SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Ranchin Ragz Ragdolls / Cattery

Nanton AB, CA Review updated:
Contact information:

DeKoel Smith of RanchinRagz Ragdolls is deceptive. She sold me two kittens, under the false pretense that they were Ragdolls. She was sending me photos of two kittens that looked like Ragdolls, but when I got them (my husband and his friend flew all the way to Alberta to pick them up, and bring them back to B.C.), I couldn't believe that they have short hair, long legs, and long skinny tails. No Ragdoll I have ever seen looks like that. I have two existing Ragdolls, so I know what they're supposed to look like. The kittens don't even look like the ones in the photos.

DeKoel kept insisting that they're Ragdolls, and sent me the registration of their "parents", but I have no way of knowing if they're the parents of these kittens, as the kittens look nothing like them.

I then wanted to return the kittens, and since I trusted her with $2800 beforehand (and $200 at time of pick up), $1500 per kitten, I asked her to do the same for me before I return the kittens. She adamantly refused. She said she wouldn't pay anything in advance, plus I wouldn't get the $400 deposit back, and I'd have to pay for her vet to ensure the kittens are healthy. Basically, I was supposed to trust her with all of this, after she sent me kittens that don't look like Ragdolls.

She told me I could have them tested to prove they're Ragdolls. I looked into the testing through UC Davis Veterinary Medicine Veterinary Genetics Laboratory, and they told me there is no breed test for cats. Basically, she sent me on a wild goose chase.

In total for the two kittens, plus return airfare for two people (the airline only allows one kitten per person onboard the airline), this costed me over $4000.

I feel very ripped off, taken advantage off, taken to the cleaners etc.

I feel the way she does business is very unfair, and very wrong! DeKoel Smith is a money grabber, so don't buy from RanchinRagzRagdolls.

  • Updated by rue39, Dec 06, 2016

    I am glad that she has all of her good friends behind her in this matter, but this is my experience with her, and I realize that yours may have been completely different.

    I still love these kittens, as I'm a huge cat lover, but they do not look like Ragdolls, which is what I paid for.

    I was shocked beyond belief when I first saw them. They have hardly any hair, skinny tails, small faces, small paws, slender body shape. They look more to be Burmese, or Burmese-Ragdoll cross.

    My two existing adult Ragdolls fit the Ragdoll profile down to a T. They have long, plush, rabbit-like soft fur, broad head shape, thick paws, with fur tufts between their toes, they have a muscular, heavy body build. The kittens that DeKoel sold me do not look like this at all.

    Yes, I did want a seal sepia kitten and a seal mink kitten, but I wanted purebred Ragdolls, ones that look like purebred Ragdolls, and that is what I paid for. I wouldn't have paid 3000 dollars, plus more than 1000 dollars in airfare to get them otherwise.

    I am sure that the first time Ragdoll buyer, would not notice the difference between the kittens that DeKoel sold me, and what a genuine Ragdoll kitten looks like, but I am very familiar with the breed, as I have done extensive research, have gone to many cat shows, and I have two grown real ones of my own, which I've had from kittenhood. My original ones look just like any Ragdoll that you would see on the Internet when you are searching for Ragdoll cat images.

    I also had placed 400 dollars in deposits on two unborn kittens from DeKoel before I had seen the ones that we are discussing here. Once I saw the two she sold me, I wanted a refund for my 400 dollars on the unborn ones, and of course, she just kept my money. She had not held any kittens for any length of time, with those deposits, because those two are not born yet, and given the situation that I am not happy with the ones she sold me already, I thought she should refund my deposits for the unborn ones. I feel this is highly unfair as well.

    I had forwarded DeKoel a copy of my email exchange with UC Davis Veterinary Genetics Lab regarding breed testing on the kittens, who by the way told me no such testing existed. DeKoel had told me to have them tested. She got so angry with me, and sent a reply email in bold letters, telling me not the bother her again, so I have not been in contact with her since.

    I had entrusted her upfront, with not only the first 400 dollar deposits on the kittens we're discussing here, but also 2400 dollars (the majority of the 3000 dollar total for two kittens), with the final 200 dollars paid at time of pick up, so when I wanted to return the kittens to her, I wanted it done the same way, only in reverse. She refused.

    I am an honorable person, and always have the best intentions. I have proven that, by paying all of that money to her in advance. I have been taken advantage of so badly in this situation.

    Sorry, my trust is gone, and rightly so. There is no way I could send the kittens back with no money upfront.

    I already feel so ripped off. You cannot imagine!!!

  • Updated by rue39, May 26, 2017

    DeKoel Smith is not deceptive. She actually believes that the kittens she sold me are purebred Ragdolls. I however, don't believe they are, and I have a right as a consumer to state my experience with her. Other people may have had a positive buying experience from her, but I did not. This is why my complaint will stand, but I wanted to correct the record about DeKoel Smith.

    DeKoel Smith is not a money grabber. She is a cat breeder.

    This corrects the record on DeKoel Smith's character.

Ru
Dec 05, 2016
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Li
      Dec 06, 2016

    It saddens me greatly to read this review of Dekoel's rag dolls. I own 3...They are 3 and 4 years old this past August. I still write Dekoel when I have questions about anything related to them. She always responds with great information and personal advice in regards to my fur babies. I have recommended her to 2 of my friends who have ragdolls from Dekoel, because when anyone meets my ragdolls they fall in love, with their beauty and their temperaments, they are social cats, don't like to be alone are always where their people are. My husband and I share a queen bed and need to get a king size because we have 3 cats who love to sleep with us. I am sorry you feel that she sent you the wrong cats, but I would have to disagree with your perception of a rag doll as I know she only has rag doll cats...Dekoel even sends me pictures of all her minks and sepia rag doll babies when litters are born as she knows how much I LOVE them and love it when she shares her fur babies with me. My sister wanted a rag doll and I was chatting with Dekoel about it but unfortunately my sister was on maternity leave and her funds were very limited. Out of the kindness of her heart along with her generosity she allowed my sister to have one of her adult cats, Hershey. Hershey is the mother of my Seal mitted mink. My husband travelled to Calgary and met Dekeol to bring our first 2 kittens back with west jet. He was allowed to fly with both as there is a limit of 2 animals on the plane at one time and it was pre-arranged. The next year I bought another one, we drove out to pick up Hershey and my newest addition (who is 3 now). My sister, her husband, her 2 children love Hershey and are so grateful to Dekoel for her kindness. All Dekoel wanted for Hershey was a loving home. If I wasn't expecting a child in 2 months I would meet you wherever you are and buy those beautiful little rag doll kittens from you. Being empathetic and understanding ones hesitation in sending you back money without first possessing the kittens is not a normal way of handling a return. We never go to a store and ask for our money back without the item. Online shopping such as walmart, amazon, the bay, the shopping channel we pay first and then receive the item, if we aren't happy we ship back and then get reimbursed...humble and kind in your dealings with people during difficult times is most welcoming. Please reconsider this terrible review of a wonderful breeder, who breeds the most beautiful friendly ragdolls!

    0 Votes
  • Ra
      Dec 06, 2016

    @Lindsay Dawn Thank you Lindsay

    0 Votes
  • Ru
      Dec 06, 2016

    @Ragdollgirl I am glad that she has all of her good friends behind her in this matter, but this is my experience with her, and I realize that yours may have been completely different.

    I still love these kittens, as I'm a huge cat lover, but they do not look like Ragdolls, which is what I paid for.

    I was shocked beyond belief when I first saw them. They have hardly any hair, skinny tails, small faces, small paws, slender body shape. They look more to be Burmese, or Burmese-Ragdoll cross.

    My two existing adult Ragdolls fit the Ragdoll profile down to a T. They have long, plush, rabbit-like soft fur, broad head shape, thick paws, with fur tufts between their toes, they have a muscular, heavy body build. The kittens that DeKoel sold me do not look like this at all.

    Yes, I did want a seal sepia kitten and a seal mink kitten, but I wanted purebred Ragdolls, ones that look like purebred Ragdolls, and that is what I paid for. I wouldn't have paid 3000 dollars, plus more than 1000 dollars in airfare to get them otherwise.

    I am sure that the first Ragdoll buyer, would not notice the difference between the kittens that DeKoel sold me, and what a genuine Ragdoll kitten looks like, but I am very familiar with the breed, as I have done extensive research, have gone to many cat shows, and I have two grown real ones of my own, which I've had from kittenhood. My original ones look just like any Ragdoll that you would see on the Internet when you are searching for Ragdoll cat images.

    I also had placed 400 dollars in deposits on two unborn kittens from DeKoel before I had seen the ones that we are discussing here. Once I saw the two she sold me, I wanted a refund for my 400 dollars on the unborn ones, and of course, she just kept my money. She had not held any kittens for any length of time, with those deposits, because those two are not born yet, and given the situation that I am not happy with the ones she sold me already, I thought she should refund my deposits for the unborn ones. I feel this is highly unfair as well.

    I had forwarded DeKoel a copy of my email exchange with UC Davis Veterinary Genetics Lab regarding breed testing on the kittens, who by the way told me no such testing existed. DeKoel had told me to have them tested. She got so angry with me, and sent a reply email in bold letters, telling me not the bother her again, so I have not been in contact with her since.

    I had entrusted her upfront, with not only the first 400 dollar deposits on the kittens we're discussing here, but also 2400 dollars (the majority of the 3000 dollar total for two kittens), with the final 200 dollars paid at time of pick up, so when I wanted to return the kittens to her, I wanted it done the same way, only in reverse. She refused.

    I too am honorable, and always have the best intentions. I have proven that, by paying all of that money to her in advance. I have been taken advantage of so badly in this situation.

    Sorry, my trust is gone, and rightly so. There is no way I could send the kittens back with no money upfront.

    I already feel so ripped off. You cannot imagine!!!

    0 Votes
  • Le
      Dec 07, 2016

    @rue39 Just curious - why don't you post photos of the kittens you are alleging are not Ragdolls?

    0 Votes
  • Sh
      Dec 06, 2016

    I have purchased 2 ragdolls from DeKoel and absolutely love them. When I was searching for a ragdoll and had a million questions DeKoel took the patience to answer all of them for me. The cats I have from her are quality show cats and have the most calm and relaxing demeanor. They are great with other kittens that come into my house to visit. Everyone loves the markings and especially their blue eyes. I know DeKoel raises ragdolls and only ragdolls. I am sorry you do not believe your kittens you got to be ragdolls but I am positive that they are what DeKoel said they were. If I'm to ever to get another ragdoll DeKoel is where I will be going to for sure! I don't blame DeKoel for wanting the kittens back first before payment to me that is just good business sense. I wish I had room for those 2 fur babies you have because I would gladly take them off your hands.

    0 Votes
  • Ra
      Dec 06, 2016

    @Sherry Shumay Thank You Sherry

    +1 Votes
  • An
      Dec 06, 2016

    I've known DeKoel since she first started breeding Ragdolls and she is a very honest and reputable breeder of purebred TICA registered Ragdolls. She has several TICA registered purebred Ragdolls from me and over the years I’ve also received 2 show quality TICA registered purebred Ragdolls from her. Both came to me very well socialized and healthy. She does not have any other cats besides Registered Ragdolls. Not all Ragdolls start out fluffy, some take time to develop their coats and some just have heavier coats than others. Ragdoll kittens do not all look the same. Some have shorter or longer coats and tails and some have longer legs than others. They all grow differently and they are all different. Even at a cat show the Ragdolls look different from each other. The registration slip is the proof that the kittens are purebred Ragdoll kittens, this is what all breeders supply (a registration slip from the organization they register their cats and kittens in such as TICA, CFA, CCA and there are a few others). For refunds, breeders do not give refunds until the kittens are returned to them and most do not give refunds until the kittens are returned and then are re-homed. Some breeders do not give refunds at all, some will only replace the kitten or kittens but either way the kittens must be returned first.

    0 Votes
  • Ra
      Dec 06, 2016

    @Angela Thank you Angela

    0 Votes
  • Ch
      Dec 06, 2016

    We have recently purchased 2 ragdolls kittens from DeKoel Smith and could not be happier with the cats or with our dealings with DeKoel. Ranchin Ragz provided TICA registration for our pure bred ragdolls and we are able to search their pedigree and lineage through TICA. She is very up front with her contract terms clearly outlining what both parties are agreeing to. Good business practise is not to issue any refund without returning the purchased items first. We feel that Ranchin Rags and DeKoel Smith are very trustworthy and that this complaint is unfair and not based on fact

    0 Votes
  • Ra
      Dec 07, 2016

    @Chantelsch Thank you Chantel & Tom

    0 Votes
  • Ra
      Dec 06, 2016

    Hello to everyone who reads this post - I am Ranchinragz - the breeder of these kittens - It is not my intent to slander or come across as unprofessional in anyway, however I feel it is necessary to offer comment to all potential adopting families and friends may read this.
    I have been breeding SBT Registered Ragdolls for 8 years now, and I have to say this is my first introduction in seeing the true colors of some.
    I strive for excellence with all my babies born here - it was my love for the breed that got me started on my journey.
    I am proud to say I have many, many happy adopting families - some who I have become very good friends with along the way.
    I have maintained lengthy correspondences with this person as well as sent pictures and updates of her girls all along the way.
    For all who are not completely familiar with the breed - the kittens in question are not what we call Traditional Ragdolls, they are Mink and Sepia Ragdolls - so their look is a little different than the Traditional Ragdoll cat. This is what she was specifically looking for - sepia minks. All OF MY cats are registered SBT purebred Ragdolls - Mink & Traditional. I have no other breeds here, only my Raggies.
    I have offered 2 scenarios for their return - the first was to ship them back to me by cargo - I would refund her money less her deposit (which is non-refundable and clearly stated on my website) and less a vet clearance due to the fact that she has other cats in her home - this is VERY standard with ALL breeders - no money is refunded until the kittens come back.
    The second scenario I offered was to have friends of mine meet her and pick up the kittens for me - she would be out no shipping costs for them to come back - both scenarios were declined.
    As for the genetic testing - this was simply a misunderstanding on my part - I was trying to offer her a solution to test for their breed - which I found out cannot be done. I offered this suggestion only because all the SBT registrations and pedigrees I provided to her would not appease her.
    It all comes back to money with her - she wants it all upfront, which I cannot do, and no breeder would.
    I am honorable and integrity is very important to me. I would have absolutely nothing to gain by selling cross bred or mixed breed kittens – this is not what I do.
    All of my Ragdolls can be traced back to the original lines of Josephine.
    A TREMENDOUS THANK YOU FOR MY FRIENDS WHO HAVE POSTED ON MY BEHALF – YOUR SUPPORT MEANS A LOT TO ME

    0 Votes
  • Ra
      Dec 07, 2016

    @Ragdollgirl This picture is of the 2 kittens I sent her

    0 Votes
  • Le
      Dec 06, 2016

    I have known DeKoel for 5 years. I have two of her beautiful ragdoll cats and have had them for over 4 years. I have one mink and one traditional. I can't see where anyone would say that they are not ragdolls - that's all she breeds. Ever since I received my kittens I have stayed in contact with DeKoel - so much that I can see myself getting at least one more in the near future. Her cats are beautiful, healthy, well tempered and everything you would want in a Ragdoll. I can't say enough about the quality of the cats or the reliability and trust that I have in Ranchin Ragz. If I wanted to return a cat or any item I purchase at a store etc I certainly would NEVER expect the "supplier" to refund me before having the "product" in hand. If I was prepared at this time to have another kitten in the house I would definitely have you send them here but I have to wait for a few months - I might add that I would NEVER get another ragdoll from anyone other than DeKoel. At one point one of my cats broke their leg. DeKoel was kind and caring enough to meet me at the animal hospital to offer me moral and emotional support. Would a dishonest person have done this? Never. So all I can say to the issuer of this complaint (Rue39) is that I find it very hard to believe what your saying - in fact I'm quite sure that you are TERRIBLY mistaken.

    0 Votes
  • Ra
      Dec 06, 2016

    @Leesa W Thank you Leesa for your support and your friendship

    0 Votes

Post your comment