www.buyDVDau.comwww.buydvdau.com - pirated DVDs / website scam

I
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

Hi

I believe this website is a scam for the following reasons:
- Company is only contactable via email;
- Warnings appear when clicking links within the website - phishing?;
- Customer reviews look fake, they're all about the series and not about the website's service, quality of the DVDs etc;
- Website has poor english;
- DVDs available on their website have not even been released by Amazon or the relevant TV networks yet;
- Third parties have supposedly verified this website (eg. McAfee) but logos look cut and pasted and are not linked to the third parties websites;
- Website does not state DVDs are genuine / authentic / factory sealed products; and
- Why are the DVDs so cheap?

Responses

  • Pe
    Pete In Oz Aug 02, 2014

    I have received a few box sets and have been happy with sound and quality
    One disc was faulty and they exchanged it with no questions asked
    I don't care if they are discs recorded off the TV at least there are no adds

    0 Votes
  • Th
    ThomasF Sep 30, 2013

    I bought Breaking Bad, House of Cards, Downtown Abbey and others. I knew they were pirated but bought them anyway. No problems at all. They were clearly recorded off the TV screen in the US. One had a US advert that they had not edited out.

    0 Votes
  • Lo
    louise.H Sep 01, 2013

    I ordered true blood season 5 last year before it had been released, the dvds came in a fantastic box set cover I thought this was fantastic! The movies I noticed were copied but they worked perfectly fine. I had the feeling they would be pirated seeing the season was not realised. I had to wait a extra week for the movies. But at the end of the day. I watched them all I love them and I payed $40 I couldn't complain other wise.

    0 Votes
  • St
    straf Jun 04, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I ordered sons of anarchy season 4 & 5, and pretty little liars season 3. I suspected they were pirated as i was aware pll s3 wasn't released as of yet. However, I did receive the discs in good order. Upon initial inspection, the dvds were certainly not authentic. They were stored in sleeves and had watermarking on the boxed covers which were taken from sites that had these images. 2 out of three disc sets worked and I'm still chasing them for sons of anarchy season 5 as it wasn't working as well as the others - from the first disc onwards, every single episode froze in sections and was completely unwatchable. They said they would send it, but it's been over a month and nothing... I don't know if i'll ever receive it.

    It was dirt cheap, and you certainly do get what you pay for. So, I guess I shouldn't complain. I should have simply waited and purchased it through the local bricks and mortar shop. Lesson learnt. It's like buying anything online, you simply don't get the service you would from a store.

    0 Votes
  • Bu
    burkem33 Apr 08, 2013

    Terrible Company. i ordered a box set of 164 discs and some were scratched and not in English. Could get no response for two weeks and when i did they said to check them all - how am i supposed to watch 164 DVDs from start to finish!!? I have not been able to get a refund and i am being told that it will take 1 month to re-ship faulty discs - if they ever come! Dodgy!!!

    0 Votes
  • Er
    ERIC MARC LAVIGNE Jan 01, 2013

    buydvdau.com. I was going to buy a dvd set from these people, but, a little search work, I found out, stay away from this web site. Many of these dvd sets, they are selling, are not available, as of yet.

    0 Votes
  • Re
    reallydisappointed1 Dec 19, 2012

    I wish I saw this before I purchased from them.

    I bought 2 boxsets for my children for christmas. It states on their site that you will receive it within 5-10 days.
    2 days later, I emailed them asking for a tracking number, they wrote back 10 days after my email telling me they had shipped the items but didn't have a tracking number on hand at that point. They assured me that I would receive item before Christmas.

    I emailed them again asking for the tracking number to confirm it would arrive. They finally replied and told me that the items had not actually been shipped out as my zip code was incorrect!?

    I asked for a full refund as it was 2 days out to Christmas and now I no longer require the boxsets as they would not arrive in time.
    No reply.

    I lodged a formal complaint with the international online ombudsman and when I let them know about this and that I wanted a full refund, they immediately replied telling me they did in fact ship the items so could not issue me a refund.

    When I search the tracking number, it doesn't even exist.

    FRAUDULENT COMPANY - STAY AWAY

    0 Votes
  • Ga
    GARGLEBLASTER Sep 17, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have found out to my cost that they are an ilegal set of companies. They all have the same Customer Service telephone number:: [protected] The following are all the same company: www.dvdsea.com ; www.idvdset.com ; www.tvstoreau.com; www.buydvdau.com; www.dvds-home.com ;www.hotdvdbazaar.com; www.ebeyer.net & www.comingdvd.com; Through this web: http://www.tvinboxset.com/ you will open that web: www.dvdaushop.com which is already in scam book http://es.scambook.com/company/reports/34515/dvdaushopcom ; buydvdboxcom ; www.eazydvdset.com ; www.completeseasonsdvd.com; www.dvdsetshop.com; www.musicfansbar.com; www.dvdcollects.co.uk; www.cheapdvdau.com; www.dvdshopau.com; www.seriesonsale.com; www.boxsetonline.com.

    All the same phone number and the same names of people Live Help: Online Customer Service: James; Connie; Jessie; Lucy; Judy; Victoria; Alissa; Loise; Lily; Zoe; hannah.

    I did receive the goods but they are very obviously pirated copies recorded from American TV channels. I made an official complaint to Visa and they reversed the payment. buydvdau.com then had the cheek to ask me for the money again. I replied saying that I had reported them to the FBI (Yes, I really did) and they if they wanted the DVDs back then they could get DHL to collect them.

    0 Votes
  • Un
    Unicomb1 Jul 26, 2012

    Terrible company!!
    I ordered 3 DVD boxsets and all were clearly pirated.
    Upon requesting a refund, they made me jump through hoops first offereing me to just keep the DVDs and no money returned. Then they offered a $20, then $35. I still wasn't happy with this when my DVDs were worth over $100.
    Finally they offered me the full refund minus the postage if I returned the DVDs, which I did and now they're making me jump through hoops to even get my refund.
    My issues in sum:
    * Received pirated DVDs
    * Packages arrived late
    * Wrong receipt arrived with package (listed jackets and trousers when I bought 3 boxsets)
    * Only offered minimum refunds.
    * Finally offered a nearly full refund and said it would be in my account within 48 hours after the DVDs arrived
    * Took 4 weeks for them to admit they'd received the DVDs
    * Instead of refunding my money they made me send them more information and they said once they'd received that, they would send me my refund within 48 hours
    * Once I'd done that, they said I'd have to wait 2-3 months to get the money...

    RIDICULOUS AND DISHONEST - Don't buy from them!

    0 Votes
  • Td
    TD1980 Jul 12, 2012

    I ordered - and received - complete seasons 1-4 of Son of Anarchy, pretty damn cheap - $45.
    DVD's played well, complete with official US anti-piracy messages, title screens and 'FX' watermarks throughout - I note that SoA Season 4 hasn't finished airing in US yet..? So doesn't seem like copy off TV, quality was great.
    The only thing dodgy was the disc were packed in sleeves, but inside a nice, professional-looking box...
    I don't know - I think the jury is still out on this one...

    0 Votes
  • Gy
    Gyro Mar 20, 2012

    I agree with the above comments... I stupidly didn't check if the www.buydvdau.com site was legit and sold authentic copies of DVD's which I usually do and I purchased a DVD box set of How I met your Mother only to find that it was recorded off City TV, the quality was so poor I wouldn't have paid a dollar for it. I normally only purchase DVD's off reputable well known websites like fishpond and amazon and this is the first time I have tried something different, lesson learned!!!
    Zoe, the customer service rep refuses to give me a refund and has offered me a $5 discount on my next purchase. Like there will be another purchase!!! I wish I saw this message before. Buyer be ware if you consider purchasing something on this site then don't bother, the prices are not much cheaper than what you would spend in retail stores so it's simply not worth it.
    I am unsure how they can get away with it surely the website can be shutdown by the complaints board????

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    chris1985 Feb 23, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I agree i bought criminal minds season 7 and i just found out it has not been recorded fully yet. They gave me a tracking number which i checked so something is coming to me

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.