The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

Ashley Furniture in Frisco / terrible service!

1 7780 State Hwy. 121Frisco, United States Review updated:
Contact information:
Phone: 214-705-1244

This is my first experience with Ashley Furniture. I visited and purchased a dining room set on August, 26, 2007. At the time of my visit the salesman, had the contract drawn up... when it was completed, he said there is no need to read all of that I'll tell you what it says and where to initial. I should have read the contract because what he failed to tell me was there is a NO RETURN/REFUND policy. The dining room set was delivered on 9/7/07 and I inspected it for scratches and saw none... immediately after the delivery guys left, I noticed that there was a gap between the ends of the table and the middle section on both sides of the table... I immediately called Ashley (only 15-30 minutes after delivery), that was when I learned they had a no return policy. I was told that a technician would be sent out to determine if my brand new table which I paid $744.22 could be REPAIRED. In the meantime after closer examination of the table, one of the end sections was stained a different color.

Two weeks after delivery the technician came out determined that the stain is called "green wood" (I think) and that the gaps could not be repaired. At that time I told him I wanted a new table that I didn't pay for a repaired table. He noted my comment on his paperwork (I failed to get a copy of it).

9/26 - Ashley's called said they had received the technicians report and a new table top had been ordered and it was take 7-10 days for it to arrive.

Since 9/26/07, I've taken off from work on 2 different occasions to meet Ashley's delivery guys and both time the table top had the same problems and I refused the delivery. On two other occasions, Ashley's has called to say another table top was ready for delivery and had to call back and cancel the delivery because both of those table tops are damaged. I hear from Ashley's furniture more than I do from friends and family. I will never purchase anythings from Ashley's again and I tell everyone I know not to purchase from their store. At the time of this writing it is November 24, 2007 and I still do not have a suitable dining room set. Today, I will file a complaint with the BBB.

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Em
      2nd of Dec, 2007
    0 Votes

    I really hate that there is no RETURN/REFUND policy in Ashley's Furniture Homestore. It is just ridiculous. I purchased a soft & a loveseat from Ashely Furniture. It was just delievered yesterday, and it was way to big for our livingroom (i mean it can fit in it, but it looks soooo unporpotional. it's hidious) and so right away, i went to the Ashely's. And they were like "oh i'm sorry we don't have a return policy, call the customr service". i really want my money back and i want to get rid of the sofa/loveseat out of my new livingroom! What can i do?

  • As
      4th of Dec, 2007
    0 Votes

    Ashley Furniture HomeStores has offered Ms. Lowry a refund of her delivery fee and to deliver a replacement table. We will work to find a time and date mutually convenient for both parties and inspect the table throughly before delivery.

  • Te
      11th of Dec, 2007
    0 Votes

    I was never informed that Ashley Furniture Store had a NO RETURN/REFUND POLICY. The Sale Rep should inform the customers about the return/refund policy. I can remember asking about the merchandise and the return policy. I was informed by my sales rep that if I have a problem to just contact him and he will see that the problem will be corrected. Will you know that a lie. My sales rep have yet to return any of my phone call. Everything about Ashley Furniture Store and its employee works on false lies.

    I filled this report today 12/11/07 with the Better Business Bureau.

    Problem/Delivery Date: 12/11/07 @ 4:50 p.m. among many before today's date. Purchase Date: 11/05/2007, Model #: D396-15, Payment amount, Payment amount $744.76, Bankcard Full Payment. I purchased a Dinning Room Set on the date listed above. This complaint has nothing to do with the Sale Rep. My complaint is with Delivery and Customer Service. I had to have them to change out two table top and the third one that was delivered today is also damaged. The glass top is coming from the manufacture damaged. On today I informed the delivery drivers that the glass top was damaged and I ask them to take it back and they said they will have to leave the table top with me since the damage is a manufacture problem and that I had to follow the instructions on the bottom of the invoice and that he (one of the drivers, the younger one) were going to contact Customer Service to inform them of the damaged table top. In making sure that the problem was report within 24 hours. I contacted customer service myself and I was informed that since I accepted the table top into my home, that they will have to send out a service rep to inspect the problem. The sad part of the problem is that the drivers refused to take the table back. I listed on the invoice myself that the glass was DAMAGED!!

    My problem is the inconvenience that is upon me. I stood home today (12/11/07) waiting on delivery, now they are telling me that they need to send a service rep out to inspect the problem on Tuesday, 12/18/07 (no time provided to me at this time, I have to wait until Monday, 12/17/07 to get a time on when he can come out). Now I have to take off from work on Tuesday for the Service Rep. After the Service Rep come out and see that the problem can not be fixed. I will have to take off when they replace the table top that is currently sitting in my home. My problem is the time I'm missing from work without pay. I feel they should have just taken the table top back, inspect it and order another one.

    Please allow me to inform you that the merchandise is not being inspected before it leaves Ashley's Furniture Store Warehouse. Each time they've brought the table top to my home, the box was cut open right in front of me.

    Upon speaking with Marsha in Customer Service on 12/11/07 at 4:53 p.m. right after the delivery drivers left my home. She refused to re-order another table top and strongly stated that a Service Rep need to come to my home. I asked about returning the entire merchandise back. Ms. Marsha informed me that I was stuck with the merchandise and that they were no return policy once the merchandise enter my home. It is well aware that I have been have problems with the each glass top that has enter my home. The first problem was a piece of inbedded inside the glass and the second glass top was glue inbedded inside the glass and with the third glass top that is sitting in my home also has glue inbedded inside the glass. I requested to speak with a manager, she sent the call to Amy Torres voicemail at 5:05 p.m. I left a message with Ms. Torres and yes, she returned my call at 6:05 p.m. She also stated that in order for them to correct the problem that Service Rep needs to come out. I asked/requested that they send the delivery drivers back out to get the table since they refused to take it back and they can have the Service Rep to inspect the table top at the warehouse. Again, I am held responsible for them (delivery drivers) not taking it back. She stated no that the service rep need to come to my house.
    After the Service Rep finds that the problem can not be corrected that he will inform them to re-order me another table top.

    Bottom line is that I would like to have a full refund back and not deal with Ashley Furniture Store anymore. Its like they take your money and you (as the customer) are not a value customer anymore. You become ### to them. Excuse my French. Your assistance to this problem will truly be appreciated. Thanking you in advance.

  • Te
      11th of Dec, 2007
    0 Votes

    Correction to the above statement. I STRONGLY AGREE!!

    I was never informed that Ashley Furniture Store had a NO RETURN/REFUND POLICY. The Sale Rep should inform the customers about the return/refund policy. I can remember asking about the merchandise and the return policy. I was informed by my sales rep that if I have a problem to just contact him and he will see that the problem will be corrected. Will you know that a lie. My sales rep have yet to return any of my phone call. Everything about Ashley Furniture Store and its employee works on false lies.

    I filled this report today 12/11/07 with the Better Business Bureau.

    Problem/Delivery Date: 12/11/07 @ 4:50 p.m. among many before today's date. Purchase Date: 11/05/2007, Model #: D396-15, Payment amount, Payment amount $744.76, Bankcard Full Payment. I purchased a Dinning Room Set on the date listed above. This complaint has nothing to do with the Sale Rep. My complaint is with Delivery and Customer Service. I had to have them to change out two table top and the third one that was delivered today is also damaged. The glass top is coming from the manufacture damaged. On today I informed the delivery drivers that the glass top was damaged and I ask them to take it back and they said they will have to leave the table top with me since the damage is a manufacture problem and that I had to follow the instructions on the bottom of the invoice and that he (one of the drivers, the younger one) were going to contact Customer Service to inform them of the damaged table top. In making sure that the problem was report within 24 hours. I contacted customer service myself and I was informed that since I accepted the table top into my home, that they will have to send out a service rep to inspect the problem. The sad part of the problem is that the drivers refused to take the table back. I listed on the invoice myself that the glass was DAMAGED!!

    My problem is the inconvenience that is upon me. I stood home today (12/11/07) waiting on delivery, now they are telling me that they need to send a service rep out to inspect the problem on Tuesday, 12/18/07 (no time provided to me at this time, I have to wait until Monday, 12/17/07 to get a time on when he can come out). Now I have to take off from work on Tuesday for the Service Rep. After the Service Rep come out and see that the problem can not be fixed. I will have to take off when they replace the table top that is currently sitting in my home. My problem is the time I'm missing from work without pay. I feel they should have just taken the table top back, inspect it and order another one.

    Please allow me to inform you that the merchandise is not being inspected before it leaves Ashley's Furniture Store Warehouse. Each time they've brought the table top to my home, the box was cut open right in front of me.

    Upon speaking with Marsha in Customer Service on 12/11/07 at 4:53 p.m. right after the delivery drivers left my home. She refused to re-order another table top and strongly stated that a Service Rep need to come to my home. I asked about returning the entire merchandise back. Ms. Marsha informed me that I was stuck with the merchandise and that they were no return policy once the merchandise enter my home. It is well aware that I have been have problems with the each glass top that has enter my home. The first problem was a piece of inbedded inside the glass and the second glass top was glue inbedded inside the glass and with the third glass top that is sitting in my home also has glue inbedded inside the glass. I requested to speak with a manager, she sent the call to Amy Torres voicemail at 5:05 p.m. I left a message with Ms. Torres and yes, she returned my call at 6:05 p.m. She also stated that in order for them to correct the problem that Service Rep needs to come out. I asked/requested that they send the delivery drivers back out to get the table since they refused to take it back and they can have the Service Rep to inspect the table top at the warehouse. Again, I am held responsible for them (delivery drivers) not taking it back. She stated no that the service rep need to come to my house.
    After the Service Rep finds that the problem can not be corrected that he will inform them to re-order me another table top.

    Bottom line is that I would like to have a full refund back and not deal with Ashley Furniture Store anymore. Its like they take your money and you (as the customer) are not a value customer anymore. You become ### to them. Excuse my French. Your assistance to this problem will truly be appreciated. Thanking you in advance.

  • Pa
      5th of Mar, 2008
    0 Votes

    The customer service is horrible. We bought a brand new quick size bed from the Frisco store in early Feb 08. After we received the delivery and installation, the bed is shaky. We have been contacting customer services with the assistanct of store manager, the customer services did NOT even call back to take care of the issue. Horrible experience. We will never shop this store again. Never!!!

  • Ti
      15th of May, 2008
    0 Votes

    I just had the worst buying experience ever. I cancelled the order and was glad to pay the cancellation fee so that I never have to step foot in that store again. Stay away.

  • Ju
      13th of Aug, 2008
    0 Votes

    my goodness people...u act like u re buying henry-don i have news for u your not!Ashley furniture is not of top quality it is a value!if you were to buy furniture that looked just like it at haverty's or robb and stucky the same look would run twice as much, of course probably better quality but for the look it is a fair price so stop griping!Granted the homestores customer service is terrible if ur going to buy ashley furniture look at some of the mom and pop stores alot of them carry ashley furniture or can get anything you see in the homestores and even save u alot of money!!!I used to work at a high end furniture store and will tell u everything that comes into a furniture store has some kind of something wrong if you look hard enough even the higher end goods.so remember you get what u pay for. ashley furniture makes decent furniture for the money.also most people dont know that most all furniture companies are having furniture made in china now having it shipped to the warehouses in america and stamping their name on it...some of the lagest importers of chinese goods in the furniture industry are broyhill, ashley, lane, and so on...so please think before you post another ridiculous complaint...if its destoyed then yes you have a legit complaint little scratches or nix can be fixed and unseeable to the naked eye...so please people i beg you stop being complainers!and have a little patience...most of that stuff comes on a slow boat from china litterally so if it comes in with a little scratch just remember it traveled ove 4, 000 miles to get to you!

Post your comment