SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Canadian Health & Care Mall / Email Fraud

1 United States Review updated:
Contact information:

Approximately 3 - 4 months ago, everyone in my Yahoo Email Contact list received a message from me with no subject line. The only text in the body of the message was a link to an online pharmacy that called itself the Canadian Health & Care Mall. I had no knowledge of the emails sent out until a few of my contacts inquired with me about it. It happened again a few weeks later. I've since cleared out my contact list to ensure friends and family do not continue to receive these messages. I've confirmed that someone affiliated with this "company" has compromised my Yahoo email account because I received another message, but this time it only went to me because I left only myself in my contact list. However they're doing it, they're definitely scanning my contact list to send these emails.

I've read more online about this company since this started. I understand that they've scammed many people who placed orders expecting pharmaceutical products to be shipped to them. I never did (or attempted to do) business with this company; I never placed an order. I'd never eaven heard of this company until they compromised my email account.

I'd be interested in hearing from anyone else who may have experienced the same email issue with them that I'm having. I cannot risk putting contacts back in my email account until I've found a resolution to the issue.

Cb
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Ls
      Feb 08, 2010

    This also just happened to me! I reported it to Yahoo and did a scan on my PC. If anyone knows what else I should do or how this happened PLEASE help. I also deleted my contacts and Ii wil not now use Yahoo until I get feed back from them.

    0 Votes
  • Ah
      Feb 21, 2010

    Everyone in my Yahoo address got some bogus email about the Canadian Health & Care mall with my return address on it but it was sent under a name of Elizabeth Garcia. I only knew it happened because some one emailed me back asking me about it. How am I suppose to prevent this from happening again? How did this person gain access to my email address book? HELP!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ch
      Mar 03, 2010

    I am a doctorate level student and a fellow student sent me the link to the Canadian Health & Mall website. I automatically thought that it was a good link. Given the fact that no MOOD ALTERING DRUGS COULD BE PURCHASED on the website I wrongly believed it must have been a legitimate site. I ordered $255.00 worth of products and I just received the first of the three packages I should receive. I had ordered my 18 year old daughter birth control pills which were significantly cheaper than here in the US and I knew the brand name well. I received the order 21 days after having purchased it and though I guess I am more lucky than some in terms of actually getting a product I am now sitting with over 120 morning after pills that expired last year! Two more packages are due to arrive as well, one for skin care, Retinol, and something for an appetite suppressant. What is so shocking is that I did not even think to check the website out as it proudly displays CPA Approved, FDA Approved, VeraSign Secured and even the license for the Canadian Pharmacy. It all links up and it even links up to the US Postal service where one can track orders. I had no reason to think it was anything other than what it was. Beware. It is a completely dangerous and fraudulent website. Even if you receive a product make very sure it is exactly what you ordered! It could be dangerous to assume you received what you ordered.

    Charlie Williams

    0 Votes
  • Ch
      Mar 03, 2010

    Also the company is not from Canada it is from India.

    0 Votes
  • Zz
      Mar 03, 2010

    I received an email from someone I know on without any subject title as well. The link suggested that it was hosted on the sites.google (free web hosting from google). Unfortunately, I clicked on it and did some browsing, not realizing that it is a fraudulant site. I noticed that google translator was on suggesting that it has been translated to English from Russian. Now, I am afraid that it may have compromised my account and steal info./addresses.. does anyone know what should I do..?

    0 Votes
  • Ad
      Mar 11, 2010

    They have stolen my daughter's e-mail address and are using it to send out the spam to people on her contact list including me.
    They hijack domain names and tag on their own fake web site.
    Follow this link to find out more about these frauds;
    http://spamtrackers.eu/wiki/index.php/Canadian_Health&Care_Mall

    0 Votes
  • Ca
      Mar 14, 2010

    Same dealio here, everyone in my hotmail account has been getting them. Which is odd, because I've never been to this website before. I almost want to say Better Business Bureau, but are they actually a business?

    0 Votes
  • Gr
      Mar 23, 2010

    This just happened to me two days ago! If someone has dealt successfully with this problem, can you please tell me if I should just cancel that email account or if there's some program installed on my computer? Are they going to keep doing this? This is so frustrating...

    0 Votes
  • Do
      Mar 24, 2010

    This site has done the email contact stealing to me as well. I have never been to this site, but they somehow got into my hotmail account and are sending out links to their site from my hotmail address to all my contacts. I have emailed the company twice to complain with no reply. I would love to know what to do to stop this.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
      Mar 24, 2010

    This happened to me 2 days ago. I have never been to this site and they are now e-mailing all of my my contacts spam. I have deleted all of my contacts but dont know how to get off of there stupid mailing list. PLEEEEEESE HELP ME GET RID OF THEM.

    0 Votes
  • Ti
      Apr 03, 2010

    They have now moved on to AOL.com. This morning I got an email from someone I know
    with whom I've exchanged a lot of emails lately. The subject was "I know how to save your
    family!".

    No message, just a link http://theinstruments-corp.com/index/index.html
    which leads to the Canadian health site.

    I sent the info to [protected]@aol.com (AOL Abuse) as well as to the contact link
    at the Canadian Health site (for whatever that could be worth).

    The IP address is 188.24.165.110 although loading that produces nothing.

    0 Votes
  • Cu
      Apr 05, 2010

    This just happened to me too. I found out b/c I had a few that were undeliverable. The subject line on mine was- masaie robert. I erased my contacts too, but also wonder if there is a program stored somewhere that should be erased. I wonder if they are going to compromise my aol account too, or if they just choose randomly. I have been looking but I want to find out more about this company. If anyone has an info I would appreciate it if you would post it here, or send me an e-mail to [protected]@hotmail.com. I think we should send tons of messages back to the names from other subject lines, just to bug them. Thanks for any info and hopefully we can stop these guys.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
      Apr 11, 2010

    nothing you can do that I am aware of. Once they have those email addresses they will keep using them. You can close you account, change password, or what ever you want to try. The problem is your email addresses are in their systems now and email is being sent by them, not through your aol or whatever account but from their google account. Google shuts down their IP address, but these spammers have 1000s of accounts on google and ips addresses. Just a bunch of scammers that have outsmarted the system.

    0 Votes
  • Hn
      Apr 13, 2010

    Yeah this just happened to me in the past few days. I have a hotmail account and i cant get rid of them. Any remedy to contact them or to delete them? Someone should figure out a way to send a virus back to them..

    0 Votes
  • La
      Apr 13, 2010

    OMG THIS IS JUST HAPPENING TO ME NOW TOO!!!
    WHAT DO I HAVE TO DO TO ELIMINATE THIS PROBLEM?? I ALREADY SENT THEM A NASTY EMAIL ON THEIR WEBSITE UNDER THEIR ANTI-SPAM LINK AND THE CONTACT US LINK.
    WHAT ELSE CAN I DO, OTHER THAN WRITE TO EVERYONE WHO IT GETS SENT TO THAT I DIDNT VOLUNTARILY DO IT. OMG IM SO MADDDD!!

    0 Votes
  • Gi
      Apr 17, 2010

    same thing here. This virus/malware is sending spam via aol and in my case the emails show up in the outbox so they do originate from my machine. I need help!

    +1 Votes
  • Cl
      May 11, 2010

    For years, and especially more so since about 2006, there has been a major surge in emailed spam for so-called 'Canadian Pharmacies'. According to reports, this has also caused significant harm to the legitimate pharmacies in Canada according to their industry associations.

    Several gangs exist, primarily Yambo Financials, and a Russia-based gang that is headed by Leo Kuvayev and Alex Polyakov, and possibly other gangs. Leo Kuvayev was arrested in the United States and while awaiting trial on charges of selling prescription drugs online, made bail and upon release from jail, left the country and soon was sending large quantities of email spam for pharmaceuticals, largely prescription drugs.

    One can tell these sites from legitimate pharmacies, due to domain naming techniques employed by the spammers. One gang uses domains with two words run together, such as prizechange, always followed by .com, and the other uses seemingly nonesense words, like qiyidevoh, always followed by .cn (domain extension for China). Most of the sites look very similar, although at times there are differences, or new versions of the pages appear.

    Most of the offerings of the spam gang sites are for drugs like Viagra, Cialis, or opioid painkillers like Vicodin or Oxycontin. However for the most part the pills shipped are either very low strength, having been made from full-strength pills that were 'cut', or are nothing more than placebos with no actual drug content in them, thus adding to the damage, and the dangers, of purchasing from these sites.

    These companies are attempting to get your personal and credit card information. Do not answer these emails. Do not place an order with them.

    +1 Votes
  • Aq
      Jun 14, 2010

    This has happened to my hotmail account. I too have supposedly sent emails...not once...but twice (even after changing my password). I have threatened them with my lawyers, especially since this is my business email and it sure looks wonderful when my contacts open these emails...simply cause they trust me. I will post if I get anywhere with this company. If not, I'll call Canadian authorities and let them deal with the problem since it's their country. Anyways...if anyone has a clue as to how to get them out of my computer I would appreciate any help

    0 Votes
  • Cy
      Jun 19, 2010

    This also happened to me as well.. my email has been used to send the link to my contacts... This is very irritating. Therefore I will report to the better business bereau.. hopefully it will help in some ways or another... perhaps even notify the news about it.. we'll see..

    0 Votes
  • Ch
      Jun 26, 2010

    I went to my AOL mail box today and found 32 returned messages with several addresses in each e-mail.

    Looks like I need to correct my address book - but never-the-less:
    The Canadian Health & Care Mall had sent out an e-mail to my entire address book. No subject in the Subject Line and a link to their web site in the body of the e-mail and that was all. First thing you see was an ad for Viagra.

    I haven't copied the link information but will get it if anyone can help me with this scam.

    I don't know what to do without my address book. I see some have deleted theirs.

    Charla

    0 Votes
  • Wi
      Jul 10, 2010

    My database was emailed this same link. I use a Mac, so this whole spam/ virus/ hacking thing is brand new to me. Some suggestions:

    1) YOUR COMPUTER WAS NOT HACKED. They hacked your online email database with whatever server you use (Yahoo, Hotmail) NOT your computer. So...

    2) DELETE ALL CONTACTS IN YOUR ONLINE SERVER. I emailed my brother to apologize for the spam viagra link and he said he never got it. Sure enough, I never saved his email to my YAHOO account - online, even though I have his email, in my Address Book in my computer.

    3) CHANGE YOUR ONLINE PASSWORD AND "MACMAIL" PASSWORD. USE THE SAME PASSWORD FOR BOTH. I dont know how PC works. My online account is linked to my MacMail. When I click on MacMail, my in-box fills with whatever is in my online Yahoo account. Change your online password AND change your "mail" password, ie whatever you use in your computer to manage and store emails - in my case - MacMail

    0 Votes
  • Br
      Aug 26, 2010

    I am in the same situation. My contacts list has been stolen from me and my name used. This is a form of identity theft and is punishable by imprisonment in England. Why can yahoo and msn hotmail not put a stop to these adverts, clearly the perpetrators will do nothing about it. This firm is claiming certification by Canadian Pharmaceuticals...I have contacted them to have the certification removed from this dodgy company...can anybody suggest any other means of stopping this?
    Bryan Robinson

    0 Votes
  • Gg
      Aug 27, 2010

    this company is made of bottom feeders.the damage they have done to my business and reputation may never be known.many of my contacts have now put me on their refuse mail list.they ruin my life to sell a few pills.where are our companys[yahoo aol att ect]in prosecuting these actions. stop it now before they do more damage

    0 Votes
  • Ma
      Aug 31, 2010

    I TOO AM HAVING EXACTLY THE SAME PROBLEM!

    0 Votes
  • Tl
      Sep 08, 2010

    omg i just got an email from my sister with no subject just a web address that says http://pakinisu.tripod.com so when i went to it, it brought me to this health and care mall which i thought was interesting how everything was cheap. I called her to see where she found it at and she had no clue what i was talkin about, thats when i started searching and found these other complaints. Hopefully someone has the power to shut these people down & put an end to all of this. 9/8/2010

    0 Votes
  • Ch
      Sep 09, 2010

    Same thing happened to my aol email account. I changed my password and purged my contact list. This company should be stopped. Email addresses are private property and when combined can cause numerous problems. People do not need to know who you communicate with.

    0 Votes
  • Ho
      Sep 15, 2010

    I regret having to tell you, this has been going on for at least two years in both Canada and the USA ! Not sure why it can not be stopped, but, I am going to contac our local police department better known as the RCMP. Apparently, they do want to hear about his stuff, but, for the moment, the RCMP is busy covering their butts for things that would make you sick to your stomach1

    0 Votes
  • Cd
      Sep 19, 2010

    I'm yet another victim of this, and have no idea how they got my email or my contacts. I have changed my Yahoo password, but I'm not sure deleting my Contacts is the remedy when, as "Chuck screwed by spammer" said, they have those contacts now and they will use their own email now to spam those they already hit before. I can only hope that by changing my password that they cannot get any more of my contacts.

    0 Votes
  • Uc
      Sep 20, 2010

    this has happened to me as well - people on my contacts list know my other contacts - I have even had job recruiters sent this email - I am so angry - what can we do?

    0 Votes
  • Il
      Sep 25, 2010

    On September 24, 2010, they hacked my yahoo email contacts, sent 760 emails with ONLY a link in it that had a virus in it. I have never heard of this company, never ordered anything, etc. I did report it to Yahoo and posted a warning on my facebook page. Let me know if I can do anything else--I would love for them to get caught! Since it was ED products, it was really embarassing for me:(

    0 Votes
  • Ge
      Sep 25, 2010

    How can I stop the Co from using my friends e mail to send me the crap

    0 Votes
  • Je
      Sep 25, 2010

    me too, this is the second time, that i'm aware of...WTF! yeah and the only reason i found out was because of a message failure notice...this is very irritating...i don't know what to do, i guess i will just have to delete my contact list, but since they already have the information, can't they just keep doing it? IDK, sucks...

    +1 Votes
  • Il
      Sep 25, 2010

    @Jessiechick1--They got760 of my contacts. If you will review the emails they and look at the last one and the first one you can figure out which email accounts they stole and sent the message to. Also, you might want to be aware of any emails you get from the emails they stole. I didn't chnge my contact list, but I did check other emails I have used and they also got some (10) of my contacts from Gmail. Hope this helps--I heard back from the fraud and abuse report I filed with Yahoo and they called it a worm--they spread the virus this way...ugh!

    0 Votes
  • Vi
      Sep 27, 2010

    28 Days ago by vickurs Canadian Health &care Mall got me for $94.90 and they should be exposed on Twitter, and Facebook and meany outlet.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
      Sep 27, 2010

    This happened to me two days ago. This is what I did to fix the problem:

    1. Scan your computer with a good antivirus software. NO AVG!!! Get something like NO32. This is better than Northon or Macafee.

    2. Change the password of your e-mail account. Change it compleately(this means that your old password connot be similar to your new password), don't add a number at the and. Your new password must have at least 1 capital letter, five characters and at least one number. Double check the secret questions and change them.

    3. Apologize to all your contacts and explain what happened. Advice them to delete all the messaged they received from you.

    4. Stay away from public computers.

    Note: Cyber-criminals are unique from the rest of criminals, they are very smart. Choose a HARD TO GUESS password and easy to remember.

    +1 Votes
  • Jo
      Sep 27, 2010

    Correction: (I misspelled the antivirus name)

    The antivirus I recomend is NOD32 by eset. I work at Micro Center in Rockville MD and this the best antivirust software we sell.

    +1 Votes
  • Tx
      Sep 27, 2010

    Happened to me too. Emails sent on Sunday night to all my contacts, 6 or 7 contacts at a time. Hotmail acct used. MAD!!

    0 Votes
  • No
      Sep 28, 2010

    It looks like a bunch of Indian hackers, abusing 'open' hotmail and yahoo - type email accounts to pass on a 'buy this healthcare stuff' message, as if from a friend! Mine came from a e-chum who is a physical therapist in the US, and so I ordered...
    When the stuff arrived (yes - it was slow but it did come) it had been despatched from three different Indian pharmacy shops and was basically generic, home-made copies of "normal" medicine. Tried one pill and it seemed OK, so fingers crossed! But not to be recommended unless you do have a small amount of faith in Indian pharmacies. A lot of the stuff is herbal medicine.
    The real danger is, of course, to your credit card. As soon as I realised it was a scam, I explained to my c. c. company what had happened and insisted that they change the c.c. number and issue a new card with a new security code refusing any further authorization on the old card and number. That means that there can be no sell-on of my secure c.c. details for subsequent fraudulent transactions, reducing the hacker's profit. Their websites disappear every few days...
    Obviously, what these hackers had done was illegal and fraudulent misrepresentation. That means one can cancel or void any transaction and usually obtain the c.c. company's support in denying payment. But the stuff they supply IS cheap and, if you need or want it and it works...

    0 Votes
  • Ca
      Sep 30, 2010

    Same thing happened to me. I read somewhere in another forum that one way to stop it is to follow the link to the address and find out where you can email them. Once you find the email you can email them and tell them to take you off their list. It would probably also help to threaten to ruin their reputation (even though it already is) with [redacted].com and Better Business Bureau. I was scammed by a gym a while back and threated them with that stuff and they gave me all my money back. Also I found on their website a way to report spam from your email. I 'm not sure if any of this will work but if it does I would be sure to post back here when they respond. If anyone else figure something out I would love to hear. I'd really love to not have to create a whole new email account...

    0 Votes
  • Ca
      Oct 01, 2010

    This is also is happening to me right now and sending mass emails to everyone on my email contacts list. How do you stop these Canadian Healthcare Mall emails? I don't even know how they got my email. I have a sbc.global account.

    0 Votes

Post your comment