Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In
The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website

American Laser Centers / Crystal medina & american laser centers

1025 South Power Road, Ste 108Mesa, AZ, United States Review updated:
5
Contact information:
Phone: 480-634-5532
March 2008 - had consultation with Crystal Medina @ American Laser Center in Mesa, Arizona. I agreed to procedures and $6, 000.00 was ok'd by Care Credit, payments to be made to GE Money Bank in Orlando, Florida beginning April 2008. My husband was not happy with this and because I was having alot of problems with my back after the surgery and needed medical attention, I decided I could not go ahead with this. I called Care Credit and was told American Laser Centers should never have billed me until the procedures were performed. I called Ms. Medina several times and left my number and email address to no avail. I also went to their place of business and they always told me she was doing a consultation. This has gone on for months. I have been paying Care Credit becuase I didn't want my credit to be affected. I have not had one procedure done, but have paid Care Credit over $1, 000.00. Care Credit said they couldn't credit my account without authorization from American Laser. I have written letters to American Laser, Ms. Medina, called Corporate several times - spoke with Amy, Amber, Ovita and others. Ovita took my Care Credit account number and said she would file a complaint with Ms. Medina's regional manager and would get my refund processed - this was 09/08/08. I also spoke with Amber on 10/05/08 @ 11:18 am at American Laser Corporate, she stated refund was in process and it would take 4-12 weeks. I also spoke to Lisa at corporate on 12/06/08. I spoke to Jennifer and she told me to call customer service ar [protected] or email them at customer service@americanlasercenters.com, which I did and found this site. I have been more than patient and tried everything I can think of to solve this. Not once has anyone called me or emailed me with the status of this situation. Something needs to be done. At this time I cannot afford an attorney. I am writing to Care Credit to see if I can get any results. My email address is carole.pease@yahoo.com and my phone number is [protected].

Thank you,

Carole L. Pease
0

Comments

Sort by: UpDate | Rating
Bu
  9th of Jan, 2009
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
I was an unLUCKY winner and they hustled me into buying a 5 treatment each of microdermabrasion and IPL Foto Facial package for $1900. I don't want to go into the specifics right now but I did it to treat my Enlarged Pored on my cheeks. After 2 micro's and 2 IPL's I am starting to think that it is making my skin worse.

They also hustled me into buying their products, so they milked me for another $200+. I showed up and after the treatment was told I must purchase their "PLL (Post Laser Lotion)" and "Sunblock". I was told these two products were MANDATORY. I also bought at their recommendation the "replenishing mask" and some "Gentle cleanse face cleanser".

I was also burned on my nose and this mark looks like it may scar. I called them the day of and they said they would call the next day and I never heard from them. Its been 8 days and the scab is still their and the wound has not completely healed.

I just used the mud mask tonight and after about 10 mins I went to wash it off and it would not come off my face. I scrubbed and scrubbed (irritating my pores to the greatest extent possible) and finally got it off. It was a horrible experience and I can't believe how much of an idiot I am to have went through with this and spend all this money.

I could not find any conclusive evidence that these treatments would even work for my condition.

I am 1/2 way into the treatments. What should I do?







UPDATE: 3/27/08

If "cj" was referring to me I would like it to be known that I have been to THREE of their clinics which were all three located here in Southern California.

The clinic nurse who performed on me relayed a message claiming that I already had the weird blister on my nose (Note: it took 2 1/2 weeks to heal, only laser wounds or burns cause damage to skin tissue like that). I laughed in disgust and I told the lady speaking at the other end that I don't play games. I am known by my reputation to be as honest as they come.

Personally, I am trying to keep my name from the public because its my right to privacy. If I am pushed to that point I will reveal my name as well as all those involved and locations, dates and so on.

Well I decided to cancel the IPL Foto Facial and continue with the Micro. They said it was in my contract that I could not cancel. I pleaded how the laser burned my nose and how that was documented with my doctor and I have pictures. They remained firm and said they couldn't do anything other then offer me more micro's or something sufficient. I was also given a bag full of products and was told I would not be charged for any of them nor any of the procedures I have had done to date. If that's true my balance should be still around $2100. I should also have 19 Micro treatments remaining.

I received my third micro and they day after I notice a few deep lines on my face and a purple rash on my forehead. The other two times I had this procedure these symptoms never arose. Usually day after I felt a slight burn and the PLL would calm that. This time I felt lightheaded, dehydrated, had this purple rash on my head and almost cat scratch like lines all over my face. One next to my nose and the other above my left eyebrow.

I called and reported this with the clinic. They said just to use the PLL (post laser lotion) 3 times daily and the replenishing mask at night. I also noticed a
local place next to where I get my haircut who does Micro. I called and set up an appointment for today and will see what they have to say.

I will keep you posted accordingly.

p.s. I am not the only one, just one of few who has enough courage to stand up for what's right.



UPDATE: 1/09/09

This is BurnedByALC. I'm not going to respond to any comments left towards me. All I have to say is I pay my bills and take care of business. For anyone who questions the legitimacy of this I feel for you and wish you the best.

Now back to the matter at hand, ALC and how they burned me more ways than one. I was lead to believe that my refund was going through and I would receive it. I come to find out in July just 2 days before my birthday that it was denied. I did not get an explanation on why and the Clinic referred me or in other words "passed the buck" to Customer Service where I have tried on numerous occasions to contact the Supervisor.

After almost a month I finally spoke with the Supervisor in late August and she said she doesn't check her Voicemail's and that somebody else does for her. I explained the situation and she said would get back to me "later that day or early next week". After a a few weeks I tried to contact her again leaving voicemail's in September, October and decided to take some time off to enjoy the holidays.

Today (1/09/09) I spoke with a Customer Service rep and had them notate the account and left another Voicemail for the Supervisor.

I have notes regarding every visit, conversation as well as audio recordings and documentation from a outside source (Reputable Plastic Surgeon).

I have decided to move forward with a complaint with the California Medical Board and to follow with a Lawsuit. I strongly urge anyone else who is interested in doing the same to message me immediately so we can discuss this matter further. Please leave your name and best way to be contacted.

Thanks,
Na
  19th of Mar, 2010
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
I went to Mequon, WI location. Run away from this place as fast as you can!
I purchased 10 micro procedures. After 1st one I had to go to see dermatologist & pay for his services + meds. I called ALC & asked for a refund - guess what? they don't care! They refused to give me my money back. They told me that perhaps it was not done properly last time, it was cold outside & bluh, bluh...So, I tried treatment # 2 - same exact results, and I ended up at the Derma doctor again. I told ALC I will not be doing any treatments. After about 4-5 months of discussions, they offered to give me bikini hair removal for the remainder of my micro services & I was stupid enough to agree to it. There was no paperwork completed for this & I have not signed anything! After 2 bikini treatments, I got a letter that now I have to pay $50 per service, I called ALC, and what is really interesting - manager does not have a voce mail there ...Can you believe that? so, I tried & tried for several times - finally I got to talk to Ms. Amy, she said she needs to review my chart, and she was doing so for 2 weeks. I finally got sick of it & I called customer service, they logged a complain & she called me back.

When I asked to see my personal file, she told me that she needs to talk to her regional manager & see if its OK. I reassured her that its my right as a Patient to see my file...she does not know how long it takes to get this file to me - does she know anything? why is she being paid?

I will fight, I will not stop! I will get my file & I will go to court! if you would like to call me, here is the contact: 414-467-1516

Also, I completed laser on my face, 2 years of treatments are over & I see no result...waste of money!

DO NOT get their services!
Ta
  30th of Mar, 2010
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
I had a problem with them as well. What you do is send a certified letter to care credit stating that the charges made on your card are being disputed and care credit will take care of everything.
Pr
  24th of Jun, 2010
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
I had the exact same issue. FOUR hours after purchasing my very large package I called and said I didn't want the procedure because I was uncomfortable with the terrible reviews I read online after signing the papers along with having blonde hair. My husband was less than thrilled to say the least. They told me once I signed I was locked into the contract. I called Care Credit and they said only American Laser could issue the refund. Needless to say I have not used Care Credit since that day. I went ahead a month later and started treatments after several regional managers became involved and denied any type of refund. I was more than dissatisfied. I was told upon signing my contract that due to my blonde hair they would need to double-pass each visit. After my first, they said their new policy no longer allowed double-passing but my guarantee period would be enough to eliminate the hair fully. After my 6th appointment a disgruntled nurse told me their systems don't work and I'll still need to shave regularly and then proceeded to pull up her pant leg and show me her leg hair - which looked normal after having a full series of treatments! Once my guarantee period kicked in they were suddenly "booked" and in a two year period could only fit me in a couple times due to "office merging". My guarantee is now expired and they followed up with a phone call letting me know their schedule has cleared up with hiring some new staff and I can come in for my appointments at a discounted hourly rate - WOW. Really? This is legal business practice? Amazing.
Gr
  29th of Jul, 2010
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
I had the exact same issue. Difference is that I did not pay credit card bill as I felt that I did not receive treatment. I totally agree with everyone, this is not legal business practice, but still alive and keep rubbing more people like you and me. Is really nothing can be done?
La
  24th of Aug, 2010
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
I am reading all these reviews and am finding myself getting angrier and angrier. I too have had a very dissapointing experience with American Laser Center...Yes, I won a great package deal for $1500 and still had to pay an additional $400 out of pocket just to have one small area of hair removed using the laser treatment. A year and a half later...I am still having treatments and still have to shave! I am so frustrated with the whole process. Everytime I go, they tell me their software has improved, they change the frequencey that I need to come and tell me that now it will be even better! Well, it never is. On top of that, the floors are always gross and dirty as well as the glasses they make you wear. I too was told it was mandatory to purchase the post laser treatment lotion...which is nothing speical and does nothing for me! They are constantly trying to get me to sign up for more packages even though I have told them I am not interested and I am still waiting to see if this works. I think after 1 1/2 years, I should not have to use a razor. This is a major rip off and I agree that they should be closed down! Luckily, I have not had any burns and I did not put this on a credit plan. But I still feel ripped off! I am an educated person. I own a nationwide company myself. I am so dissapointed that I let myself pay this kind of money without checking them out further. I met them at a health fair when I entered the drawing and expected them to be above board. Boy was I wrong. I dread every appointment and can't wait till this is all done. I am beginning to think now, that the hair will never be removed and this has all been a huge waste of time and money!

Laura in AZ

Post your comment

Submit
American Laser Skincare Logo American Laser Skincare
Customer Service
Overall Satisfaction Rating

104 Reviews
24555 Hallwood Ct
Farmington
MI
United States - 48335-1667
+1 877 252 2010
View Full Information
     

Reply to

close
Send