The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

Nafco / Domco Vinyl Strip Flooring / Exhausting ordeal

1 United States Review updated:

We recently bought Nafco / Domco vinyl strips and laid them in our bathroom. When we purchased the strips, the person where we purchased them from ask what type of floor we had down and I told him solarium. He said it would be ok to lay the strips over our existing floor.

He did not have the glue recommended on the box but sold us SAFOT 380. We used the 1/16" X 1/16" X 1/16" trowl so we would not get the glue too thick. That has been two weeks ago and the floor feels tacky and glue continues to come up through the cracks. We were gone for three days, but after a few trips across the floor, the glue started surfacing again.

I spoke with him about the problem we were having and he said it was a reaction between our existing floor and the glue. I have mopped the floor with mild soapy water (after waiting the recommended time)several times a day, trying to keep the glue from tracking all over the house. It has been a very exhausting ordeal, not to mention the anguish.

Please advise us what you feel the problem is, and if it is the wrong glue for this type of flooring, what can to be done to remedy the problem and compensate us for the work and anguish we have endured.

Thank you in advance for your help.
Sincerely,
Donald

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Ma
      10th of Jun, 2008
    0 Votes

    On Thursday 04-03-2008, my wife (Kim Thrift) and I purchased approximately 1593 Square Feet of NAFCO – TARKETT flooring (Lorraine Oak – Gunstock 3 Inch Vinyl Strips) from BMG Flooring (402 South Main Street, Mauldin, SC 29662 – Jim Bostic Sr). We also purchased 5 gallons of adhesive (#400 Acrylic Adhesive) and paid for the freight of the material. My wife and I had previously spoken with BMG Flooring about the product and it came highly recommended from the re-seller due to its commercial warranty guarantee and wear and tear. We were very excited about purchasing a floor with a 20 year residential warranty and a 5 year light commercial warranty.

    We had explained to the re-seller that we would have the flooring installed by one of their installers (Jeff Buxton – (864) 444-3020) and that the installation would be on a concrete slab floor through more than 95% of the home (Save the Master Bathroom). My wife and I were under the impression that due to the commercial warranty and excellent 20 Year residential warranty that our floors would hold up to standard household use. We figured these floors would be a great investment since we are dog lovers and have two small pet canines (under 20 lbs. each).

    The flooring, laminate, and freight was purchased and paid in full on 04-03-08 in the amount of $7, 780.06. Jeff Buxton (Installer) was then notified that the flooring was in fact ordered and paid for. Jeff Buxton and his crew had scheduled to arrive at our home on Monday 04-21-08 to begin installing the flooring. By Friday, 04-25-08 the installation was completed.

    My wife and I began moving our items into the house on Saturday 04-26-08, along with several of our friends who will gladly testify on our behalf if necessary if this litigation finds itself in civil court. No piece of furniture was slid across the floor during the time of moving in. No harsh treatment of the floors was noted whatsoever. We did however begin noticing that as we were sliding chairs into the position under the kitchen table that small abrasions began to appear on the floor. We began to check underneath all of the chairs to make sure that the rubber / plastic pads (which are recommended by TARKETT / NAFCO in lieu of felt pads) were in fact installed on the chairs and they were in fact in place.

    Throughout the day of moving and people sitting at the table we began to notice more abrasions appearing around the kitchen / dining room table. We also began to notice several abrasions where our two sofas had been placed and pushed into position. The sofa was checked for the rubber/plastic feet and points of contact with the floor were met with the recommended item per TARKETT / NAFCO.

    We then began to notice several areas around the house that had the same problem with small little minor abrasions.

    On Monday morning, 04-28-08, I contacted Jim Bostic of BMG Flooring via their internet contact us form, to advise him of how disappointed I was in the flooring that had been installed in our home. I also contacted the Installer, Jeff Buxton to advise him of the same. I was advised that on Tuesday, 04-29-08 that Jim Bostic, Jeff Buxton, and Buddy Williams of Krauss Orders Inc. (Regional Distributor of TARKETT / NAFCO Flooring) would be responding to my residence at approximately 11:00 am to check on the flooring.
    Upon their arrival on 04-29-08, Mr. Williams of Krauss Orders and Jim Bostic Jr. both appeared very shocked at how such a new flooring could have so many abrasions from simply sliding a chair from under the table and moving a catch in order to clean and sweep. Both men advised that they had never seen anything like it before. Several photos were taken from all areas of the house. A few sample strips were taken by Mr. Buddy Williams to be sent to TARKETT / NAFCO for scientific analysis.

    On 05-6-2008, a letter was drafted to BMG Flooring with NAFCO Complaint Number #310489 in reference to our complaint. Krauss Orders was denying any request made by BMG Flooring and my wife and I for assistance. In their letter, Krauss orders specifically stated that “The flooring is warranted against normal household use, but the warranty does not cover deep, heavy scratches that do not occur from regular use.”

    As this complaint being denied by Krauss Orders was disappointing to my wife and I we again contacted Jim Bostic Sr. of BMG Flooring to determine our next line of defense. After a short while, he informed us that Tarkett would send out an independent flooring inspector on our behalf.

    On May 27, 2008, Mr. Selva Lee Tucker (Tucks Floor Inspection Service) responded to our home to inspect the flooring. He took numerous photographs and measurements with his level. He also photographed that we did in fact have the correct pads on our furniture recommended by TRAKETT / NAFCO. During the time Mr. Tucker was inspecting our flooring, he took a measurement in front of the wall unit in the living room. He slid his leveler across the floor to measure the concrete sub floor. While he was doing this, his level stick caused two more abrasions (approximately 6 Inches each) in the floor directly in front of the wall unit. This was observed by my spouse who immediately called it to Mr. Tucker’s attention. Mr. Tucker denied causing the abrasions in the flooring stating that his leveler had protective coverings on the end. My wife clearly advised him that the scratches were not there this morning as she was sweeping the floor awaiting his arrival. The abrasions were clearly from his leveler because they were in the exact location where he was measuring.

    On Monday, June 9, 2008, I contacted Jim Bostic Sr of BMG Flooring to find out if anything had been heard about the floor. He stated that he had received denial from Tarkett based on Tucks Floor Inspection Service’s report that he has filed.

    Items I will be contesting are as follows:
    $7, 780.06 In all materials
    $3, 757.40 in Installation
    $350.00 approximately in new quarter for entire house.

    Clearly, there is a breakdown somewhere in this entire process. We as consumers have no confidence in the material product being manufactured by Tarkett / NAFCO. Since TARKETT is the manufacturer of said product, all parties are looking at them to take a stance for their product. Clearly, their stance has been to deny our claim.

    Unfortunately this has caused us to file a better business complaint on all parties involved in this process. The stance my wife and I have taken is that we will see this process come to some sort of agreed upon terms with the replacement and re-installation of the flooring. If this can not come to an agreement between all parties, we will be forced to contact a civil attorney to represent our interests.

  • Ha
      17th of Jun, 2009
    0 Votes

    I was wondering why would you hold the installer liable for the product that was installed. It was clearly installed correctly, the product failed. As for TARKETT, they should own up to their faulty material and warranty it, especially in these days.

Post your comment