Apex Financial ManagementDebt collection sucks!

P
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer
Review updated:

My account had the unfortunate happenstance of being purchased by Apex. I found out from the credit watch service which I have with one of the credit bureaus, that this account was reported as a "collection account". I was devastated because I have been in a debt mgmt pgrm for 3 years and have never made a late payment. I made my last payment to the debt mgmt company in Jan. Of course, Apex didn't update their records and reported me. I have been calling daily for 2 weeks to get this updated and removed. They never call back.

It sucks that you can work (literally) really hard to get your credit clean and raise your score, and in a few seconds some lazy ### who doesn't want to do their follow-up can screw it up for you.

More Apex Financial Management Complaints & Reviews

Responses

  • Je
    Jennifer Mar 16, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I had the absolute worst experience with Apex Financial the other day and have since then decided to file complaints with them and the BBB. Those people are extremely incompetent and worse, RUDE! First they do not return any of my correspondence (and this was since Jan 22, 07... almost 2 months ago) and then when I finally do get someone on the line they intentionally try to make me feel like I'm some kind of loser because I've had financial management issues and can't afford to pay the balance in full at that very moment. The person I talked to actually told me that if I wasn't prepared to make the payment in full then he didn't need to discuss anything further with me.

    I've been getting advice from a Fico representative (MyFico.com) and I've been told that paying your balance off for a collections account WILL NOT INCREASE YOUR SCORE! The only way to increase your score when it comes to collections is to have the account removed completely. Some agencies will agree to do that (but get it in writing first) after they receive your settlement balance. I have this agreement with 2 agencies. So, as for Apex, I will just leave the account on there - amount and all until it falls off. Once a collections account is on your credit report, leaving it there won't make anything better or worse as far as your score goes. I wish I had known this last year when I paid off 3 collections accounts!

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    mark blackburn Feb 07, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    i just got a letter from them for a friend who stayed with us for a 3 months he now has his own place but changed all his details over to our address when he came to to say. i emailed them becasue im not calling there 10p a min number do you think anything will come of this or am i just wasting my time

    0 Votes
  • An
    Anonymous Jul 25, 2008

    This company is absolutely pathetic. They called me on an account that is nearly 6 years old and has been in collections. They must have purchased it from someone else. Like Jennifer said IF YOU HAVE AN ACCOUNT THAT IS ALREADY IN COLLECTIONS DON'T PAY IT. YOU ARE WASTING YOUR MONEY. It's already negative on your credit and paying it off doesn't change a single thing.

    Apex sucks, I received a call from this CLOWN name SEAN DOONAN, he wanted me to verify my social security number with him, can you believe that? I get a call from some unknown guy about a 6 year old account and he wants me to "verify" my social security number with him. Sad thing is I'm sure people actually fall for the tactics by this company. Very sad. Charge offs, collection accounts, etc... don't pay them, just let them fall off your credit.

    Here is some information on the lame company Apex:
    Website: http://www.apexfm.com/
    Phone: 866-906-7676 (rings to the ### Sean Doonan) who spells there name like that anyway? SEEEN.
    Location: Buffalo Grove, Illinois and Tempe, Arizona

    GOOD LUCK my fellow Americans, and watch out for scammers like Apex. Don't fall into their schemes and traps. Be smart, be safe!!

    0 Votes
  • Ni
    Nick Jul 29, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hi everyone, I work for a similar company & want to let you know that it is important to repay your debts...even if they are in collections. First, you will continue to receive calls for years if you don't, there is a chance the company (especially if they own your debt) will go after you legally. I know it is hard to work with collectors, but if you let them know you want to resolve & work with them the best you can, you will eventually come to an agreement about taking care of a debt that will otherwise remain on your credit for 7+ years.

    BTW ... to anoyn ... it is required of a debt collector to try to identify you & the best way is thru your SS# / if you refuse, you can id yourself w/DOB, Address, etc / however, we already have your SS#, which means all we need is the last 4 to id you.

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Rocky D Sep 22, 2008

    1) Apex Financial as a LOOONG history of deceit and defrauding clients, both through it's own offices and through several other fronts and at least one other arm involved in Mortgages.
    2) Paying off a debt beyond the statutory limit is pointless. Exercise yoru rights, deny the claim and cite the law, they havet o stop calling and if they don't you may sue them in small claims as well as have your state and the federal govt through consumer protection and state/federal attorney offices take up the case. It is highly recommended that you instead file claim with the 3 major credit agencies in dispute... it costs you nothing but a certified mailing at most.
    3) ANY credit agency that re-purchases old debt is predatory. Do not work with them. NOT EVER.
    4) NEVER, EVER verify ANYTHING with a credit collector. EVER.
    5) Quite often these debt re-purchasing ### companies have little or any actual evidence of debt. While clearly stating you do NOT acknowledge any debt, ask them for their mailing address. Via certified mail send them the standard form letter (google) requesting verification of said debt within 30 days... they must provide billing statements, and as relevant, the original credit application and/or credit agreeement/contract signed by you as well as a full account activity break down that shows how the debt they want to collect came to be. If they don't provide that, tell them to bugger off and let em try and sue you... you will win nearly by default.
    6) Read up on the fair credit act and reporting/collecting standards and laws and know them. Legit bills you owe should be paid, and you should negotiate with first tier collection agencies, or preferably with the original debt holder, to make a schedule of re-payment in order to clear your debt. Fees, rates, all of it is negotiable. If you are too weak willed or scared to do this yourself, seek a credit councilor or research legitimate agencies who will do this for you.

    0 Votes
  • Na
    Nancy Sep 24, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I got the unfortunate experience with dealing with "Rob" at Apex, a pathetic excuse for a collection firm.
    REPORT APEX TO THE FCC FOR VIOLATION OF DEBT COLLECTION PRACTICES!

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    shawnna Oct 14, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    APEX USES HARASSING AND ILLEGAL PRACTICES TO COLLECT PAYMENTS. REPORT THEM TO THE FTC AT https://www.ftccomplaintassistant.gov/

    YOU ARE NOT ALONE, YOU MUST REPORT THIS COMPANY!

    0 Votes
  • Up
    upsetindebt Jan 16, 2009

    I am SO upset with Apex! They called me every day for a year at least 3 times. I told them to stop calling, they never did. I finally got to a point where I could afford to pay off the debt. Getting someone to talk to me was close to impossible and once they did, they lied to me. I was told that in order to settle my debt that I had to put a a check on file and that it would be post dated. I told them I didn't want to pay them a dime until I had a document verifying the settlement. They agreed and post dated the "check on file" for March of this year. The payment just posted in my account today!!! I'm so pissed off. I can't get a hold of anyone, and when I finally got through, they "transferred" me and hung up! I reported the to the FTC Beauru of Consumer Protection. I have no idea if that will even do anything. I'm so upset right now and am so over debt. I'll wait til 2013 when my debt gets dropped off for everything else. Screw it.

    0 Votes
  • Th
    THE COLLECTOR Mar 27, 2009

    CALL VP TROY ORTEGA 513 477 2280. HE JUST LOVES COMPLAINTS !

    1 Votes
  • Fe
    fedup Apr 11, 2009

    These clowns have gone to the extent of calling my parent's house. I guess the got tired of hearing the fax maching pick up at my number. My folks have told them consistantly that I don't live there and to stop calling their house. I have told them to stop calling my parent's house and to delete their number from the file. Just this week, they got a hold of my parents again and stated that i gave them my parent's number. I would never do that. Their practice is underhanded

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Mario K Jul 13, 2009

    fedup: call me at 773 847 2600 to discuss filing a complaint in Fed court vs. Apex...Mario Kasalo, Esq.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    Shelby22 Oct 20, 2009

    Nothing but a scam!!! Rude and lie!!! Just keep reporting them everywhere you can and they will go away.

    0 Votes
  • Ap
    april2012 Aug 02, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Ok I know this thread is really old... But I was paying apex when i got a letter stating they got bought out or moved or something. Didn't think anything of it until now... My payment has not been processed... It's 3 days late. And I wonder if this new company has my info. If they are going to charge me or if they need validation?

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    janice777 Aug 31, 2012

    they contince harrment for bill s for 831.00 that 2004, 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009nthese was charge off and was to they should remove from that virtua is one do this and larmont image they charge off

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    Rik66 Jul 08, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Sir/Mam

    My name is Rakesh I had applied for a personal loan to Apex Finance sum of rupees 500000 which was also approved this is loan account no AFC786098790/0151/2016 date 23/06/2016

    I have yet to deposit fees 97590 in this account no 609710110001727 account holder and apex legal advisor Mr. Ratnesh Singh mobile number Mr Ratnesh Singh +917503885191

    1. File Charge = 1800

    2. Agreement Charge = 11950

    3. Insurance = 15000

    4. Fund Converting Charges = 18200

    5. 3 Advance EMI 5880*3 = 17640

    6. Commission Ratnesh Singh = 18000

    7. Commission Transfer Department = 15000

    After deposit this all the amounts my RTGS not credit in my account they told him deposit more money but I do not have to deposit cash of and Mr. Ratnesh Singh not taking my call from last 15 days please solved this problem

    0 Votes
  • Mu
    Muladiya ajay Jun 28, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Sar muje bhi 500000 lak ki Loan aprul ki mare pase 70000 hajar laiye1 mahina Ho gaya abi tak Loan nhe mila mara name muladiya khoda bhagvanji bhai He apex finance services sab K sath frod karte He muje load karvane vala ka name apar saini He mo 8800193685 he ples sar halpme

    1 Votes
  • Mu
    Muladiya Khoda Jul 02, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Sar muje 500000 lak ki Loan karvane k bhane 70000 hajar laliya or loan bhai nahi De rahe nahito mare pase vapas kar rahe uska name apar saini he mo 08800193685 dusar sarmaji 9115746460 he Mara phon bhai nhe uthate

    0 Votes
  • Am
    Amy Greene Jan 08, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    did anyone talk to a Paul Tillman from here ? He said that if i did not pay anything that there would be a judgement against me. They never contacted me about this they contacted my mom and when i told him to stop calling my mom he was like well i see where your priorities are

    0 Votes
  • Ki
    Kim Rhines Feb 05, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @Amy Greene Just spoke with Paul Tillman requested loan validation as i had never heard from the company he stated was going to have me locked up. I have been told in the past its better to go to court then deal with any companies that buy loans. He was not a very nice person when i questioned him he got defensive. I guess the manual they were given did not cover intelligent people that have questions.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    In The News

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem