The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

Nashbar / Credit card fraud

1 OH, United States Review updated:

I recently ordered a bike from Nashbar and about 3 weeks later, someone charges thousands of dollars to my credit card fraudulently. I was rang up for almost $4, 000. One item (an ID printer) was delivered to Canton Ohio which made me suspiscious it was Nashbar because their warehouse is located there. I told my friend at work about the bike I bought and she bought one, only to have her credit card number stolen!

I called the call center and they told me to email them instead of calling.

Mi

More Nashbar Complaints & Reviews

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

Bh
  15th of Apr, 2009
+1 Votes

Not surprising due to the fact that Nashbar allows third parties onto a secure web page and further allows this party access to customer card information.Luckily we are not responsible for the payment of these charges, however, this type of fraudulent activity harms all consumers and bike nashbar seems to think that it's OK.
I work hard for my money and bike nashbar seems to think that I am a big joke and maybe you to! I will never purchase from them ever again and I suggest you and your bank consider cancelling the affected card.

Tr
  6th of May, 2009
+1 Votes

I placed two orders from Nashbar using two different credit cards, and both had fraudulent charges posted to them within weeks of each other. One of the cards was ONLY used at Nashbar. I will certainly NOT purchase from them again...it was a hassle to go through the credit card company twice to dispute the charges and to have two new cards reissued! There is no question that Bike Nashbar is releasing credit card information in a fraudulent way. Stay away from Performance Bicycle, too...they're part of the same company!

Cl
  20th of May, 2009
+1 Votes

I haven't ordered from Nashbar in over a year but today I got an email from reb-mill.com indicating that I signed up for the following items: Google Money Profit Software CD, Google Money Profit Membership Page, Grant Membership Page, and Network Agenda Membership Page. My personal information and last 4 digits of my credit card were shown in the email. The email was addressed to the unique email address that I registered when making my Bike Nashbar purchase and this email address is used for no other purpose. See attached picture of the body of the email that I received, edited only to obscure my personal information.

To
  2nd of Jun, 2009
+1 Votes

Same issues as many with Nashbar. Ordered some parts in June 2008 and now is May 2009 received charges from reb-mill, Profit GGL, and WWW FEDGRANTUSA COM. Contacted my credit card company and all charges removed.

Ry
  4th of Jun, 2009
0 Votes

I came home today and found my debit account wiped out. Same 3 charges had appeared over the past 4-6 weeks (reb-mill, Profit GGL and FEDGRANTUSA).

I contact Nashbar asking for all information about me to be wiped from all places they may have something about me stored. I also filed a BBB complaint to ask them to do the same thing.

I also created a fraud alert, and notified all my accounts of this incident.

I would encourage others on this thread to demand the same thing from Nashbar. I hope that they understand their apparent tie to this should not be taken lightly, even though they are not directly liable for the fraudulent charges.

Cl
  4th of Jun, 2009
0 Votes

This is a follow-up to my previous post. Three days after my posting, a small charge appeared on my credit card related to the email I referred to previously. I immediately called the 800 number that appeared on the credit card line item. It was a call center outsourced by reb-mill, the vendor who made the charge, and I spoke with a rep and a manager there. I told them that my credit card information was used without my approval to make the purchase of a "Google Money Profit CD" (which, BTW, I never saw in the mail). I was never able to get past the call center staff to get more information on the web site that I'd allegedly made the purchase from. I called my credit card company and had them issue me a new card and they're sending paperwork so I can document the information about the fraudulent activity. As I stated before, I used a unique email address when ordering from Bike Nashbar and this email address was the one used to confirm this bogus purchase so I know where my personal and credit card information originated. The email address I used is in the format: nashbar.com@mydomain.com (I get all emails sent to addresses in "mydomain.com"). Interestingly enough, the credit appeared back in my account the next day. Another interesting thing is that when I was discussing the incident with the call center rep, he asked me several times what my "real" email address is. I only repeated the email address associated with this transaction and since that time I've been flooded with spam being sent to that email address.

Ba
  6th of Jun, 2009
0 Votes

Two of my credit cards were stolen and it was Nasbar's fault. I'll gladly pay double for bike parts somewhere else. In fact, from now on I only do business with vendors who offer paypal. Otherwise my LBS gets my business.

Ke
  6th of Jun, 2009
0 Votes

Hello, I placed one order to Nashbar about 3 years ago. Within the past two weeks have received one charge each from reb-mill: $2.29, Profit GGL: $39.95, and FEDGRANTUSA $7.95

I just noticed the charges today. I will be contacting Bank Of America to hopefully get these charges reversed. You would think the credit card companies would know about this fradulent activity, but they probably don't care. Hopefully they will at least reverse my charges. I will also cancel my card.

Bi
  9th of Jun, 2009
0 Votes

Same as the others. Glad I found this thread. I got hit with the first three but it looks like I nipped mine in the butt early because I didn't get hit by networkagendacom before cancelling. Called Nashbar and spoke to a very nice woman who claimed no clue and forwarded my info onto their accounting department. I'm not expecting much back from this.

Ra
  11th of Jun, 2009
0 Votes

I have all the charges as described by other people, and maybe some additional ones:

- REB-MILL 800-6853011 $2.29 5/15/2009
- PROFITGGL8882164952 $39.95 5/28/2009
- WWW FEDGRANTUSA COM $7.95 5/29/2009
- NETWORKAGENDACOM 80041893 $9.95 6/10/2009

It has been a long time since I ordered from Bike Nashbar, probably over a year ago.

I just filed a complaint with BOA, hopefully they will start to recognize these charges as they happen in the future.

Jo
  12th of Jun, 2009
0 Votes

Funny I was reading this and also got hit with the charges like others:

REB-MILL 800-6853011 $2.29
- PROFITGGL8882164952 $39.95
- WWW FEDGRANTUSA COM $7.95
- NETWORKAGENDACOM 80041893 $9.95

Time to file a lawsuit?

Mi
  15th of Jun, 2009
0 Votes

I've done business with Nashbar off and on for the last 3 years and the last was in January of this year ('09). My bank called this evening to notify me of some charges that had been declined and others that had gone through totaling over $300. It is a card that I rarely use and if it had not been for the rep at US Bank calling it may have gone on even longer before I noticed these charges.

06/10/09 Networkagendacom 00 Of 877-6738173 Nv $9.95
06/09/09 Apl*mobileme Www.me.com Ca $99.00
06/08/09 Voice Plus Communicati 678-3181300 Ga $4.82
06/01/09 Www Fedgrantusa Com 877-4951173 Ut $7.95
05/28/09 Profitggl8882164952 888-2164952 Ut $39.95
05/26/09 Lego Shop At Home 800-835-4386 Ct $124.06
05/26/09 Voicenation, Llc 678-318-1300 Ga $29.95
05/18/09 Reb-mill 800-6853011 800-6853011 Ut $2.29

My bank has issued new cards and is conducting an investigation these charges and will refund all that is fraudulent. I have also filed a complaint with the BBB and I urge others to do the same.

Ki
  15th of Jun, 2009
0 Votes

Hello, this is from Kimberly from Nashbar.

I'm sorry that many of you have had these unwanted charges. I am the customer service representative. We fully support these charges, however, and will do nothing to get your money back. Just to make you feel like you are doing something, however, please forward your full name and billing address and we will have your information researched.

Regards,

Kimberly

Customer Service

Cl
  15th of Jun, 2009
0 Votes

Dear "Kimberly from Nashbar":

Anyone in a Customer Service role, representing an organization to it's customers, should not be as callous as the tone of your posting indicates which leads me to believe that you probably are not affiliated with Bike Nashbar. But, just in case you are, here is how this is currently playing out:

Myself, and apparently others, have notified credit card providers and filed formal complaints of fraud. Background information has been documented about purchases that were not approved. In my case, there is information related only to my purchase transactions with Bike Nashbar that is uniquely linked to the unauthorized charge on my credit card account. My very large credit card provider, along with their team of lawyers and possibly IC3 in concert with the FBI, are investigating this claim and will subpoena vendors for information about these purchases. The vendor(s) will be compelled to provide information about the acquisition of personal and private information. Not willing to face the full consequence of multiple identity theft/fraud charges, they will disclose the mechanism by which they obtained their database of credit card and other personal information. Eventually this will lead to the source of this problem. If, in fact, this is a result of Nashbar's business practices and Nashbar was negligent in making this information available, I guarantee there will be substantial litigation including a class-action lawsuit. Since you are so concerned about me feeling like I am doing something, I can assure you that I am.

Jo
  16th of Jun, 2009
0 Votes

Clay D,

That post from "Kimberly" is probably a fake but there is a Kimberly or Kim at Nashbar Customer Service. I've been emailing her back and forth and getting nowhere. She said to forward my name and address and she would "research it."

Check out these links to other sites. Kim is mentioned in some. There is definitely something going on at Nashbar. This is getting interesting:


http://www.bikeforums.net/showthread.php?t=525441&highlight=platform+pedals

http://www.bikeforums.net/archive/index.php/t-537877.html

I was LOLing at this email comment from the second link after reading this board:

"Dear Mr. M,
We are unaware of any security breaches. If you would like to have your information researched, please forward the credit card # you are referring to.

Regards,
Kim
Customer Service
It makes me mad that they would tell me there is no security problem when ther clearly is!!

Golden!"

Ke
  17th of Jun, 2009
0 Votes

Nashbar customer here, got hit with: $2.29, Profit GGL: $39.95, and FEDGRANTUSA $7.95 all within last 2 weeks. Had to cancel card and dispute charges. Highly advise to NOT do business with Nashbar online.

Bb
  18th of Jun, 2009
0 Votes

I'm also a nashbar customer and got the same charges as above. My credit card company cleared them. I filed a complaint with the BBB (who has them with an A+ rating even with all of these complaints!) and got this response from their Nashbar rep (with no name):

"We appreciate the information Ms. ____ has provided. An investigation is under way to verify the security of our website. When this has been completed I will be glad to provide both Ms. ____ and the BBB with the findings. I should have additional information within the next few weeks."

I'm obviously not holding my breath, but if I hear anything I will post it here.

Ja
  19th of Jun, 2009
0 Votes

Had the same problem here. Nashbar customer on occasion (last charge was probably 8 mos. ago). Had the FEDGRANT for $7.95 and PROFITGGL for $2.29. Canceled card and filed dispute with bank. I informed Nashbar I will never do business with them again!

Dw
  20th of Jun, 2009
0 Votes

I had the same problems with fraudulent charges. I've purchased things from Nashbar over the past two years, without problems, until now.

I have the following showing up:
REB-MILL 800-6853011 800-6853011 UT
PROFITGGL8882164952 888-2164952 UT
WWW FEDGRANTUSA COM 877-4951173 UT
NETWORKAGENDACOM 00 OF 877-6738173 NV

There's definitely something strange going on, and I'm not buying anything else until it's resolved (if it ever will be).

Dw
  20th of Jun, 2009
0 Votes

I just spoke with someone from Nashbar, and they said they are preparing to send out letters to customers that have been compromised, and they are aware of the problems.

I also notified them of "Kimberly" and her post and they said they would look into that as well. It seems either this Kimberly person is a fraud, or she didn't have permission to post something like that.

I didn't want to use Nashbar again, but it's reassuring that they know what is going on and it looks like they're working with the right people to resolve it.

Post your comment