Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In
The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website

Gately's Shopping Network / No product, no money, and the run around!

United States Review updated:
93% 15
I ordered some gym equipment from Gately's Shopping Network. The next day I received an email confirmation that my item had been shipped out that morning and I should expect my product in 4-6 weeks.

7 weeks later I called the company asking where my product was. I was told that they hadn't shipped out the equipment and would email me confirmation that it had been shipped out that afternoon. 2 days go by and no email confirmation. Irritated I call back. I was then told I could have a complete refund and that it would take 5-6 business days for my money to be refunded. 9 business days later and still no refund. Called them back and they acknowledged that the money had not gone through and put me on hold in order to work things out. I was assured that the money would be in my account the next day...

More Gately's Shopping Network Complaints & Reviews


Sort by: UpDate | Rating
A  18th of Sep, 2007 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
I ordered an inflatable water slide from this company in June and just received the product two weeks ago but come to find out it is not even the slide I ordered and there is a hole in it!!! Can't get in touch with the company via phone or email to even try to resolve the issue and get a full refund. I've already filed a complaint to the Better Business Bureau and if you search bbb.org you will find that there have been 222 complaints about this company in the last 36 months. They operate under at least 37 business names selling various products. Advise all of your friends and family to NEVER order anything that is related to Gately's!!!
A  20th of Sep, 2007 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
I am extremely disappointed with the customer service at Gately's and wished that I had read these comments prior to placing my order. I do feel each and everyone of your pain. I had placed an order for an ottoman on 8/29/2007 from Gately's and received 2 emails on the status of my order (it seemed to be going well). All good things must come to an end I guess. The last email that I had received about my order was sent on 9/11/2007, I have not heard from anyone since despite numerous attempts (numerous emails and messages). It now appears that something strange has happened with this company. As of 9/19/2007, the voicemail box for each 1-800 number is full and the outgoing message says "You have reached the after hours phone line (when it is disappearance during the workday). Perhaps the company is being investigated and has closed its doors.
A  21st of Sep, 2007 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
I ordered a sectional on 6 September 2007. I have had the same experience as other customers. My charge card was charged the full amount on 7 September 2007. No response to my email requesting information on a delivery date. The same, "You have reached the after-hours phone line..." upon calling the company. My bank has informed me the company has 31 days to fulfill the order. After that time, I will be able to dispute the charge. Meanwhile I am out a lot of money and have no couch.
A  24th of Sep, 2007 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
The company has recently filed for bankruptcy with the State of Colorado. The Denver BBB has information who you can contact in this case.

A  25th of Sep, 2007 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
I also placed an order for gym equipment and received a confirmation email and order number but never received the product. I sent an email to their customer service department without reply and tried calling only to receive a message that I was calling outside business hours when it was clearly within business timeframe. I have notified my charge card company to object to the charge on my account.
A  27th of Sep, 2007 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
I am so glad I found these complaints. I ordered a bedroom set on August 16th and my card was charged immediately. Received an e-mail that my order was processed then no word for weeks, so I called them (after multiple attempts and being on hold) and was told one of my items was on back order and the whole order would be shipped on Septemeber 24th and I would receive all of my items one to two days later. I said fine, but then when I called to find out how I was going to be notified of the delivery - everyday this week there is a recording that says they are having "phone issues" and to e-mail them for a "quick" response. I e-mailed and continued to call several times a day up to today when I thought I'd better dispute the charge (which is what my credit card company recommended). Apparently if it has been more than 30 days since the point the company has charged your account and you have not received your purchases and they have been unresponsive to resolve the issue - it is best to dispute the charge.
A  30th of Sep, 2007 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
Totally agree with the complaints above. Gateley's is a total joke, the only thing they seem able to do is charge ones credit card promptly. A total ripoff and scam operation, customer service is a joke, never never never again. Luckily mine was only a 20.00 ping ping paddle set. I feel for the people who got ripped on a big ticket item.

N  4th of Oct, 2007 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
Totally agree witht he above complaints. My credit card was charge. They gurantee product will be delivered by 8/30/2007, today is 10/4/2007 and still no bed. This company does not response to email or phone. PLEASE DON'T ORDER FROM THIS COMPANY. BE CAREFUL.
N  5th of Oct, 2007 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
I also placed an order for gym equipment form ately's Shopping Network. And I paid in full but I never received my order so far.

I called the company but I never get in touched with live person. The voice mail keeps saying that they have some problem with phone, but they never get fixed the phone. It is very strange. I emailed and faxed to company but there was no any response. This company looks like cheating people, just take money without sending ordered product.

Don’t buy anything from this company. The best way is that shutdown Gately's Shopping Network webpage, otherwise people keep placing order and get into trouble.
A  6th of Oct, 2007 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
Same issues here, I placed an order for a new bedroom set, received the original confirmation of order and now I have not been able to contact them for any kind of status on my order. I have just filled out my dispute of charge form for my credit card and will be mailing it out. It does seem that this company has many issues and someone noted above that they have filed for bankruptcy so it doesn't look good. DO NOT BUY FROM THIS COMPANY!!
A  6th of Oct, 2007 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
I am currently experiencing the same thing. I ordered a curio cabinet on 9/29/07, my credit card was billed the next day. The website now says that the cabinet is unavailable, but my card was still charged. They have not responded to any of my many emails and their phone lines are not working. I have issued a complaint with the Better Business Bureau and have contacted my credit card company. Do the same! They are scammers!
A  8th of Oct, 2007 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
We, too, have fallen victim to this scam company. I ordered a platform bed on 9/4 and was charged immediately. I was never even given a delivery date and have had no response to all my attempts to contact them. Now their phone number is even gone from their website (bedroomking.com), however, the site is still up and taking orders. I filed a dispute with my credit card company and with the Colorodo BBB. So much for my birthday gift. BE WARNED - DO NOT BUY FROM ANY OF GATELY'S NETWORK OF STORES.
A  9th of Oct, 2007 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
I too have fallen victim to their scam. I purchased a mission bed on 10/4 and my credit card was charged that day. I tried to phone them several times over the next few days and nothing. I even tried their returns phone number and the message was the same during their operating hours with an option to leave a message and of course the message box was full. They got me for 830.00. Cancel your ATM or Credit Card A.S.A.P and file a claim with your bank. I will be filling a police report too. These people need to be shut down! If you have the knowledge of how to go about doing that, please do so!
A  11th of Oct, 2007 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
I too was ripped off by this criminal company. yes, they have filed bankruptcy, I just googled them and found that info. They filed in Sept, 07. I have filed my complaint to the Denver BBB. These people should not be allowed to continue stealing your money! They are taking peoples money RIGHT NOW AS I TYPE with NO intention of delivering a product. So, they file bankruptcy, walk away clean, no one gets reimbursed then they'll open up business again under a new name. And start the cycle all over again. DO NOT BUY FROM THIS COMPANY... perhaps some investigative reporting from one of these large network TV stations should happen to warn everyone against these criminals.
A  11th of Oct, 2007 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
Hi all,

My son has the same problem with ordered furniture. They take money instantly and nothing happens. The owners and executives of the company has the following E-mail addresses. I found out through Chuck Hamrick. E-mail the b*stards!

Feel free to contact Gatelys.com directly if you have a concern about shipment, delivery or credit. We can not help you as have no direct relationship, ownership, etc.

Stephen Gutrich CFO sgutrich@gatelys.com
Doug Sundahl VP doug@gatelys.com
Rob Gately Owner Rob@gatelys.com
Rick Gately Owner Rick@gatelys.com
A  11th of Oct, 2007 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
The same thing happened to me! We purchased Barstools at Barstoolhouse.com for $336 and have not received them! I called and left messages with about 4 of the people today and have canceled my card and filled a dispute with my credit card company. Do not buy from them!
A  12th of Oct, 2007 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
I always wondered how long it would take before I got burned on an internet order. Ordered a trash can on September 15th and still haven't seen it. Got one response that they would look into it and respond within 48 to 72 hours. Nothing after that. And what a scam with the phone number! Just sent another email request for a refund. I'll stop payment on my Visa tonight and hopefully they can put a stop to Gately's.
A  18th of Oct, 2007 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
Someone posted in an earlier post the denver.bbb.org website. (Better Business Bureau) Gately's has an unsatisfactory record and are not members of the BBB. (Hm...)

Here is a direct link to the information they have on this company: http://data.denver.bbb.org/commonreport.html?bid=55000368&language=1&bureau=&bbbid=

Long list of customer issues and problems . Good grief. These are the websites you "DO NOT" want to buy from:

Don't buy from: Gatelys.com
Don't buy from: Sleekspaces.com
Don't buy from: FutonStore.com
Don't buy from: ABedStore.com
Don't buy from: Swingsetsdirect.com

I agree with everyone that we should contact our credit card companies and dispute the charges. I'm ok with a charge and communication but ordering something with no info and communication gong on 2 months is ridiculous. This is a problem for more people than just us.
A  18th of Oct, 2007 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
I also was screwed out of my product from Gately's, however I called my bank which is Bank of America. I filed an Electronic Funds Claim because I paid for my product with my debit card. They gave me permanent credit on my checking account while they researched Gately's. In the meantime I called Gately's and spoke with a lady there who said they filed for Bankruptcy in September 2007 and all the refunds that they were going to do, they have already processed. Anyhow, moral of the story, call your bank or credit card company and see what kind of protection they can offer you. I hope this helps!

A  8th of Nov, 2007 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes

I placed an order on 10/2/07.. they took my order and money immediately yet 5-1/2 weeks later still no product. There was no follow up with a delivery expectation email. I got a hold, finally, of a customer service rep 2+ weeks ago and she said the order should ship shortly. Well, still no order. I went back to the web site to check my order status and, not to my surprise, the web site is under development to better serve their customers so they say. I emailed customer service twice this week and still no reply. They state a follow up will come within 24 hours. Right. I called their tel. number several times and left messages and still no response. (303-790-2226 thought I would put that on here for everyone since I had a hard time finding it). I am currently on hold (15 minutes, glad I have a speaker phone) awaiting a customer service rep. Based off this complaint board I assume I am screwed and out of $230.00.

I assume this company is a scam. Can anyone recommend how to report this?


Post your Comment


Reply to