The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

Blue Bay Club Cancun Mexico / Timeshare rip off

1 United States Review updated:

The Bluebay Club used very high pressure & deceptive means to convince me to sign a contract to buy one of their timeshares. The contact is clear that if I cancel within 5 days I will be refunded and money I paid to them.

I promptly canceled this contract with the Blue Bay club on the 4th day of the contract by sending them an e-mail to their customer service e-mail that they provided to me with the contract. I never received a response. In addition, on the 5th day of the contract I sent a letter canceling the contract registered mail to their Mexico address and a certified mail letter to their California, USA address. Still absolutely no response.

In addition to this, they charged my credit card $500 over the agreed deposit amount.

I sent them numerous letters after this and still they refuse to respond.

Mexican Law states that they must refund my money if I cancel within 5 days of the contract which I did, but they still refuse to even acknowledge.

I also have received e-mails from the Blue Bay Club customer service trying to sell me additional vacations. I have replied to their e-mails explaining the situation with them ignoring my demands for them to refund my deposit for the time share & return my money. Again they do not reply.

If anyone that reads this is smart they will not go to any of the Blue Bay resorts at all ever. They aren't that nice anyway and they are in business to rip Americans, British & Europeans off.

I will continue to fight to get my money back, and will continue to register complaints every place that I can find until they refund all of my money!

Li
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Ju
      12th of Jun, 2008
    0 Votes

    This is a scam going on with many of the resorts in Mexico and something needs to be done to stop this sort of thing.

    Blue Bay did the same thing to me and it is over 2 years now and I am still fighting to get my money back!

    Profeco in Mexico is extremly slow and has not been much help at all.

  • Fr
      31st of Jan, 2009
    0 Votes

    The Blue Bay is in bed with RCI, we bought points over a 25 year period, this means millions of RCI points for hotels, in 2008 they put a restriction of 60, 000 Blue Bay points can be transferred to RCI per year...OMG, we will never beable to redeem our points, we are stuckd in the GD Blue Bay Club.

    I only signed the contract, so I could use the vast resources of RCI; this is a real mess and I too am going to keep logging complaints...

  • Sb
      23rd of Jan, 2017
    0 Votes

    @Fred Johnston Have you made any progress on this?

  • Fr
      31st of Jan, 2009
    0 Votes

    Blue Bay and RCI - rip off members;
    You contract for hundreds of Blue Bay nights, told you can transfer to millions of RCI points; then in 2008 they put a restriction of 60, 000 points per year...we will never get to use all our points - pure rip off by RCI and Blue Bay.

    I had thought RCI was a more respected US company, and to allow this Mexican-typical rip-off is really unacceptable. Shame on you RCI, all your membership should be told of how you deal with others.

  • Ri
      12th of Mar, 2009
    0 Votes

    Has any one seen this? Richard Kennedy Woodbury MN rmk1011@msn.com

    The following is an e-mail sent to you by an administrator of "Premier byOriginal Resorts: Desire Resort & Temptation Resort Timeshare Scam, Cancun". If this message is spam, contains abusive or other comments youfind offensive please contact the webmaster of the board at the followingaddress: premiertruth@hotmail.com Include this full e-mail (particularly the headers). Message sent to you follows:~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ Hello everyone! If youve not logged in lately, we're taking a groupinitiative to get PROFECO to finally pay attention. PROFECO is the consumerprotection group in Mexico, and has a lot of influence over the hotel. Ourpleas have trickled in and gone ignored... tomorrow we want them to pour in- in a show of solidarity and persistence. It's our understanding each complaint must be addressed in person byPremier. If PROFECO sees a pattern or an abundance of complaints, then morepressure is put on the resort to refund the money or honor the contract.You can see where receiving 150 complaints in one day could work in ourfavor. TOMORROW, WEDNESDAY, MARCH 11, Please send the following email toextranjeros@profeco.gob.mx - IN THE SUBJECT, PLACE YOUR LAST NAME, CONTRACT NUMBER, AND "COMPLAINT, PREMIER BY ORIGINAL RESORTS (BLUE BAY).CUT AND PASTE THE EMAIL BELOW. PLEASE BE SURE TO LOOK IN THE BODY OF THE EMAIL...YOU WILL NEED TO ADDDETAILS SUCH AS YOUR CONTRACT NUMBER, PURCHASE AMOUNT, AND DATE OFPURCHASE. By doing this, you are filing an official complaint which Premier will beforced to acknowledge in person or pay a fee. This act also calls so muchattention to our issue that PROFECO may demand satisfaction on our behalf. Good luck! ------------------------------------------------------------------ Lic. Wendy ArroyoDepartment of Conciliation Services for Foreign ResidentsFederal Office of Consumers Affairs (PROFECO)Av. Jose Vasconcelos no. 208, 6º. pisoCol. Condesa. Del. CuauhtémocC.P. 06140, México, D.F.E-mail: extranjeros@profeco.gob.mxTelephone: +52 (55) 52111723 Fax: +52 (55) 56256633 I would like to file a formal complaint against Premier by Original ResortsFormerly known as Blue Bay Premier for failure to comply with a writtencontract. Contact Information:Blue Bay Getaway: Blvd. Kukulcam Km 3.5 Zona Hotelera, Cancun, Q. Roo, Mexico Blue Bay Club and Marina: Carretera a Puerto Juarez – Punta Sam, Km. 1.5Salón Hacienda, Cancún, Q. Roo, México C.P. 77510 Toll Free numbers:USA: 1-877-4648641Canada: 1-866-8129055Mexico: 1-800-5093040Tel: 52 (998) 881 7900 ext. 7090 to 7094 Fax: 52 998 881 79 00 ext. 7042 YOUR NAME:YOUR CONTRACT NUMBER:PURCHASE PRICE:PURCHASE DATE: FIRSTLY, we were co-horsed into these contracts, told by Premier that agroup called SECOFI enforced consumer laws which meant we had to make adecision THAT day. We understand now that SECOFI has not existed for sometime - and even if it still did - it had nothing to do with forcingperspective timeshare owners to make a decision that day. Additionally, the following are CLEAR violations of the Premier contracts -which according to the contract itself, entitle us to refunds, plus 10% ofthe contract value. Seventh Clause: All-Inclusive PackagePremier membership services at each resort do not honor all the membershipbenefits are listed in contract. Eight Clause: Fluctuation of Pre-Paid All-Inclusive and All-inclusive Fees.Premier membership service’s does not notify its members in December ofevery year of the effective rate changes for the following year. This canonly be obtained by the member calling or emailing membership services. Premier has also increased the all-inclusive rates to its members in excessof the direct proportion of that of the national index of pricingreferenced in this clause. Premier has raised the Rates to Desire Resort and Spa as follows between2007 and 2009. Below are two examples of the rate increases that exceed thecontract terminology as stated in this clause. January 2007 – April 2007 rate for 2 adults = $260January 2009 – April 2009 rates for 2 adults = $510This is a rate increase of 196% in two years. May 1, 2007 – July 31, 2007 2 adults per night = $240May 01, 2009 to Jul 31, 2009 2 adults per night = $430This is a rate increase of 176% in two years Tenth Clause: Place of Payment for the Pre-Paid All inclusive and theAll-inclusive Fee.The Member commits itself to make the payment of the Pre-Paid all inclusivefee to the vendor and the all inclusive fee to the operator so that he canmake use of the room or hotel unit and enjoy the ALL INCLUSIVE PACKAGE.• The Hotel does not honor the entire ALL INCLUSIVE PACKAGE when theyexclude amenities benefits for specific resorts. Twelfth Clause: Guaranteed Reservations.Premier guarantees rooms for reservations made 120 days in advance. Theguarantee is only if there are rooms available even when members requestdates 6 months in advance. Fifteenth Clause: Conflict between This contract and the By-LawsPremier fails to honor there own contract even when terms are clearlywritten. When members produce there contract to membership services to showwhat is not being honored no one will address the issue and you are askedto leave the membership service area. They claim they can not help you anddo not know what you’re talking about. Twenty-Fourth Clause: Cancelation of the Membership for Cause attributed tothe operator.Premier violates there membership by not offering all benefits regardlessof which resort members are staying. When asked to terminate the contractand reimburse our money due to non-fulfillment of the contract Membershipservices refused to buy back our remaining contract or listen tocomplaints. Twenty Fifth Clause: Liquidated damagesPremier contracts indicate that if they breech there contract the member isentitled to be reimbursed the amount of the membership plus 10%. Premier isnot honoring this clause when clearly violating there contract and requestsare made to reimburse. Premier is also refusing to terminate the contracts after 5 days withoutbreech and return 50% of the membership fee paid to terminate the contract. Twenty sixth Clause: Procedure for the Cancellation of the membership withno responsibility for any of the parties hereto.Premier refuses to terminate contracts and reimburse the member 50% of thecontract fee. The will not take back any contracts for any reason. Annex “B” Internal By-Laws:Article Five – All Inclusive Fees. The Vendorshall inform the Member in WRITING the fees effective for each year andrelated season in September of each year.• Premier Membership services does not send out in writing the rates toeach club to its members at any time. You will not be given membership rateinformation unless you call or email membership services. I formally demand a full refund of my contract plus 10% (as stated withinthe contract).

  • Sn
      2nd of Apr, 2009
    0 Votes

    Wish I could sell what I have for what ever I could get for it

  • Sh
      10th of Apr, 2009
    0 Votes

    My Wife and I purchased a timeshare at the Blue Blay Club in Cancun, Mexico. We purchased 8 million RCI points along with 9 bonus weeks at the resort (that could be changed into differing rooms according to luxury. For example 2 weeks could also = 1 week in a suite.) We were promised and shown luxurious rooms that later we learned required 8 people in our party in order to book, but we found that this difference in communication with the Club and RCI was just one of many to come. For the first 3 years we've been allowed to use points for airfare, car rentals, hotel, and resort bookings. These were unlimited. In fact, we told the salesman at the time that we wanted to purchase the most points possible because our families lived far away, in different states, and this would be our main use for the points. The salesman and the "top manager" from the club stated "This will be perfect for you!" Now we've learned that RCI has restricted our points to 60, 000 per year for every kind of use but resorts. This amount will only buy a round trip ticket from L.A. to San Francisco! We can't spend the amount of points we've purchased on resorts only even if we vacationed now at a rate of 365 days per year, for the rest of our lives! We could have saved 1/2 the cost of our timeshare because we can't use the other half (the points part) that's restricted. Every time we turn around we're dinged with fees particular to RCI or Club members only. For example, we'll be going to Tahiti in August and only RCI/ club members are charged a weekly electrity fee of $200 at this hotel. Anyone else booking there is not charged this fee, but its "included in their cost" according to RCI. We are also charged a $189 per week reservation fee, besides our resort booking fee. We are going with another couple, making our vacation a total of five weeks. This charges a total of $2, 070 just for our hotel fees/ stay! What was our $35, 000 purchase for? That $2, 070 doesn't include airfare, all the fees we constantly are getting dinged for throughout the year, and the fees from our club. These fees keep rising. So far this year we've spent $700 in dues without even using anything yet! Pretty soon we'll be charged a "clean towels in your room fee" and a "water fee" each time the toilet's used! We've contacted a lawyer and because of the vagueness of the contract RCI and the Club seem to have all the advantage. I feel like I'll soon be saying, "But I didn't see in the contract that I signed, RCI's right to stick their hands in my bank account and take out any money they want, " and their answer will be: "Well, the contract never said that we couldn't..." How can these companies take advantage of so many hardworking people and get away with it? These companies have been able to deceive through much of what they don't have to disclose. Sure they stated in the contract that they have the right to restrict points. Boy, hind site is 20/20 now! Wish we knew exactly what that meant when we'd read it and heard it explained. At the time this sounded less restrictive, and to our advantage in how things were explained: "The value of the points will never change" we were assured. But they've found other ways to increase costs and follow through on their contracts weasely ways, while keeping their silly promises. Instead of a vacation being a relaxing and enjoyable experience it's a hassle and a headache everytime we try even to make the simplest phone call. If anyone takes serious action against these companies we are interested in being involved. edandemily@sbcglobal.net

    Not only have we lost much of the $35, 000 that we've put in, but at this rate we'll be spending another $17, 500 in dues alone over the life of our contract. This is before even making a reservation... more fees!

  • Ao
      15th of Jul, 2009
    0 Votes

    I received a call on Monday evening from Dr Ken Barton who has agreed to be the Lead Plantiff in a suit against RCI with the NJ law firm that has already sued RCI (and won) before. He is looking for others who wish to join him...I will be part of it. They are not looking for money upfront though we do have to send Dr Barton a letter stating that if (and he feels that it is a miniscule chance) the suit is lost and if the court should make us pay legal fees, that we would agree to split the costs. He feels that there will be around 24 members to the suit...I told him that there are alot more looking for help.

    His tel # 732-757-1821. His home tel (and fax #) 732-566-2803. His address is 836 Highway 34, Matawan, NJ 07747.

    Feel free to contact me with questions. Angieaocdavis

    Posts: 4
    Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2009 9:33 pm
    Private message

  • An
      10th of May, 2012
    0 Votes

    Has anyone managed to get at least some of their money back from Bluebay (Sea Adventure resort).
    We are still stuck with the 250 bluebay nites we were originally sold with loads of promises about air fares being covered by points etc which wasn't true before the restriction & sure isn't possible now.
    UK

  • Sb
      23rd of Jan, 2017
    0 Votes

    @Antheag Have you made any progress on this? Or at least been able to use the points you purchased by transferring them to RCI?

  • Hu
      28th of May, 2013
    0 Votes

    7º Aniversario = 70% de Descuento en nuestros honorarios

    Más de 2, 000 ex propietarios coinciden que es mejor…

    “Un final con Dolor, que un Dolor SIN Fin”

    Si ya está listo ¡ Llámenos !

    Somos especialistas en desvincular a los Socios engañados de sus Clubes de Tiempo Compartido

    + info: 01 555 536-6997 * LADA sin costo: 01 800 558-8639 * www.hlmexico.com.mx

  • Eu
      16th of Nov, 2014
    0 Votes

    Salespeople offer clients false promises of discounts on airfares, cruises, car rentals etc. http://timesharescam.com/

Post your comment