SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Sonic Cash NetFraud / harrassment

1 Review updated:

I received a call first from an "Officer William Hammil" but when I called back, spoke to a "Scott Miller" (both of these gentlemen had Indian accents) also, alot of noise in the back ground. Alot of echo on the phone line, indicative of a phone call to/from India/overseas.

Anyway, told me I had a loan with Sonic Cash Net and was going to be prosecuted for Corruption of Check charges (bogus charge) theft by deception (bogus charge) and something else, can't remember now.

Anyway, he had my home address, my place of work name and my bank name. Nothing else. Told me that I would be arrested "tomorrow".

I was startled to say the least. I did have a payday loan a few years ago, but it was paid in full. He couldn't give me the account number I allegedly had with this company. He said it was "confidential" and he could only release it to my attorney.

Folks, I'ma paralegal - I deal with this type of stuff al lthe time and he had me so rattled I began to doubt myself. As fate would have it, I was at work and because of the holiday, our servers were down for cleanup/repairs, so I couldn't search the company or any BBB fraud websites.

I kept coming up with "wait a minute..." revelations and called him back.

One phone call I asked him in which jurisdiction they charges would be filed. He said I didn't need to worry about it that a representative from the California State Sherrif's department would be at my house tomorrow to arrest me. He rushed me off the phone before I could ask more questions.

As soon as we hung up I remembered:

Sherrifs are COUNTY jurisdicitons, not STATE.

So then I called back and asked what their Bar# is (Law firms have lawyers, lawyers have to be members of the bar to practice). He actually yelled at me and said I have no right to ask him these questions.

(????)

He then told me that God was the only one that could help me now. Really? WHO says that???? Honestly, if these guys are going to be crooks, you'd think they'd be smarter about it.

Before he hung up on me, I was able to say "Scott, you know this is a hoax and a scam. I know it, you know it, the man in the moon knows it".

He said "We'll see when you are arrested tomorrow".

I was able to get home a few minutes later and log on to the internet and found all these scam websites.

I searched under Sonic Cashnet and the phone number used: [protected]. Both searches turned up fraud websites where everyon else had the same experience, nearly word for word.

What they want you to do is panic and say "What can I do so I'm not arrested". That's when they politely ask you for your banking info and they'll simply take a payment over the phone and clear the whole thing up.

BULL!!! DON'T FALL FOR IT.

I actually called them back and told them what I found just by doing a search of their name and their phone number. Suddenly "Scott's" accent wasn't so thick and he asked me who I was.

I told him it was somoene who will be reporting them to the CA Attorney General. He hung up quickly.

Unfortunately, since these guys are calling from outside the US there's probably very little that can be done.

Li
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Ra
      Nov 25, 2008
    Sonic Cash Net - illegal practices
    sonic cash net
    United States

    I have recieved several nasty calls trying to get me to give them money or they will download affidavit to have me arrested. i called sonic cash and they have no record and to stop giving them money. They are being investigated through homeland securityand the secret services i was told from sonic cash net.

    0 Votes
  • Kf
      Nov 26, 2008
    Sonic Cash Net - fraudulent illegal calls
    sonic cash net
    California
    United States

    These people keep calling and telling you that you are going to be arrested and reported as a thief for a loan that doesn't exist.

    0 Votes
  • 2k
      Jan 08, 2009

    They are actually in California!!!

    They love to harass!!!

    0 Votes
  • De
      Jan 11, 2009

    I was scammed by this place like an idiot!! I wish I would've seen this website in time. I received a call from a MAX CARTER, threatening me to get arrested, the guy was rude and persistent. THen he would supposedly transfer me to someon else but they all sounded like the same person, there was a BRAD, JOHN, and i kept think how do they have american names when it's clear that they aren't even from here!! ph# [protected]. Fax #[protected]. It is a Verizon Wireless phone. I had to report it to the police, FDIC, BBB, Homeland security, secret service, NCUA, Federal Trade, financial crimes bureau! to FBI, and Spanish chanels and all the news chanels!
    I have sent emails to everyone, hopefully something is done about this I had to call the credit bureaus the banks. The bank stated that I would have to dispute the transaction along with the case # of the police report that I made, so I did immediately!! The bank stated that they would request for my funds to be returned if not that they would initiate a investigation, but if these crooks return my money they won't be able to do anything to them. I plan to make flyers and send them to all churches, businesses, and everywhere i can think of!

    0 Votes
  • Co
      Jan 27, 2009

    I agress something must be done about these people. They need to be stopped now! Stop being aloud to threaten people. We must all do what ever it takes to stop these people!
    Connie, Oklahoma

    0 Votes
  • Io
      Feb 11, 2009

    I was contacted by them today, they are a fraud, in fact they operate outside the USA. They are not based in LA because they are using a fraudulent number. Sonic Cash actually admited they are not affiliated with them and have had manyof these calls. If they call again, tell them that you have contacted the Secret Service in your area and not to call you again, the calls will stop.

    0 Votes
  • Je
      Jun 18, 2009

    I work for an attorneys office who help people resolve debts with small loan companies like cashnet, payday, universal cash advance, etc... and lately alot of my clients have called in stating they have recieved calls from these people as well. stating all the information/harrassment that was posted here. I informed my clients to tape record this messages and converstion for your protection. You can actually sue the companies calling you since it is false that you can be arrested for not paying your debt. The only thing they can do is tell the company to persue the matter in court, at which time you will be contact by the county district to report to court at a certain date for a judgement hearing. This company is breaking a lot of laws and should be sued. Do not let them step on your rights! Stand up to them so they can not do this to anyone else. If I was an attorney myself I would file a class action lawsuit.

    Sincerely,
    Helping you out

    0 Votes
  • Va
      Sep 15, 2009

    here is a valid number [protected], they claim to be a investigation unit and that you are talking with a officer... i was very upset and let them know directly that i was calling the local police department because they were impersonating a police officer which IS AGAINGST THE LAW, and also for harrassment and i would be pressing charges immediately, they stated that they would remove his name from the calling list ????????. The impersonator has a deep accent and it sounds like a call center in the background with echoing voices when you speak. I hope this valid phone number helps all that are also being harrassed.

    0 Votes
  • Ln
      Mar 17, 2011

    I just received a call this morning. That idiot refused to give me any information. He so called tranfered me but no one came on the line. The number that he called from is [protected]. I am in Maryland and he said I would be arrested tomorrow also. But again refused to give me any information at all

    0 Votes

Post your comment