Menu
CB Mobile and Cell Phones Review of Cell Phone Care Center
Cell Phone Care Center

Cell Phone Care Center review: Screen Repair Rip Off 12

E
Author of the review
4:04 pm EST
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Watch out for Cell Phone Care Center of Arlington, Virginia. They are a major scammer and have scammed a lot of customers. I took my screen in for replacement and I could not believe it but the technician they had there ended up breaking one of the connectors while try to remove it. He appologized but ended up adding the repair charge to my screen replacement cost and then when I refused to pay, they said that then they could not give us our cell phone back.

The shop is also a mess with repair parts laying around everywhere.

12 comments
M
M
Marco Palma
, US
Jan 06, 2019 3:13 am EST

I buy 2 pairs of samsung grand prime in xtra tabuk branch ..i ask the casher if it works in other country like philippines...they said yes no problem thats why i trusted them amd pay for it...now the phones are not working why did they lie...they just wanted to make sell...and no problem even they lie with ur costumer...

View 0 more photos
T
T
Toma Henricks
Arlington, US
Jul 31, 2011 1:03 pm EDT

They advertise one price and when I got there it was a completely different price at cell phone care center.

They said that my iPhone 3Gs will be repaired on the spot, but then he said that they had a busy day and if I need to get it done right away that I need to pay $20 extra even if they advertise that it is done in 15 minutes.

Even worse when I got my phone back it stopped working and I had to take it to the Apple Store and they said that they had a lot of complaints regarding Cell Phone Care Center that they use all fake Chinese parts and they stop working after a little time has passed.

Stay away from these crooks there are plenty of other legitimate iPhone repair places in the area including the iPhone store in Clarendon which is only a few blocks away from their store.

L
L
LorenzoB
Washington, US
Nov 05, 2013 11:31 am EST

My issue with this business is that they refuse to provide the customer with a printed or written receipt and insist upon emailing it instead as a result of this practice they lost my business

-Lorenzo

R
R
RealEstateArlington
, US
Aug 05, 2011 3:34 pm EDT

These guys have saved me more than once as I have both an iPad and iPhone 4 that seem to hqve some sort of magnetic pull to asphalt. Crack both screens and apple repair would ahve taken weeks. These guys took care of it the same day and yes I paid the $20 rush fee. Don't be such a cheap skate man. If you can't afford $20 you can't afford an iPhone.

T
T
Toma Henricks
Arlington, US
Jul 31, 2011 12:58 pm EDT

I had the same issue and they also do a lot of bait and switch. They tell you one thing on the phone and then once your repair is done the price is always higher. They also try to charger higher if you want them to do it earlier but their ads says that they do it on the spot when that is complete mis-advertising. I used to see a lot of customer's in their store but I see it emptying it up now and I see why. As they say if you break my phone ten people will know because when they ask why they can't get a hold of me I will need to let them know who broke it ;-)

D
D
Dantom
Fairfax, US
Jun 15, 2011 3:11 pm EDT

Same here, I gave them HP laptop and almost after a month later they told me that I have motherboard problem, but I took it other store in DC, they fixed it with $89.99. I don't think they know what they are doing.

T
T
thewirk
, US
May 21, 2011 12:21 am EDT

i dropped my phone last night and called these guys earlier today and they were $20 cheaper than the other spot i went to previously (i.e. located in tysons). 5 mins later my iphone 3G's cracked screen was repaired as promised. i couldn't have asked for a better experience. thanks, allan!

C
C
Cell Phone Care Center
Arlington, US
Feb 24, 2011 7:27 am EST

Please contact me directly Ellen, Todd, Diana. We will immediately remedy the situation. I don't have a record of any transaction for any of you in our system. Call me, text me, email me send smoke signals. I am here to make sure we make it right.
Allan Edwards
Cell Phone Care Center
[protected]
Cellphonecarecenter@gmail.com

T
T
ToddRichter
, US
Feb 09, 2011 10:42 pm EST

I had problem with them as well they lost my phone and said that I never even gave it to them.

I contacted the Better Business Bureau and they said that they are not even listed on there. I would stay away from this fraudulent company.

C
C
Cell Phone Care Center
Arlington, US
Feb 07, 2011 7:05 pm EST

We take our repairs and work very seriously. We never charge more if we are at fault for damaging a phone while we are trying to repair the phone. We warranty all of our work. Please contact me about any issues concerning your repair. If we fail to fix the phone we don't charge the customer. You basically can't lose doing business with us.
Allan Edwards
Cell Phone Care Center
[protected]
900 North Taylor St.
Arlington, Va 22203

D
D
Diana Fairfax
, US
Jan 27, 2011 11:37 am EST

I also got ripped off at this location as well. It seems like you take your phone there for one issue and another issue "magically" appear. My friend went here as well before and had the similar issue. I guess they can control the success of their business by creating their own "new customer issues" which ofcourse they need to charge you more for :-) . Stay away from these crooks.

R
R
RealEstateArlington
, US
Jan 26, 2011 4:00 am EST

I had my primary business blackberry repaired there after getting it wet. They were quick and the price was cheap compared to other repair places I called. I guess you can't please everybody, but I for was beyond relieved to get all my contacts and info back with a blackberry in perfect working order after dropping off my disaster of a wet phone.

Trending companies