The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

Canadian Tire — Bike / no return/store credit

1 6203 Quinpool Road B3L 4P6Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada Review updated:
Contact information:
Phone: 902-422-4598

I purchased a 'supercycle burner ds' (Product# [protected]) from a canadian tire in halifax the second week of june of 2008. It was $199.99 at the time, I also purchase a helmet 'a schwinn wid artemis helmet' (Product# [protected]) at the price of $27.99.
Now I moved at the end of june to a new apartment and in the move I lost the origanal reciept. I did have the on tag the comes with the bike and unfortunatly didn't have the warrinty either.
Just 2 days after purchasing my bike I desided to ride it work (The purpose of the whole thing to same $$) and when I came off a side walk to the road the back black part that holds the chain and is attached to the rear wheel came off. Now I am not an aggressive biker by any means I baby my possesions very much. So the bike sat in my apartment of a month. I then moved and left the bike in my spare room in my new apartment.
I thought about trying to sell it-but came to a conclusion that I wouldn't get a good enough price for a broken bike.
My brother from alberta (A former canadian tire mechanic!!!) came down to visist me and told me that we could go and at the least get an in store credit for the bike and helmet.
So we took it to the canadian tire that I bought it at. First thing the girl at ustomer service asked us if we had the reicpt and I said 'no' and she came back with "well that's going to make it impossible" she then turned her back to us and tryed to get a hold of a manager. I found her extemely rude and that started my blood temp to get a tad warm. While she tried to comtact an on duty manager one came back from lunch. She told him what I had asked (About a instore credit) and he asked if a reciept was present and she told him no and n warrinty either. He told her (Didn't even try to comunicate with me or my brother) that there was nothing that they could do and that he was just finishing his lunch break!!
So I asked if I could speak to a different manger—one that maybe cared about the whole "custom service thing" and she continued to call the "manager" that had just came through the door from his break—he told her that he was busy and didn't have time to come and talk to me-and to call the bike department!!!
At this point I had become extremely pissed off by the shire service.

A manager from the sporting department came down and again told me that if I didn't have a recipt that there was nothing they could do for me!!! My brother argued that he work for canadian tire for a year as a macanic and he could break one of his tools and replace it without a reciept!!! And that the least they could do is give me an instore credit. The bike was a canadian tire product—sold no where else in the world—a product that was from there store!!!

My brother contiuned to say that the least they could do was find the lowest price of both the bike and helmet and give me an instore credit!!! He too refused... Saying that he couldn't do anything with out the reciept.

I have worked in customer serivce for over 7 years and my brother, mom and I have bought a great majority of items as well as numerous gift cards from canadian tire and the service has always been great. I will say that I have never ever ever been treated sooooooooooooooooo horribly and have never been told that there is absolutly noooooooooooo way that nothing can be done. Now I know that there are procedures that each company goes by... Bbbuuuuttt there is always something that comes up and some times the procedures can!! Be bent!!!

The service at the quinpool road location in halifax ns was the worst service that I have ever experienced in any place I have ever shopped in my life.
To say the least I ended up leaving the bike and the helmet in the line at customer service just to prove my point. I will also never ever purchase another item or gift card from any canadain tire ever again—that two goes for my mom and my very pissed of brother!!!

We will also spread the horrible experience to all we know and make sure that no one we know buys from that perticular location.

I am also on the hunt for the owner/ceo of that location to let them know what their managment team is doing and the totally awfull service (Lack there of) there are giving thier customers... So if anyone could help me with that I would be greatly appreciative.

Thanks for listening to my complaint

Leaha brochu

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Li
      28th of Jul, 2008
    0 Votes

    Leaha,

    I just read your comment regarding your experience at one of our stores. Sorry to hear that you weren't happy with the service you received. While I can't speak on the store's behalf, I am guessing that they were following our bike return policy which does not allow bikes to be returned if they have been removed from the store and ridden. Having said that, you should not leave feeling that you weren't treated in the way you would be expected to be treated. Our stores are independently owned and operated so I will forward your comments to the owner of the store and will also check to ensure the return policy is clearly posted.

    Hope you reconsider your decision about shopping at our store.

    Lisa

  • We
      30th of Jul, 2008
    0 Votes

    I can relate to your story, there caertainly needs to be better customer service! We are also going thru certain issues with our local C.T.C store and I don't think you should treat your customers sp badly, beacause bad news always travels faster than good news.

  • Ja
      31st of Jul, 2008
    +1 Votes

    I don't think you were treated rudely. Any person with some common sense would know if you purchased merchandise that would loose its value as soon as it leaves the store to keep the receipt. Duh. Any store or business can set out there own return policy. It is up to the consumer to protect themselves and ask the store what their return policy is. Don't assume all stores are the same. No company has to offer returns on any merchandise. Especially without a receipt.

  • Wo
      12th of Aug, 2008
    0 Votes

    You make it sound like your brother ran the place, he probably acted like it too. Just to let you know you can file for credit all you want for a broken tool without receipt and when the claim gets rejected your brother doesn't hear that because he is not the GM now is he. You really need to think things through like not being dumb and loosing the receipt.

  • He
      16th of Aug, 2008
    +1 Votes

    While it does seem like you got some rude people at that store, you have to understand that they're just following procedure. We're not allowed to give an in store credit without a receipt. They'll be out $100 because you didn't save the receipt.

    This part:

    "TO SAY THE LEAST I ENDED UP LEAVING THE BIKE AND THE HELMET IN THE LINE AT CUSTOMER SERVICE JUST TO PROVE MY POINT. I WILL ALSO NEVER EVER PURCHASE ANOTHER ITEM OR GIFT CARD FROM ANY CANADAIN TIRE EVER AGAIN----THAT TWO GOES FOR MY MOM AND MY VERY PISSED OF BROTHER!!!"

    Would have had me laughing for the rest of the day. "The fool even left her/his stuff here!". You proved nothing except you don't know how to keep your cool and that you can be a big baby. You lost the receipt, your problem. Definitely sucks but how do they know how long you've had the bike? They don't! You have no idea how many idiots come in throughout the day and say "Uh, I've only had this for like...a month and it uh...it doesn't work" and then you open whatever it is (let's pretend it's a drill) and it's dirty as hell and we haven't carried it in years. It's people like them who ruin it for everyone else.

    So in all, don't blame Canadian Tire, blame the idiots who ruin it for everyone!

  • Gi
      27th of Aug, 2008
    0 Votes

    Pretty much you sound like a spoiled brat. I have worked in the customer service industry for over 20 years and NO you are not justified for a refund for numerous reasons. Maybe you should (and I will type this in all caps so you can understand...) BLAME YOURSELF FOR NOT KEEPING THE RECEIPT, OR THE WARRANTY, ETC. ETC. TALK ABOUT MAKING EXCUSES AND BLAMING PEOPLE FOR YOUR OWN ERROR.

    SERIOUSLY, GET OFF YOUR HIGH HORSE - IT SOUNDS LIKE YOU NEED A REALITY CHECK AND BIG.

    I agree to the last person to post. If I had been working that day I too would have laughed my butt off at you leaving the bike to make a point! ROFL, yeah, some point you made - that you are nothing but a twit!!! *sigh* would have been good for a laugh!!!

  • Bu
      31st of Mar, 2009
    -1 Votes

    Well i just got back from that god awful store with a flat tire no road hazard tire 5 days old . you are right that store sucks. ill never buy there again and ill help spread the word on the no customer service .
    signed pissed in halifax

Post your comment