Belmark SheltiesBella Thompson

R
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer
Review updated:

On November the 2nd 2008 we paid Bella Thompson a $200.00 deposit on a pup that had just been born and then tried to cancel 24hrs later after we found out that our home owners association prohibited more than 2 dogs per household only to be told by Bella, "sorry no refunds". We called her back on the 20th of November 2008 and informed her that our homeowners association did not and would not enforce the restriction since other homes have 3 dogs. Bella Thompson said she wanted it in writing that we were approved. When I told her that wasn't going to happen, she said sorry I'm not selling you the dog. I said, OK, then give us our refund back. She said, no.

I can see if we'd have waited months and then tried to back out. Or had bought the dog and then tried to return it a couple of months later sure keep the deposit but 24 HOURS. Give me a break. It's low class for sure.

Our fault since the website clearly said NO REFUNDS. However we own a Sheltie who was sired by a Belmark champion named Monet. Sorry Bella but we won't be repeat customers.

Responses

  • Br
    Brittany Feb 18, 2009

    I am shocked that you would post a negative comment like this about Bella Thompson. You are an adult, and it is your responsibility to check things out on your end before any cash is laid out. It states plainly on her site NO REFUNDS. You should have checked it out with your home owners association before you did anything. Is there a site where she can go post something negative about you that you were irresponsible and well just plain STUPID! Sorry for sounding harsh, but Bella Thompson is one of the sweetest, and most responsible sheltie breeders out there. It just makes me mad that somebody can go off half cocked, and say something like this about her. All I can see here is that a person didn't want to take responsibility for their own actions so they tried to blame her...SAD VERY SAD!

    Get Your Act Together
    Brittany in Texas

    5 Votes
  • Lu
    Luci Mar 03, 2009

    Completely agree with Brittany. You should have checked first. Plus the breeder was right, I wouldn't sell a dog to you after this. It could be homeless next day with this excuse that your HOA does not allow more than 2 dogs per household. Sorry, but a dog is not a disposable item.
    A Belmark customer from TX.

    4 Votes
  • Sh
    sheltex Jul 27, 2009

    Coming from a breeders stand point I would not have sold a dog to you either after finding out about the HOA. The HOA can change their mind at any time and enforce the "law" then the breeder would be stuck taking the dog back, or taking the chance that the dog be placed in a bad home. If someone puts a deposit down on a car or house do they get it back if they change their mind? No, it doesn't matter how long afterwards. It's the fact that the seller put the item off the market. There would be no telling how many or if any other potential buyers would have offered to buy the pup. So don't put your idiotic comments up here, do your homework!! No refunds mean no refunds!!

    4 Votes
  • Bu
    Butter-cup Jun 12, 2010

    You guys talk about Bella like you know her. Yet some of you live in Texas? WELL YOU DON'T KNOW HER!!! For Gods sake...what is wrong with people these days...

    0 Votes
  • En
    enonll Feb 16, 2012

    While this response is 4 years after the original post, we have purchased two Shelties from Bella, a little girl from Jenny and the little girl runt from Rumor's first litter. We did the research, read her rules on the website and went thru her interview process. Yes, she is tough in the interview process, but that only means she cares about the future well being of her dogs...and we came away with the two best pet quality Shelties anyone could hope for. Anyone who reads these posts should understand the rules listed on her website, perceived to be fair or not, and if accepted, be prepared to go home with the best little dog you would ever want. Don't be afraid to buy from Bella. She's tough but fair and her dogs are the best, especially those from the Rumor/Jenny line. SMB - Springfield, Ohio

    3 Votes
  • Te
    Texas_Karen Nov 29, 2012

    To the poster (Butter-cup) who does not believe that someone in Texas can actually know Bella...you do not know how wrong you are. Bella has an international reputation as one of the best, most honest and respected breeders in the United States. You need to do your homework before trying to berate people.

    As with any contract placed before you: READ IT and understand it BEFORE you sign anything. Upon signing it you have accepted the terms and conditions.

    2 Votes
  • Ci
    Cindy Garner Jul 02, 2014

    I purchased a puppy from Bella in 2004. Chase is 10 yrs old now :(. He was sold to me as a companion pup but is beyond a doubt the most beautiful sheltie I have owned. Bought my first one in 1981. He is a pup of Tangles and Soccer and has the most wonderful temperment. My other shelties were a a bit too reserved but Chase has always loved everyone that has ever come over to visit. I would much rather purchase a pup from someone who is very picky than one who is just looking to place a puppy with whoever. I have been down that road and regretted it. I would purchase from her again.l

    1 Votes
  • Re
    reader73 Aug 01, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I would think that "NO REFUNDS" means you don't get your money back.

    1 Votes
  • Sa
    Sam & Kathy Milella Sr. Jan 20, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We could not be more pleased with Bela Thompson and Belmark Shelties!! This is our 3rd Sheltie...Sasha was our baby girl for 16+ years, Abby passed at the age of 11 years from bladder cancer...neither were purchased from Bella BUT our new baby girl, Winnie, was purchased from Bella!! She is a doll and every step of the way thru the purchase process was perfect. Can't go wrong with a Sheltie and can't go wrong with Bella Thompson and Belmark Shelties!!

    Sam & Kathy Milella Sr.
    Jackson, WI

    1 Votes
  • No
    NorCal Laurelei Sep 24, 2019

    I wish in your enthusiasm to get a dog you’d have checked your HOA rules first. Please try to understand how a loving breeder/ owner of dogs may feel when trying to place dogs to people you don’t know? I have been fortunate to purchase an older pup and later a retiring mama needing a bit of extra care and loving patient home. I found Bella to be very careful about dog placement and this mattered to me. If she’d have said I am not the right fit for a dog I was choosing I would trust her opinion. I found her terms clear on the website. I found talking straight with her to be helpful in dog choices.

    1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.