SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Nashbar / Credit card fraud

1 OH, United States Review updated:

I recently ordered a bike from Nashbar and about 3 weeks later, someone charges thousands of dollars to my credit card fraudulently. I was rang up for almost $4, 000. One item (an ID printer) was delivered to Canton Ohio which made me suspiscious it was Nashbar because their warehouse is located there. I told my friend at work about the bike I bought and she bought one, only to have her credit card number stolen!

I called the call center and they told me to email them instead of calling.

Mi

More Nashbar Complaints & Reviews

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Bh
      Apr 15, 2009

    Not surprising due to the fact that Nashbar allows third parties onto a secure web page and further allows this party access to customer card information.Luckily we are not responsible for the payment of these charges, however, this type of fraudulent activity harms all consumers and bike nashbar seems to think that it's OK.
    I work hard for my money and bike nashbar seems to think that I am a big joke and maybe you to! I will never purchase from them ever again and I suggest you and your bank consider cancelling the affected card.

    +1 Votes
  • Tr
      May 06, 2009

    I placed two orders from Nashbar using two different credit cards, and both had fraudulent charges posted to them within weeks of each other. One of the cards was ONLY used at Nashbar. I will certainly NOT purchase from them again...it was a hassle to go through the credit card company twice to dispute the charges and to have two new cards reissued! There is no question that Bike Nashbar is releasing credit card information in a fraudulent way. Stay away from Performance Bicycle, too...they're part of the same company!

    +1 Votes
  • Cl
      May 20, 2009

    I haven't ordered from Nashbar in over a year but today I got an email from reb-mill.com indicating that I signed up for the following items: Google Money Profit Software CD, Google Money Profit Membership Page, Grant Membership Page, and Network Agenda Membership Page. My personal information and last 4 digits of my credit card were shown in the email. The email was addressed to the unique email address that I registered when making my Bike Nashbar purchase and this email address is used for no other purpose. See attached picture of the body of the email that I received, edited only to obscure my personal information.

    +1 Votes
  • To
      Jun 02, 2009

    Same issues as many with Nashbar. Ordered some parts in June 2008 and now is May 2009 received charges from reb-mill, Profit GGL, and WWW FEDGRANTUSA COM. Contacted my credit card company and all charges removed.

    +1 Votes
  • Ry
      Jun 04, 2009

    I came home today and found my debit account wiped out. Same 3 charges had appeared over the past 4-6 weeks (reb-mill, Profit GGL and FEDGRANTUSA).

    I contact Nashbar asking for all information about me to be wiped from all places they may have something about me stored. I also filed a BBB complaint to ask them to do the same thing.

    I also created a fraud alert, and notified all my accounts of this incident.

    I would encourage others on this thread to demand the same thing from Nashbar. I hope that they understand their apparent tie to this should not be taken lightly, even though they are not directly liable for the fraudulent charges.

    0 Votes
  • Cl
      Jun 04, 2009

    This is a follow-up to my previous post. Three days after my posting, a small charge appeared on my credit card related to the email I referred to previously. I immediately called the 800 number that appeared on the credit card line item. It was a call center outsourced by reb-mill, the vendor who made the charge, and I spoke with a rep and a manager there. I told them that my credit card information was used without my approval to make the purchase of a "Google Money Profit CD" (which, BTW, I never saw in the mail). I was never able to get past the call center staff to get more information on the web site that I'd allegedly made the purchase from. I called my credit card company and had them issue me a new card and they're sending paperwork so I can document the information about the fraudulent activity. As I stated before, I used a unique email address when ordering from Bike Nashbar and this email address was the one used to confirm this bogus purchase so I know where my personal and credit card information originated. The email address I used is in the format: nashbar.[protected]@mydomain.com (I get all emails sent to addresses in "mydomain.com"). Interestingly enough, the credit appeared back in my account the next day. Another interesting thing is that when I was discussing the incident with the call center rep, he asked me several times what my "real" email address is. I only repeated the email address associated with this transaction and since that time I've been flooded with spam being sent to that email address.

    0 Votes
  • Ba
      Jun 06, 2009

    Two of my credit cards were stolen and it was Nasbar's fault. I'll gladly pay double for bike parts somewhere else. In fact, from now on I only do business with vendors who offer paypal. Otherwise my LBS gets my business.

    0 Votes
  • Ke
      Jun 06, 2009

    Hello, I placed one order to Nashbar about 3 years ago. Within the past two weeks have received one charge each from reb-mill: $2.29, Profit GGL: $39.95, and FEDGRANTUSA $7.95

    I just noticed the charges today. I will be contacting Bank Of America to hopefully get these charges reversed. You would think the credit card companies would know about this fradulent activity, but they probably don't care. Hopefully they will at least reverse my charges. I will also cancel my card.

    0 Votes
  • Bi
      Jun 09, 2009

    Same as the others. Glad I found this thread. I got hit with the first three but it looks like I nipped mine in the butt early because I didn't get hit by networkagendacom before cancelling. Called Nashbar and spoke to a very nice woman who claimed no clue and forwarded my info onto their accounting department. I'm not expecting much back from this.

    0 Votes
  • Ra
      Jun 11, 2009

    I have all the charges as described by other people, and maybe some additional ones:

    - REB-MILL 800-6853011 $2.29 5/15/2009
    - PROFITGGL8882164952 $39.95 5/28/2009
    - WWW FEDGRANTUSA COM $7.95 5/29/2009
    - NETWORKAGENDACOM 80041893 $9.95 6/10/2009

    It has been a long time since I ordered from Bike Nashbar, probably over a year ago.

    I just filed a complaint with BOA, hopefully they will start to recognize these charges as they happen in the future.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
      Jun 12, 2009

    Funny I was reading this and also got hit with the charges like others:

    REB-MILL 800-6853011 $2.29
    - PROFITGGL8882164952 $39.95
    - WWW FEDGRANTUSA COM $7.95
    - NETWORKAGENDACOM 80041893 $9.95

    Time to file a lawsuit?

    0 Votes
  • Mi
      Jun 15, 2009

    I've done business with Nashbar off and on for the last 3 years and the last was in January of this year ('09). My bank called this evening to notify me of some charges that had been declined and others that had gone through totaling over $300. It is a card that I rarely use and if it had not been for the rep at US Bank calling it may have gone on even longer before I noticed these charges.

    06/10/09 Networkagendacom 00 Of 877-6738173 Nv $9.95
    06/09/09 Apl*mobileme Www.me.com Ca $99.00
    06/08/09 Voice Plus Communicati 678-3181300 Ga $4.82
    06/01/09 Www Fedgrantusa Com 877-4951173 Ut $7.95
    05/28/09 Profitggl8882164952 888-2164952 Ut $39.95
    05/26/09 Lego Shop At Home 800-835-4386 Ct $124.06
    05/26/09 Voicenation, Llc 678-318-1300 Ga $29.95
    05/18/09 Reb-mill 800-6853011 800-6853011 Ut $2.29

    My bank has issued new cards and is conducting an investigation these charges and will refund all that is fraudulent. I have also filed a complaint with the BBB and I urge others to do the same.

    0 Votes
  • Ki
      Jun 15, 2009

    Hello, this is from Kimberly from Nashbar.

    I'm sorry that many of you have had these unwanted charges. I am the customer service representative. We fully support these charges, however, and will do nothing to get your money back. Just to make you feel like you are doing something, however, please forward your full name and billing address and we will have your information researched.

    Regards,

    Kimberly

    Customer Service

    0 Votes
  • Cl
      Jun 15, 2009

    Dear "Kimberly from Nashbar":

    Anyone in a Customer Service role, representing an organization to it's customers, should not be as callous as the tone of your posting indicates which leads me to believe that you probably are not affiliated with Bike Nashbar. But, just in case you are, here is how this is currently playing out:

    Myself, and apparently others, have notified credit card providers and filed formal complaints of fraud. Background information has been documented about purchases that were not approved. In my case, there is information related only to my purchase transactions with Bike Nashbar that is uniquely linked to the unauthorized charge on my credit card account. My very large credit card provider, along with their team of lawyers and possibly IC3 in concert with the FBI, are investigating this claim and will subpoena vendors for information about these purchases. The vendor(s) will be compelled to provide information about the acquisition of personal and private information. Not willing to face the full consequence of multiple identity theft/fraud charges, they will disclose the mechanism by which they obtained their database of credit card and other personal information. Eventually this will lead to the source of this problem. If, in fact, this is a result of Nashbar's business practices and Nashbar was negligent in making this information available, I guarantee there will be substantial litigation including a class-action lawsuit. Since you are so concerned about me feeling like I am doing something, I can assure you that I am.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
      Jun 16, 2009

    Clay D,

    That post from "Kimberly" is probably a fake but there is a Kimberly or Kim at Nashbar Customer Service. I've been emailing her back and forth and getting nowhere. She said to forward my name and address and she would "research it."

    Check out these links to other sites. Kim is mentioned in some. There is definitely something going on at Nashbar. This is getting interesting:


    http://www.bikeforums.net/showthread.php?t=525441&highlight=platform+pedals

    http://www.bikeforums.net/archive/index.php/t-537877.html

    I was LOLing at this email comment from the second link after reading this board:

    "Dear Mr. M,
    We are unaware of any security breaches. If you would like to have your information researched, please forward the credit card # you are referring to.

    Regards,
    Kim
    Customer Service
    It makes me mad that they would tell me there is no security problem when ther clearly is!!

    Golden!"

    0 Votes
  • Ke
      Jun 17, 2009

    Nashbar customer here, got hit with: $2.29, Profit GGL: $39.95, and FEDGRANTUSA $7.95 all within last 2 weeks. Had to cancel card and dispute charges. Highly advise to NOT do business with Nashbar online.

    0 Votes
  • Bb
      Jun 18, 2009

    I'm also a nashbar customer and got the same charges as above. My credit card company cleared them. I filed a complaint with the BBB (who has them with an A+ rating even with all of these complaints!) and got this response from their Nashbar rep (with no name):

    "We appreciate the information Ms. ____ has provided. An investigation is under way to verify the security of our website. When this has been completed I will be glad to provide both Ms. ____ and the BBB with the findings. I should have additional information within the next few weeks."

    I'm obviously not holding my breath, but if I hear anything I will post it here.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
      Jun 19, 2009

    Had the same problem here. Nashbar customer on occasion (last charge was probably 8 mos. ago). Had the FEDGRANT for $7.95 and PROFITGGL for $2.29. Canceled card and filed dispute with bank. I informed Nashbar I will never do business with them again!

    0 Votes
  • Dw
      Jun 20, 2009

    I had the same problems with fraudulent charges. I've purchased things from Nashbar over the past two years, without problems, until now.

    I have the following showing up:
    REB-MILL 800-6853011 800-6853011 UT
    PROFITGGL8882164952 888-2164952 UT
    WWW FEDGRANTUSA COM 877-4951173 UT
    NETWORKAGENDACOM 00 OF 877-6738173 NV

    There's definitely something strange going on, and I'm not buying anything else until it's resolved (if it ever will be).

    0 Votes
  • Dw
      Jun 20, 2009

    I just spoke with someone from Nashbar, and they said they are preparing to send out letters to customers that have been compromised, and they are aware of the problems.

    I also notified them of "Kimberly" and her post and they said they would look into that as well. It seems either this Kimberly person is a fraud, or she didn't have permission to post something like that.

    I didn't want to use Nashbar again, but it's reassuring that they know what is going on and it looks like they're working with the right people to resolve it.

    0 Votes
  • Hm
      Jun 20, 2009

    nashbar customer, I got into a fight with the FEDGRANTUSA guy (he ended up hanging up on me) I also called nashbar and told them that the few thousand (thats right, thousand) dollars that I had and would spend with them was gone. The nice lady said that they were aware of the problem, that a hacker had gotten into their system, and that letters were being sent out to customers. A little late, don't you think?

    Also, I called my bank, as this was attached to a debit card, had to cancel the card and get a new one. I was told that this was the only way to not get charged anymore. I'm wary of being sent to collections down the road for fraudulent charges that were reversed due to an inactive card. I'm contacting my state attorney general's office and filing a formal complaint and would encourage you all to do the same.

    0 Votes
  • Fu
      Jun 21, 2009

    Same thing happened to me - I know because I assign a new email address for each product I purchase online. Suddenly I received a confirmation (At that email address) for a product I never purchased (Norton Security software, oddly enough). I called on the exact same day. Norton was kind enough to reverse the charges immediately. I told several of my friend the story (most of my friends are cyclists), and FIVE OUT OF FIVE of my friends reported having the CC number stolen around mid-May. While they are not certain where the leak came from, all five of them had ordered from Nashbar at one point. One of my friends was pretty certain because the CC number he had stolen was a card that he only uses for bike parts (to hide it from his wife).

    0 Votes
  • Bi
      Jun 21, 2009

    I received the same 4 charges as others.

    REB-MILL 800-6853011 $2.29
    - PROFITGGL8882164952 $39.95
    - WWW FEDGRANTUSA COM $7.95
    - NETWORKAGENDACOM 80041893 $9.95

    Thanks for all the advice above. I canceled my credit card and filed a fraud dispute.

    I also wrote to nashbar ([protected]@nashbar.com) and let them know that after 20 years I will never purchase from them again. They should be more careful about how they treat the credit card info and more proactive in how they rectify this whole issue. You all should tell nashbar that you will no longer be a customer and post to the bike forums as well.

    0 Votes
  • Jx
      Jun 28, 2009

    Wow! I found fraudulent charges on my bank card last night after getting a fishy e-mail. I've been racking my brains how they got my info, because I've never heard of any of these companies.

    Googling it today, I ran across this thread. Nashbar! Haven't bought anything from them in a year, but sure enough, it was with the card that has been compromised.

    I've got charges going back 2 months -- the same REB-MILL $2.29 (x2), PROFITGGL $39.95 (x2), FEDGRANTUSA $7.95 (x3), NETWORKAGENDA $9.95 (x2), plus a couple others:

    * INTERNET COACH 888-528-0305 UT -- $3.88
    * CASH 888-383-2370 AKRON OH -- $49.99

    That last one was the one I found in my e-mail, with the transaction processed by "Secure Pay Center" for something called "UCS Work At Home". I also got a "welcome" e-mail for an e-book from Grantsourcesolutions.com.

    At least it seems I've figured out how my info got out there. I've canceled the card and am making a claim for fraudulent charges with Chase Bank.

    Thanks, all, for helping clear this up!

    0 Votes
  • Ki
      Jun 28, 2009

    Hello,

    This is an update on the topic from Nashbar Customer Service. Apparently when you all ordered from us you clicked on the tab where you agree to have 3rd party offers sent to you. These are trial offers and you were responsible for cancelling the charges/offer if you did not want to continue to receive the offer. The companies listed above are partners with Nashbar and we feel that they bring substantial value to our customers. Please be advised that Nashbar works to bring quality value and will continue to bring 3rd party offers to the people that order on our website. If you have questions, our contact information is below, but we are not changing this policy. Please ask for me if you call as I am handling the credit card disputes.

    Questions or Comments?
    [protected]@nashbar.com
    1-877-688-8600

    Regards,

    Kim

    0 Votes
  • Jx
      Jun 29, 2009

    An update:

    Just talked to "Bobby" at Nashbar. She said Nashbar is aware of this problem, and she took down info on all the fraudulent charges on my account, saying she would pass them on to her supervisor, who is investigating the situation.

    She also said that customers would be receiving letters from Nashbar. I told her about the message above purportedly from "Kim" at Nashbar about third-party offers, and she said that nobody from Nashbar had posted anything in any forum like that.

    0 Votes
  • Rv
      Jun 30, 2009

    I, too, found the same fraudulent charges in the last two months as those listed by "BikerJ". I was successful in contacting the mysterious organization who answered the phone numbers listed with the charges and was able to get them to credit my account.

    In the end, two unfortunate things have happened: I have canceled my credit card and am getting a new one, and I have lost all confidence in Nashbar's ability to keep secure the information entrusted to them. Bottom line is that I will not be ordering from them again and I am strongly encouraging my 200+ network of biking friends to look elsewhere for components, as well, based on this experience.

    0 Votes
  • Bi
      Jul 01, 2009

    http://www.databreaches.net/?p=5928

    Update to previous post - I contacted the above site and reported the breach, and he responded today informing me of the Citizen-Times article. I await the mail response, but still haven't heard anything from nashbar myself, despite logging complaints with "accounting".

    I hope they understand the impact this will have.

    0 Votes
  • Ra
      Jul 02, 2009

    This Nashbar fraud fiasco is just screaming CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT. Nashbar knew about the breach in February and perhaps even earlier. Spread the word - your friends will thank you. Bye bye Nashbar!

    0 Votes
  • An
      Jul 02, 2009

    I too have been hit with these charges. I very rarely check any boxes that allow vendors to pass my information over to third parties and would definitely not do so if I knew it would lead to my being charged for something I didn't want or ask for.

    I received my "letter" from Nashbar today where they seem to be blaming these fraudulent charges on a security breach. This is criminal as it appears they were fully complicit in allowing this third party access to my credit card information.

    I have alerted my credit card company and emailed Nashbar support to have my account removed from their database. Fortunately it looks like the fees will be returned to my account but I am still canceling my card.

    A

    0 Votes
  • Up
      Jul 02, 2009

    We also got charged from 3 of these people thanks to Nashbar. fedgrantusa is on the Better Business Bureau's list. Please take the time to go to the BBB website and file complaints. These complaints will be taken more seriously if the BBB have reports of them. The BBB does not have any info on gglprofit.com.

    0 Votes
  • Jx
      Jul 04, 2009

    UPDATE: After several calls to a number I found on another thread about these companies -- 1-800-479-0979 -- I got all of the REB-MILL, FEDGRANT, GGLPROFITS and NETWORKAGENDA charges reversed.

    NOTE: The number above goes to a call center in the Philippines. Since I didn't have a customer number, I had to (reluctantly) give a bunch of ID info -- address, etc. The girl on the phone kept pitching the product to me, but I finally got through to a supervisor (in Utah).

    IMPORTANT: When I first called, the supervisor I talked to could only see half of the charges on my account. But then I gave my full 16-digit bank card number (which was now safely canceled, of course), she found another account, with a different name. So then they reversed those charges too.

    So make the calls, stick to your guns, and get your money back.

    As for Nashbar, I haven't seen any "letter" yet. But I have warned others on local bike forums about the problem.

    0 Votes
  • Ha
      Jul 09, 2009

    same thing for me as well as everyone else who's commented on this story: http://insidetheoutsideblog.blogspot.com/2009/06/nashbar-shoppers-beware.html

    strange packages showing up, phone calls, emails hacked. not good for nashbar.

    0 Votes
  • An
      Jul 09, 2009

    I also got the four main charges listed, and also had bought something with nashbar

    ...but was also signed up for netflix.

    This article here explains some of the random charges, I think:
    http://www.databreaches.net/?p=5928

    0 Votes
  • Ki
      Jul 09, 2009

    To our customers,

    Let me show you my cup of care... c[_]

    see...it is empty.

    QQ Moar.

    We're LOLLLLing at all of you.

    Questions or Comments?
    [protected]@nashbar.com
    1-877-688-8600

    Regards,

    Kim

    0 Votes
  • Mi
      Jul 10, 2009

    im not even a nash bar customer, never heard of them. and i got the first three charges, the first two are small so i didnt even notice. but the third for 40 i didnt expect and it put my visa over my limit which is when i noticed. something must be done about these ppl, has anyone made progress with getting your money back?

    0 Votes
  • Bi
      Jul 17, 2009

    Well I have never bought anything from Nashbar, but ever since we signed up for that Google Profit junk we have received these 2 unauthorized transactions:
    07/14 NETWORKA ENDACOM 877-6738173 NV 9.95
    07/07 WWW FEDGRANTUSA COM 877-4951173 UT 7.95

    0 Votes
  • Bi
      Jul 22, 2009

    A Call to Nashbar results in responses of "Sorry" and that's about it.
    I asked for them to make my credit report availabile to me whenever I want it, not just the once a year credit report that NASHBAR has nothing to do with.
    THEY REFUSED. THIS IS THEIR BREACH NOT MINE. NASHBAR MUST AT LEAST PAY FOR ACCESS TO CHECK MY CREDIT REPORT AT THEIR EXPENSE. I need to monitor this report because of their error!
    After they let my credit information out, they are not accepting responsibility. I have had two credit cards compromised because of their inability to secure my information and they say that they are not responsible.
    Please tell Everyone you know about this breach. ADVISE no one to do business with NASHBAR as they are NOT RESPONSIBLE MERCHANTS. YOUR CREDIT CARD INFO. WILL BE COMPROMISED by companies like NASHBAR because they don't care or take responsibility.
    Can you tell that I'm really, really, upset?
    JG BILLESBACH

    0 Votes
  • Th
      Jul 28, 2009

    I haven't done business with Nashbar for two years. Starting in June, I've had four unauthorized charges (from companies that I never heard of) on a lightly used card. They are:

    gglprofit
    fedgrantusa
    networkaenda
    easysearch4cash

    I emailed the credit card today.

    Is it a coincident that I have used Nashbar and now have fraudulent charges from the same sleazy companies as others have? This is too unprobable to be merely coincidental.

    Shame on Nashbar. And I still get Nashbar email offers. Ugh.
    Boycott Nashbar.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
      Jul 29, 2009

    I also received charges from Red-Mill for $2.29. Mine coincides with Netflix billing. This is the second time I have had a weird charge in conjunction with my Netflix bill, the last time I had to cancel my credit card. I hope this doesn't require the same.

    0 Votes

Post your comment