SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Subwayfranchisee

Le Feb 18, 2015 johns creek ga Review updated:

I have worked for subway for 20 years as a restaurant manager for 2 franchisees.In October 2014 the store was sold to Minesh Patel of Mean subs1 llc. At the time of purchase all employees were told by Minesh that their jobs were secure. However 3 weeks later Minesh calls one employee at his home and tells him that he is fired, another employee is fired and myself. He gives no reason and just hangs up. All 3 of us try to contact him but he will not respond. He refused to give us a separation notice. Also all employees at this time had received 2 pay checks with no deductions of any kind, just straight salary. I n Feb. 2015, after 7 phone calls, we reached Minesh about our 1099 form. He stated that there "would be no 1099 forms, just say that I paid you out of my pocket". What kind of business professionals are you allowing into your company?

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  •   Feb 18, 2015

    Don't know if you do your on taxes but any tax preparer can download your W2 forms. based on filings wit the IRS. At least the commercials say that they can download them, the previous owner will have taken care of business. Make certain you claim the pay that had no deductions, It proves your claim and it will come back on you at some point if you don't. Since this person did this he is violating the law and will answer for it. As far as you being terminated you will do well with unemployment as he will have a rough time contesting it and he may well be facing unfair dismissal charges in this matter as long as you have a clean work record. Unfortunately you are all at will employees and can be terminated without explanation at any time for any reason. But since he has demonstrated what may be criminal actions you will do just fine

    0 Votes
  • Ru
      Feb 18, 2015

    Why were you fired, your job is secured as long as you do it properly.

    0 Votes
  • Ie
      Feb 18, 2015

    Well he gives no reason, but when I asked and finally got an answer he told me that it is because I kept coming into work late and leaving early. I have a good reason to do this, I am a single parent of a two year old. There were times when I took longer breaks than I should have but clocked in so I was being paid because I was on break, Yeah I agree that these are grounds to fire someone but he lied to me when he said my job was secure. He should have been honest and told us that if we are late that our jobs are not secure. Besides I am a single parent with a two year old. How am I going to feed my child now? I was excited because I had a job and could support my children without help from my parents but now I have to rely on them thanks to this lier.

    0 Votes
  •   Feb 18, 2015

    Hope you land on your feet. Only two jobs in 20 years is a good work record and hopefully his documentation is as good as his follow through on his book keeping. He would have had to document each incident and counseled you with a written warning and or disciplinary action. He will look real bad no matter what for his book keeping and payroll practices. You will land another job, management work at fast food restaurants is demanding work. If he has not covered his butt he can't mess you around. Maybe go back to school, where I live that is a big thing and the state will pay for it. when you get approved for unemployment. Don't tell them you think you deserved it though, see how the cards fall. if you got no write up's to sign just tell them you don't know why you were let go.

    0 Votes
  •   Feb 18, 2015

    No job is "secure" when you don't get there on time and don't leave when your shift is over - that's like FIRST PRIORITY. Unless Minesh had the pleasure(?) of fathering that baby, he has no compunction to let you cut corners with regard to your responsibilities at that place of employment.

    How are you going to feed that baby? Well, the first place you need to look is at the sperm donor. Let him worry about buying the food.

    0 Votes
  • Ru
      Feb 20, 2015

    Yeah that happens, with posts sometimes they are reviewed. Remember this person was constantly late and using her child as an excuse not to only to come to work late but to go home early. Why because she had her child to take care of. I can understand that but taking longer breaks? Also are we really getting the whole side of the story and the whole truth, for all we know she could have been written up and warned about this, and if she is on probation period then she can be let go, and if she is at the right to work state or whatever it is called they can fire for no reason. She was however fired for a reason, she was late.

    0 Votes
  •   Feb 20, 2015

    I read the complaint again and realize now that the termination took place last October or November and now understand the complaint is solely about the 1099. She did admit messing up so I was trying to offer advice on how to move forward. What I said about claiming the three or so weeks of pay stands and the rest I will digress on.

    0 Votes

Post your comment