World ConnectDon't know how this company got my Contact details

E
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

I got a call from a guy working for World Connect at about 10:30 am on 28 Oct 2008. He could not provide me specific details about where I allegedly entered into this competition. He mentioned that I answered a questionnaire on my opinions on "lifestyles in South Africa" which was distributed from Jan - June this year. He said my spouse and I have entered into a competition to win a car. I am not married nor have I been engaged to anyone before. I definately would not enter into a competition if I knew up front that I need to have a spouse in order to qualify.

Apparently, I qualify to enter into a draw with 15 other "lucky" couples to win this car if I attend a dinner that they have set up on the 29 Oct 2008. The dinner/draw is tomorrow night (they forgot to give me a time). The venue is at VIP Offices, 28 Gilford Road, Carlswald, Midrand, Gauteng, South Africa. The guy gave me a reference number and told me that I must provide the reference number (My reference number is J75) to the security guards at the gate otherwise I would not be let in. He also emphasised that I MUST come with my spouse/wife.

I spoke to a friend about the competition and he said that he was also invited to the same competition last year and that he went for it. He said that the company tried to sell him and his girlfriend a holiday scheme. He mentioned that the company started asking him for personal details, contact details, and his credit card details, but he refused to provide the with those details until he found out why they needed them in the first place. He said that when it was time for the competition, they showed him 8 numbers and asked him to draw all of the same 8 numbers from a pot. He said he only got 1 or 2 numbers and they gave him a "HOLIDAY TICKET"! (wow! what are the chances of him getting a "free" holiday from a company selling holiday schemes!). My friend was disgusted with the whole thing. My friend also told me that another of my friends was also contacted by the same company for the same competition. Both of my friends and I do not know where the company got our contact details from.

I don't know where or how this company got my details. Please can someone investigate this company's activities?

Responses

  • He
    Henco Nov 14, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I received a phone call on 13 November 2008 with exactly the same promises! Luckely I decided to look up the company on the internet and found all these complaints (hello peter was the other website)

    Thank goodness I decided to do this as I live in Welkom and if I had to travel to JHB for hawkwash I would have been very upset!!

    Can't anyone do someting to this company for false advertising??

    0 Votes
  • Dy
    dylan Jan 28, 2009

    thanks 4 the warning
    i was just about to leave to travel 60km to midrand when i decided to google WORLD CONNECT
    LOTS OF WARNINGS AND COMPLAINTS ON THE NET
    THEY TOLD ME THE EXACT SAME STORY ...15 COUPLES BLAH BLAH and i ASKED THE LADY IF THEY ARE NOT SELLING ANYTHING ESPECIALY TIME SHARE AS I WOULD BE VERY UPSET AND ANGRY AND WOULD BE EXTREMELY RUDE IF I GOT THERE AND DISCOVERED THAT THEY WERE INDEED SELLING ME SOMETHING!!
    SHE WAS VERY EVASIVE!!
    HER NAME IS TRACEY AND HER NO IS [protected]
    GONNA CALL NOW AND GIVE HER PEACE OF MY MIND!!
    DYLAN [protected]

    0 Votes
  • Dy
    dylan Jan 28, 2009

    BEWARE OF A COMPANY CALLED WORLD CONNECT !!
    THEY WILL TELL YOU TOY HAVE ONA A PRIZE AND ARE ONE OF 15 LUCKY COUPLES IN THE FINAL DRAW FOR A CHEVY CAR
    THESE IDIOTS ARE LYING THROUGH THEIR TEETH AS THEY WILL ALMOST FORCE YOU TO PURCHASE TIME SHARE!!!
    PLEASE TELL YOUR FRIENDS AND FAMILY TO LOOK OUT FOR THESE FRAUDSTERS~!!!
    DYLAN

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Rob Jones Feb 19, 2009

    Just got a call saying that I won a car (Chev) and must meet at Midrand VIP Saturday 21. How they got my name I do not know, as I never entered a SMS compertition. Beware of such companies. Rob

    0 Votes
  • Be
    berlinda Mar 06, 2009

    Also got a call today that i won a chev and must attenf the draw with 14 other couples on Tuesday at 2pm. I didnt enter such a competition and neither did my husband so we were both baffled how these people got our details. These people should be charged, inasmuch as they are trying to sell their timeshare they are causing inconveniences to a lot of people who have to travel miles on end for their scam!

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    Carol Mar 11, 2009

    THIS WORLDCONNECT IS DISGUSTING AND SOMEONE SHOULD DO SOMETHING ABOUT THIS! I NEARLY WENT THRU AS MY SONS EXECUTOR TO RECEIVE THE 6 PRIZES I WAS GUARANTEED OF HIM WINNING, WE RECEIVED THIS CALL TODAY BEING 11 MARCH 2009. I LUCKILY DO NOT STAY FAR FROM MIDRAND BUT TO THINK THAT SOME PEOPLE HAVE BEEN SCAMMED TO TRAVEL FROM AFAR TO THINK THEY HAVE WON SOMETHING. TIMES ARE HARD AND FOR SOME DESPERATE PERSON TO RECEIVE A CALL LIKE THIS INDICATING THAT THEY HAVE DEFINATELY WON THESE GREAT PRIZES JUST PUTS THEM INTO A GREATER STATE OF DEPRESSION AND FINANCIAL BURDEN WHEN THEY DISCOVER THEY HAVE TRAVELLED TO MIDRAND FOR NOTHING AND SPENT MONEY ON THEIR JOURNEY TO RECEIVE THEIR PRIZES THAT DO NOT EXIST! DISGUSTING THAT A COMPANY CAN GET AWAY WITH THIS AND NOT FACE THE CONSEQUENCES FOR THEIR ACTIONS. THIS HAS CARRIED ON FOR AGES AND I REALLY HOPE SOMEONE IN THE JOURNALISM WORLD WILL INVESTIGATE THIS AND TAKE IT FURTHER BY EXPOSING THEM FOR THE FRAUDSTERS THAT THEY ARE!

    0 Votes
  • An
    Anna-Mart Hamer Apr 16, 2009

    Two weeks ago we were phoned about this wonderful draw for a CHEVY SPARK.

    Today my mother-in-law was phoned about the same draw on saturday 18Apr09 at 09:00 VIP Building, Guildford rd, Carlswald, Midrand via Confidence [protected].

    Please can this company stop with this false advertising - nobody has time riding around listing to people selling holiday points/ timeshare.

    0 Votes
  • Ta
    tara Apr 24, 2009

    I HAVE JUST RECEIVED THE SAME CALL AND THE LADY WAS NOT VERY ACCURATE WITH THE DETAILS AS SHE SAID THAT THE COMPETITION RAN FROM NOVEMBER LAST YEAR TILL MARCH, HOWEVER I HAVE NOT ENTERED ANY COMPETITIONS. I GAVE HER A FALSE NAME AND THOUGHT I WOULD LOOK UP THE COMPANY.

    DON'T PEOPLE HAVE ANYTHING BETTER TO DO. I AM DISCUSSED THAT THE AUTHORITIES HAVE NOT DONE ANYTHING ABOUT THIS COMPANY.

    0 Votes
  • We
    Wes May 13, 2009

    Hi

    I just received a call from a person named Michael today, from the number [protected]. Apparently I sent a sms on 14 April to enter into a competition, and I could win one of six prizes (I could not remember doing any such thing - I could not even find )
    1. A Chevy Spark
    2. A GPS
    3. A quad Bike
    4. Ice maker
    5. Ipod
    6. A holiday - to either Botswana, Mazambique, or the Garden Route.

    I was given a reference number J351 - and since I am under 25 yrs of age, I must be accompanied by my parents. Thank goodness for my friends who warned me! PLEASE - you have been warned, if you want your money and time wasted, go ahead for the draw/prize giving...whatever...
    Anyways, I'm just happy I didn't waste my time - thanks guys, and thank you GOOGLE :) !!!

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    jay May 26, 2009

    Hi,

    Got a call from a lady called Noma, was given a reference number J401. I never entered any competition and she told me i was shortlisted to win a Chevrolet Spark. I thought of checking World Connect details, luckily i saw all these comments and I`m not going to waste my precious time. Thanks guys for the comments!!!
    Damn World Connect Liars!!!

    0 Votes
  • St
    Stephan May 28, 2009

    If i can Just add to Wes's comment: Funny story I've recieved exactly the same phonecall from Michael [protected]) and exactly the same reference number (J351).
    Recieving this bogus phonecall, I just got this gutfeeling that something is not right, so I Googled Worldconnect and found all the wonderfull Complaints.
    I hate being lied to... Time is money!

    0 Votes
  • An
    Andre May 28, 2009

    I have also won that same prize...Awesome. Thanks World Connect.
    Michael phoned me too. It is amazing to see to what extent these holiday scams go to sucker people into there offerings.
    Michael phones me, also referenced the same prizes and first told me that the event is hosted at Vodaworld. The later-on I was phone with directions to 28 Guildford Road in Carlsworld. Dress code is apparently smart casual as there will be press present to record the event. They are misrepresenting the entire thing. Are there no law against such fraudulent behaviour?
    Has anyone ever won the elusive Chevy Spark?
    Who is World Connect?

    0 Votes
  • Gr
    grant May 28, 2009

    I could not echo ALL of the people that have written here about world connect, maybe we should all meet on sat at this place and show them what for, this is absolutely absolutely disgusting that someone could do this, really!!! luckily we are all aware of what type of people are actually in this world, we should get carte blanche on this..

    0 Votes
  • We
    Wes May 29, 2009

    I already sent an email to [protected]@sabc.co.za
    I also emailed [protected]@etv.co.za

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    JAY May 29, 2009

    Added to Stephens comments:My husband received the same call from Jackie ref:J558.I agee with all of you this is ridiculous.We also had a feeling this was to do with holidays & timeshare as with numerous similar experiences over the years.Just need to know whee do they get our personal info from?I also Googled Worldconnect and Im glad I did.
    Saves us alot of time & money.
    Thanks for the comments-Lets hope something is done here.
    Jay D.

    0 Votes
  • Gr
    grant May 30, 2009

    and just to top all of this off, i had a follow up call from Tracy at World Connect last night to see if i would be coming today, and she hung up on me because i gave her a piece of my mind about their organisation and the scam that they are pulling...it is shocking!!!

    0 Votes
  • Na
    Natz Jun 01, 2009

    Hi there fellow bloggers this just happened to me too... 1 june 09

    I just received a call from a consultant called Michael.
    He told me i entered a competition but i know i didn't, i got a sms from them but never entered.

    He said I could win one of six prizes
    1. A Chevy Spark
    2. A GPS
    3. A quad Bike
    4. Ice maker
    5. Ipod
    6. A holiday - to either Botswana, Mazambique, or the Garden Route.

    I was given a reference number J351, too. This sort of advertising is dishonest and should be illegal.

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Rodeo Jun 01, 2009

    Hi Just spoke to Godfrey(a Manager), Cindy and Tracy (a Manager) [protected] from world connect. Asking similar questions, to verify the authenticity of the '1 IN 15 chance to WIN a CHEVY'.

    1) Is this connected to any sales related scheme - Answer No
    2) Where did they get my details - Various answers, sms comp, survey...

    I under no uncertain terms told them that they are CROOKS and should their misrepresentation. Wish I had the time and money to actually go there with an independant auditor to verify their draw process, clearly there should be one of the fifteen...'thousand' that wins a car...

    Thanks for all the posts I WOULD HAVE BEEN SCAMMED if not alerted by all of you. Have copied this link to GM South Africa, wonder if they know of so many of their SPARKS being given away?

    0 Votes
  • Lu
    Lucyfer Jun 08, 2009

    Stupid idiots at World Connect...how the hell the got my number I will never know but for the past 3 months i have been receiving sms's for a competition for a Chevy spark - at all hours - day and night.

    Today I receive a phonecall from Michelle [protected] from the ZIT Offices No 28 Guildford Street; Carlsworld Midrand inviting me to World Connect's offices at I have won a nominal prize and will know tomorrow if I have won the draw.

    I queried this as I do not recall ever entering this competition but remember it well as the sms's annoyed me as they were arriving at 04:00am...

    It then turns out that this is the company that calls me monthly asking if I am a Mrs D Bezuidenhout who entered a competition. I am never Mrs D Bezuidenhout; I have not entered any competition and this is clearly false advertising at its worst.

    I emplore which ever agency in SA who deal with this kind of nonscence to investigate this company. Now that I have taken the time to check the internet - I am horrified; surprised; shocked and amazed at how many complaints have been lodged and clearly nothing is being done.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    Shaheer Jun 12, 2009

    I've just had a call from Nick, for World connect, also telling me that I have a one in fifteen chance of winning the Spark, and will get a guaranteed prize of either a week's holiday, ice machine or quad bike. He even went as far as telling me to leave my credit cards and check book at home, because they didn't want to sell us anything.

    Excited, I called my partner, who advised me to Google the company name, as he'd been caught by similar scams before. Thank God I did.

    Thanks for the complaints and warnings - I was invited to 28 Guildford Rd, the infamous address, next Tuesday (the public holiday). I'm glad I didn't waste a precious day off on people who lie and scam you!

    0 Votes
  • Le
    Lee-Anne Jun 24, 2009

    I received the same call yesterday 23 June 2009 from a woman called Sheila working for World Connect. She also said that I was one of ten lucky couples to receive the same prizes. I asked a few times if this was anything like the timeshare and holiday club presentations and she assured me that it was not and that I will definitely not leave there empty handed. She also went as far as telling me to leave my credit cards and check book at home, because they didn't want to sell us anything. The address that was given to me was 28 Guildford Rd, Midrand. She said that I could not come alone and I had to bring my partner. I informed her that my husband could not make it so she said I had to bring a partner, who had to be a male because the competion is supposedly for couples only.
    I decided to look up the company on the internet before I went and am I glad I did. Thank you to everyone who posted their complaints. if it had not been for all of you I would also have gone and wasted precios time and money. I really hope these people get caught very soon before more innocent people are caught by these scammers.
    Lee, 24 June 2009

    0 Votes
  • Me
    Mel13 Jun 25, 2009

    haha, how funny is this. Has anyone maybe gone to give more feedback on what happens there??

    I just got the same phone call, cant remember the persons name (I'm bad with names okay, hehe).
    She 1st told me I entered this competition by sms, so I 'm thinking, I have smsed a couple of competitions, so I ask her when exactly and she says to me the competition ran from last year November to end of May '09, so anytime inbetween. Then she gives me my reference number J548 (whats with the "J" numbers) Anyway she tells me I am a GAURANTEED winner of 1 of 5 prizes, 1 - Car, 2 - Garmen, 3 - Offroad Bike, - 4 Weekend away in either Botswana, Mosambique or Cape Town, cant remember the other prize. She then says I must come saturday either 9am or 1pm for the competion draw, it will only take half an hour for the draw to be finished and then you get a free breakfast or lunch, depenting on what time ofcoarse you have chosen to go. So I agree to everything, trying to be open minded, and say I wil go 1pm. She then makes sure I have my ref. number and says another lady will phone me tomorrow to confirm and give me directions etc.

    LUCKILY before I put the phone down I asked what the companies name was that was doing this competion and I came to google it. If they phone back tomorrow, they're getting a piece of my mind!!

    These days you have to question everything with so many scammers out there.
    And I am going to stop picking up "Withheld" numbers, as it always seems to be some company trying to sell something, if its important, they'll have my work tell, or email, lol

    Mel, 25 June 2009

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    KARIENNE Aug 13, 2009

    HEY GUYS...GOT THIS CALL TODAY 2009/08/13 AT 10:30AM SAYING THAT I ENTERED THIS SAME COMPETITION ON 11 MAY 2009 (THE BEST OF ALL IS MY PHONE WAS STOLEN LAST MONTH BY A CAR ROBBERY) SHE (MICHELLE ) SAID I WON ONE OF THESE PRICES AND MUST COME FOR THE LUCKY DRAW FOR THE CAR ON SATURDAY 2009/08/15 AT 09:00AM AT THIS SAME ADDRESS THAT YOU ARE ALL TALKING ABOUT.SHE ASKED ME IF IM WORKING AND IF MY FIANCE IS ABOVE 25...AND THAT I MUST BRING A VALID DRIVERS LICENSE AND HAVE WON A HOLIDAY...LUCKILLY MY MOM WORKED FOR THIS KIND OF STUFF AND WARNED ME...THANKS FOR ALL YOU GUYS!!!

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    Samsung81 Sep 08, 2009

    I can't believe that I almost took half of my day tomorrow to go to this "car competition draw". I have just received a phone call few minutes ago with the exact same story, 28 guildford road, VIP Offices, consolation prizes, everything! Thank you guys for sharing your experiences with us. What a waste of time it would have been!

    0 Votes
  • An
    Andy23 Sep 15, 2009

    Well no one is doing anything because IT IS STILL GOING ON! I received a call 10 minutes ago by someone named "Michelle" from a company called World Call Connect (they sometimes use other company names as well). I was told I was a "guaranteed" winner from a competition I entered in May for a Nissan Lavina, but have also won a quad bike, GPS, weekend away and free meal for two. I'm supposed to go to 28 Guildford Road in Midrand at 2pm on Thursday with my valid drivers' license to collect my prize. Was even given a "reference number". It sounded a bit strange to me so I googled the address and found the scam (I've copied a link to a blog for others who have fallen for the same scam by the same people. Most of the time the address for the company is the same although sometimes the name of the company changes)
    http://singe.za.net/blog/archives/948-Youve-won-a-car-Scam-Carlswald-Design-Quarter.html#comments


    I took down a number for "Michelle" - [protected], which matches up to one of the numbers other people had been given.

    What I want to know is if it has been going on for this long, and they keep using the same address and same numbers and names can something not be done? Can they not be reported? Because they just seem to keep going. And how on earth did they get my contact details because I'm very wary of giving out information? Some of the bloggers say it was through insurance quotes but I have never asked for a quote.

    Maybe everyone who has been scammed should pitch up there and demand answers.

    0 Votes
  • Ru
    Rudi Kraft Oct 16, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hi

    I received a call on Friday, 16 October 2009, from a person named Michael from the number [protected]. Apparently I sent a sms on 27 September 2009 to enter into a competition, and I could win one of six prizes
    1. A Chevy Spark
    2. A Garmin GPS
    3. A Suzuki quad bike
    4. Ice maker
    5. Apple Ipod
    6. A holiday to Botswana

    I was given a reference number J351 and was told that a member of their management would phone me later to inform me which prize I have won. I would then have to attend an event at Voda World in JHB to collect my prize. I was asked to dress smart-casual as photographs would be taken for The Sunday Times.
    They asked me to bring someone with to sign as a witness.
    I was suspicious and therefore went to GOOGLE and searched for “World Connect competition” to see which competition they were running at the time.
    What did I find???? All these complaints of this company ripping people off!!!
    I could not believe that they even use the same reference number!!!

    All I can say is thanks to everyone who has posted their complaints especially the person who started this complaint. You saved many people going through a lot of trouble for NOTHING!!!

    O, and thank you GOOGLE!!!

    0 Votes
  • Pi
    pilchards Oct 29, 2009

    i got the same call and have forgotten his name now. he sounded mid 30s and in a big workshop kinda room..very suspect.
    so he's gonna call back at 3. he called via telkom line. so i googled like all clever people.

    Thank you guys n ladies, now i'm supercharged with info to ask..

    i'll post my find below!!

    0 Votes
  • Pi
    pilchards Oct 29, 2009

    so the server's psu decided to die and i could not take the call - i hope he calls again!?!

    0 Votes
  • Hi
    Himalaya27 Nov 04, 2009

    Hey members, Im also recruited yesterday, 04 Nov 2009. I received a call from a guy telling me that I've won a trip to anywhere in SA.

    Initially, I entered sabc2 competition (DIY nutsman Riaan). Yesterday I was told that the draw was done on the 12th of Oct 2009 and I was unlucky, but I won a 5 days trip for two to anywhere in South Africa. The prize will be valid for 12 months (07 Nov '09 until 07 Nov '10).
    Im still waiting for a phone call from the manager for the directions to 28 Guildford at Midrand.

    People Im 300kms away from Midrand. Im in Ermelo, Mpumalanga. I would have waisted my leave days, my time, my money, my last dear fuel, my energy, loaded more than 600kms to my car for nothing because of these bloody scams.

    Guys lets work together and take this company to someone for help.
    These people are not that clever because they're using same strategy, same address, tel no & ref no to catch us.

    Worried
    Lynette

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    Kapambwe Nov 12, 2009

    I called a call from a LORRAINE today at lunch 12.11.09 with the same promises to all the other pipo I asked her where I enetered the competition she could not say she asked to fax me the brochure I agreed and and empasied I go woith my husband thank God I googled the company to my bewilderment I found lots of complaints and I thank my God that I checked it and what made me check it was I could not get through on that no [protected].These pipo think we are fools and do not have things to do like them I hate the timeshare story and ech time anyone calls you claiming you won a compeptioion you did not enter just know it's the timeshare story.

    SOMEONE HAS TO STOP THEM IT'S UNFAIR TO WASTE PIPO'S TIME AND FUEL

    0 Votes
  • Hj
    HJ H Nov 26, 2009

    I received a call about 10 min ago, this guy said my cell no came up as i endered a compention in June sometime, he even gave me a time of the sms that was send, he said the draw is the 28 Nov 09 at 11am. Well, VIP Building, Midrand just sounded familier, so i investigate a bit, the guy faxed me a voucher with a meal ticket for 2 and the tel no was [protected] / Ryan, ref no : J660, well, that number just ring, and ring, and ring, and ring. I'm sure this is another scam. Well, sorry for them, I'm not intrested!!!

    0 Votes
  • Gr
    Greg01 Nov 27, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Just got a phone call from them, told me the same, that i entered a competition about 3months ago via sms and im 1 of 15 lucky people. i MUST come with my wife to sign as a witness incase i win the car...also i will get a free meal as there is also a resturant there... what a load of crap... not interested

    0 Votes
  • Rh
    rheinhardt Dec 03, 2009

    hahaha lucklily i asked him what company he was phoning from... checked it out on google and landed up on this website! A guy name Frazer, he sounds like an african american male with a very deep voice and strange accent.

    I asked him is this time share but he spinned me a story - no not at all this is a normal competition and i was in a lucky draw for a chev spark... I actually got more exited when he mentioned something about a quad bike!

    I think I should send someone in my place who can go and crash that party maybe a bum from the street who can go and eat all their food up and sleep and snork aloud during their proposal pitch and then just walk away and tell them sjoe i really would like to go on your stupid holiday but I dont have the MONEY... EISH!!! MET EISH JA!

    1 Votes
  • Ro
    RobynEC Jan 19, 2010

    Vian form World Connect phoned me yesterday congratulating me on being a finalist for the competition I entered via sms last year in June for a lucky draw for a Chevy Spark. She told me that my number has been drawn and that me and my partner are one of the 16 finalists for the lucky draw in Midrand on Wednesday, 20 January 2010. I had a suspiscion that this was a hoax and asked her whether the transport and accommodation to get to this draw was included. She was a bit baffled and I had to exlain to her that I live in the Eastern Cape. Her responce was that I may nominate someone in Joburg to attend the draw on my behalf. She gave me her number [protected] and told me to phone her back as soon as I have a representative. She also told me that every finalist would win a prize such as quads, ipods, holiday packages, etc.
    Thank goodness I looked up this company and came accross these complaints. I would not be able to have faced my friend in Joburg should he have gone to this hoax draw.
    I am very curious to find out how these people get hold of our cellphone numbers and how they are still going without being caught?

    0 Votes
  • Te
    Tequila712 Jan 21, 2010

    Yup Yup Yup I just got the same call as all of you! Im not goign to repaeat the entire thing, but its pretty much axactly the same as all of the above!
    Its been going on for so long now, when will it end!?
    Thank you google for making it possible to put a little bit of light in our lives on the situasion!!

    0 Votes
  • Za
    Zacy Jan 22, 2010

    These guys have been catching us out for about 4 to 5 years now. I recall my ex-fiance received a call 4 years back from these fraudsters. We were there on a saturday afternoon & I recall a guy from the freestate furiously leaving as we were walking in. Why are these guys still allowed to continue with this scam for so long? What has happened to the consumer counsel? Lets get rid of these blatant liars.

    0 Votes
  • Lo
    Lone Ranger Too Jan 22, 2010

    Watch this space - it's gonna happen folks! :-) We, the consumer, are gonna have the last laugh!! HAHAHAHAHA!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ar
    Arnoldp Feb 10, 2010

    I just got a call from a guy from World Connect. Said I entered a competition to win a car via SMS in November 2009 (Huh?). I am one of the finalists and must attend the draw with my wife tomorrow in Midrand (Thursday). I smelt a rat, because I was present when my parents-in-law was smooth talked into buying Holiday Club points with a similar scheme in Vereeniging 12 years ago.
    So I searched the web...(Luckily!)
    There is another scheme running with a similar technique on the Margate beachfront in front of the Wimpy. You'll be confronted by a sales person - you won a prize!!! So you are driven to the La Cote d'Azur timeshare flats close by to collect your prize. There you are confronted by a extremely battle -scarred an -ready salesman that will sell you Stocks and Stocks timeshare. The only way to let him go of you is to ask if he could loan you some money, because your mother died in the Transvaal somewhere and you would just like to ...

    0 Votes
  • He
    Hell no Mar 03, 2010

    They guys got me today, received a call and was given a J642 ref number and that someone will call 2moro with direction and gave them a wrong surname. what is the worst that they can do???? with one's info

    0 Votes
  • Kh
    Khabi Mar 09, 2010

    Hi to everyone i also got a call too from micheal 08/03/2010...from world connect
    He says i have to come to Midrand to collect 6 prizes with Ref No. J351


    chevrolet spark
    ipod
    ice machine
    suzuki 250
    navigation gprs
    trip-Botswana

    I fell for it but since reading the above complaints, World connect could go and sharve all their prizes in their... cause i almost went with my family as they insisted inconveniencing my loved ones, running after embarrassment and disapointment THANX to all your mails.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem