". But I don't think they even care!

    0 Votes
  • Tw
      Mar 08, 2010

    You all are right on the money, I believe that what it boils down to is TW is more interested in new customers and not reguler ones?? Doesnt make for good business, but being the only cable company around I see they get away with it. I am sure there are thousands of complaints that we never hear of and so many not resolved. I have had numerous problems and I have never talked to the same person twice. They have hundreds employed as "customer service" most dont know squat. I just spent the last 30 minutes teaching 2 of them that
    35+40 = 75? My 5 year old knows that one? They bumped my bill from 75 to 100 and know there saying it was always 100? My conract and bills say different. I guess ignorance is bliss.
    They should be sued and put out of business, if there were competition in the cable market, they would fail and go out of business or change there ways ASAP! Im looking for another company as I recommend everyone who has there service do.

    0 Votes
  • Ab
      Apr 19, 2010

    In October 2009 I open an account with time Warner cable here in Cleveland Ohio, I was suppose to have just local home phone service regular cable and turbo internet, I was supposed to be less the 150 dollars a month, I few month later I notice that I have a phone service that I did not wanted so the person from customer service was nice enough to low-grade the phone service and my bill was going to be less but that is not all for since the beginning I never receive the turbo internet and the say that they was going to credit me for that but I had to call every month to do so until I get my internet turbo, for $20.00 miserable dollars I had to go to hell every single month and every single month end up in the hospital for I am disable and have some health issues twice with a mille heart failure, and now not only I still don’t have the internet turbo but I made my payment on April and it is in my checking account that they got the money but they say they did not receive it and turn off my cable, I went to my bank to see if there is and error and there is no error they did got my money and they are stilling from me. Adriana

    0 Votes

Post your comment