SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Cinergy Health / are they legitimate

1 LA, United States Review updated:
Contact information:

I HAVE TRIED TO LOOK UO THE LEGITAMACY OF THEIR COMPANY VIA THE DEPTS. OIF INSURANCE IN FLORIDA AND LOUISIANA . THEY DO APPEAR AS A COMPANY REGISTERED / LICENSED TO DO BUSINESS.

I HAVE ASKED THEIR ( CINERGY HEALTH ) PHONE REPS TO PROVE THEIR VALIDITY AND ALL I AM TOLD IS THAT JUST LOOK UP THEIR WEBSITE: CINERGYHEALTH.COM. I SEE NOTHING THAT PROVES THEY ARE LEGIT.

I AM SEEKING MEDICAL INSURANCE AND "THOUGHT" THEY APPEARED "REAL".

SEEKING SOME CONFIRMATION AS TO WHETHER I SHOUKLD CONDUCT BUSINESS WITH THEM

THANKS

LIONEL COX

Be
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Na
      Jan 13, 2009

    I'am very unhappy with this company. I have filed 2 claims with them and they have not responded in anyway. I call and they said they had never recieved the claims I filed in October
    20th.So I refiled on January 5th.i have dropped this coverage. I paid them $50.00 application fee and paid them $236.00 for the months of July, August, September.And I cancelled it after that because my husband got me covered on his plan.But as for this Cinergy health i have not recieved not even so much as phone call.I'am in the procress now of getting in touch with the
    insurance comisssoner for the state of Flordia.I'am a retired person and can not afford for this so called company to do this to me. Nancy Copeland Member # 250014554

    +1 Votes
  • Va
      Feb 11, 2009

    I'm just finding out about the ins scams with Cinergy. A few days ago I signed up with a rep ins. It was $241 +50 nonrefundable fee. I cancelled today just wasted $50 since they say you can do in 10 days. Normally when I do computer orders I get a confirmation bk by email. I didn't with them plus they show their commercials here in NC.

    0 Votes
  • Sl
      Mar 07, 2009

    For Val: To help me understand what you're saying, what does Cinergy showing their commercials in NC have to do with it? I'm just curious because I'm thinking about getting the insurance from them . Thank you!

    0 Votes
  • Ju
      Mar 17, 2009

    I am thinking of signing up for this plan and i just want to make sure they are legit please help me

    0 Votes
  • Mi
      Mar 19, 2009

    I had a policy with Cinergy also. BIG MISTAKE!!! After 8 months with them I found out that none of my Doctors in my home town new anything about this company nor would thet except there coverage. I needed surgery and was told by my physician and my hospital that they would not except Cinergy coverage. I called customer service and left a message asking why and got no response from anyone.

    Mike

    0 Votes
  • Gc
      Mar 30, 2009

    Beware of Cinergy Heatlh, Inc! Their documentation states that you can cancel within 10 days of the beginning of coverage (in my case 03/01/09). When I called to cancel on 03/10/09 they clearly stated I was within the grace period and I would either need to send a postmarked cancellation request or FAX in the request, so I faxed it in. I later called on 03/13/09 to confirm the status of my cancellation request and I was told then that I would receive a refund within 2-3 business days. When I called back today (03/30/09) to find out why I hadn't received my credit they conveniently changed the date of my first call to cancel to 03/11/09, the day after I faxed in my cancellation request. I'm now being told that I wasn't due a refund and that I hadn't been told I was going to get a refund. Basially they're saying I'm a liar, but it's Cinergy Health that's lying. Be very wary of this company. They will do anything to avoid returning refunds.

    0 Votes
  • To
      Apr 01, 2009

    Thanks for the feedback, I'm researching this, like many companies...I like many people are looking for BASIC medical insurance for me and my wife. She's 32 and I'm 40. We're looking for something that includes pregnancy and any help would be appreciated:)

    Tom
    [protected]@gmail.com

    0 Votes
  • Ci
      Apr 04, 2009

    Cinergy Health is a scam. The underwriter is American Medical & Life Insurance Company. Cinergy Health is just a marketing company.
    As a former employee I can tell you they: DO not pay the claims. They will give you a major hassle to refund any monies. You are sold insurance by unlicensed agents many times.

    The insurance is run out of a call center in South Florida. The employees are treated badly, the clients are treated worse.

    Stay away... the commercials are a bait and switch ... this is the very worst insurance you can get.

    Oh and they will not pay your pregnancy claims... ever.

    0 Votes
  • Tr
      Apr 05, 2009

    Scary, I suppose I should have read the reviews ten minutes before I signed up, not ten minutes after! I'm calling to cancel RIGHT NOW! If it sounds too good to be true...

    0 Votes
  • An
      Apr 18, 2009

    I am proud of all of you for standing you ground.
    I got scammed also. I ended up contacting the bank
    it was a big hassle & I only got some of the $$$ back.
    They are just as bad as telemarketers..People are so gulible, these employees are paid to con you out of your$$$ & yes 80% aren't even liscenced.
    We become desperate & some of us will
    l listen to what they say, and believe..Well in my opinion they are like leaches sucking the blood out of
    consumers like ourselves. Are they legitimate????NO.
    Another company to stay away from is Qualified
    Health...Seriously!!! Angel

    0 Votes
  • It
      Apr 23, 2009

    Wow...thank you for alerting me to this apparent scam! I was just about to sign up for it, when I got the idea to do a search of Cinergy reviews or complaints. This is how I found your valuable site. Unfortunately, with this wrecked economy, many kinds of scams will increase and get trickier to spot. I am sorry for those of you who have lost money to these criminals. Thank you again for helping to prevent others, like me, from getting caught in their nets.

    0 Votes
  • To
      Apr 27, 2009

    Thank you one and all for your comments. I too was considering Cinergy Health, and came online to check it out, and noticed something about it being a scam, then read all your comments. How sad that people are making money by scamming others. Hopefully, they will be stopped before others get scammed by them.

    0 Votes
  • Kb
      Apr 29, 2009

    I too want to thank the other posters. I was thinking about trying Cinergy. These kinds of sites is what makes the internet such a wonderful resource.

    0 Votes
  • Li
      May 01, 2009

    I was doin some searchs for my sister cause she has no insurance. I found one place that suggested doing an "AM Best" search and I did and they aren't even listed in "AM Best" I don't know if I did the search wrong or not though. But the only "Cinergy" I did find was "Cinergy Risk Solutions Ltd" so I don't know. I'd steer clear of em, sounds like a bad company

    +1 Votes
  • Fe
      May 05, 2009

    I spoke with a Cinergy Insurance Representative and after talking to him about 2 minutes, I just knew something wasn't right. The first indication was he called me on a Sunday morning at 10:00 am, not normal business hours. He talked really fast and only told me about the $241 policy. I had did a little research before calling and knew about the $189 policy. I asked him how I would know if the doctor I went to accepted this insurance. He said, "oh we will send you a list of doctor's after you pay". My point is, if something doesn't feel right, don't give them your money. Sorry to those who got scammed. At least this website will help others. Thanks

    0 Votes
  • Ga
      May 08, 2009

    Well, Well, Well,
    I am glad I came across this site. Last year I was diagnosed with a brain tumor, then had brain surgery July 31st, 2008. I am now on social security disability. I am paying for cobra insurance from my last job. The cobra will run out in March of 2010...the medicare kicks in on social security in October 2010. I was going foe cinergyhealth after seeing the ad on the television here in Md. It looks good takes care of existing injuries ans the low cost. I looked too good to be true, I am glad I came across this. My cobra insurance is only 320.00 a month but everything is paid 100%. Now my prescription drugs cost my nothing after 10, 20, 30 and 50 bucks in copay.
    It it a shame I'll have about 7 months gap between the insurance. If anyone knows an insurance who can help me out, thank you and email me. [protected]@hotmail.com

    Gary

    0 Votes
  • Ci
      May 11, 2009

    WOW! Looks like I just escaped a scary story...not 2 seconds after I entered my contact name and number, my phone rang. You have to admit, as desparate as we all are for quality health insurance, its so easy to fall prey to these fast talking sales operators that also need to make a living for themselves! Thanks for all the info and stories everyone shared! I feel content to stay where I'm at, all of the sudden!

    0 Votes
  • Po
      May 12, 2009

    Glad I read this first also - we are paying a phenomonal amount of money ($1200/month) for our insurance with a high deductible and still spend hundreds of dollars a year on services that are not covered.
    I am forgoing necessary screenings and tests because I can't afford them so in essence my health is compromised even with health insurance. Everytime I see an ad for a company such as Cinergy or Assurant Health, I check online for complaints and they are full of them.
    Is there NOT a good insurance plan out there that is affordable and will take a female in her 50's with pre-existing conditions.
    It is scary to let my present health insurance go but I have gone through all my savings and don't know a good alternative.
    Health Insurance is a major problem in this country - can't afford not to have it and can't afford to have it ... what's the solution?

    0 Votes
  • Pa
      May 15, 2009

    I can certainly understand everyone's frustration as my Mother had to deal with similar situations while fighting for her right to health care in order to treat her Stage 4 Lung Cancer. She would have never been able to do it on her own as she, like most other folks, did not know what resources were available to assist in making sure the insurance carriers remain compliant. After having to deal with that personally, I began to realized that my Mom was not the only person facing those tough insurance issues. Therefore, I wanted to post this to let folks know there are Patient Advocates available to help battle the insurance companies on your behalf.
    If you need help getting your claims processed and paid but are unsure on how to go about that at this time; you can email me, a Patient Advocate ([protected]@yahoo.com), for advice or help with insurance related problems. I can assist in the Houston, TX., Los Angeles County and Ventura County, CA areas.
    I would be happy to help anyone in need of assistance with regard to their insurance and getting claims paid timely.

    0 Votes
  • Re
      May 16, 2009

    OK! I guess I won't be getting insurance from Cinergy! Better call my sister in-law too, since she told me about them. Patient Advocate, can you get me the name of a local patient advocate in SC? I'll e-mail you to see if you can help. Thanks to all those who have posted, you are helping to save a lot of folks from the scammers!! redw

    0 Votes
  • Ma
      May 16, 2009

    Cinergy is an absolute scam...do not under any circumstances give these rip-offs a dime. I'd hate to see anyone else lose their hard-earned money. They will not refund any portion of the money you send them even if it's the very next day when you cancel. Total BOGUS company.

    0 Votes
  • So
      May 19, 2009

    I just saw the Cinergy commercial and almost dialed the number. I was diagnosed with a blood cancer in 2007 and had a bone marrow transplant in July 2009. Due to this pre-existing condition, I too, will have a difficult time getting insurance once Cobra expires. I am so glad this site poppoed up when I logged on to get the Cinergy number. Thanks! It really pays to do one's own research before signing up for practically anything the requires a fee.

    0 Votes
  • Pa
      May 19, 2009

    Sonja,
    Have you applied for SS Disability? If so, you may qualify for a COBRA extension. After receiving the SS Disability Award Letter, you will need to fax that to the COBRA office with a request for COBRA extension within 60 days of receiving the award letter. Please email me with any questions: [protected]@yahoo.com.
    Good luck to you. Wendy

    0 Votes
  • Vi
      May 20, 2009

    I am from NC and I've had Cinergy as my medical provider since August of 2008. I've only had one problem with them when getting a claim paid and they only required a phone call and me mailing a copy of the bill to them. It was paid within 15 days after I mailed a copy of th invoice to them. No one has refused to take my health card, and the prescription part of the policy pays better than BCBS (my previous healthcare provider). It was by far the most inexpensive carrier that I could locate that provided the most for my money. I have nothing but positive things to say about them. Sorry everyone has not had a very good experience.

    -1 Votes
  • Te
      May 22, 2009

    Has anyone looked them up on the Better Business Bureau website? That is where I usually go when I need to know about a company.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
      May 22, 2009

    30 mins. ago I was online with Tom Quinn, a rep. in Sunny Isles, Fl, and he gave me all the details
    about the $241 plan plus $50 to register.

    It sounded good, with even the doctor we use
    listed as a provider.

    So, next week he will call about signing us up for
    a policy.

    Thank the good Lord that I asked him for the
    web site, and found this Complaint Board.

    Though ONE person has not had problems,
    she is in the minority, and that speaks
    volumes about becoming one of their
    clients.

    We will stick with our present Blue
    Cross/Blue Shield of Oregon.. it is
    100 dollars more a month, but there
    are no fraudulent actions from them.

    Thank you for this board.

    Jan

    0 Votes
  • Fo
      May 24, 2009

    Here's the contact info for the firm that owns Cinergy - call and bug these execs If you've had problems or need a lawyer to contact someone !

    Robert Ostrander, Executive Vice President
    (646) 223-9300 Ext. 803
    [protected]@usamli.com
    For Customer Service:

    • For Members of ITCP Mini Premier PPO:


    For Information or to enroll: 1-877-517-8900
    For Current Policyholders:
    Claim Questions Provider Information, or ID Cards:
    For coverage changes or additions:

    800-211-4782
    1-877-517-8900
    • For Members of All Dental Plans 1-888-683-3682
    • For Members of Association Limited Medical Plans 888-264-1512
    • For Members of Student Health Plans 800-803-2986 Ext. 11321
    • For Member of IBS Worldwide Trust Accident Plan :
    Eligibility or Benefit Questions
    Claim Status Questions
    800-472-1772
    1-866-691-9353 Ext. 805
    • For Members of Bridge & Tunnel Disability Plan 800-202-5164
    • For Members of Westbury UFSD Excess Major Medical Plan 800-803-2986 Ext. 11321
    • For Members of Northeast AG Trust Hospital Indemnity Plan 800-803-298 Ext. 11321
    • For Group Life Insurance 1-866-691-9353 Ext. 805
    • For General Customer Service Inquiries 1-866-691-9353

    Corporate Headquarters:

    American Medical and Life Insurance Company
    8 West 38th Street
    Suite 1002
    New York, NY 10018
    Phone: (646) 223-9300
    Toll Free: (866) 691-9353
    Fax: (212) 354-9089





    John Ollis, President & Chief Executive Officer

    John Ollis joined AMLI in January of 2006 as CEO and President. He spent 17 years with UNUM Insurance Company in a variety of positions including Sales Representative, Sales Manager, and most recently, Senior Market Manager for UNUM's New York City office. He also served on the Board of Directors for First UNUM. Mr. Ollis was responsible for the overall operation of the New York City sales office, the company's largest field office. He managed 100 employees and annual revenues in excess of $500 million. His responsibilities included top and bottom line growth, customer and employee retention, and overall operational management. Mr. Ollis holds a BA in Biology from Bowdoin College.

    Scott McGregor, Chief Financial Officer

    Scott joined AMLI as CFO in June, 2008. His prior experience included various positions with AXA-Equitable over the past seven years, most recently as Senior Vice President, Expense Management. Prior to AXA-Equitable, Scott's experience includes positions as Controller with GE Asset Management, a division of GE Capital and Controller and Chief Accounting Officer for First UNUM, a subsidiary of UNUM. Prior to UNUM, Scott was VP and Treasurer for Investors Insurance Group, a New Jersey based property & casualty insurer and he began his insurance career with American Bankers Insurance Group in Miami, Fl.

    Scott is a Certified Public Accountant (Florida), a Certified Management Accountant and Chartered Financial Analyst. He has an undergraduate degree is a B.S. in Accounting from SUNY at Geneseo, a MBA from West Virginia University and a doctorate at Pace University with concentrations in Accounting and Finance.

    Robert G. Ostrander, Executive Vice President, Underwriting and Sales

    Bob's responsibilities include product development, marketing and underwriting. A New York native with 39 years experience in the Insurance Industry, he began with New York Life, retired as an Executive Vice President from Unum Life Insurance Co. and most recently served as a Managing Director for Corporate Compensation Plans of Danbury CT.


    Lorraine Classi, Chief Compliance Officer

    Lorraine Classi has over 30 years experience in the life and health insurance industry. Lorraine has worked for the American Medical and Life Insurance Company for 25 years in positions including Claims Manager, Director of Claims Operation, and Executive Vice President of Operations. Lorraine also served on the Board of Directors for AMLI. She has an extensive background in developing medical, dental, life and disability insurance administrative and claim systems. Lorraine is currently responsible for overseeing the company's external vendor operations and vendor relations. Prior to her career at AMLI, she worked for Gerber Life Insurance Company and Madison Life Insurance Company.


    Tina Butler, Director of Client Services

    Tina joined AMLI in 1987 and has served in several capacities prior her promotion to Director of Client Services including claims specialist, service representative and
    managed care administrator. She and her team are committed to providing a high level of service to our producers and customers.

    0 Votes
  • An
      May 27, 2009

    Anyone that's having trouble getting insurance or don't have insurance please contact my insurance agent at 1-800-317-4701 ext 330 his name is Allen Dorfman. I was uninsured with pre-existing health problems. He found very reasonable and legit insurance for me.

    0 Votes
  • So
      May 27, 2009

    ho ho

    0 Votes
  • Re
      May 28, 2009

    i am glad i found your site -- i was considering Cinergy for my husband -- he is 61 and the telemarketeer kept telling he was not eligible as he is 65 and we kept going around in circles -- all in all she was rude and then hung up -- but i was suspicious about the company being a scam due to the unprofessional telemarketeers -- we are still without insurance -- but we will keep looking -- you would think that AARP with all their billions of dollars from people 55+ would have done more to help ----- in the long run it is best to follow alternative health -- prevention, acupuncture and homeopathy -- and stay away from the greedy MDs----------if you can . . .

    0 Votes
  • Mh
      May 29, 2009

    "Glad I read this first also - we are paying a phenomonal amount of money ($1200/month) for our insurance with a high deductible and still spend hundreds of dollars a year on services that are not covered.
    I am forgoing necessary screenings and tests because I can't afford them so in essence my health is compromised even with health insurance. Everytime I see an ad for a company such as Cinergy or Assurant Health, I check online for complaints and they are full of them."

    We are paying close to $1500.00 per month and each of us has a $1500.00 deductible. I too am in my 50's and am forgoing screenings and tests that my doctor orders because of the cost. I am out of pocket by about $1800.00 year to date, and my insurance company (United Health) has only credited me with $20.00 towards my deductible. Sometimes I think we'd be better off with no insurance - at least we could take that $1500.00 per month cost and get those tests done.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
      Jun 01, 2009

    I recommend anyone shopping for health insurance use a licensed agent. I followed this advise two years ago after reading it on the internet too. You don't pay for their advise...they are commissioned by legitimate health insurance companies in the state you live. They also can help you understand the application process and help prevent 'denial of insurance' that can cause you to pay more. Both of the folks we contacted represent a number of companies in their state including PPO's and HMO's.

    They educate you and normally represent multiple companies so you can compare prices with benefits. They understand their state rules like health questionnaires /point systems, pre-existing conditions and all the ends and outs of the plan. I would NEVER buy health insurance without using a licensed broker. THERE IS NO COST TO YOU!

    National Association of Health Underwriters "America's Benefits Specialists"
    NAHU represents licensed health insurance agents, brokers, consultants and benefit professionals who serve the health insurance needs of employers as well as individuals seeking health insurance coverage. http://www.nahu.org/consumer/findagent.cfm

    Expect to get a spreadsheet comparing a number of plans and than time to review what that means specifically for you and your situations. They will research questions and even call you back!

    If you feel you are getting a sale pitch or pressured to buy then just ditch them and and go back to the NAHU list. We have had very professional and knowledgeable help.

    Also please get involved and tell your Senator / Representative that we need help NOW. There is no time to waste encouraging coverage for all of us. My husband and I need it too!

    Good Luck!

    0 Votes
  • Sa
      Jun 01, 2009
    Cinergy Health - Not licensed in Florida
    Cinergy Health, Inc.
    Florida
    United States

    I thought Cinergy Health TV ads were too good to be true and they are. There are many complaints on the net about them, so I wrote to the Office of Insurance Regulation. I received an answer and THEY ARE NOT REGISTERED IN FLORIDA and are not legitimate. No matter that they are located in Miami, they are not licensed in the state.

    So avoid this scam.

    0 Votes
  • Bo
      Jun 03, 2009

    When will everyone realize that anything sold on TV is either a scam or overpriced junk that charges excessive amounts to cover the cost of these expensive ads. Services advertised on TV are mostly pure rip offs and should not by allowed to advertise, when they are known to be illegal frauds. It is the equivilant of a felony crime that due to the money involved, continues to be allowed on TV. There is no government watchdog to oversee all these criminal activities. ALWAYS check out everything advertised on TV to weed out the crooks and scam artists that pay the networks to steal openly with false advertising. The networks will not give up their enormous profits to screen out these know crooks as long as they can hide behind the laws that allow it to propagate.

    0 Votes
  • Zo
      Jun 05, 2009

    Anyone on here, please beware of Cinergy Health - it is NOT real insurance. If you are interested in obtaining some real coverage, please call a legitamate company that works with all the A-rated carriers. Their website is www.myinsuranceexpert.com, and their number is 800-732-5569 X 254. Ask for Aurora. Or, you can email to : [protected]@myinsuranceexpert.com. She was excellent

    There are real, affordable insurance companies out there, Cinergy is NOT one.

    Good luck!!

    +1 Votes
  • Ro
      Jun 08, 2009

    Do not do business with this company. They will not refund my payment according to their policy book that shows that I am the one getting ripped off. I am repoting then to the BBB and attorney generals office.

    Cinergy is a rip off doing illegal and unethical business over state lines. Time for the FBI.

    Bob ...in Arizona.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
      Jun 11, 2009

    Thank you so much for posting this information. My family and I are currently covered by a major medical insurance company, the rates are becoming over whelming. We were looking into Cinergy Health. ( saw their ad on TV) I decided to do some back ground work on them, found this site. Thank you so much for sharing all your stories and saving people like me the pain of where you all have already been. I wish someone had been there to help you stear clear of this company too. Sincerely, Sherrie

    0 Votes
  • Jg
      Jun 11, 2009

    It is very unfortunate that the current economic climate opens a market for unethical individuals like Cinergy to operate and MAKE MONEY. It is imperative that our country deal with this type of business. Be Very Cautious.

    0 Votes
  • Ke
      Jun 13, 2009

    I saw the ads for this company and, while expecting it to be a scam, I did some research anyway, and stumbled onto this list. Pretty much what I expected. But for the several folks posting here who need some "bridge" insurance between the end of their COBRA coverage and qualifying for Medicare or SSI, you can contact any insurer (Blue Cross for e.g.) that sells individual health coverage in your state and ask for a "Portability Plan". As part of the original COBRA legislation, any insurer has to offer a Portability Plan to anyone whose COBRA coverage has *expired*, as long as you apply within 30 days of expiry. There are no pre-existing conditions, and you don't have to go through underwriting, so you can't be denied. This is costly (my wife and I - both mid-50's with pre-existing issues - pay $2K/month), because you're in a high risk pool. Companies don't want to sell you that coverage, so they don't volunteer the info if you don't know it exists. Good luck.

    Keith

    0 Votes
  • Ro
      Jun 14, 2009

    I just saw a commercial for Cinergy health insurance here in New York. When I went to their website they don't even offer it in NY. Very Odd. So I searched for complaints against this company and found this website. Thank God. Its a shame that there are people out there waiting to prey on the need of something as essential as health insurance.
    The solution that I will be waiting for is Universal Health Care. Hopefully they will get something started soon. I wish and hope that people don't believe the negative rhetoric about Universal Care. They want it started so that people have a CHOICE for medical insurance coverage. If you want to keep getting nickeled and dimmed / ripped off - you can keep your private insurance company where there only concern is their profit margin. Nothing will be force on you. Universal care will not be substandard care. We will have access to the same doctors and hospitals as you would through private insurance. Remember majority of doctors were educated here in the U.S. You can get a terrible doctor from private insurance too. Universal Care Insurance will not have the expensive overhead or investors to pay first. That is why it will be more affordable not because they would offer substandard care. SUPPORT UNIVERSAL CARE HEALTH INSURANCE SO THAT WE HAVE A CHOICE.

    0 Votes

Post your comment