The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

Nissan Versa / gerald nissan north aurora

1 213 HANSEN BLVDNorth Aurora, IL, United States Review updated:
Contact information:
Phone: 630-907-0800

James pakowski
415 grape vine trail
oswego, il 60543
[protected]
email: jpakowski@comcast.net


Date 11/13/2008


re: customer complaint

To whom it may concern:

Today, november 13, 2008, I had a cracked valve stem replaced on my 2007 versa at gerald nissan subaru north aurora in illinois. my complaint is that this valve stem was not covered under my extended warranty. according to gerald nissan, it was not a manufacturer defect.

This problem began, when the warning light came on telling me to check the tire pressure. while loosening the cap, the stem cracked.

I first took my car to al piemonte in melrose park. they looked at it, found the problem and reset the light. today, I went to gerald nissan in north aurora to have the service department repair the valve stem. these two dealers are the only ones who worked on the warning light and valve stem. when I went in today, I was informed by the service manager at gerald nissan that the metal caps should not be used on the aluminum stems and that they were not suited for the valve stems currently on my car. the car was purchased from the dealer with theses metal caps. I do not understand why metal caps were used in the first place. the mechanic made the repair and then changed all the caps to plastic.

The metal caps caused the stem to crack and nissan originally supplied them before I even purchased my versa. it is a manufacturer defect!!! nissan used mental caps on aluminum stems which are not compatible metals. I should not have had to pay $200 when the aluminium stem cracked because the original caps I was given were metal.

I feel very strongly that this is nissan’s fault. if this issue is not resolved and I do not get reimbursed, I will take this matter further and contact the consumer affairs department.

I have been a nissan owner for 15 years. (2 altimas and 1 versa) this is the first time I have had an issue with your product.

It is my wish that this issue can be resolved to me satisfaction. I can be contacted at [protected].

james r. pakowski

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Ja
      13th of Nov, 2008
    0 Votes

    JAMES PAKOWSKI
    415 GRAPE VINE TRAIL
    OSWEGO, IL 60543
    630-636-6528
    EMAIL: JPAKOWSKI@COMCAST.NET


    DATE 11/13/2008


    RE: CUSTOMER COMPLAINT

    TO WHOM IT MAY CONCERN:

    TODAY, NOVEMBER 13, 2008, I HAD A CRACKED VALVE STEM REPLACED ON MY 2007 VERSA AT GERALD NISSAN SUBARU NORTH AURORA IN ILLINOIS. MY COMPLAINT IS THAT THIS VALVE STEM WAS NOT COVERED UNDER MY EXTENDED WARRANTY. ACCORDING TO GERALD NISSAN, IT WAS NOT A MANUFACTURER DEFECT.

    THIS PROBLEM BEGAN, WHEN THE WARNING LIGHT CAME ON TELLING ME TO CHECK THE TIRE PRESSURE. WHILE LOOSENING THE CAP, THE STEM CRACKED.

    I FIRST TOOK MY CAR TO AL PIEMONTE IN MELROSE PARK. THEY LOOKED AT IT, FOUND THE PROBLEM AND RESET THE LIGHT. TODAY, I WENT TO GERALD NISSAN IN NORTH AURORA TO HAVE THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT REPAIR THE VALVE STEM. THESE TWO DEALERS ARE THE ONLY ONES WHO WORKED ON THE WARNING LIGHT AND VALVE STEM. WHEN I WENT IN TODAY, I WAS INFORMED BY THE SERVICE MANAGER AT GERALD NISSAN THAT THE METAL CAPS SHOULD NOT BE USED ON THE ALUMINUM STEMS AND THAT THEY WERE NOT SUITED FOR THE VALVE STEMS CURRENTLY ON MY CAR. THE CAR WAS PURCHASED FROM THE DEALER WITH THESES METAL CAPS. I DO NOT UNDERSTAND WHY METAL CAPS WERE USED IN THE FIRST PLACE. THE MECHANIC MADE THE REPAIR AND THEN CHANGED ALL THE CAPS TO PLASTIC.

    THE METAL CAPS CAUSED THE STEM TO CRACK AND NISSAN ORIGINALLY SUPPLIED THEM BEFORE I EVEN PURCHASED MY VERSA. IT IS A MANUFACTURER DEFECT!!! NISSAN USED MENTAL CAPS ON ALUMINUM STEMS WHICH ARE NOT COMPATIBLE METALS. I SHOULD NOT HAVE HAD TO PAY $200 WHEN THE ALUMINIUM STEM CRACKED BECAUSE THE ORIGINAL CAPS I WAS GIVEN WERE METAL.

    I FEEL VERY STRONGLY THAT THIS IS NISSAN’S FAULT. IF THIS ISSUE IS NOT RESOLVED AND I DO NOT GET REIMBURSED, I WILL TAKE THIS MATTER FURTHER AND CONTACT THE CONSUMER AFFAIRS DEPARTMENT.

    I HAVE BEEN A NISSAN OWNER FOR 15 YEARS. (2 ALTIMAS AND 1 VERSA) THIS IS THE FIRST TIME I HAVE HAD AN ISSUE WITH YOUR PRODUCT.

    IT IS MY WISH THAT THIS ISSUE CAN BE RESOLVED TO ME SATISFACTION. I CAN BE CONTACTED AT 630-636-6528.

    JAMES R.PAKOWSKI

  • Be
      14th of Nov, 2008
    0 Votes

    I am currently dealing with this exact same issue. I tried to remove my tires' valve caps and they would not budge. I made the bad decision to use a wrench to remove the cap on one of the tires and the valve step broke in half with part of it still threaded into the cap. I had to get the sensored valve stem replaced and $90 later I now have to deal with the other tires. I talked to the dealership and they are aware of this metal cap/metal stem incompatibility, so I am hoping that they will fix the other tires without charge and reimburse the $90 I spent on the 1 broken valve. The valve caps and broken stems should definitly be something that the dealerships replaces free of charge.

  • Na
      3rd of May, 2010
    0 Votes
    Nissan Versa - Did not return my 2000 dollar deposit
    Diamond Hills Auto
    United States

    I purshed a Nissan versa with a 2000 dollar deposit.a few days later I found the car was in an accident. The dealer said they would exchange the car for the same price with a Chevy Aveo. I asked for my deposit back and they said no. I ask if they would put the 2000 deposit towrds the Chevy and they said no with no excuse. I have all the paper work and may take them to civil court.

  • Eh
      4th of Mar, 2011
    0 Votes

    I just bought a 2008 Nissan Versa from Carmax on Feb 5th. The car now spent more time with Carmax mechanics and both Southpoint (S. Austin), and Round Rock Nissan than with me. Since Feb 9th... the engine light came on. In the report it stated that the car passed state inspection on Jan 26, 2011, at 18, 027 miles. How could the engine light come back on, two weeks later. Carmax gives you five days to return the car! Even though the light came on, on Feb 9th and I was scheduled to bring the car in on the 10th... they pulled a code and said "codp0456 evap leak detected. System is not holding pressure. They replaced vent control and installed filter kit. Engine light came back on, On Feb 20th. The car was at Soutpoint Nissan and Carmax from Feb 11-18. Two days later, I had to take it back to Carmax and then to Round Rock Nissan. In addition to the engine light, the car door handle piece came off. I complained that sometimes it takes few times to turn the car on. Their response? "No correction needed. Battery rated at 475. Battery is ok, testing at 680 carnking amps. Passes standards. Alternator testing at 14.4 volt under load. Passes standards. On Feb 24, 2011, Round Rock replaced Vent control valve and evap canister. Retested. (Wait a minute, I thought Sout Point replaced the valve and filter kit! That's what the paper work stated for Feb 11-17!!! So now, I am confused. Jan 26, 2011 report showed the Evap "Not Ready" status in the Texas Vehicle Inspection Report!!! To The car is back at Round Rock Nissan.. the blue light came on and I didn't know what that was! Turns out it's the temperature light. It comes on and off! I still have troubles sometimes starting the car and the Nissan in Round Rock stated, "No problem found. Some Nissans typically have longer cranking periods than other makes. Tested battery and alternator and both meet standards. Break light is off... waited at Carmax for an hour and a half to have it fixed. I will not have my car now til Monday, March 7th. I've been driving their Loaner Cars since Feb 11-18, Feb 22-25th. My first payment is due for Capital One (they are the one financing all the drama, on March 22nd. After reading your post about "The Valve caps", I don't think my 2008 will make it! I am falling apart as quickly as my car. Carmax was awared of the engine light on the 9th of Feb (the 4th day)... On the 6th day, they told me it's the evap leak. Carmax rep refused to let me out of the contract. I am still liable to pay Capital 1. I don't know what to do!!!

  • Mi
      18th of Nov, 2011
    0 Votes
    Nissan Versa - service department
    Reed Nissan
    Orlando
    Florida
    United States

    I went in for a oil change(I have the warranty for free oil change/tire rotation) and tire rotation. After waiting for the service to be done, the service tech came in showed me that they had performed the oil change, added window washer fluid and a couple of other fluids. He stated that they didn't rotate the tires because it was done last time and I needed new wipers. I explained that they did not rotate the tires last time because they told me I needed new ones, and that I had gotten them replaced. As for the wipers I questioned that because the same dealership had replaced my wipers about 4 months ago. He then had the tires rotated and came back to say that the wipers were fine, just had dirt on them. Oh did I mention that I am an older women who must look stupid but am not. Totally disgusted with the whole episode.

Post your comment